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GENERAL PROVISIONS,

344,01 Words and phrases defined. (1) Words and phrases defined in ss. 340.01
and 343.01 are used in the same sense in this chapter unless a different ‘definition is spe-
cifically provided.

(2) In this chapter the following words and phrases have the designated meanings:

(a) “Judgment” means a judgment for damages rendered by a conrt of competent
jurisdiction of any state or of the United States upon a cause of action arising out of the
ownership, mainfenance or use of any motor vehiele, including damages for care and for
loss of servieces because of bodily injury to or death of any person and damages hecause
of injury to or destruction of property and the consequent loss of use thereof, which judg-
ment has become final by expiration without appeal of the time within which an appeal
might have been perfected or by final affirmation on appeal., “Judgment” also includes a
judgment rendered by a court of competent jurisdiction upon a cause of action on an
agreement of settlement for damages of the type specified in this paragraph, which judg-
ment has become final within the meaning of this paragraph.

(b) “Motor vehicle” means a self-propelled vehicle and also includes trailers and
semitrailers designed for use with such vehicles, exeept that “motor vehicle” ‘does not
include farm tractors, well drillers or road machinery.

(¢) “Operator” means a person who is in actual or construective physical control of a
motor vehicle. It ineludes a person who has parked a motor vehicle. It meludes the driver
of a vehicle being pushed or towed and, in case there is no person actually doing the driv-
ing, the person who is doing the pushing or towing,
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(d) “Proof of financial responsibility” or “proof of financial responsibility for the
future” means proof of ability to respond in damages for liability on account of acei-
dents occurring subsequent to the effective date of such proof, arising out of the owner-
ship, maintenance or use of a motor vehicle in the amount of $10,000 beeause of bodily
injury to or death of one person in any one accident and, subject to such limit-for one
person, in the amount of $20,000 because of bodily injury to or death of 2 or more per-
sons in any one acecident and in the amount of $5,000 because of injury to or destruction
of property of others in any one accident.

(e) “Registration” means, in the case of a person whose vehicle is registered under
ch. 341, the registration so issued; in the case of a person whose vehicle is not so regis-
tered, it means the privilege to register a vehicle in Wisconsin and the reciprocal privi-
lege granted a nonresident to operate in Wisconsin a vehicle not registered in Wiseonsin.

(f) “State” means any state, territory or possession of the United States, the District
of Columbia, or any province of the Dominion of Canada.

(g) “Vehiele” means every device in, upon or by which any person or plopelty is or
may be transported or drawn upon a highway, except vehicles used exclusively upon sta-
tionary rails or tracks or vehicles propelled by use of electricity obtained from overhead
trolley structures.-

344,02 Administration of respon51b111ty law. The commissioner shall administer
and enforce this chapter and may, in his diseretion, appoint any employe in the depart-
ment as his representative to affix his signature, including any facsimile signature adopted
by him, to the administrative letters, notices and orders to enforee this chapter,

344.03 - Judicial review of commissioner’s action. Any person aggrieved by any
action of the commissioner pursnant to this chapter may, within 10 days after notice
thereof, or in any event before the commissioner has revoked or suspended the operating
privilege or registration by specific order if preceded by notice mailed at least 10 days
prior to said revocation or suspension, file a petition in the eireuit court of Dane county
for a review thereof as provided in s. 227.16. The court shall summarily hear the peti-
tion and may make any appropriate order or decree within the scope of s, 227.20.

History: 1961 c. 662. )

The remedy provided in 344,03, that any
person aggrieved by any action‘ of the com-
migsioner of the motor vehicle department
may, within 10 days after notice thereof,
petition for review in the circuit court as

for review of the commissioner’s suspension
of a driver’s operating privilege, and man-

. damus - will not lie to comipel reinstatement

of the privilege. Underwood v, Karns, 21
W (2d) 175, 124 NW (2d) 116,

provided in 227.16, is the exclusive remedy

344.04 Power of court to stay suspension of registration of vehicles. (1) Not-
withstanding any other provision of this chapter, the commissioner shall not revoke or
suspend the registration of a vehicle when ordered not to do so by the court wherein the
judgment for damages was had or, in a case not involving a judgment, when ordered not
to do so by a court pursuant to petition of the registrant in accordance with sub. (2).

(2) Upon receiving information, other than of a judgment for damages in a court of
thls state, that would be cause for revocation or suspension of registration, the commis-
sioner shall notify the registrant of his intention to revoke or suspend such registration.
The 1egnst1ant may theleupon petition any court of reecord in his eounty for an order
enjoining the commissioner’s contemplated actlon, whereupon the judge of such court
shall grant an order restraining the commissioner in the matter until the petition is finally
determined by the court. If such petition and order are served upon the commissioner
within 10 days after the date of the commissioner’s notice or in any event before the
commissioner has revoked or suspended the registra‘tion, the commissioner shall await
the final determination of the court. The commissioner shall be given notice of the hearing.
Upon a showing that it would result in undue hardship upon the petitioner to have any
such registmtlon revoked or suspended, the court shall issue an order restraining the
commissioner from revoking or suspending the registration.

(3) This section does not anthorize a court to stay suspension or revocation of an
operator’s license,

344,05 Courts to report nonpayment of certain judgments. (1) Whenever any
judgment in excess of $100 for damages arising out of a motor vehicle accident is not
satisfied within 30 days after its having hecome final by expiration without appeal of the
time within which an appeal might have been perfected or by final affirmation on appeal,
the clerk of the court in which such judgment was rendered, or the judge if the court has
no elerk, shall forthwith forward to the commissioner a celtlﬁed copy of such judgment
upon request of the judgment cr editor or the attorney of record for the judgment ereditor.

(2) If the defendant named in any certified copy of a judgment reported to the com-
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missioner is a nonresident, the commissioner shall transmit a certified copy of -the judg-
ment to the official in charge of the issuance of licenses and registration certificates of the
state of which the defendant is a resident.

History: 1963 c. 77.

344.06 Commissioner to furnish operating record. The commissioner shall upon
request furnish any person a certified abstract of the operating record of any person
subject to the provisions of this chapter. If there is no record that such person has been
convicted of violating any law relating to the operation of a motor vehicle or of any
injury or damage caused by such person, the commissioner shall so certify in the abstract.
The ahstract of the operating record also shall fully designate the motor vehicles, if any,
registered in the name of such person. Such abstraet is not admissible in evidence in any
action for damages or eriminal proceeding arising out of a motor vehicle accident.

344.07 Responsibility law not to prevent other process. Nothing in this chapter
shall be construed as preventing the plaintiff in any action at law from relying for relief
upon the other processes provided by law.

344.08 -Suspension for failure to report accident. (1) The commissioner may sus-
pend the operating privilege or registration of any person who fails to report an acei-
dent as required by s. 346.70 or to give correctly the information requested by the com-
missioner in conneection with such report unless, in the judgment of the commissioner,
there was excusable cause for such failure or unless the accident did not result in injury
or damage to the person or property of anyone other than the person so required to report.

