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Good afternoon, Chairman and members of the Committee, and thank you for the opportunity to submit 
testimony today on Senate Bill 519.

This bill, Kayleigh’s Law, is legislation that has recently gone through the Arizona legislative process 
with overwhelming bipartisan support and was signed into law. Kayleigh’s Law sets out to provide the 
ability for the victim to seek out continued protection from contact by the convicted offender via 
restraining order, even if probation is terminated. When it was signed into law on April 20, 2021, Arizona 
became the first state in the nation to offer these protections to victims.

In Wisconsin, nearly one in five high school students (19.9%) reported that someone has forced them "to 
do sexual things they did not want to do." (Youth Risk Behavior Survey). Nationally, One in three 
women and one in six men have experienced sexual violence in their lifetime. (National Intimate Partner 
and Sexual Violence Survey), and 90% of victims know the person who assaulted them. (Rape, Abuse 
and Incest National Network).

Currently in Wisconsin, a restraining order may be issued for an adult for up to four years and for a child 
for up to two years. These orders can be extended by four years for adults and two years for children, 
with the option for 10 years for adults and 5 years for children if there is a substantial risk that there is a 
substantial risk to the survivor. This bil] allows for a LIFETIME restraining order to protect survivors of 
1st degree, 2nd degree, or 3rd degree sexual assault, as well as in the case of an “individual at risk”.

I want to end by emphasizing that this bill provides protection for a victim from an offender who has been 
convicted of sexually assaulting him or her. The offender would have to have been found guilty of first, 
second or third degree sexual assault of an adult, a child or an individual at risk or of repeated acts of 
sexual assault of the same child - all of which are felonies.
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Rep. Barbara Dittrich Testimony on SB 519 - permanent restraining orders for victims of 
sexual assault.

Senate Committee on Judiciary and Public Safety

Thank you Chairman Wanggaard and the members of the Senate Committee on Judiciary and Public 
Safety for taking the time to listen to testimony today regarding Senate Bill 519, Kayleigh’s Law. As 
you may be aware, this legislation would allow certain sexual assault victims to petition the court for 
a life-time restraining order against their convicted assaulter.

Kayleigh’s law has recently gone through the Arizona legislative process with overwhelming 
bipartisan support and was signed into law. It sets out to provide the ability for the victim to seek out 
continued protection from contact, even if a perpetrator’s probation is terminated. When it was 
signed into law on April 20, 2021, Arizona became the first state in the nation to offer these 
protections to victims.

In Wisconsin, nearly one in five high school students (19.9%) reported that someone has forced 
them "to do sexual things they did not want to do." (Youth Risk Behavior Survey). Nationally, One 
in three women and one in six men have experienced sexual violence in their lifetime. (National 
Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence Survey), and 90% of victims know the person who assaulted 
them. (Rape, Abuse and Incest National Network).

Under current law in Wisconsin, a restraining order may be issued for an adult for up to four years 
and for a child for up to two years. These orders can be extended by four years for adults and two 
years for children, with the option for 10 years for adults and 5 years for children if there is a 
substantial risk that there is a substantial risk to the survivor. This bill requires a judge to grant a 
LIFETIME restraining order, if petitioned by the victim, to protect survivors of CONVICTED 1 st 
degree, 2nd degree, or 3rd degree sexual assault, as well as in the case of an “individual at risk”. 
Under this bill, the judge is still required to consider evidence supporting the petition, and the 
evidence still has to reach the same threshold as an order of protection, under current law.

Included with my testimony you will find information from the Rape, Abuse, and Incest National 
Network, defining sexual assault as well as detailing what actions are classified as 1st, 2nd, and 3rd 
degree sexual assault. Only these three classifications are covered under this bill, as they are all 
felonies under current law.

I want to thank the committee for their time and welcome any questions you may present.
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Sex Crimes: Definitions and Per 
Wisconsin
Sexual Assault in the First Degree

laities

Last Updated: March 2020

Question Answer
How is it defined? Whoever:

• Has sexual contact or sexual intercourse with anott 
pregnancy or great bodily harm to that person, or

• Has sexual contact or sexual intercourse with anotl 
threat of use of a dangerous weapon or any article 
reasonably to believe it to be a dangerous weapon,

• Is aided or abetted by one or more other persons a 
another person without consent of that person by u

er person without consent of that person and causes

ler person without consent of that person by use or 
used or fashioned in a manner to lead the victim 
or
id has sexual contact or sexual intercourse with 
se or threat of force or violence.

What are the 
punishments for 
this crime?

