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In 2018, Wisconsin farmers grew hemp legally for the first time in 60 years. These 
farmers are participants in Wisconsin’s industrial hemp pilot program, which the 
state established in November 2017. Wisconsin created its hemp program following 

the passage of federal legislation in 2014 that allowed states to create pilot programs to 
harvest and process hemp. In December 2018, the federal government passed additional 
legislation that created a permanent federal hemp program that will replace Wisconsin’s 
current pilot program unless the Wisconsin Legislature acts to establish its own perma-
nent program. Several states have already passed legislation to establish their own per-
manent programs. This paper aims to provide information about the hemp industry and 
hemp laws, including ongoing legal issues that the state will need to consider if it chooses 
to create a permanent program of its own.  

What is hemp?
Hemp1 belongs to the cannabis sativa plant species and, botanically, is the same as mari-
juana.2 Legally, the two plants are distinguished by the level of delta-9 tetrahydrocannabi-
nol (THC)3 they contain. THC is the chemical in cannabis that provides the psychoactive 
effect that people associate with the “high” sensation. Hemp has a significantly lower 
concentration of THC, typically less than 1 percent, as compared to marijuana, which 
has an average THC concentration of 10 percent and a maximum concentration of 30 
percent.4 A THC concentration of around 1 percent is the generally accepted threshold 
for the plant to have a psychoactive effect.5 Under federal law, hemp is defined as having 
a THC concentration of “not more than 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis.”6   

Hemp originated in China thousands of years ago and has a long history of being 
cultivated for agricultural and industrial purposes. As a highly versatile crop, hemp is 
harvested to produce over 25,000 products today.7 There are three main parts of the plant 
that are harvested by farmers: the stalk, the seeds, and the flowers.8 The stalk is harvested 
for its fiber, which is used to make products such as rope, textiles, yarn, paper, construc-
tion materials, plastics, and car parts. Hemp has long been an attractive source of fiber 

1.  “Hemp” is also often referred to as “industrial hemp,” including in the Wisconsin statutes. For consistency in this paper 
and with federal law, this paper will use the term “hemp.”  

2.  Renée Johnson, “Hemp as an Agricultural Commodity,” Congressional Research Service, June 22, 2018, https://fas.org/. 
3.  This paper will refer to delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol as “THC” throughout. Note that there are other types of THC 

present in cannabis, but delta-9 THC is the variety of interest to policymakers due to its psychoactive effect.
4.  Renée Johnson, “Defining Hemp: A Fact Sheet,” Congressional Research Service, March 22, 2019, https://fas.org/.
5.  Johnson, “Defining Hemp: A Fact Sheet.”
6. Hemp is defined in federal law in 7 U.S.C. § 5940(a)(2) as “the plant Cannabis sativa L. and any part of such plant, wheth-

er growing or not, with a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of not more than 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis.”
7. Johnson, “Hemp as an Agricultural Commodity.”
8. Christopher Booker, “Why Kentucky Farmers Are Quitting Tobacco and Turning to an Unlikely New Crop,” PBS News-

Hour, October 17, 2015, https://www.pbs.org/.    

https://fas.org/sgp/crs/misc/RL32725.pdf
https://fas.org/sgp/crs/misc/R44742.pdf
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/7/5940
https://www.pbs.org/newshour/show/kentucky-agriculture-banking-hemp
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because of its strength, malleability, and resistance to wear and water.9 Hemp seed is used 
in food, cooking oil, dietary supplements, hygienic products like shampoo and lotion, and 
medicinal and pharmaceutical products.10 Recently, hemp farmers have begun harvesting 
hemp flowers to extract cannabidiol (CBD)—a non-psychoactive chemical compound 
that has garnered consumer interest for its purported medicinal and therapeutic benefits. 

Physical characteristics of hemp plants, such as height, the number of branches they 
have, and the number of flowers they produce, can vary substantially. Each physical char-
acteristic provides different benefits depending on the intended use of the plant. These 
physical differences are a result of the cannabis plant being selectively bred over thou-
sands of years to optimize different uses.11 Hemp grown for fiber or seeds tends to be 
taller with fewer branches, ranging from six to fifteen feet in height. The hemp plant’s 
height and lack of branches make it ideal for extracting fiber. Hemp grown for CBD is 
typically shorter and bushier, consisting of more leaves and branches, which is optimal 
for harvesting flowers to extract CBD.12

The physical attributes of the plants are also affected by the reproductive nature of 
the cannabis species. Male plants are typically used to produce fiber or seeds because they 
tend to grow taller and have fewer branches if they do not flower.13Alternatively, female 
plants are primarily used for CBD production because they grow more flowers.14 It is vital 
that a hemp crop consist of only one plant gender, because cross-pollination affects the 
characteristics of the plants and the quality of the desired harvestable component. For ex-
ample, cross-pollination of a hemp crop grown for CBD can result in lower CBD levels.15     

The cultivation techniques for hemp also vary depending on which part of the plant 
a farmer is harvesting. Hemp grown for fiber or seeds is typically grown close together 
to prevent branching and flowering. Hemp plants used for CBD production are planted 
with more space between them, which allows for more branches and flowers to grow. 
Growing and harvesting hemp for CBD is more time-consuming and labor-intensive 
than harvesting hemp for fiber or seeds.16 Fiber and seeds can be harvested efficiently 
using machinery, but harvesting CBD from flowers requires manual labor. As a result, 
hemp grown for CBD tends to be grown in small plots.

9. Albert Hazen Wright, “Wisconsin’s Hemp Industry,” Wisconsin Bulletin 293, Madison: Agricultural Experiment Station 
of the University of Wisconsin, 1918, https://babel.hathitrust.org/.  

10.  Johnson, “Hemp as an Agricultural Commodity.”
11. Johnson, “Defining Hemp: A Fact Sheet.”
12. Johnson, “Defining Hemp: A Fact Sheet.”
13. Johnson, “Hemp as an Agricultural Commodity.”
14. Jennifer Lu, “High Risks, High Rewards: Interest in Industrial Hemp Surges as Wisconsin Enters Second Year of Legal 

Production,” La Crosse Tribune, February 24, 2019, https://lacrossetribune.com/.
15. Lu, “High Risks, High Rewards.”
16. Johnson, “Defining Hemp: A Fact Sheet.”

https://babel.hathitrust.org/cgi/pt?id=uiug.30112019931697;view=1up;seq=5
https://lacrossetribune.com/news/local/high-risks-high-rewards-interest-in-industrial-hemp-surges-as/article_f31b5858-af10-5fdc-abd9-61aa90b5b8bb.html
https://lacrossetribune.com/news/local/high-risks-high-rewards-interest-in-industrial-hemp-surges-as/article_f31b5858-af10-5fdc-abd9-61aa90b5b8bb.html
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Background of hemp production in the United States
The United States has a rich history of growing hemp for industrial and agricultural 
purposes, dating back to the colonial period. Hemp was brought to the American colo-
nies by the Puritans in 1645 as a source of fiber to make cloth, paper, canvas, and rope.17 
Hemp fiber was especially important during the colonial period when it was used to 
make products such as rope and canvas for ships.18 Hemp production prospered in the 
United States, particularly in Kentucky, Illinois, and Missouri, until the Civil War. Fol-
lowing the Civil War, Kentucky remained the sole state with a substantial hemp industry 
due in part to cotton becoming a more popular source of fiber.19 Kentucky’s dominance 
in the hemp market started to dwindle in the early 1900s when several other states, in-
cluding Wisconsin, started their own hemp industries. 