(2) Any operating privilege suspended pursuant to this section, or suspended pursu-
ant to any other section for failure to report an accident, shall be reinstated in aceord-
ance with s, 344.09 at the end of 13 months following the accident if, during such 13-
month period, no notice of action instituted within one year from the date of the accident
has been filed with the department in the manner specified in s. 344.18 (1) (d).

34409 Reinstatement of suspended operating privilege and registration. (1)
Whenever the commissioner is satisfied that the reason for suspension of an operating
privilege under this chapter has heen removed, including satisfaction of any of the re-
quirements of s. 344.18, he shall forthwith order reinstatement of such operating privilege
and shall give notice of such reinstatement to the person whose operating privilege has
been suspended. Such reinstatement order has the same effeet as an automatic reinstate-
ment under s. 343.39.

(2) Whenever an operating privilege suspended or revoked pursuant to this chapter
is reinstated, any registration which was suspended or revoked along with the operating
privilege is automatically reinstated and the depariment shall return any surrendered and
unexpired registration plate in its possession.

SECURITY FOR PAST ACCIDENTS,

344.12 Applicability of provisions relating to deposit of security for past acci-
dents. Subject to the exceptions contained in s. 344.14, the provisions of this chapter
requiring deposit of security and requiring suspension for failure to deposit security
apply to the operator and owner of every motor vehicle which is in any manner involved
in an accident in this state which has resulted in bodily injury to or death of any person
or damage to property of any other person in excess of $100.

344,13 Commigsioner to determine amount of security required following accident
and to give notice thereof. (1) The commissioner after receipt of a report of an aec-
cident of the type specified in s, 34412 shall determine, with respect to such accident; the
amount of security which is sufficient in his judgment to satisfy any judgment for dam-
ages resulting from such accident which may be recovered against either operator or
owner of the vehicles involved in such accident. Such determination shall be hased upon
the total property damage suffered by other persons whose property was involved in the
acecident, not including the vehicle a person was operating when such operation was with
the owner’s permission, and on the extent of personal injuries, including deaths, involving
other parties to the accident. The determination as to the amount of security required
shall be made without regard to the fault of the persons involved but shall not he made
with respect to operators or owners who are exempt from the requirements of seecurity
and suspension under s, 344.14 (2).

(2) The commissioner shall determine the amount of security required to be deposited
by each person on the basis of the accident reports or other information submitted. In
addition to the accident reports required by law, the commissioner may request from any
of the persons, including passengers and pedestrians, involved in such accident such
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further information, sworn statements or other evidence relating to property damage,
personal injury or death in motor vehicle accidents as he deems necessary to aid in de-
termining the amount to be deposited as security under s. 344.14. Failure of a person
to comply with such request is grounds for suspending such person’s operating privilege
but no suspension shall be made on such grounds until one follow-up request has been
made and at least 20 days have elapsed since the mailing of the first request.

(3) The commissioner within 60 days after receipt of a veport of an acecident of the
type specified in s, 344.12 and upon determining the amount of security to be required of
.any person involved in such aceident or to be required of the owner of any vehicle involved
in such accident, shall give at least 10 days’ written notice to every such person of the
amount of security required to be deposited by him. The notice also shall state that an
order of suspension will be made as provided in s. 344.14, unless within such time security
is deposited as required by the notice. The order of suspension may he made a part of the
notice, with a provision that it will take effect on the date specified in this subsection unless
security is deposited prior fo that date.

History: 1961 c. 662.

344.14 Suspension for failure to deposit security; exceptions, (1) If a person
who was given notice pursuant to s. 344.13 (3) fails to deposit security in the amount and
by the time specified in the notice, the commissioner shall forthwith suspend his operating
privilege if he was the operator of a motor vehicle involved in the accident and all his
registrations if he was the owner of a motor vehicle involved in the accident unless he
furnishes proof satisfactory to the commissioner that he comes within one of the exceptions
set forth in sub. (2). If the owner and operator are separate persons, only one of them
need deposit security or the 2 persons may co- -oper ate in depositing security. Upon request
of the owner or operator in question, the commissioner may postpone the effective date of
a suspension under this section not to exceed 20 days.

(2) The requirements as to security and suspension stated in sub. (1) do not apply:

(a) To the owner of a motor vehicle involved in an accident if the owner had in effect
at the time of the aceident an automobile liability policy or bond with respect to such
motor vehicle, which policy or bond complies with the requirements of s. 344.15,

(b) To the operator who is not the owner of the vehicle involved in the accident if
either the owner had in effect an antomobile liability poliey or bond applying to the oper-
ator’s operation of the motor vehicle at the time of the accident or there was in effect at the
time of the accident an automobile liability poliey or bond with respect to the opératm s
operation of motor vehicles not owned by him, which policy or bond meets the require-
ments of s. 344.15.

(e) To the operator or owner whose liability for damages resulting from the aceident
is, in the judgment of the commissioner, covered by any other form of liability insurance
policy or bond meeting the requirements of s. 344.15.

(d) To any person qualifying as a self-insurer under s. 344.16 or to any person oper-
ating a vehicle for such self-insurer.

(e) To the operator or owner of a vehicle involved in an accident wherein no injury
was eaused to the person of anyone other than such operator or owner and wherein dam-
age to property of any oné person other than such operator or owner did not exceed $100.

(£) To the operator or owner of a vehicle legally parked at the time of the accident,
provided that the operators of the other vehicles involved admit that such vehicle was
legally parked or other proof establishing such fact to the commissioner’s satisfaction is
filed.

(g) To the owner of a vehicle if, at the time of the accident, the vehicle was being
operated without his permission, express or implied, or was parked by a person who had
heen operating such vehicle without such permission.

(h) To any person who would otherwise have to depos1t security if, prior to the date
the commissioner would otherwise suspend such person’s operating privilege and registra-
tions under sub. (1), there is filed with the commissioner evidence satisfactory to him that
such person has heen released from liahility or has been finally adjudicated not to be liahle
or has executed a warrant for confession of judgment payable when and in such instal-
ments as the parties have agreed to or has executed a duly acknowledged written agree-
ment providing for the payment of an agreed amount in instalments with respeet to all
claims for injuries or damage resulting from the accident. The commissioner may accept
a release from liability executed by a parent as natural guardian on behalf of a minor
child with respect to property damage or personal injuries sustained by such minor, pro-
vided that the total damages, including the cost of medical care, does not exceed $200 and
that, in the case of personal injury, the doctor’s certificate of injury filed with the depart-
ment certifies that such minor received no permanent injury.

(i) To the owner of a vehicle insured as required by s. 40.57, 194.41 or 194.42 or to
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the operator of such vehicle if operating with the owner's permission at the time of the
aceident. -

(i) To the owner of a vehicle involved in an accident if at the time of the accident
such vehicle was owned by or leased to the United States, this state or any county or mu-
nicipality of this state, or to the operator of such vehicle if operating such vehicle with
permission. e

(3) A suspension for failing to deposit security under sub. (1) shall suspend only
the operator’s license and operating privileges thereunder and shall not suspend a person’s
chauffeur’s license or his operating privilege thereunder when operating a vehicle subject
to the requirements of s. 194.41 or 194.42 or a vehicle owned by or leased to the United
States, this state or any county or municipality of this state.-

344,15 Requirements as to policy or bond. (1) No policy or bond is effective under
s. 34414 unless issued by an insurance company or surety company authorized to do
businegs in this state, except as otherwise provided in sub, (2), nor unless such policy or
bond is subject, if the accident has resulted in bodily injury or death, to a limit, exclu-
sive of interest and costs, of not less than $10,000 because of bodily injury to or death of
one person in any one accident and, subject to such limit for one person, to a limit of not
less than $20,000 because of bodily injury to or death of 2 or more persons in any one
accident and, if the accident has resulted in injury to or destruction of property, to a
limit of not less than $5,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in
any one accident.