Class B felony:

• Imprisonment not to exceed 60 years.

Anything else 1 
should know?

The following definitions are relevant to this crime:

• Sexual contact: Any of the following types of inten 
that intentional touching is either for the purpose o 
complainant or sexually arousing or gratifying the c 
actual or attempted battery under 940.19(1):

• Intentional touching by the defendant or, upo 
the use of any body part or object, of the con

• Intentional touching by the complainant, by tt 
intimate parts or, if done upon the defendant 
or

• intentional penile ejaculation of ejaculate or i 
defendant or, upon the defendant's instructio 
clothed or unclothed of the complainant, if th 
sexually degrading or sexually humiliating th 
or gratifying the defendant; or

• For the purpose of sexually degrading or hun 
gratifying the defendant, intentionally causinc 
on any part of the defendant’s body, whether

:ional touching, whether direct or through clothing, if 
f sexually degrading or sexually humiliating the 
lefendant or if the touching contains the elements of

n the defendant’s instruction, by another person, by 
lplainant’s intimate parts; or 
le use of any body part or object, of the defendants 
s instructions, the intimate parts of another person;

itentional emission of urine or feces by the 
n, by another person upon any part of the body 
at ejaculation or emission is either for the purpose of
3 complainant or for the purpose of sexually arousing

liliating the complainant or sexually arousing or 
the complainant to ejaculate or emit urine or feces 
clothed or unclothed.



• Sexual intercourse: Vulvar penetration as well as cunnilingus, fellatio, or anal intercourse between 
persons or any other intrusion, however slight, of any part of a person’s body or of any object into the 
genital or anal opening either by the defendant or upon the defendants instruction. The emission of 
semen is not required.

• Consent: Words or overt actions by a person who is competent to give informed consent indicating a 
freely given agreement to have sexual intercourse or sexual contact. Consent is not an issue in alleged 
violations of subsections (2)(c), (cm), (d), (g), (h), and (i). A person suffering from a mental illness or 
defect which impairs capacity to appraise personal conduct and a person who is unconscious or for any 
other reason is physically unable to communicate unwillingness to an act are presumed incapable of 
consent.

• Marriage is not a bar to prosecution.
• This section applies whether a victim is dead or alive at the time of the sexual contact or sexual 

intercourse.
Statutory
Citation(s):

• Wis. Stat. § 940.225(1)

Sexual Assault in the Second Degree

Question Answer
How is it 
defined?

Whoever:

• (a) Has sexual contact or sexual intercourse with another person without consent of that person by use or 
threat of force or violence.

• (b) Has sexual contact or sexual intercourse with another person without consent of that person and 
causes injury, illness, disease or impairment of a sexual or reproductive organ, or mental anguish 
requiring psychiatric care for the victim.

• (c) Has sexual contact or sexual intercourse with a person who suffers from a mental illness or deficiency 
which renders that person temporarily or permanently incapable of appraising the persons conduct, and 
the defendant knows of such condition.

• (cm) Has sexual contact or sexual intercourse with a person who is under the influence of an intoxicant 
to a degree which renders that person incapable of giving consent if the defendant has actual knowledge 
that the person is incapable of giving consent and the defendant has the purpose to have sexual contact 
or sexual intercourse with the person while the person is incapable of giving consent.

• (d) Has sexual contact or sexual intercourse with a person who the defendant knows is unconscious.



• (f) Is aided or abetted by one or more other persons 
another person without the consent of that person.

• (g) Is an employee of an adult family home, commu 
facility, or state treatment facility and has sexual coi 
patient or resident of the facility or program.

• (h) Has sexual contact or sexual intercourse with ar 
institution if the actor is a correctional staff member 
whom the actor has sexual contact or sexual interco 
or sexual intercourse under this section.

• (i) Has sexual contact or sexual intercourse with an 
supervision if the actor is a probation, parole, or ext 
individual, either directly or through a subordinate, i 
extended supervision agent or who has influenced c 
parole, or extended supervision agents supervision 
individual with whom the actor has sexual contact o 
sexual contact or sexual intercourse under this secti

• (j) Is a licensee, employee, or non-client resident of 
agency, a temporary employment agency that provic 
and long-term care, and has sexual contact or sexu

and has sexual contact or sexual intercourse with

nity-based residential facility, inpatient health care 
itact or sexual intercourse with a person who is a

individual who is confined in a correctional 
. This paragraph does not apply if the individual with 
urse is subject to prosecution for the sexual contact

individual who is on probation, parole, or extended 
anded supervision agent who supervises the 
n his or her capacity as a probation, parole, or 
r has attempted to influence another probation, 
of the individual. This paragraph does not apply if the 

sexual intercourse is subject to prosecution for the 
on.
a child welfare agency, a hospital, a home health 
es caregivers to another entity, or the board on aging 

al intercourse with a client of the entity.
What are the 
punishments for 
this crime?