Wisconsin harvested its first hemp crop in 1908 when the Wisconsin Experiment 
Station and the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) planted nine acres of 
hemp for research purposes.20 Wisconsin proved particularly well-suited for cultivating 
hemp, due to its humid and temperate climate and fertile soil. Wisconsin’s suitability for 
growing hemp led to a rapid growth in hemp production in the state, which was further 
buoyed by advances in technology at the time. In 1917, machinery was invented with the 
help of scientists at UW–Madison that more efficiently harvested and processed hemp.21 
Hemp mills were then built in Wisconsin to process hemp stalks into fiber, and Wiscon-
sin became the nation’s hub for producing hemp fibers. As a result of Wisconsin’s suit-
ability to grow hemp and technological advancements, Wisconsin became the top hemp 
producing state in the country by 1920 and remained the top producer until the 1950s.22  

Nationally, hemp production began declining in the 1930s due to several factors. 
Hemp fiber faced competition from cheaper fibers, including cotton and imported fibers 
like jute, sisal, and Manila hemp.23 Additionally, in 1937 the federal government passed 
the Marijuana Tax Act, which taxed all forms of marijuana, including hemp, and put in 
place restrictions that made it significantly more difficult to grow hemp.24 In effect, the 
act created a ban on hemp due to its onerous restrictions and bureaucracy. However, 
World War II caused the federal government to temporarily loosen its restrictions on 

17. Economic Research Service, “Industrial Hemp in the United States: Status and Market Potential,” U.S. Department of 
Agriculture, January 2000, https://www.ers.usda.gov/, 3. 

18. Carey Reed, “8 Things You Didn’t Know about Hemp,” PBS NewsHour, October 17, 2015, https://www.pbs.org/news-
hour. 

19. Wright, “Wisconsin’s Hemp Industry.”
20. Wright, “Wisconsin’s Hemp Industry.”
21. Jerry Apps, Wisconsin Agriculture: A History, Wisconsin Historical Society Press, 2015, p. 176. 
22. Marisa Wojcik, “Fast Facts: Hemp in Wisconsin,” Wisconsin Public Television, May 4, 2018, https://wpt4.org/. 
23. Wright, “Wisconsin’s Hemp Industry.”
24. Gerald J. McKenna, “The Current Status of Medical Marijuana in the United States,” Hawai’i Journal of Medicine & 

Public Health 73, no. 4 (April 2014): 105–8, https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/. 

https://www.ers.usda.gov/webdocs/publications/41740/15867_ages001e_1_.pdf?v=0
https://www.pbs.org/newshour/nation/8-things-didnt-know-hemp
https://wpt4.org/wpt-video/here-and-now/fast-facts-hemp-wisconsin-jiwtva/
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3998227
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hemp production as the war caused a shortage of imported fibers from Asia and in-
creased domestic demand for fibers.25 In response, the federal government embraced and 
promoted domestic production of hemp and created the program, “Hemp for Victory!” 
that included a film to educate U.S. farmers on growing hemp.26 Hemp fiber was pivotal 
in the production of materials needed for the war effort including thread for sewing 
shoes, rope, and materials for building ships and calking vessels.27 Hemp production was 
at a peak during the war, with the United States cultivating more than 400,000 acres of 
hemp from 1942 to 1945.28 

After the war, U.S. hemp production quickly declined as the federal government re-
sumed enforcement of its strict regulations and demand for hemp fiber decreased due 
to increased competition from cheaper imported fiber and newly developed synthetic 
fibers.29 By the 1950s, the hemp fiber industry was largely diminished and lingered in 
Wisconsin until 1957, when the last hemp crop was harvested in the state and country.30 
The hemp industry was outlawed entirely in 1970 when the federal government passed 
the Controlled Substances Act (CSA), which identified “marihuana,” including hemp, 
as a Schedule I31 drug. The designation of hemp as a controlled substance prohibited its 
production and use in any capacity, ending hemp production for the foreseeable future. 

The reemergence of hemp in the United States 
In 2014, the federal government passed legislation that legalized the production of hemp 
for the first time since it was prohibited in 1970. The Agricultural Act of 2014, also known 
as the 2014 Farm Bill, allowed states to create agricultural pilot programs to “study the 
growth, cultivation, or marketing of industrial hemp.”32 Under the pilot programs, hemp 
can be grown, processed, and sold on a limited basis under the purview of universities 
and state departments of agriculture. The law did not change hemp’s classification as 
a Schedule I drug and thus hemp remained illegal for all other purposes. The law also 
defined “industrial hemp” as “the plant Cannabis sativa L. and any part of such plant, 
whether growing or not, with a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of not more 
than 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis.”33 

25. Reed, “8 Things You Didn’t Know about Hemp.”
26. Deb Kozel, “Industrial Hemp Update,” Iowa Legislative Services Agency, February 1, 2019.
27. Wright, “Wisconsin’s Hemp Industry.”
28. Kozel, “Industrial Hemp Update.”
29. Economic Research Service, “Industrial Hemp in the United States: Status and Market Potential.” 
30. Carol Spaeth-Bauer, “Looking at an Exciting Future for Industrial Hemp,” Wisconsin State Farmer, December 19, 2018, 

https://www.wisfarmer.com/. 
31. There are five schedules of drugs. The federal government defines Schedule I drugs as substances that have a high po-

tential for abuse, have no currently accepted medical use in treatment, and lack accepted safety for use.
32.  Agricultural Act of 2014, Pub. L. 113-79, section 7606. 
33. Agricultural Act of 2014, Pub. L. 113-79, section 7606. 

https://youtu.be/jokV8xlJTNE
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/STATUTE-84/pdf/STATUTE-84-Pg1236.pdf
https://www.congress.gov/113/plaws/publ79/PLAW-113publ79.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/publications/IR/970404.pdf
https://www.wisfarmer.com/story/news/2018/12/19/looking-exciting-future-industrial-hemp/2359710002/
https://www.congress.gov/113/plaws/publ79/PLAW-113publ79.pdf
https://www.congress.gov/113/plaws/publ79/PLAW-113publ79.pdf
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In August 2016, the USDA, the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA), and U.S. 
Food and Drug Administration (FDA) released the “Statement of Principles on Industri-
al Hemp” to clarify policies relating to activities involving hemp that were not addressed 
in the 2014 Farm Bill. According to the statement, since the farm bill did not remove 
hemp from the list of controlled substances, hemp remained illegal for all purposes not 
specified in the bill. The agencies clarified their policies on several key activities. First, 
hemp products could be sold only “for purposes of marketing research” and could not 
be sold in states that did not have hemp pilot programs. Second, hemp seeds and plants 
could not be transported over state lines. Third, individuals had to be registered with the 
DEA to import viable cannabis seeds. Finally, rules applying to controlled substances still 
applied to products containing hemp, meaning products could not be manufactured or 
distributed unless approved by the FDA.34 This policy also prohibited the transportation 
of hemp products across state lines.35 Collectively, these policy clarifications formalized 
barriers to growing and processing hemp and limited how hemp could be used and sold.