(2) A policy or bond with respect to a vehicle which was not registered in this state
or was registered elsewhere at the time of the effective date of the policy or bond or the
most recent renewal thereof may be effective under s. 344.14 even though not issued by an
insurance company or surety company authorized to do business in this state if the
following conditions are complied with: _

(a) The policy or bond either meets the liability limits specified in sub. (1) or meets
the liability limits of the equivalent law of the state in which issued and such limits are,
in the judgment of the commissioner, adequate to cover any damage or injury involved
in the accident in question.

(b) The company which issued the policy or bond executes a power of attorney au-
thorizing the commissioner to accept service on its behalf of notice or process in any ae-
tion upon such policy or hond arising out of such accident.

(3) Where service of process is made on the commissioner under a power of attorney
filed in accordance with sub. (2), the commissioner shall forthwith mail by registered mail
a copy of the process papers to the company at the address given in the filed power of
attorney. In all cases of such service, there shall be served the original, one copy for the
commissioner’s record of service and such additional number of copies as there are de-
fendants so served in the action. The original shall be returned with proper certificate of
service attached for filing in court as proof of service of the copies by having mailed them
by registered mail to the defendants name therein. The service fee shall be $2 for each
defendant so served, .

(4) After receipt of the report of an accident-of the type specified in s, 344.12, the
commissioner shall forward to the insurance company or surety company named therein,
that portion of the report which pertains to an automobile liability policy or bond. The
commissioner shall assume that an automobile liability poliey or bond as deseribed in this
section was in effect and applied to both the owner and operator with respect to the acei-
dent unless the insurance company or surety company notifies the commissioner otherwise
within 30 days from the mailing to the company of that portion of the report pertaining
to the automobhile liability policy or bond. Upon receipt of notice from the company that
an-automobile liability policy or bond was in effect as to the owner only, the operator only
or was not in effect as to either of them, the commissioner shall within the remainder of
the 60-day period specified in s. 344.13 (3) require the owner or operator or both, which-
ever is applicable, to deposit seeurity pursuant to this chapter. As respects permission to
operate the vehicle, the company may correct the report only if it files with the commis-
sioner within the 30-day period specified in this subsection an affidavit signed by the
owner stating that the operator did not have the owner’s permission to operate the vehi-
cle. Where the company’s failure to notify the commissioner within 30 days of a correction
in that portion of the report pertaining to an automobile liability poliey or bond is caused
by fraud, the company shall notify the commissioner of the correction within 30 days of
the time the fraud is discovered.

(5) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to impose any obligation not otherwise
assumed by the insurance company or surety company in its antomobile liability policy or
bond except that if no correction is made in the report within 30 days after it is mailed to
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the insurance company or surety company, the company, except in case of fraud, when-
ever such fraud may occur, is estopped from using as a defense to its liability the in-
sured’s failure fo give permission to the operator or a violation of the purposes of use
specified in the automobile liability pohcy or bond or the use of the vehicle beyond agreed
geographical limits.

(6) Until July 1, 1958, the commissioner may accept for filing either the form of
notice of insurance in use prior to the enactment of ch, 545, laws of 1957 (Form SR-21)
or the form of notice of insurance specified in ch. 545, laws of 1957. In either event, the
substantive provisions of ch. 545, laws of 1957, shall apply.

(5) does not require an automobile lia-
bility insurer, in case of accident, to notify
the state motor vehicle commissioner of an
exclusion clause contained in its policy, and
permits the insurer to rely on such exclu-
sion without notifying the commissioner of
its intention to do so, Bean v, Kovacik, 10
W (2d) 646, 103 N'W (2d) 899.

Under (5), providing that, if no correc-
tion is made within a certain time by  the
liability insurer in  the -accident report
(here made to the state motor vehicle de-
partment by the insured), the insurer is

estopped from using as . a defense to its.

liability the insured’s failure to give per-

the estoppel thus created removed only the
element of reliance from equitable estoppel
and did not make it merely a matter of evi-
dence, and the statute did not create an
estoppel as a matter of law to which the
rules of pleading estoppel do not apply.
Schneck v. Mutual Service Cas. Ins. Co. 18
W (2d) 566, 119 NW (24) 342

Failure of an insurance company to deny

~that it had ‘a policy in effect at the time

of the accident by notifying the commis-
sioner within 30 days does not make it lia-
ble.  Hain v. Biron, 26 W (2d) 377, 132 NW

(24) 593,
SR-21 filings discussed. 1959 WLR 552

mission to the operator of the automobile,

344.16 Requirements as to self-insurers. (1) Any person in whose name more
than 25 motor vehicles are registered may qualify as a self-insurer by obtaining a certifi-
cate of self-insurance issued by the commissioner as provided in sub. (2).

(2) The commissioner may, in hig diseretion, upon the application of such a person,
issue a certificate of self-insurance when he is satisfied that such person is possessed and
will continue to be possessed of ability to pay judgments obtained against such person.

(3) Upon not less than 5 days’ notice and a hearing pursuant to such notice, the com-
missioner may upon reasonable grounds ecancel a certificate of self-insurance.  Failure to
pay any judgment within 30 days after such judgment has become final constitutes a rea-
sonahle ground for cancellation of a certificate of self-insurance.

344.17 Requirements as to form and amount of security. (1) The security requirved
under s. 344.14 shall be in such form and in such amount as the commissioner may require
but in no case in excess of ‘the limits specified in 8. 344.15 (1) with reference to the ac-
ceptable limits of a policy or bond. The person depositing security shall specify in writing
the person or persons on -whose behalf the deposit is made and, at any time while such
deposit is in the custody of the commissioner or state treasurer, the person depositing it
may, in writing, amend the specification of the persons on whose hehalf the deposit is made
to include an additional person or persons, subject to the limitation that a single deposit
of security shall be applicable only on behalf of persons required to furnish secunty be—
cause of the same accident.