Class C felony:

• Imprisonment not to exceed 40 years,

• Fine not to exceed $ 100,000

• Or both.
Anything else 1 
should know?

• See definitions under Sexual Assault in the First Degree, above.

Statutory
citation(s):

• Wis. Stat. § 940.225(2)

Sexual Assault in the Third Degree

Question Answer



How is it defined? • Sexual intercourse with a person without the consent of that person.
• Sexual contact in the manner described below with a person without the consent of that person:

• Intentional penile ejaculation of ejaculate or intentional emission of urine or feces by the 
defendant or, upon the defendant's instruction, by another person upon any part of the body 
clothed or unclothed of the complainant if that ejaculation or emission is either for the purpose 
of sexually degrading or sexually humiliating the complainant or for the purpose of sexually 
arousing or gratifying the defendant.

• For the purpose of sexually degrading or humiliating the complainant or sexually arousing or 
gratifying the defendant, intentionally causing the complainant to ejaculate or emit urine or feces 
on any part of the defendant's body, whether clothed or unclothed.

What are the 
punishments for 
this crime?

Class G felony:

• Imprisonment not to exceed 10 years;
• Fine not to exceed $25,000;
• Or both.

Anything else 1 
should Know?

• See definitions under Sexual Assault in the First Degree, above.

Statutory
citation(s):

• Wis. Stat. § 940.225(3)

Sexual Assault in the Fourth Degree

Question Answer
How is it defined? • Except as provided in Sexual Assault in the Third Degree, having sexual contact with a 

person without the consent of that person.
What are the punishments for 
this crime?

Class A misdemeanor:

• Imprisonment not to exceed 9 months;
• Fine not to exceed $10,000;
• Or both.

Anything else I should know? • See definitions under Sexual Assault in the First Degree, above.
Statutory citation(s): • Wis. Stat. § 940.225(3m)



Sexual Assault of a Child

Question Answer
How is it 
defined?

• First degree:
• Whoever has sexual contact or sexual intercours 

years and causes great bodily harm to the perso 
mandatory minimum;

• Whoever has sexual intercourse with a person w 
Class B felony and subject to a 25 year mandate

• Whoever has sexual intercourse with a person w 
threat of force or violence is guilty of a Class B f

• Whoever has sexual contact with a person who t 
of force or violence is guilty of a Class B felony i 
contact occurs and is subject to a 5 year manda

• Whoever has sexual contact with a person who 
Class B felony.

• Second degree:
• Whoever has sexual contact or sexual intercours 

years is guilty of a Class C felony.
• Whoever has sexual contact with a child w 

attained the age of 16 years, or whoever h 
the age of 15 years, is guilty of a Class A 
19 years when the violation occurs. This s

• Failure to act:
• A person responsible for the welfare of a child u 

knowledge that another person intends to have, 
contact with the child, is physically and emotion 
intercourse of contact from taking place or beinj 
act exposes the child to an unreasonable risk th 
and the other person or facilitates the intercours 
the other person.

e with a person who has not attained the age of 13 
n is guilty of a Class A felony and subject to a 25 year

ho has not attained the age of 12 years is guilty of a 
ry minimum;
ho has not attained the age of 16 years by use of 
elony and subject to a 25 year mandatory minimum; 
las not attained the age of 16 years by use or threat 
: the actor is at least 18 years of age when the sexual 
tory minimum; or
las not attained the age of 13 years is guilty of a

e with a person who has not attained the age of 16

no has attained the age of 15 years but has not 
as sexual intercourse with a child who has attained 
nisdemeanor if the actor has not attained the age of 
setion does not apply if the actor is the child’s spouse.

nder 16 is guilty of a Class F felony if that person has 
is having or has had sexual intercourse or sexual 
ally capable of taking action which will prevent the
3 repeated, fails to take that action and the failure to 
pt intercourse or contact may occur between the child 
e or contact that does occur between the child and



What are the 
punishments 
for this crime?

• Class A felony:
• Life imprisonment.

• Class B felony:
• Imprisonment not to exceed 60 years.

• Class C felony:
• Imprisonment not to exceed 40 years;
• Fine not to exceed $100,000;
• Or both.