Since the passage of the 2014 Farm Bill, 47 states, including Wisconsin, have estab-
lished hemp pilot programs.36 Several states moved quickly to implement hemp programs, 
but it has taken several years for most states to launch them. As a result, hemp produc-
tion has grown rapidly in recent years. From 2016 to 2017, hemp production more than 
doubled, increasing from 9,770 acres to 25,500 acres.37 Colorado is currently the leading 
state for hemp production, growing 9,700 acres in 2017. In addition to a surge in hemp 
production, sales of hemp products continue to grow, increasing 10–20 percent annually 
since 2011 and totaling $688 million in 2016.38  The U.S. market currently relies heavily 
on imported hemp goods, mostly from Canada, and global hemp production dwarfs U.S. 
production. In 2016, global production of hemp totaled 225,000 acres in 2016, which was 
more than 20 times what the United States produced.39 This suggests that there is great 
potential for growth of domestic hemp production and a growing market in the United 
States for hemp products.

Wisconsin established a hemp pilot program in November 2017 via 2017 Wisconsin 
Act 100. Similar to the vast majority of other states that have created pilot programs, Wis-
consin defines hemp as “a variety of cannabis with a THC concentration of not more than 
0.3 percent.”40 West Virginia is the only state that defines hemp differently, defining hemp 

34. “Statement of Principles on Industrial Hemp,” 81 Fed. Reg. 156, August 12, 2016. 
35. Matthew DeFour, “DOJ Issues Warning on Sale and Possession of CBD Oil, Upsetting Hemp Farmers,” Wisconsin State 

Journal, May 5, 2018, https://madison.com/wsj/. 
36. “State Industrial Hemp Statutes,” National Conference of State Legislatures, February 1, 2019, http://www.ncsl.org/. 
37.  Johnson, “Hemp as an Agricultural Commodity.”
38. Johnson, “Hemp as an Agricultural Commodity.”
39. Johnson, “Hemp as an Agricultural Commodity.”
40. “Industrial hemp” as defined under Wis. Stat § 94.55(1) also provides that “‘industrial hemp’ includes a substance, ma-

terial, or product only if it is designated as a controlled substance under the federal Controlled Substances Act under 21 USC 
801 to 971 or the Uniform Controlled Substances Act under ch. 961 or both.”

https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2016/08/12/2016-19146/statement-of-principles-on-industrial-hemp?utm_campaign=pi+subscription+mailing+list&utm_medium=email&utm_source=federalregister.gov
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2016/08/12/2016-19146/statement-of-principles-on-industrial-hemp?utm_campaign=pi+subscription+mailing+list&utm_medium=email&utm_source=federalregister.gov
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2017/related/acts/100
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2017/related/acts/100
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2016/08/12/2016-19146/statement-of-principles-on-industrial-hemp?utm_campaign=pi+subscription+mailing+list&utm_medium=email&utm_source=federalregister.gov
https://madison.com/wsj/business/doj-issues-warning-on-sale-and-possession-of-cbd-oil/article_ec2f60f3-9d50-5ee9-84cd-c1c550eaeac6.html
http://www.ncsl.org/research/agriculture-and-rural-development/state-industrial-hemp-statutes.aspx
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.55(1)
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as having a THC concentration that is less than 1 percent.41 In the Wisconsin act, the leg-
islature directed DATCP to create a pilot program and promulgate emergency rules42 to 
operate the program. Similar to federal law, the act did not remove hemp from the state 
list of controlled substances,43 meaning the use of hemp outside the program is still ille-
gal. The act also established protections from prosecution for program participants who 
use hemp as allowed under the program. People who grow or process hemp outside the 
program or use hemp in ways not approved under program regulations are still subject 
to prosecution under the state’s controlled substances laws. 

DATCP officially launched the state pilot program in 2018 in time for the growing 
season. 2017 Wisconsin Act 100 established several specific requirements for the pro-
gram. First, an entity must have a license to grow or process hemp.44 Second, licensed 
hemp growers or processors must be registered with DATCP.45 Finally, the law requires 
that a form accompany any harvested hemp being processed and transported to ensure 
it complies with the THC concentration requirement.46 As required by law, DATCP de-
veloped regulations for the operation of the pilot program including licensing require-
ments, program fees, protocols for sampling and testing hemp for its THC concentration, 
and reporting requirements.47 For more details on Wisconsin’s hemp pilot program, see 
the appendix.

In the first year of Wisconsin’s program, 347 people applied for licenses to grow or 
process hemp.48 Of the 247 licenses issued to grow hemp, 135 individuals grew a total of 
1,872 acres of hemp.49 For the 2019 season, DATCP saw a significant increase in appli-
cations, receiving 2,227 applications to grow or process hemp. DATCP has issued 1,308 
licenses to grow hemp and 618 licenses to process hemp.50 The significant increase in 
applications and licenses issued for the 2019 season suggests strong enthusiasm to grow 
hemp and participate in the hemp industry.

In the first year of the program, hemp farmers in Wisconsin experienced several 
issues that resulted in low yields.51 These issues included poor weather and mistakes due 

41. National Conference of State Legislatures, “State Industrial Hemp Statutes.” 
42. As required by the act, DATCP promulgated Emergency Rule 1808 in March 2018, which created ATCP Chapter 22, 

establishing the industrial hemp pilot program. These rules remain in place until July 1, 2020, unless permanent rules are 
enacted prior to that date.

43. Wis. Stat. § 961.14(4)(t) identifies THC contained in marijuana as a Schedule I controlled substance. Hemp is included 
in the definition for marijuana as defined in Wis. Stat. § 961.01(14). However, Wis. Stat. § 961.14(4)(t)2. exempts THC con-
tained in fiber from stalks or compounds made from the seeds of hemp plants.

44. Wis. Stat § 94.55(3)(a).
45. Wis. Stat § 94.55(3)(b). 
46. Wis. Stat § 94.55(3)(c).
47. Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22, EmR1808. 
48. Angela James, written testimony for Senate Committee on Agriculture, Revenue and Financial Institutions hearing on 

SB 188, Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection, May 30, 2019.
49. Ibid.
50. Ibid. 
51. Spaeth-Bauer, “Looking at an Exciting Future for Industrial Hemp.”

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A1/register/emr/emr1807_rule_text/emr1807_rule_text.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/961.14(4)(t)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/961.01(14)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/961.14(4)(t)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.55(3)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.55(3)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.55(3)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A2/register/emr/emr1808_rule_text/emr1808_rule_text.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/emergency_rules/all/emr1808
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/misc/lc/hearing_testimony_and_materials/2019/sb188/sb0188_2019_05_30.pdf
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to inexperience in growing the crop. Rainy weather during the planting and harvesting 
stages of the season led to poor germination because hemp grows poorly in saturated soil 
and rain makes harvesting difficult.52 Some farmers also made mistakes due to a lack of 
knowledge or experience growing the crop; for example, some farmers planted seeds too 
deep in the soil.53 Other farmers lost their crop due to the THC level being too high, as 
was the case for 21 crops out of 303 sampled.54 Mistakes are to be expected with any new 
or reintroduced crop and are one of the main motivations for conducting a pilot program. 

Wisconsin hemp farmers also faced challenges in growing or selling their crops due 
to barriers in the hemp industry and market. Some farmers struggled to find viable seeds 
or were overcharged by seed dealers.55 Hemp seeds can be expensive, ranging from $1 to 
$5 per seed. 56 Additionally, hemp seedlings have a high mortality rate with approximate-
ly 25 percent of seeds failing to grow into mature plants.57 The high cost of seeds coupled 
with a high seedling mortality rate poses a serious financial risk to farmers who experi-
ence particularly poor germination. A number of states, including Wisconsin, have acted 
to regulate seeds and create hemp seed certification programs58 to ensure that viable 
hemp seeds that meet THC concentration requirements are available.59 Seed certification 
may help improve uniformity of hemp crops and compliance with THC requirements, 
but may also pose challenges to farmers by limiting the hemp seed varieties they can buy 
and plant. In addition to the seed issue, a number of farmers were unable to find buyers 
for their crops.60 Hemp is a relatively new and undeveloped industry, meaning the cur-
rent market for hemp is unpredictable and unstable. At this time, it is difficult to predict 
how the market will develop and whether growing hemp will become lucrative.   