(2) The commissioner may reduce the amount of secuuty ordered in any case if, in
his judgment, from evidence submitted, the amount ordered is excessive or has beeome
excessive by filed release on part of the liability- or by adjudication reducing the extent
of the liability. In case the security originally ordered had been deposited at the time
the reduced amount is ordered, the excess.over the reduced amount shall be returned to the
depositor or his personal 1'ep1esentatlve forthw1th notmthstandmg the provisions ofs.
344.20. :

(3) In all cases where the commissioner. accepts seeuuty in the form of a lien on real
estate, the party owning such real estate shall prepare the proper instrument to effect
such lien, payable to the state and all persons entitled thereto under ch. 344, and shall
record such instrument in the ofﬁce of the reglster of ‘deeds. in the county whe1e the real
estate is situated. The commissioner may require.the party to furnish the commlssmner
an abstract of merchantable title showing the lien to be a first lien on the premises. A
certified copy. of the recorded instrument and abstract, when reguired, shall be deposited
by the commissioner with the state treasurer, In all cases where a judgment has been
entered against a person involved in a motor vehicle accident and such -judgment remains
unsatisfied 60 days after it has become final, the judgment ereditor may for his own use
and benefit and at his sole expense bring an-action to foreclose such lien in the name of
the state for his use and benefit under this section. The costs of such foreclosure may be
estimated by the commissioner and.added to the amount required to be posted. In the
foreclosure of such lien, the provisions of eh. 278 on foreclosure of real estate mortgages
shall apply as far as possible. .

(4) In ‘all cases where .the commissioner accepts security ‘in the form of lien on
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personal property, the party owning such personal property shall prepare the proper
instrument to effect such lien payable to the state and all persons entitled thereto
under ch, 344 and shall file such instrument as provided in s. 409.401. He shall furnish
the commissioner a certified copy of the filed instrument and, if required by the commis-
sioner, a chattel abstract from the filing officer showing the lien to he a first lien on
such property. The certified copy and abstract shall be deposited by the commissioner
with the state treasurer. In all cases where a judgment has heen entered against a per-
son involved in a motor vehicle accident and it vemains unsatisfied 60 days after it
has become final, the judgment creditor may, for his own use and benefit and at his sole
expense, bring an action to foreclose such lien in the name of the state for his use and
benefit under ch. 344. The costs of such foreclosure shall be estimated by the commnis-
sioner and added to the amount required to be posted. In foreclosure of such lien the
provisions of ss. 409.501 to 409.507 shall apply as far as possible.

(5) In all cases where the commissioner has aceepted security in the form of a lien on
real estate or personal property the state treasurer shall satisfy such lien of record on
order of the commissioner to return the security upon the party’s compliance with ch.
344, The state treasurer shall execute a satisfaction in legal form in the name of the
state by state treasurer, custodian security “Motor Vehicle Responsibility Aect.” The
treasurver shall note on the satisfaction that the commissioner has issued such order, and
such notation shall be prima facie evidence of such issnance. The treasurer shall record
or file such satisfaction with the proper register of deeds.

History: 1963 c. 158,

344,18 Duration of suspension for failure to deposit security. (1) Any operating
privilege or registration suspended as provided in s. 344.14 shall remain suspended and
shall not be renewed or reinstated until one of the following requirements has been met:

(a) The person whose operating privilege or registration was suspended deposits the
security required under s. 344.14.

(b) There is filed with the commissioner evidence satisfactory to him that the person
whose operating privilege or registration was suspended has been released from liability
or has heen finally adjudicated not to be liable, The ecommissioner may aceept a release
executed by a parent on behalf of a minor child only if the release satisfies the require-
ments specified in s, 344.14 (2) (h).

(¢) There is filed with the commissioner evidence satisfactory to him that the person
whose operating privilege or registration was suspended has executed a warrant for con-
fession of judgment or duly acknowledged written agreement in accordance with s. 344.14
(2) (h), subject however to the provisions of subs. (2) and (3) of this section,

(d) Thirteen months have elapsed since the date of the accident and, during such
period, no notice has been filed with the commissioner by any claimant that an action
was instituted by a party in interest by actual service of summons and complaint within
the one-year period following the date of the aceident or by service of ecounterclaim or
cross-complaint within the 20-day answer period. If the action was commenced in a
court of record, the notice required by this paragraph shall include a certified copy of the
summons and complaint or counterclaim or eross-complaint and proof of service filed
therein, If the action was eommenced before a justice of the peace, the notice required
by this section shall include a certificate from such justice establishing the fact that the
action was so commenced. In all eases of service under s. 345.09. (nonresident service),
an additional notice and service must be made under ch. 344 to avail oneself of the pro-
visions of said chapter.

(2) If there is any default in the payment of any instalment under any confession of
judgment, the commissioner, upon notice of such default given within the terms of the
instalment agreement or in no event later than 30 days after the time for the final instal-
ment, shall forthwith suspend the operating privilege and registrations of the defaulting
person, which suspension shall remain in effect until the entire amount provided for in
the confession of judgment has been paid.

(3) If thereis any default in the payment of any instalment under a duly acknowl-
edged written agreement, the commissioner, upon notice of such default given in no
event later than 30 days after the time for final instalment, shall forthwith suspend the
operating privilege and registrations of the defaulting person, which suspension shall
remain in effect until one of the following requirements has been met:

(a) Such person deposits the security required under s. 344.14.

(b) Thirteen months have elapsed since the date when the security was required and,
during such period, no notice has been filed with the commissioner by any claimant that an
action was instituted by a party in interest by actual service of summons and complaint
within the one-year period following the date when such security was required or by serv-
ice of counterclaim or eross-complaint within the 20-day answer period. The notice re-
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quired by this paragraph shall comply with the provisions of sub. (1) (d).

(4) The commissioner shall not suspend, as required by sub. (2) or (3), if the de-
faulting person has made payments to the extent specified in s. 344.15 (1) with reference
to the acceptable limits of a policy or bond.

History: 1961 c. 662,

344,19 Applicability to nonresidents, unlicensed drivers, unregistered motor vehi-
cles and accidents in other states. (1) If the operator or the owner of a motor vehicle
involved in an accident within this state has no license or registration, whether because he
is a nonresident or becanse he is a resident who has failed or neglected to obtain a license
or registration in this state, he shall not be allowed a license or registration until he has
complied with the requirements of this chapter to the same extent as would be necessary
if, at the time of the accident, he had held a license and registration in this state.

(2) If the operating privilege or registration of a nonresident is suspended pursu-
ant to s. 344.14, the commissioner shall transmit a certified copy of the record of such
action to the motor vehicle commissioner or equivalent official of the state in which that
person resides if the law of the state in which that person resides provides for similar
action by the commissioner or equivalent official of that state in the event that a resident
of this state has his nonresident’s operating privilege or registration in that state sus-
pended or revoked for failure to comply with the safety responsibility law of that state.

(3) Upon receipt of such certification from another state to the effect that the oper-
ating privilege or registration of a resident of this state has heen suspended or revoked
in such other state pursuant to a law providing for its suspension or revoeation for failure
to deposit security for payment of judgments arising out of a motor vehicle accident,
under circumstances which would require the commissioner to suspend a nonresident’s
operating privilege or registration had the accident occurred in this state, the commissioner
shall suspend the license of such resident if he was the operator and all of his registra-
tions if he was the owner of a motor vehicle involved in such accident. The department
may accept a certification which is in the form of a combined notice of reguired security
and suspension or revocation order, but shall not suspend a resident’s operating privilege
or registration on the basis of such order until at least 30 days have elapsed since the
time for depositing security in the other state expired. A suspension under this section
shall continue until such resident furnishes evidence of his compliance with the law of the
other state relating to the deposit of security.