• Class F felony:
• Imprisonment not to exceed 12 years 6 months;
• fine not to exceed $25,000;
• Or both.

• Subject to mandatory minimum sentences for child sex offenses (see above).
• Additional penalties for engaging in repeated acts of sexual assault of the same child under Wis. Stat. § 

948.025.
Anything else
1 should know?

The following definitions are relevant to this crime:

• Sexual conduct: Any of the following types of intentional touching, whether direct or through clothing, if 
that intentional touching is either for the purpose of sexual degrading or sexually humiliating the 
complainant or sexually arousing or gratifying the defendant: Intentional touching by the defendant or, 
upon the defendant’s instruction, by another person, by the use of any body part or object, of the 
complainant’s intimate parts. Intentional touching by the complainant, by the use of any body part or 
object, of the defendants intimate parts or, if done upon the defendant's instructions, the intimate parts of 
another person. Or, Intentional penile ejaculation of ejaculate or intentional emission of urine or feces by 
the defendant or, upon the defendant’s instruction, by another person upon any part of the body clothed or 
unclothed of the complainant, if that ejaculation or emission is either for the purpose of sexually degrading 
or sexually humiliating the complainant or for the purpose of sexually arousing or gratifying the defendant. 
Or, For the purpose of sexually degrading or humiliating the complainant or sexually arousing or gratifying 
the defendant, intentionally causing the complainant to ejaculate or emit urine or feces on any part of the 
defendant’s body, whether clothed or unclothed.

• Sexual intercourse: Vulvar penetration as well as cunnilingus, fellatio, or anal intercourse between persons 
or any other intrusion, however slight, of any part of a person’s body or of any object into the genital or 
anal opening either by the defendant or upon the defendants instruction. The emission of semen is not 
required.

• Marriage is not a bar to prosecution.
• This section applies whether a victim is dead or alive at the time of the sexual contact or sexual intercourse.

Statutory
citation(s):

• Wis. Stat. § 948.02; and Wis. Stat. Ann. § 948.093



Sexual Exploitation of a Child

Question Answer
How is it defined? • Whoever does any of the following with knowle 

explicit conduct involving the child:
• Employs, uses, persuades, induces, entici 

conduct for the purpose of recording or d
• Records or displays in any way a child en

• Whoever produces, performs in, profits from, p 
advertises, sells, distributes, or possesses with 
engaging in sexually explicit conduct if the pen 
explicit conduct involving the child and if the pi 
engaging in the sexually explicit conduct has m

• A person responsible for a child’s welfare who 
engage in sexually explicit conduct.

ige of the character and content of the sexually

3s, or coerces any child to engage in sexually explicit 
splaying in any way the conduct; or 
gaged in sexually explicit conduct, 
romotes, imports into the state, reproduces, 
intent to sell or distribute, any recording of a child 

.on knows the character and content of the sexually 
srson knows or reasonably should know that the child
Dt attained the age of 18 years.
knowingly permits, allows or encourages the child to

What are the 
punishments for 
this crime?

•Class C felony:
•Imprisonment not to exceed 40 yer 
•Fine not to exceed $100,000 
•Or both.

•Class F Felony in certain circumstances 
the offense occurs:

•Imprisonment not to exceed 12 ye* 
•Fine not to exceed $25,000 
•Or both.

•If the defendant has reasonable cause to 
of age, it is an affirmative defense. Deft

rs

if the person is under 18 years of age when

irs and 6 months

believe that the child has attained 18 years 
bndant has the burden of proof.

Anything else I 
should know?

The following definitions are relevant to this

•See definitions under Sexual Assault in t

crime:

he First Degree, above.
Statutory
Citation(s):

•Wis. Stat. § 948.05



Sexual Exploitation of a Therapist

Question Answer
How is it defined? • Any person who is or who holds himself or herself out to be a therapist and who intentionally has 

sexual contact with a patient or client during any ongoing therapist-patient or therapist-client 
relationship, regardless of whether it occurs during any treatment, consultation, interview or 
examination, is guilty of a Class F felony.

• Consent is not relevant under this subsection.

What are the 
punishments for 
this crime?

• Class F felony:
• Imprisonment not to exceed 12 years and 6 months
• Fine not to exceed $25,000
• Or both.

Anything else 1 
should know?