The 2018 Farm Bill 
In December 2018, the federal government made significant changes to its hemp laws as 
part of the Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018, also known as the 2018 Farm Bill. Per-
haps most significantly, the farm bill removed hemp from the list of controlled substanc-
es.61 The farm bill also defined hemp as an agricultural commodity, but still required it 

52. Spaeth-Bauer, “Looking at an Exciting Future for Industrial Hemp.”
53. Molly Stentz, “The Comeback Crop,” Isthmus, February 21, 2019, https://isthmus.com/. 
54. Shamane Mills, “DATCP Takes Nearly 2.1K Hemp Grower, Producer Applications,” WPR, March 4, 2019, https://www.

wpr.org. 
55. Stentz, “The Comeback Crop.”
56. Lu, “High Risks, High Rewards.”
57. Lu, “High Risks, High Rewards.”
58. Wis. Stat. § 94.55(2)(c) requires DATCP or a specified organization to administer a seed certification program. DATCP 

established specific rules for hemp seeds and hemp seed certification in Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.07. 
59. National Conference of State Legislatures, “State Industrial Hemp Statutes.”
60. Rick Romell, “CBD ‘gold Rush’ Could Mean Big Business for Wisconsin’s Hemp Industry,” Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, 

November 12, 2018, https://www.jsonline.com/.
61. The act exempted hemp under the definition for “marihuana” under 21 U.S.C. § 802(16)(B)(i).

https://www.congress.gov/115/bills/hr2/BILLS-115hr2enr.pdf
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/21/802
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/21/802
https://isthmus.com/api/content/69344dd6-354b-11e9-924f-120e7ad5cf50/
https://www.wpr.org/datcp-takes-nearly-2-1k-hemp-grower-producer-applications
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.55(2)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A1/register/emr/emr1807_rule_text/emr1807_rule_text.pdf
https://www.jsonline.com/story/money/business/2018/11/12/you-cant-get-stoned-hemp-but-some-see-big-payoff-pots-cousin/1898262002/
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/21/802
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to be regulated. Specifically, the farm bill directed the USDA to establish a permanent 
federal hemp program. The farm bill phases out these state pilot programs, terminating 
them one year after the USDA secretary releases regulations for the federal program.62 
The USDA is planning on issuing regulations in the fall of 2019 that would go into ef-
fect for the 2020 growing season.63 However, states and Indian tribes have the option of 
establishing their own permanent programs in lieu of the federal program as long as the 
programs include specific requirements as established in the farm bill. These require-
ments include procedures for testing THC levels, annual inspections of hemp producers, 
protocols for disposing of plants that violate standards, and enforcement procedures for 
program violations.64 Several states, including Michigan, Virginia, and Texas, have al-
ready passed legislation to establish permanent programs. States planning to establish 
their own programs must do so before the pilot programs expire, which occurs twelve 
months after regulations are issued for the federal program.  

The farm bill addressed several other issues relating to hemp, most notably the issue 
of interstate commerce and the transportation of hemp. The law addressed the trans-
portation restrictions established in the 2016 USDA statement by preventing states from 
prohibiting the transportation of hemp or hemp products.65 Hemp and hemp products 
can now be transported across all state lines—even in states that do not have hemp pro-
grams. Additionally, the act defined hemp as an agricultural commodity, making it eligi-
ble for crop insurance.66 Collectively, these changes make it easier to grow and sell hemp 
and help provide stability and legitimacy to the hemp industry.

Wisconsin must pass legislation to establish a permanent hemp program or its cur-
rent pilot program will cease to exist and hemp producers in the state will be regulat-
ed under the federal program. Wisconsin’s program would need to be approved by the 
USDA before it could go into effect. The Wisconsin Legislature has introduced legisla-
tion, 2019 SB 188 and 2019 AB 206, or the “Growing Opportunities Act” or “Hemp 2.0” 
as it is commonly known, to make changes to Wisconsin’s hemp laws. Senators Testin and 
Taylor, who are leading the senate bill, state that the legislation is mostly a clean-up bill 
to bring Wisconsin law into compliance with federal laws and to establish a permanent 
state program. 

The proposed legislation seeks to make additional changes to Wisconsin’s hemp 
program that are not required by federal law. These changes include increasing legal 
protections for persons possessing hemp with a THC concentration above 0.3 percent, 
establishing labeling requirements for hemp and hemp products, clarifying that CBD is 

62. Pub. L. 115-334, section 7605.
63. “Hemp Production Program,” United States Department of Agriculture, February 27, 2019, https://www.ams.usda.gov/. 
64. Pub. L. 115-334, section 297B.
65. Pub. L. 115-334, section 10114.
66.  Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018, Pub. L. 115-334, section 11106.

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/2017-2018/billenrolled/House/htm/2018-HNB-6330.htm
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+ful+CHAP0654+pdf
https://capitol.texas.gov/tlodocs/86R/billtext/pdf/HB01325F.pdf#navpanes=0
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2019/related/proposals/sb188
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2019/related/proposals/ab206
https://www.congress.gov/115/bills/hr2/BILLS-115hr2enr.pdf
https://www.ams.usda.gov/content/hemp-production-program
https://www.congress.gov/115/bills/hr2/BILLS-115hr2enr.pdf
https://www.congress.gov/115/bills/hr2/BILLS-115hr2enr.pdf
https://www.congress.gov/115/bills/hr2/BILLS-115hr2enr.pdf
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not a controlled substance, and making changes to the administration of the program. 
As other states move to establish their own permanent hemp programs, Wisconsin 
has an incentive to adopt policies that will make its program attractive to farmers and 
hemp processors and that will result in a competitive and prosperous hemp industry 
in the state. 

Outstanding issues pertaining to hemp
The legalization of hemp has resulted in complications and legal uncertainty for cer-
tain hemp products and activities. The most prevalent issue that has been the subject of 
several state and federal policy clarifications is the legal status of CBD and CBD-based 
products. Also at issue is how legal hemp products that contain trace amounts of THC in-
tersect with laws on operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated (OWI). Finally, there has 
been an issue of hemp businesses experiencing difficulty in obtaining financial services. 
This section will explain these ongoing legal issues pertaining to hemp. 

Legal status of CBD

CBD, which lacks a psychoactive effect from THC, is one of more than 80 chemical com-
pounds found in hemp.67 CBD is purported to have therapeutic and medical benefits in-
cluding treating pain, anxiety, inflammation, and seizures.68 As a result, interest in CBD 
has soared in recent years and a wide variety of CBD-based products including oil, food, 
dietary supplements, and vaporizers have entered the U.S. market. While the manufac-
turers of many of these products claim their products have medical benefits, the FDA 
has approved the use of CBD in only one drug, Epidiolex, which was approved in June 
2018 to treat severe seizures.69 CBD’s potential to treat other medical conditions is still 
unknown and is the subject of ongoing scientific studies.70   

Since the 2014 farm bill, the CBD industry has proliferated and CBD products can 
be seen on shelves in establishments ranging from hair salons to video rental stores. 
Many farmers are interested in producing hemp for CBD due to the rapid expansion of 
the CBD market and the potential to earn a higher profit from CBD compared to other 
parts of the hemp plant like fiber or seeds.71 The market for CBD is expected to continue 

67. Sheila Kaplan, “Cannabis Companies Push F.D.A. to Ease Rules on CBD Products,” The New York Times, May 31, 2019, 
https://www.nytimes.com/.   