344.20 Custody, disposition and return of security. (1) Seeurity deposited in
compliance with this chapter shall he placed by the commissioner in the custody of the
state treasurer and shall be applied only as provided in this section. When placing
seeurity in the custody of the state treasurver, the commissioner shall also file with the
state treasurer a memorandum specifying the respective portions of such deposit required
because of property damage or personal injuries, including deaths, suffered hy each
person who will be entitled to a portion of such deposit in the event of a judgment
against either operator or owner for the damages resulting from such accident.

(2) The state treasurer shall apply the security only to the payment of judgments
and assignments and only as provided in this subsection:

(a) The security may he applied to the payment of judgments for damages arising
out of the accident in question rendered against either operator or owner for the dam-
ages resulting from such accident in an action at law begun not later than one year
after the date of the accident or not later than one year after the date of deposit of any
security under s. 344.18 (2). Any party to such action in favor of whom a judgment
was rendered may move to have the court order the state treasurer to transmit to the
court for application to the payment of the judgment the money 6r securities available
for such purpose, and the court may so order.. A certified copy of the order shall be
served upon the state treasurer, which service shall be by mail only. Upon being so
served, the state freasurer shall transmit to the elerk of the court the money or seeurities
in the amount authorized by par. (¢) or in the amount specified in the court order if less
than the amount so authorized. Securities transmitted shall be valued at the same amount
as when received from the department. The state treasurer shall have no further responsi-
bility for the amount of the deposit so transmitted and the court shall determine and
direct the application thereof. Any excess shall be returned by the court to the state
treasurer to he held by him subject to the provisions of this chapter.

(b) Subject to the vestrictions imposed by par. (e¢), the security may be applied to
the payment of a duly acknowledged assignment by the person who made the deposit,
provided the assignment is accompanied by releases signed hy all parties in interest and
releasing the assignor from all liahility to such parties on account of damages arising
out of the accident in question,
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(¢) No amount in excess of the portion designated in the commissioner’s filed seeurity
memorandum as having been deposited on account of damages suffered by the assignee
or judgment creditor or person representing either of them shall be paid out on behalf
of such person unless the depositor has been released from liability by all other parties
in interest. In the latter event, the deposit may be applied to the payment of the judg-
ment or assignment in question without regard to the designations in the security memo-
randum.

(8) The deposit of security or any ba]anee thereof 'shall be returned to the depositor
or his personal representative when evidernce satisfactory to the commissioner has been
filed with him that one of the contingencies specified in's. 344.18 (1) (b), (e) or (d) or
(8) (b) has occurred.

History: 1961 ¢, 662,

344.21 Matters not to be evidence in civil suits. Neither the report required fol-
lowing an accident, the action taken by the commissioner pursuant to this chapter, the
findings, if any, upon which such action is based nor the security filed as provided in this
chapter shall be referred to in any way or be any evidence of the negligence or due care
of either party at the trial of any action at law to recover damages, but this shall not be
congtrued to. exelude a notice of insurance filed pursuant to s. 34415 (4) from being
admissible in evidence whele it would otherwise. be material and admissible under the rules
of evidence.

344,22 Short tltle. Sections 344.12 to 344 22 and the geneml provisions appli-
cable thereto may be cited as the safety responsibility law. -

PROOE OoF FINANGIAL RESPQNSIBILITY FOR THE FUTURE,

344,24 Applicability of sections relating to proof of financial responsibility for the
future. Sections 344.29 to 344.41 are applicable in -all cases in which a person is re-
quired to deposit proof of financial responsibility for the future, including those eases
in which a person is required to deposit proof of financial responsibility for the future
under ss, 344.25 to 344.27 and those cases in which the deposit of proof of financial re-
sponsibility for the future is a condition precedent to 1e1nstatement of an opelatmg privi-
lege revoked pursuant to ch, 343.

344.26 Revocation of license and registration for nonpayment of judgment; excep-
tions. Upon the receipt, pursuant to s. 344.05, of a certified copy of a judgment for
damages in exceéss of $100 arising out of a motfor vehicle accident, the commissioner
shall forthwith revoke the operating privilege and all registrations of the person against
whom such judgment was rendered, subject to the following exceptions:

. (1) If the judgment arose out of an accident caused by the ownership or operation,
with permission, of a vehicle owned by or leased to the United States, this state or any
county or municipality of this state or a vehicle subject to the requirements of ss. 40.57,
194.41 or 194.42, the commissioner shall not revoke ‘such license or registration.

(2) If the judgment creditor consents in writing in such form as the commissioner
may prescribe that the judgment debtor be allowed to retain or reinstate his operating
privilege and registrations, the same may be allowed by the commissioner, in his dlscletlon,
for 6 months from the date of such consent and thereafter until such consent is revoked
in writing, notwithstanding defaunlt in the payment of such judgment or of any instal-
ments thereof as preseribed in s. 344.27, provided-the judgment debtor furnishes proof of
financial responsibility for the.future and maintains such proof at all times when such
license and registrations are in effect during a period of 3 years following the entry of the
judgment.

(8) The commissioner shall not revoke such license or registrations if the judgment
debtor obtains a court order for instalment payments and furnishes proof of finanecial
responsibility as prov1ded in s. 344.27. :

(4) The commissioner shall not revoke the chauffeur’s license of a debtor, his oper-
ating privilege thereunder or his registration with respeet thereto when the debtor is
operating a vehicle subject to the requirements of s. 194.41 or 194.42 or a vehicle owned
by or leased to the United States, this state or any county or munieipality of this state.

(5) When the commissioner receives certification of the entry of a damage judgment
in accordance with s. 344.05 against a resident of this state which has been entered by a
court in another jurisdiction, he shall give notice to such person that he has received
such certification of judgment. If satisfaction of such judgment is not made and copy
of such satisfaction filed with the commissioner within 30 days from the date such notice
was given, the commissioner shall 1evoke the license and registrations of such judgment
debtor. .

History: 1961 c, 662.
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344.26 Revocation to continue until judgment pald and proof of finaneial responsi-
bility given. (1) Subject to the exceptions stated in ss. 344.25 (2) and 344.27 (2),
any operating privilege or registration revoked pursuant to s. 344.25 shall remain revoked
until every judgment mentioned in s. 344.25 is stayed, satisfied or discharged and, unless
3 years have elapsed since the date of entry of the judgment which was the cause for
revocation, until the person whose operating privilege and 1eg13trat10n was revoked fur-
nishes proof of financial responsibility for the future and maintains such proof at all
times during such 3-year period when the operating privilege or registration is in effect.

(2) A discharge in bankruptey followmg the rendering of any such judgment does
not relieve the judgment debtor from any of the requirements of this section.

(3) Judgments in excess of the amounts specified in s. 344.01 (2) (d) shall, for the
purpose of this section only, be deemed satisfied when payments in the amounts so speci-
fied have been credited thereon. Payments made in settlement of any claims beeause of
bodily injury, death or property damage arising from a motor vehicle accident shall be
credited in reduction of the respective amounts so specified.