The following definitions are relevant to this crime:

• See definitions under Sexual Assault in the First Degree, above.
• Therapist means: A physician, psychologist, social worker, marriage, family therapist, professional 

counselor, nurse, chemical dependency counselor, member of the clergy, or other person, whether or 
not licensed or certified by the state, who performs or purports to perform psychotherapy

Statutory Citation(s): »Wis. Stat. § 940.22

Sexual Assault of a Child Placed in Substitute Care

Question Answer
How is it defined? • Whoever does any of the following is guilty of a Class C felony:

• Has sexual contact or sexual intercourse with a child for whom the actor is a foster parent; or
• Has sexual contact or sexual intercourse with a child who is placed in any of the following 

facilities if the actor works or volunteers at the facility or is directly or indirectly responsible 
for managing it:

• A shelter care facility;
• A group home; or



• A residential care center for children and youth operated by a child welfare agency.
What are the 
punishments for this 
crime?

Class C felony:

• Imprisonment not to exceed 40 years;

• Fine not to exceed $ 100,000;

• Or both.
Anything else 1 should 
know?

The following definitions are relevant to this crime:

• See definitions under Sexual Assault of a Chili
• Child: A person who has not attained the age 

a person who is alleged to have violated a sta 
person who has attained the age of 17.

1, above.
of 18 years, except that for purposes of prosecuting 
te or federal criminal law, “child” does not include a

Statutory Citation(s): • Wis. Stat. § 948.085

Sexual Assault of a Child by a School Staff Person or Person Who Works or Volunteers with 
Children

Question Answer
How is it defined? • Whoever has sexual contact or sexual intercourse \ 

who is not the defendants spouse is guilty of a Cla
• The child is enrolled as a student in a school
• The defendant is a member of the school sta 

enrolled.
• A person who has attained the age of 21 and engai 

position that requires him to work or interact direcl 
coaching, counselor, youth organization, parks or | 
have sexual contact or sexual intercourse with a cf 
person’s spouse and with whom the person works 
position.

vith a child who has attained the age of 16 years and
3s H felony if all of the following apply, 
or a school district, and
:f of the school or school district in which the child is

jes in an occupation or participates in a volunteer 
ly with children (including, teaching, child care, 
)layground recreation, or school bus driving) may not 
ild who has attained the age of 16, who is not the 
or interacts through that occupation or volunteer

What are the 
punishments for 
this crime?

Class H felony:

• Imprisonment not to exceed 6 years;

• Fine not to exceed $ 10,000;



• Or both
Anything else 1 
should know?

• School means:
• A public or private elementary or secondary school, or a tribal school.

• School staff means:
• Any person who provides services to a school or a school board, including an employee of a school 

or a school board and a person who provides services to a school or a school board under a 
contract.

• See definitions under Sexual Assault in the First Degree, above.
Statutory
Citation(s):

• Wis. Stat. § 948.095

Statutory Rape

Question Answer
Flow is it defined? • “Statutory rape” is commonly used to refer to sexual penetration that is illegal because it involves a 

youth.
• Wisconsin has no specific statutory rape statute, but this concept is captured under “Sexual Intercourse 

with a Child Age 16 or Older”:
• Whoever has sexual intercourse with a child who is not the defendant’s spouse and who has 

attained the age of 16 years is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor if the defendant has attained the 
age of 19 years when the violation occurs.

• Child:
• A person who has not attained the age of 18 years, except that for purposes of prosecuting 

a person who is alleged to have violated a state or federal criminal law, “child" does not 
include a person who has attained the age of 17.

• Also, see “Sexual Assault of a Child”:
• Whoever has sexual intercourse with a Derson who has not attained the aae of 12 vears is auiltv 

of a Class B felony.
• Also, see “Underage sexual activity”:

• Whoever has sexual contact with a child who has attained the age of 15 years but has not 
attained the age of 16 years, or whoever has sexual intercourse with a child who has attained the 
age of 15 years, is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor if the actor has not attained the age of 19 
years when the violation occurs. This section does not apply if the actor is the child's spouse.



What are the 
punishments for 
this crime?

• Class A misdemeanor:
• Imprisonment not to exceed 9 months;
• Fine not to exceed $10,000;
• Or both.

• Class B felony:
• Imprisonment not to exceed 60 years.

Anything else 1 
should know?

• See definitions under Sexual Assault of a Child, a C
D

>Oo
_____

-

Statutory
citation(s):

• Wis. Stat. § 948.09

Sodomy

Question Answer
How is it defined? • Wisconsin does not have an anti-sodomy law on the books,

• Any state laws that outright prohibit sodomy are unconstitutional under Lawrence v.
Texas, 539 U.S. 588 (2003). |

What are the punishments for 
this crime?

N/A

What are the punishments for 
this crime?

• N/A

Anything else I should know? N/A
Statutory Citation(s): N/A