68. Romell, “CBD ‘gold Rush’ Could Mean Big Business for Wisconsin’s Hemp Industry.” 
69. “FDA Approves First Drug Comprised of an Active Ingredient Derived from Marijuana to Treat Rare, Severe Forms of 

Epilepsy,” U.S. Food & Drug Administration, June 26, 2018, https://www.fda.gov/. Epidiolex uses CBD that is created synthet-
ically rather than from cannabis plants. 

70. Moises Velasquez-Manoff, “Can CBD Really Do All That?,” The New York Times Magazine, May 14, 2019, https://www.
nytimes.com/. 

71. Tom Still, “InsideWis: Industrial Hemp May Be Agriculture’s next Big Thing, but Wisconsin Can’t Dawdle,” Wisconsin 
Technology Council, February 27, 2019, https://wisconsintechnologycouncil.com/. 

https://www.nytimes.com/2019/05/31/health/cannabis-fda-regulate.html?smid=nytcore-ios-share
https://www.fda.gov/news-events/press-announcements/fda-approves-first-drug-comprised-active-ingredient-derived-marijuana-treat-rare-severe-forms
https://www.fda.gov/news-events/press-announcements/fda-approves-first-drug-comprised-active-ingredient-derived-marijuana-treat-rare-severe-forms
https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2019/05/14/magazine/cbd-cannabis-cure.html
https://wisconsintechnologycouncil.com/insidewis-industrial-hemp-may-be-agricultures-next-big-thing-but-wisconsin-cant-dawdle/
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growing with CBD sales in the United States estimated to reach $16 billion annually by 
2025.72 Revenue estimates for CBD vary widely, from $40,000 an acre to $100,000 an 
acre, raising doubts about the profitability of CBD.73 Despite the uncertainty over CBD’s 
profitability, hemp farmers will likely continue prioritizing CBD over seeds or fiber due 
to its market potential and promise for higher profits. 

While the CBD market prospers, the legal status of CBD remains uncertain and has 
been in flux over the last several years. In December 2016, the DEA issued a rule and 
clarification explicitly stating that CBD fell under the definition of marijuana under the 
Controlled Substances Act.74 Using the DEA rule as guidance, former Wisconsin At-
torney General Brad Schimel released a memo75 on April 27, 2018, stating that CBD oil 
produced from hemp was illegal in the state except for approved medical purposes as 
allowed under state law.76 Facing backlash from state hemp farmers, Attorney Gener-
al Schimel released another memo on May 10, 2018, effectively reversing the decision. 
This memo stated: “Farmers who participate in [the hemp pilot program] and follow the 
rules are exempt from criminal prosecution, and products made from hemp, including 
CBD, are lawful.”77 The memo did not address whether CBD-based products made from 
a plant other than hemp are legal. 

The 2018 Farm Bill greatly clarified the legal status of CBD by removing hemp from 
the federal list of controlled substances. This change effectively legalized hemp products, 
including CBD, that contain a THC concentration of 0.3 percent or less. 

A Wisconsin law commonly known as “Lydia’s Law”78 allows for the use or possession 
of products that contain CBD with a THC concentration greater than 0.3 percent, under 
specified conditions, as long as it does not have a psychoactive effect. However, state 
law does not specify the THC concentration level needed to cause a psychoactive effect. 
Under Lydia’s Law, CBD must be dispensed by a pharmacy or physician for a medical 
condition and individuals are allowed to possess CBD if they have a certification issued 
by a physician that allows for the possession of CBD to treat a medical condition.79 In 
effect, Lydia’s Law allows certain individuals to possess CBD with a THC concentration 
higher than what is allowed under federal law. The current proposed legislation (SB 188 

72. Kaplan, “Cannabis Companies Push F.D.A. to Ease Rules on CBD Products.”
73. Romell, “CBD ‘gold Rush’ Could Mean Big Business for Wisconsin’s Hemp Industry.”
74. “Clarification of the New Drug Code (7350) for Marijuana Extract,” Drug Enforcement Administration, https://www.

deadiversion.usdoj.gov/. 
75. The memo is not available as it was removed from the DATCP website.
76. Wisconsin State Farmer, “Schimel Issues Guidance on CBD Oil, Industrial Hemp Production,” Wisconsin State Farmer, 

May 4, 2018, https://www.wisfarmer.com/. 
77. John P. Koremenos, Jr., “AG Schimel and Stakeholders Resolve Questions Surrounding DATCP Hemp Research Pilot 

Program,” Wisconsin Department of Justice, May 10, 2018.
78. Lydia’s Law was passed in 2014 as 2013 Wisconsin Act 267. The act exempted CBD from the definition of THC under 

Wisconsin’s Controlled Substances Act and allowed for CBD to be dispensed by physicians and pharmacists and possessed by 
individuals with a medical certificate. The law’s language was amended by 2017 Wisconsin Act 4.

79. Wis. Stat. § 961.38(1n)(a); Wis. Stat. § 961.32(2m)(b).

https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/fed_regs/rules/2016/fr1214.htm
https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/schedules/marijuana/m_extract_7350.html
https://web.archive.org/web/20190130163054/https:/datcp.wi.gov/Documents/IHPressReleaseCBD.pdf
https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/schedules/marijuana/m_extract_7350.html
https://www.wisfarmer.com/story/news/press-release/2018/05/04/schimel-issues-guidance-cbd-oil-industrial-hemp-production/582938002/
https://web.archive.org/web/20190130163054/https:/datcp.wi.gov/Documents/IHPressReleaseCBD.pdf
https://web.archive.org/web/20190130163054/https:/datcp.wi.gov/Documents/IHPressReleaseCBD.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2013/related/acts/267.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2017/related/acts/4.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/961.38(1n)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/961.32(2m)(b)
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and AB 206) would have state law match federal law in removing hemp, including CBD, 
from the state list of controlled substances if it has a THC concentration of 0.3 percent or 
less. However, the bill does not make any changes to Lydia’s Law, meaning a person with 
a medical certificate could still possess and use CBD that contains a higher THC concen-
tration than is currently allowed under federal law. 

Even though the 2018 Farm Bill clarified the legality of CBD generally, FDA regu-
lations have continued to cause confusion. The farm bill explicitly preserved the FDA’s 
authority to regulate hemp and CBD under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act 
(FD&C Act)80 and the Public Health Service Act.81 Because CBD is the active ingredient 
in the FDA-approved drug Epidiolex, the FDA’s position is that, under the FD&C Act, 
CBD may not be added to food or dietary supplements.82 Federal law prohibits the intro-
duction of food that contains an active ingredient in an FDA-approved drug into inter-
state commerce.83 In addition, the FDA considers any product that is marketed or sold 
for use in curing, treating, or preventing a disease to be a “drug” that must be approved 
by the FDA before it can be marketed for human or animal use.84 In a public hearing 
held on May 31, 2019, the FDA suggested that it may be open to issuing regulations that 
would allow CBD to be added to food and dietary supplements.85 The FDA has previous-
ly approved the use of hemp seeds and seed extract in food products.86 A change in FDA 
policy to allow the use of CBD in dietary supplements and food would put CBD in line 
with other hemp components that can be used in any product. 