Discharge of a judgment in bankruptey Zywicke v, Brogli, 24 W (2d) 685, 130 NW
and satisfaction under 270.91 (2) does not (2d) 180.
bar the application of 844.26 and whether The encroachment of financial responsi-
or not the satisfaction recites that it is bility laws on the policy of the bankruptcy
based on a discharge in bankruptcy the act. 47 MLR 402
commissioner can inquire into the facts.

344,27 Instalment payment of judgments; revocation upon default. (1) A judg-
ment. debtor upon due notice to the judgment ereditor may apply to the court in which
such judgment was rendered for the privilege of paying such judgment in instalments and
the court, in its discretion and without prejudice to any other legal remedies which the
judgment ereditor may have, may so order and fix the amounts and times of payment of
the instalments.

(2) The commissioner shall not revoke the operating privilege or registration and
shall restore any operating privilege or registration revoked following nonpayment of a
judgment when the judgment debtor obtains such order permitting the payment of the
judgment in instalments and, unless 3 years have elapsed since the entry of judgment,
furnishes and maintains proof.of financial responsibility for the future.

(3) If the judgment debtor fails to pay any instalment as specified by such order, the
commissioner, upon notice of such default, shall forthwith revoke the operating pnvﬂege
and reg'lstlatlons of the judgment debtor untll such Judgment is satisfied as provided in s.
344.26.

344,29 Proof of financial responsibility required for each registered vehicle. Proof
of financial respounsibility for the future shall be furnished for each motor vehicle regis-
tered by any person required to give such proof.

. 344,30 Alternate methods of giving proof of financial responsibility. Whenever the
owner or operator of a motor vehicle is required under chs. 343 or 344 to give proof of
finaneial responsibility for the future, such proof may be given by filing:

(1) A certificate of insurance as provided in s. 344.31 or 344.32; or

(2) A bond as provided in s. 344.36; or

(3) A certificate of deposit of money or securities as provided in s. 344.37; or

(4) A certificate of self-insurance as provided in s. 344.16, supplemented by an agree-
ment by the self-insurer that, with respeet to accidents occurring while the certificate is
in force, he Wlll pay the same amounts that an insurer would have been obligated to pay
under an ownei’s motor vehicle liability poliey if it had issued such a policy to such self-
msurer

344.31 Certificate of insurance as proof. (1) Proof of financial responsibility for
the future may be furnished by filing with the commissioner the written certificate of any
insurance carrier duly authorized to do business in this state certifying that there is in
effect a motor vehiele liability policy for the benefit of the person required to furnish
proof of financial responsibility. Such certificate shall give the effective date of such
motor vehicle liability policy, which date shall he the same as the effective ‘date of the
certificate and shall designate by explicit description or by appropriate reference all
motor vehicles covered thereby, unless the poliey is issued to a person who is not the
owner of a motor vehicle,

(2) No motor vehicle shall be or continue to be registered in the name of any person
required to file proof of financial responsibility unless such motor vehicle is so designated
in such a certificate.
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344,32 Certificate furnished by nonresidents as proof. (1) The nonresident owner
of a motor vehicle not registered in this state may give proof of financial responsibility
by filing with the commissioner a written certificate of an insurance carrier anthorized to
transact business in the state in whic¢h the motor vehicle deseribed in such certificate is
registered or, if such nonresident does not own a motor vehicle, then in the state in which
the insured resides, provided such certificate otherwise conforms to the provisions of this
chapter. The commigsioner shall accept the certificate only upon condition that such in-
surance carrier complies with the following provisions with respect to the policies so
certified :

(a) Such insurance carrier shall execute a power of attorney aunthorizing the com-
missioner to accept service on its behalf of noticé or process in any aection arising out of
a motor vehicele accident in this state.

(b) Such insurance carrier shall agree in writing that such policies shall be deemed
to conform with the laws of this state relating to the terms of motor vehicle Hability
policies issued herein.

(2) If any insurance carrier not authorized to transact business in this state, which
has qualified to furnish proof of financial responsibility, defaults in any such undertak-
ings or agreements, the commissioner shall not thereafter accept as proof any certificate
of such carrier whether theretofore filed or thereafter tendered as proof, so long as such
default continues.

344.33 “Motor vehicle liability policy” defined. (1) CerriFrcaTioN. A “motor
vehicle liability policy” as that term is used in this chapter means an owner’s policy or
an operator’s poliey of liability insurance, certified as provided in s. 344.31 or 344.32 as
proof of financial responsibility for the future, and issued, except as otherwise provided
in 8. 344.32, by an insurance carrier duly authorized to transact business in this state to
or for the beneﬁt of the person named therein as insured. .

(2) OwWNER’s POLICY. An owner’s policy of liability insurance: .

(a) Shall designate by explicit description or by appropriate reference all motor ve-
hieles with respect to which coverage is thereby to be granted; and

(b) The policy shall apply for a period of 30 days but in no event heyond the end
of the policy period, to a newly acquired automobile which replaces an automobile de-
seribed in such policy; but this paragraph shall not operate to limit coverage for a re-
placement automobile to a period of 30 days if the poliey provides coverage for a replace-
ment automobile for a longer period of time; and

(e) Shall insure the person named therein and any other person, as insured, using any
such motor vehicle or motor vehicles with the express or implied permission of such named
insured, against loss from the liahility imposed by law for damages arising out of the
ownership, maintenancee or use of such motor vehicle or motor vehicles within the United
States of Ameriea or the Dominion of Canada, subject to limits exclusive of interest and
costs, with respect to each such motor vehicle, as follows: $10,000 because of bodily injury
to or death of one person in any one accident and, subject to such limit for one person,
$20,000 because of bodily injury to or death of 2 or more persons in any one accident,
and $5,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident.

(3) OpErATOR’S POLICY, An operator’s policy of liability insurance shall insure the
person named as insured therein against loss from the liability imposed upon him by law
for damages arising out of the use by him of any motor vehicle not owned by him,
within the same territorial limits and subject to the same limits of liahility as are set forth
in sub. (2) with respect to an owner’s policy of liability insurance.

(4) REQUIRED STATEMENTS IN POLICY. Such motor vehicle liability policy shall state
the name and address of the named insured, the coverage afforded by the policy, the
premium charged therefor, the policy period and the limits of liability, and shall eontain
an agreement or be endorsed that insurance is provided thereunder in accordance with the
coverage defined in this chapter with respect to bodily injury and death or property
damage, or both, and is subject to all the provisions of this ehapter.

(5) CERTAIN TYPES OF COVERAGE EXCLUDED. Such motor vehicle liability policy shall
not insure any liahility under any Workmen’s compensation law .as provided in eh, 102
nor any hablhty on account of bodily injury to or death of any employe of the msured
while engaged in the employment, other than domestie, of the insured, or while engaged in
the operation, maintenance or repair of any such motor vehicle or any {iability for dam-
age to property owned by, rented to, in charge of or transported by the insured. :

(6) PROVISIONS INCORPORATED IN POLICY BY LAWS. Every motor vehicle liability
poliey shall be subject to the following provisions which need not be contained therein:

(a) The policy may not be canceled -or annulled as to such liability by any agreement
between the insurance carrier and the insured after the occurrence of any injury or dam-
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age covered by such motor vehicle liability policy.

