### Assembly

# **PUBLIC HEARING**

## **Committee on Campaigns and Elections**

The committee will hold a public hearing on the following items at the time specified below:

Tuesday, June 4, 2013 10:00 AM 417 North (GAR Hall)

#### **Assembly Joint Resolution 25**

Relating to: recall of elective officers and a code of ethics for government officials (first consideration).

By Representatives Steineke, Ballweg, Born, Brooks, Craig, Czaja, Endsley, Honadel, Jacque, Jagler, Kapenga, Kaufert, Kleefisch, Knodl, T. Larson, Marklein, A. Ott, Petersen, Petryk, Sanfelippo, Severson, Spiros, Strachota, Tittl and Weatherston; cosponsored by Senators Harsdorf, Olsen, Schultz and Tiffany.

#### Assembly Bill 225

Relating to: various changes in the campaign finance laws; exemption of certain electors from the requirement to present proof of identification when voting in an election; identifying documentation to establish proof of residency for voter registration; recording the type of identifying document provided as proof of residence; limiting the times for voting by absentee ballot in person; the method of reporting election returns by municipalities; fees for election recounts; the method of recounting votes cast with automatic tabulating equipment; residency of election officials; recall petition requirements; the procedure for recounting ballots when electors voting in person are required to sign the poll list and fail to do so; challenging an elector's registration during recount proceedings; witness addresses on absentee ballot certificates; nominees submitted by the Government Accountability Board candidate committee; securing ballot containers; party representation for election officials serving at polling places; and scheduling of referendums.

By Representatives Stone, Kleefisch, J. Ott, Stroebel, Jagler, Knodl, Endsley, Kooyenga, Schraa, Kuglitsch, Weatherston, Honadel, Kapenga, Jacque, Knudson, A. Ott, Tittl, Czaja, Kestell, Mursau, LeMahieu, Hutton, Klenke, Neylon, Craig, August, Kerkman, Suder, Vos, Kramer, Murtha, Nygren, Strachota, Ballweg, Pridemore, Sanfelippo, Thiesfeldt, Ripp, Born and Bies.

> Representative Kathleen Bernier Chair