Since 2015, the FDA has issued warning letters to companies making egregious claims 
about the medical or therapeutic benefits of CBD, such as curing cancer or Alzheimer’s.87 
However, to date, the FDA has not initiated any enforcement actions against any compa-
ny that is selling or marketing CBD or CBD products that violate FDA regulations. There 
is also currently a lack of consumer protection provisions in place at the state and federal 
levels to ensure that CBD products that are sold are safe for consumption and meet set 
standards, such as the amount of CBD that can be present in a product. Some companies 
make false claims about the amount of CBD a product contains, with products often 
containing less CBD than claimed or no CBD at all.88 Some CBD products have also 

80. 21 U.S.C. § 301.
81. 42 U.S.C. § 262.
82. Scott Gottlieb, “Statement from FDA Commissioner Scott Gottlieb, M.D., on Signing of the Agriculture Improvement 

Act and the Agency’s Regulation of Products Containing Cannabis and Cannabis-Derived Compounds,” U.S. Food & Drug 
Administration, December 20, 2018, https://www.fda.gov/. 

83. 21 U.S.C. § 331(ll). 
84. Gottlieb, “Statement from FDA Commissioner Scott Gottlieb, M.D.”
85. “Scientific Data and Information About Products Containing Cannabis or Cannabis-Derived Compounds; Public 

Hearing; Request for Comments,” Federal Register, Vol. 84, No. 64, April 3, 2019, https://www.federalregister.gov/. 
86. “FDA Responds to Three GRAS Notices for Hemp Seed-Derived Ingredients for Use in Human Food,” U.S. Food & 

Drug Administration, December 20, 2018, https://www.fda.gov/.
87. Kaplan, “Cannabis Companies Push F.D.A. to Ease Rules on CBD Products.”
88. Velasquez-Manoff, “Can CBD Really Do All That?”

https://www.fda.gov/news-events/public-health-focus/warning-letters-and-test-results-cannabidiol-related-products
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/21/301
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/42/262
https://www.fda.gov/news-events/press-announcements/statement-fda-commissioner-scott-gottlieb-md-signing-agriculture-improvement-act-and-agencys
https://www.fda.gov/news-events/press-announcements/statement-fda-commissioner-scott-gottlieb-md-signing-agriculture-improvement-act-and-agencys
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/21/331
https://www.federalregister.gov/d/2019-06436
https://www.federalregister.gov/d/2019-06436
https://www.fda.gov/food/cfsan-constituent-updates/fda-responds-three-gras-notices-hemp-seed-derived-ingredients-use-human-food
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been shown to contain harmful substances including lead and pesticides.89 Proposed SB 
188 and AB 206 address some of these issues at the state level by requiring products to 
be labeled properly and prohibiting companies from making inaccurate claims about 
their products. The legislation does not require specific standards for products or quality 
control measures, but current law does require DATCP to promulgate rules to ensure the 
safety of hemp products. 

Laws on operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated

An individual who ingests CBD and drives may be at risk of violating the law against op-
erating a motor vehicle while intoxicated (OWI). OWI law prohibits operation of a motor 
vehicle with a detectable amount of a restricted controlled substance in one’s blood.90 
Currently, the list of restricted controlled substances includes THC, regardless of the 
source.91 CBD products commonly contain a small amount of THC, putting people who 
consume CBD at risk of committing an OWI. State law provides an affirmative defense 
to an OWI charge that, at the time of the incident, the operator of the motor vehicle had 
a valid prescription for THC.92 However, this defense does not apply to individuals who 
consume CBD without a valid medical certificate.

OWI law also prohibits operation of a motor vehicle while impaired; however, de-
termining whether a person is impaired from THC is not straightforward. Unlike alco-
hol, which has a set standard of a blood alcohol concentration of 0.8 percent to deter-
mine intoxication, there is currently no accepted standard amount of THC that is used 
to determine impairment from THC.93 Several states have attempted to set THC levels to 
determine impairment, but these levels are not supported by scientific evidence. Using 
the standard of any amount of THC, like Wisconsin currently does, is also problematic 
because THC can remain in a person’s body for up to a month after consumption—well 
beyond the period of experiencing a psychoactive effect.94 Based on these properties, a 
person can have THC present in his or her system and not be experiencing a psychoac-
tive effect that would make him or her impaired to drive. This makes it difficult to set a 
standard for determining impairment from THC. 

State lawmakers and law enforcement personnel are wrestling with how to address 
this issue. SB 188 and AB 206 include a provision that would remove THC from the defi-
nition of “restricted controlled substance” as it pertains to operating a motorized vehicle 
and other motorized modes of transportation. Under this proposal, a person could not be 

89. Kaplan, “Cannabis Companies Push F.D.A. to Ease Rules on CBD Products.”
90. Wis. Stat. § 346.63 (1) (am).
91. Wis. Stat. § 340.01 (50m) (e).
92. Wis. Stat. § 346.63 (1) (d).
93. Eric Westervelt, “The Pot Breathalyzer is Here. Maybe,” NPR, August 4, 2018, https://www.npr.org. 
94. Westervelt, “The Pot Breathalyzer is Here. Maybe.”

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/346.63(1)(am)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/340.01(50m)(e)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/346.63(1)(d)
https://www.npr.org/2018/08/04/634992695/the-pot-breathalyzer-is-here-maybe
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charged under OWI laws for having THC in his or her blood, as is the case under current 
law. Law enforcement would need to prove that an individual is impaired, but cannot rely 
solely on the presence of THC to support that claim. At a committee hearing on the bill 
on May 31, 2019, several law enforcement officers expressed opposition to the proposal, 
suggesting that it would make it more difficult to enforce OWI laws for people driving 
while high. Under a proposed amendment to the senate and assembly bills, THC would 
remain a restricted controlled substance but only at a concentration of one or more nano-
grams per milliliter of a person’s blood.95 

Financial barriers for hemp businesses

Hemp businesses have experienced difficulty in securing loans or bank accounts due 
to federal laws. Previously, when hemp was listed as a controlled substance, financial 
institutions were at risk of being prosecuted for serving hemp businesses under federal 
money laundering laws and other banking laws.96 In February 2014, the U.S. Treasury 
Department provided guidance in accordance with a memo issued by the U.S. Depart-
ment of Justice (DOJ) that allowed financial institutions to individually decide whether 
to serve marijuana-based businesses, at their own risk.97 This memo was an extension of 
the Cole Memo98 issued by DOJ in August 2013 that effectively limited enforcement of 
federal marijuana laws in states that legalized marijuana with strong enforcement mech-
anisms. Many financial institutions still refused to serve hemp businesses and the Small 
Business Administration (SBA) even established a policy in April 2018 forbidding banks 
from providing loans to any “hemp-related business” unless the business could prove 
it was legal.99 The statement specifically mentioned “paper, clothing and rope” as legal 
products, but it did not specify what other activities or products are considered legal.100 

The issue of hemp businesses being denied financial services appeared to be resolved 
when the 2018 Farm Bill removed hemp from the federal list of controlled substances. In 
accordance with the farm bill, the SBA reversed its policy in February 2019 and allowed 
loans to be made to hemp businesses.101 Despite the change made by the farm bill, many 
hemp businesses are still being refused financial services. As recently as May 2019, hemp 

95. Senate Amendment 1 to Senate Bill 188 and Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 206.
96. Banks are subject to prosecution under federal money laundering laws (18 U.S.C. § 1956 and 18 U.S.C. § 1957), unli-

censed money transmitter laws (18 U.S.C. § 1960), and the Bank Secrecy Act (31 U.S.C. § 5311). 
97. “BSA Expectations Regarding Marijuana-Related Businesses,” Financial Crimes Enforcement Network, Department of 

the Treasury, February 14, 2014, https://www.fincen.gov/. 
98. The Cole Memo was issued by former Deputy Attorney General James M. Cole in August 2013 and was later rescinded 

by a memo issued in January 2018 by former Attorney General Jeff Sessions. This memo reasserted the right of federal pros-
ecutors to determine how to enforce and prioritize prosecution for federal marijuana offenses.