(b) The satisfaction by the insured of a Judgment for such anury or damage shall
not be a condition precedent to the right or duty of the insurance carrier to make payment
on aceount of such injury or damage.

(e) The insurance carrier shall have the right to settle any claim covered by the policy,
and if such settlement is made in good faith, the amount thereof shall be deductible from
the limits of liability specified in sub. (2) (e).

(d) The policy, the written application therefor, if any, and any rider or endorse-
ment which does not conflict with the provisions of this chapter constitutes the entire
contraet between the parties.

(7) EXCESS OR ADDITIONAL COVERAGE. Any policy which grants the coverage required
for a motor vehicle liability policy may also grant any lawful coverage in excess of or in
addition to the coverage specified for a motor vehicle liability policy and such excess. or
additional coverage is not subject to the provisions of this chapter. With respect to a
policy which grants such excess or additional coverage the term “motor vehicle liability
poliey” applies only to that part of the coverage which is required by this section.

(8) REIMBURSEMENT PROVISION PERMITTED. Any motor vehicle liability policy may
provide that the insured shall reimburse the insurance carrier for any payment the in-
surance carrier would not have been obligated to make under the terms of the policy exoept
for the provisions of this section.

(9) PRORATION OF INSURANCE PERMITTED, Any motor vehicle liability policy may
provide for the prorating of the insurance thereunder with other valid and collectible
insurance.

(10) MurripLe poLiciES. The requirements for a motor vehicle liahility policy may
be fulfilled by the policies of one or more insurance carriers which policies together meet
such requirements.

(11) BiwpErs. Any binder issued pending the issuance of a motor vehicle hablhty
policy shall be deemed to fulfill the requirements for such a policy.

History: 1963 c. 410.

344,34 Notice of cancellation or termination of certified policy. When an insur-
ance carrier has certified a motor vehicle liability policy under s. 344.31 or a policy under
5. 844,32, the insurance so certified shall not be canceled or terminated until at least 10
days after a notice of cancellation or termination of the insurance so certified has been
filed in the office of the commissioner, except that such a policy subsequently procured
and certified shall, on the effective date of its certification, terminate the insurance previ-
ously certified with respeet to any motor vehicle designated in both certificates.

344.35 This chapter not to affect other policies. (1) This chapter does not apply
to or affect policies of automobile insurance against liability which may now or hereafter
be required by any other law of this state. If such policies contain an agreement or are
endorsed to conform to the requirements of this chapter, they may be certified as proof
of financial responsibility under this chapter.

(2) This chapter does not apply to or affect policies insuring solely the insured named
in the policy against liability resulting from the maintenance or use by persons in the
insured’s employ or on his behalf of motor vehicles not owned by the insured.

344.36 Bond as proof. (1) Proof of financial responsibility may be evidenced by
the bond of a surety company duly authorized to transact business within this state or a
bond with at least 2 individual sureties each owning real estate within this state and to-
gether having equities equal in value to at least twice the amount of the bond, which real
estate shall be scheduled in the bond approved by a judge of a court of record. Such bond
shall be conditioned for the payment of the amounts specified in s. 344.01 (2) (d). The
band shall be filed with the commissioner and shall not be cancellable except after 10 days’
written notice to the commissioner.

(2) The bond constitutes a lien in favor of the state upon any surety’s real estate
which is scheduled in the bond and which is not exempt by law from execution. Such lien
is effective as of the time when the commissioner records the hond in the office of the
register of deeds of the county wherein such real estate is located, as provided in s.
235.45. Such lien exists in favor of any holder of a final Judgment against the person
who filed such bond, for damages resulting from the ownership, maintenance, use or oper-
ation of a motor Vehiele after such bond was recorded, including damages for care and for
loss of services hecause of bodily injury to or death of any person and damages because
of injury to or destruction of property and the consequent loss of use thereof.

(3) If the judgment rendered against the prinecipal on the bond is not satisfied within
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60 days after it hag become final, the judgment creditor may, for his own use and benefit
and at his sole expense, bring an action in the name of the state against the company or
persons executing the bond, including an action or proceeding to foreclose any lien that
may exist upon the real estate of a person who has executed such bond. In the foreclosure
of sul;;h lien, ch. 278 on the foreclosure of real estate mortgages shall apply as far as
possible. ‘

344.37 Money or securities as proof. (1) Proof of financial responsibility for the
future may be evidenced by the certificate of the state treasurer that the person named
therein has deposited with him $25,000 in cash, or in securities such as may legally be
purchased by savings banks or for trust funds of a market value of $25,000. The state
treasurer shall not accept any such deposit and issue a certificate therefor and the com-
missioner shall not accept such certificate unless accompanied by evidence that there are no
ungatisfied judgments of any character against the depositor in the county where the
depositor resides.

(2) Deposits made under this seetlon shall be held by the state treasurer to satisfy,
in accordance with this chapter, any execution on a judgment issued against the person
making the deposit, for damages resulting from the ownership, maintenance, use or opera-
tion of a motor vehicle after such deposit was made, ineluding damages for care and for
loss of services because of bodily injury to or death of any person and damages because
of injury to or destruction of property and the consequent loss of wuse thereof. Money
or securities so deposited are not subject to attachment or execution unless such attach-
ment or execution arises out.of a suit for damages as set forth in this seetion.

344.38 Owner may give proof for others. Whenever any person required to give
proof of financial responsibility for the future under this chapter is or later becomes an
operator in the employ of any owner, or ig or later becomes a member of the immediate
family or household of the owner, the commissioner shall accept proof given by such
owner in lieu of proof by such other person. ‘When proof has been given as provided in
this section, the person on whose behalf such.owner gave proof may.be granted a license,
but only to operate those vehicles for which proof was so given. The department shall
note such restriction on the person’s license, including a designation of each vehicle for
whmh proof was given.

844,39 Substitution of proof. The cgmmissioner shall consent to the cancellation
of any bond or certificate of insurance or the commissioner shall direet and the state
treasurer shall return any money or securities to the person entitled thereto upon the sub-
stitution and acceptance of other, adequate proof of financial responsibility pursuant to
this chapter. v ;

344.40. Suspension for failure to maintain proof; other proof may be required. (1)
Whenever any person who has furnished proof of financial responsibility fails to maintain
such proof at any time during the period when proof of financial responsibility is required,
the commissioner shall revoke such person’s operating privilege and registration for a
period of time running from the date of revocation until such time ag either satisfactory
proof of financial responsibility is again furnished or the perlod durmg which proof was
required to be fu1n1shed has expired.