99. Linda E. McMahon, “Revised Guidance on Credit Elsewhere and Other Provisions in SOP 50 10 5(J),” Small Business 
Administration, April 3, 2018.

100. Ibid.
101. Dianna L. Seaborn, “Issuance of SOP 50 10 5(K),” Small Business Administration, February 15, 2019. 

https://www.fincen.gov/resources/statutes-regulations/guidance/bsa-expectations-regarding-marijuana-related-businesses
https://www.justice.gov/sites/default/files/usao-wdwa/legacy/2014/02/14/DAG%20Memo%20-%20Guidance%20Regarding%20Marijuana%20Related%20Financial%20Crimes%202%2014%2014%20%282%29.pdf
https://www.justice.gov/iso/opa/resources/3052013829132756857467.pdf
https://www.sba.gov/sites/default/files/resource_files/SBA_Policy_Notice_5000-17057_Revised_Guidance_on_Credit_Elsewhere_and_Other_Provisions.pdf
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/18/1956
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/18/1957
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/18/1960
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2012-title31/pdf/USCODE-2012-title31-subtitleIV-chap53-subchapII-sec5311.pdf
https://www.fincen.gov/resources/statutes-regulations/guidance/bsa-expectations-regarding-marijuana-related-businesses
https://www.justice.gov/opa/press-release/file/1022196/download
https://www.sba.gov/sites/default/files/resource_files/SBA_Policy_Notice_5000-17057_Revised_Guidance_on_Credit_Elsewhere_and_Other_Provisions.pdf
https://www.sba.gov/sites/default/files/2019-02/Info%20Notice%20SOP%2050%2010%205K%205000-19004%20SECURED.pdf
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businesses in Wisconsin have had their bank accounts closed or were denied from open-
ing accounts.102 Some financial institutions have cited a lack of federal regulations on 
hemp and CBD as the reason they are not serving hemp businesses.103 These institutions 
worry that without federal regulations they run the risk of not being in compliance with 
existing financial regulations. Until federal regulations are developed on this subject, in-
dividual financial institutions are left to decide whether to serve hemp businesses.  

Summary
Over the past several years, states have experimented with growing hemp and allowing 
businesses to process and sell hemp on a limited basis. The 2018 Farm Bill made hemp 
a permanent part of U.S. agriculture and provided stability to a new and uncertain in-
dustry. The farm bill has provided an opportunity for states to establish their own pro-
grams and develop regulations for an industry that is just starting and expected to grow 
quickly. There is strong enthusiasm for hemp in Wisconsin as indicated by the significant 
increase in applications for grower and processor licenses for the 2019 growing season. 
Given this enthusiasm and Wisconsin’s past history and success in growing hemp, Wis-
consin has an incentive to establish a hemp program that facilitates hemp production in 
the state while also ensuring that key legal and enforcement issues are addressed. The 
state legislature will need to consider several key legal, industry, and regulatory barriers 
as outlined in this paper to establish a program that will best meet the needs of the hemp 
industry in Wisconsin. ■

102. Brittany Lewis, “CBD Store Owner Says Banks Account Closed Over Products Sold,” CBS 58 WDJT – Milwaukee, May 
23, 2019, https://www.cbs58.com/.

103. Emilee Fannon, “CBD Issue Puts Credit Union at Odds with State Officials,” WKOW, April 26, 2019, https://wkow.
com/. 

https://www.cbs58.com/news/cbd-store-owner-experiences-banking-issues
https://wkow.com/news/political/2019/04/26/cbd-issue-puts-credit-union-at-odds-with-state-officials
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Appendix: Wisconsin’s hemp pilot program 
Wisconsin’s hemp pilot program is established in section 94.55 of the Wisconsin Statutes 
and is administered by DATCP. Protections from prosecution for program participants 
are established in section 961.32(3)(b) of the Wisconsin Statutes under Chapter 961, the 
Uniform Controlled Substances Act. The following is a detailed description of the pro-
gram components.   

Licensure

A person that grows or processes hemp must obtain a license.104 There are two types of li-
censes: a grower license and a processor license.105 A grower license is required to plant or 
harvest hemp. A processor license is required to store, transport, handle, and convert hemp 
to be used for retail purposes. A licensed hemp grower may process hemp without a separate 
processor license if the grower is processing only hemp that he or she grows. Licenses do 
not expire and remain valid until the pilot program ends unless a license is suspended or 
revoked.106 

There are two main requirements to obtain a grower or processor license estab-
lished in Wisconsin Statutes.107 First, a person applying for a grower’s license must 
provide the GPS coordinates for the location where hemp production will occur. 
Second, a person applying for either a grower or a processor license must undergo a 
background check. If the background check reveals that an applicant has violated any 
controlled substances law in any jurisdiction, the applicant will be denied a license. 
DATCP has the authority to determine additional license application requirements as 
well as authority to establish criteria for accepting, rejecting, suspending, or revoking 
licenses.108  

Registration

Licensed hemp growers and processors must register with DATCP every year they wish 
to grow or process hemp.109 To register, DATCP currently requires each program par-
ticipant to pay a registration fee and submit the GPS coordinates of hemp facilities, a 

104. Under Wis. Stat. § 94.55(3)(a), DATCP must “issue licenses that authorize the planting, growing, cultivating, harvest-
ing, sampling, testing, processing, transporting, transferring, taking possession, selling, importing, and exporting of indus-
trial hemp.”

105. Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.03.
106. Wis. Stat. § 94.55(3)(a); Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.03(1) and 22.03(3).
107. Wis. Stat. § 94.55(3)(a).
108. Requirements for obtaining a license and policies for amending, denying, suspending, and revoking licenses are estab-

lished in Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.03.
109. See Wis. Stat. § 94.55(3)(b): DATCP must “create a registration system that authorizes the sampling, testing, process-

ing, transporting, transferring, taking possession, selling, importing, and exporting of industrial hemp.”

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.55
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/961.32(3)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/961.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.55(3)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A2/register/emr/emr1808_rule_text/emr1808_rule_text
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.55(3)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A2/register/emr/emr1808_rule_text/emr1808_rule_text
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.55(3)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A1/register/emr/emr1807_rule_text/emr1807_rule_text.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.55(3)(b)
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research plan, and a signed research agreement.110 Program participants must register by 
December 31 to grow or process hemp for the next season.111 

Fees

To operate the hemp pilot program, DATCP leverages license, registration, and hemp 
sampling and testing fees. To obtain a license to grow hemp, a person must pay a onetime 
fee, the amount varying based on the number of acres grown.112 Hemp growers who wish 
to change how many acres they grow must pay a $50 fee plus the possible cost for addi-
tional acreage.113 There is no fee for obtaining a processor license. 

DATCP is authorized by state statute to charge an annual fee “in an amount not to 
exceed an amount sufficient to cover the costs to the department of regulating those ac-
tivities.”114 Under this provision, DATCP currently requires an annual registration fee of 
$350 for growers and $100 for processors.115 DATCP also charges hemp growers a $250 
fee to sample and test the THC concentration of each hemp crop.116 Table 1 provides a 
complete breakdown of the required fees for hemp growers and table 2 provides this in-
formation for hemp processors.

Table 1. Fees for hemp growers

License (onetime) Registration (annual) Sampling and testing

$150 (0–30 acres) $350 $250 per sample/ test

$5/acre (31–199 acres) $350 $250 per sample/ test

$1,000 (200+ acres) $350 $250 per sample/ test

Table 2. Fees for hemp processors

License Registration (annual)

No fee $100

110. “Frequently Asked Questions: Wisconsin’s Industrial Hemp Pilot Research Program,” Wisconsin Department of Agri-
culture, Trade and Consumer Protection, March 13, 2019, https://datcp.wi.gov/.

111. Wis. Admin. Rule § ATCP 22.04(1).
112. Wis. Stat. § 94.55(2)(b)4.
113. Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.03(7).
114. Wis. Stat. § 94.55(2)(b)4.
115. Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.04.
116. Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.11.

https://datcp.wi.gov/Documents/IHFAQ.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A2/register/emr/emr1808_rule_text/emr1808_rule_text.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.55(2)(b)4.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A2/register/emr/emr1808_rule_text/emr1808_rule_text.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.55(2)(b)4.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A2/register/emr/emr1808_rule_text/emr1808_rule_text.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A2/register/emr/emr1808_rule_text/emr1808_rule_text.pdf
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Inspections, sampling, and testing

DATCP may inspect any location or facility associated with hemp activities “at any time 
and without notice.”117 State law requires that hemp grown in the state be tested for 
its THC concentration to ensure it does not exceed the legal amount of 0.3 percent.118 
DATCP requires hemp growers to have a minimum of one sample tested from “each 
registered field and plant variety.”119 DATCP requires hemp growers to notify the depart-
ment at least 30 days in advance of the intended harvest date. DATCP then determines 
when sampling and testing will occur. 

Hemp samples are tested in a laboratory using a high performance liquid chroma-
tography test.120 A sample that produces a THC concentration of greater than 0.3 percent 
fails the test. If a sample fails a test, DATCP requires the entire crop where the sample 
originated to be destroyed.121 DATCP must then inspect the field to ensure the crop has 
been destroyed. If the grower fails to destroy the crop, DATCP may destroy it and charge 
the grower for the cost.122 If a test results in a THC concentration between 0.3 and 1 per-
cent, the grower can request a re-test of the same sample or a test of a new sample.123 Only 
one re-test can be conducted for each field or plant variety. If a sample fails the re-test, the 
grower must destroy the crop within ten days. A crop from a sample that passes the test 
must be harvested by the grower within ten days.124

A hemp grower is charged $250 for each sample tested.125 Hemp growers also bear 
the cost for any re-sampling or re-testing. DATCP invoices the grower for the cost of 
sampling and testing, which the grower must pay within 30 days or face possible suspen-
sion of his or her license.126 

Fit for commerce certification

Any hemp that is being transported must be accompanied by a form, referred to as a 
“fit for commerce certificate.”127 The certificate must include the following information: 
THC test results, the amount of hemp being transported, and a full record of the chain 
of custody for all transfers made.128 DATCP may require other information on the cer-

117. Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.08.
118. Wis. Stat. § 94.55(2)(a).
119. Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.09.
120. Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.10. 
121. Wis. Admin. Code § ATC 22.10(5). 
122. Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.10(6).
123. Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.10(4).
124. Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection, “Frequently Asked Questions.”
125. Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.11.
126. Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.11.
127. Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.02(9). 
128. Wis. Stat. § 94.55(3)(c).

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A1/register/emr/emr1807_rule_text/emr1807_rule_text.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.55(2)(a)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A2/register/emr/emr1808_rule_text/emr1808_rule_text.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A2/register/emr/emr1808_rule_text/emr1808_rule_text
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A2/register/emr/emr1808_rule_text/emr1808_rule_text
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A2/register/emr/emr1808_rule_text/emr1808_rule_text
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A2/register/emr/emr1808_rule_text/emr1808_rule_text
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A1/register/emr/emr1807_rule_text/emr1807_rule_text.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A2/register/emr/emr1808_rule_text/emr1808_rule_text
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A2/register/emr/emr1808_rule_text/emr1808_rule_text.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.55(3)(c)


tificate. The certificate must accompany the crop until it is processed in such a way that 
no longer meets the legal definition for hemp.129 The certificate is then submitted to 
DATCP. Any harvested hemp found without the certificate may be seized and destroyed 
by DATCP and may result in an individual’s license being suspended or revoked.130 

Protections and Penalties

Since hemp is still considered a controlled substance under state law, individuals who 
possess or handle hemp are subject to the Uniform Controlled Substances Act. However, 
2017 Wisconsin Act 100 established protections from prosecution for persons engaging 
in activities allowed under the pilot program.131 These protections include (1) “planting, 
growing, cultivating, harvesting, processing, or transporting hemp” with a THC concen-
tration of up to 1 percent; (2) “selling, transferring, importing, exporting, or taking pos-
session” of hemp; (3) “selling, transferring, importing, exporting, processing, transport-
ing, harvesting, or taking possession of hemp” that is certified to be in compliance with 
the THC concentration limit; (4) possessing hemp with a THC level above the permissible 
level after it has been certified for being in compliance if the person had no reason to be-
lieve it was not in compliance; and (5) taking, transporting, or testing samples of hemp.132 

Pilot program participants are subject to penalties for violating hemp pilot program 
laws and rules. A person found in violation of program requirements is subject to a fine 
between $200 and $5,000 for the first offense and between $400 and $10,000 for an of-
fense that is committed within five years of a previous offense.133

Reporting and records

Hemp growers and processors are required to submit specific types of reports to DATCP 
and maintain records. A hemp grower is required to submit at least two types of re-
ports to the DATCP: a planting report by July 1 or within 30 days of planting and a final 
production report by December 15.134 DATCP may require a hemp grower to submit 
additional reports. A hemp processor is required to submit a report to DATCP by De-
cember 15 that includes information on the quantity of hemp received and the intended 
markets for that hemp.135 

Hemp growers and processors are also required to maintain records for at least three 

129. Wis. Stat. § 94.55(3)(c).
130. Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.12.
131. Wis. Stat. § 961.32(3)(b).
132. Wis. Stat. § 961.32(3)(b).
133. Wis. Stat. § 94.55(4).
134. Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.05(1)(a).
135. Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.05(1)(b).

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/961.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2017/related/acts/100.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.55(3)(c)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A2/register/emr/emr1808_rule_text/emr1808_rule_text
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/961.32(3)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/961.32(3)(b)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/94.55(4)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A1/register/emr/emr1807_rule_text/emr1807_rule_text.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A2/register/emr/emr1808_rule_text/emr1808_rule_text
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years following a growing season.136 DATCP requires hemp growers to maintain records 
on hemp seed sources and variety, agronomic and production information, a copy of 
their fit for commerce certificates, information on their processors, and a description 
of how their crop was disposed of, if applicable.137 DATCP requires hemp processors to 
maintain records on their sources of hemp, including the quantities purchased, and in-
formation on the recipients of their product, including the quantities sold.138   

136. Wis. Admin. Code. § ATCP 22.05(2)(a).  
137. Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.05(2)(b).
138. Wis. Admin. Code § ATCP 22.05(2)(c).

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A1/register/emr/emr1807_rule_text/emr1807_rule_text.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A2/register/emr/emr1808_rule_text/emr1808_rule_text
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/register/2018/747A2/register/emr/emr1808_rule_text/emr1808_rule_text