(2) Whenever any proof of financial 1espon51b1hty filed unde1 thJs chapter no longer
fulfills the purposes for which required, the commissioner shall require other proof meet-
ing the requirements of this ehapter and shall suspend the operatmg pmvﬂege and regis-
tration pending the filing of such other p1oof

344,41 Duration of proof when proof may be canceled or returned 1) SubJect
to the exceptions set forth in sub. (2), the commissioner shall, upon request, consent to
the immediate cancellation of any bond or certificate of insurance, shall direct the state
treasurer to return to the person.entitled thereto any money or securities deposited pur-
suant to this chapter as proof of finaneial responsibility (with whieh directive the state
treasurer shall comply) and shall waive any requirement.of the filing ot proof of financial
responsibility whenever any of the following events has occurred:

(a) The period dumng which proof of financial responsﬂnhty is required has explred
or

‘(b) The person on whose behalf such proof was filed has died or has become perma-
nently incapacitated to operate a motor vehicle; or

-(e) The person who has.given proof surrenders his hccnse and reglstratlon to the
comnissioner.,

(d) If a person required to furnish proof of financial 1espons1b111ty has more than
one motor vehicle registered in his name and does not intend to use all of the vehicles he
has ‘registered, he may surrender the valid registration plates for the vehicle or vehicles
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not bheing used and continue his filing of proof of financial responsibility only on the
vehicle on which registration plates are retained by him.

(2) The commissioner shall not consent to the eancellation of any bond or the return
of any money or securities if any action for damages upon a liability eovered by such
proof is then pending or any judgment upon any such liability is then unsatisfied, or if
the person who filed the bond or deposited the money or securities has, within one year
immediately preceding the request for cancellation of the bond or return of the money or
securities, been involved as an operator or owner in any motor vehicle accident resulting
in injury or damage to the person or property of others. An affidavit of the applicant as
to the nonexistence of such faets, or that he has been released from all of his liability, or
has been finally adjudicated not to be liable for such injury or damages is sufficient evidence
thereof in the absence of evidence to the contrary in the records of the commissioner.

(3) Whenever any person whose proof has been canceled or returned under: sub. (1)
(e¢) desires reinstatement of his license or registration prior to the expirvation of the
period during which proof of financial responsibility is required, he shall again furnish
proof of financial responsibility. Thereupon his license is automatically reinstated as
p10v1ded in s.-343.39 and the department shall return his registration plates, if not ex-

ire
P rH%stm.v. 1961 c, 662,

PENALTIES FOR VIOLATIONS OF CHAPTER.

344,45 Surrender of license, and registration upon suspension. (1) Whenever a
person’s operating privilege or registration is revoked or suspended pursunant to this
chapter, the commissioner shall also order such person to surrender to the department his
license and the registration plates and certificates of registration of the vehicles for which
rvegistration was revoked or suspended. If such person fails forthwith fo return such
hcense, registration plates or certificates of registration to the department, the commis-
sioner shall direct a traffic officer to take possession thereof and return them to the de-
partment, ‘

(2) Any person who intentionally fails or refuses to return a license, 1eg13trat10n
plate or certificate of registration as required by this section may be fined not more than
$100 or imprisoned not more than 6 months or both.

344.46 Transfer of vehicle ownership to defeat purpose of chapter. (1) No owner
of a motor vehicle involved in an accident in this state which is reportable under s. 346.70
shall transfer the ownership or registration of such vehicle until this chapter has been
complied with or until the commissioner is satisfied that such transfer is proposed in good
faith and not for the purpose or with the effect of defeating the purposes of this chapter.

(2) Any person violating this section may be fined not more than $200 or imprisoned
not more than 6 months or both. ‘ ‘

(3) This section does not apply to or affect the registration of any vehicle sold by a
person who, pursnant to the terms or conditions of any written instrument giving a right
of repossession, has exercised such right and has repossessed such vehicle from a person
whose registration has been suspended pursuant to this chapter.

344.47 Operating vehicle after suspension or revocation. (1) No person whose
registration has been revoked or suspended pursuant to this chapter shall, during such
revocation or suspension, operate or knowingly permit the operation of any motor vehicle
owned by him, except as permitted under this chapter.

(2) Any person violating this section may be fined not less than $50 nor more than
$200 or imprisoned not more than 6 months or both.

344.48 Forged proof, (1) No person shall:

(a) Forge or, without authority, sign any notice provided for in s. 344.15 (4) to the
effect that a policy or bond is in effect or, knowing or having reason to believe that such
notice has heen forged or signed without authority, file or offer such notice for filing; or

(b) Forge or, without authority, sign any evidence of proof of financial responsibility
or, knowing or having reason to believe that such evidence has been forged or signed with-
out authority, file or offer such evidence for filing.

(e) Sign or file the affidavit mentioned in s. 344.15 (4), knowing that it contains a
false statement.

(2) Any person violating this section may be fined not more than $1,000 or imprisoned
not more than one year or both.

PINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY FOR RENTED VEHICLES,
344,51 Financial responsibility for domestic rent-a-cars, (1) No person shall for
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compensation rent any motor vehicle to be operated by or with the consent of the person
renting such vehicle unless there is filed with the department a good and sufficient bond
or policy of insurance or certificate issued by a company or exchange organized under the
laws of this state or duly authorized to transact business in this state. Such bond, policy,
or certificate shall provide that the company or exchange which issued it will be liable for
damages caused by the negligent operation of such motor vehicle in the amounts set forth
in s, 344.01 (2) (d).

(2) Any person failing to comply with this section is directly liable for all damages
caused by the negligence of the person operating such rented vehicle to the extent that
such liability could have been established if this section had been complied with,

(3) Any person violating this section may be fined not more than $200 or imprisoned
not more than 6 months or both.

(4) In this section, “motor vehicle” means a self-propelled vehicle.

344,62 Financial responsibility for foreign rent-a-cars. (1) Whenever any motor
vehicle rented for compensation outside this state is operated in this state, the lessor of
such motor vehicle is dirvectly liable for all damages to persons or property caused by the
negligent operation of such rented vehicle unless, at the time when sueh damage or injury
oceurs, the operation of the vehicle is effectively covered by a policy of insurance which
provides coverage at least in the amounts specified in s. 344.01 (2) (d) for property dam-
age, personal injury or death suffered by any person on account of the negligent opera-
tion of such vehicle. The amount of Mability imposed upon the lessor by this section in
the absence of insurance coverage shall not exceed the limits set forth in s. 344.01 (2) (d)
with respeet to the acceptable limits of liability when furnishing proof of financial respon-
sibility. The fact that the rented vehicle is operated in this state contrary to any under-
standing or agreement with the lessor is not a defense to any liability imposed by this
section,

(2) If a motor vehicle rented for compensation outside this state is operated in this
state, the lessor of such vehicle is deemed to have irrevocably appointed the commissioner
as his agent or attorney upon whom legal process may be served in any action or pro-
ceeding against such lessor or his executor, administrator, personal representative, suc-
cessors or assigns, growing out of the operation of such rented motor vehicle in this state.
Such appointment is binding upon the lessor’s executor, administrator, personal repre-
sentative, successors or assigns. The operation of such rented motor vehiele in this state is
a signification of the lessor’s agreement that such legal process or notice may be served
upon him or his executor, administrator, personal representative, successors or assigns
and that process or notice so served has the same legal force as if personally served upon
him or them in this state. Service of such process or notice shall be made as provided in
s. 345.09. This section does not affect the right to serve process or notice on the non-
resident operator of the rented motor vehicle as provided in s. 345.09.

(3) In this section, “motor vehicle” means a self-propelled vehicle,




