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GENERAL PROVISIONS. 

344.01 Words and phrases defined. (1) Words and phrases defined in ss. 340.01 
and 343.01 are used in the same sense in this chapter unless a different 'definition is spe­
cifically provided. 

(2) In this chapter the following words alld phrases have the designated meanings: 
(a) "Judgment" means a judgment for damages rendered by a COlU't of competent 

jurisdiction of any state or of the United States upon a cause of action arising out of the 
ownership, maintenance or use of any motor vehicle, including damages for care and for 
loss of services because of bo'dily injury to or death of any person and damages because 
of injury to or destruction of property and the consequent loss of use thereof, which judg­
ment has become final by expiration without appeal of the time within which an appeal 
might have been perfected or by final affirmation on appeal. "Judgment" also includes a 
judgment rendered by a court of competent jurisdiction upon a cause of action on an 
agreement of settlement for damages of the type specified in tlris paragraph, which judg­
ment has become final 1vithin the meaning of this paragraph. 

(b) "Motor vehicle" means a self-propelled vehicle and also includes trailers and 
semitrailers designed for use with such vehicles, except that "motor vehicle" \loes not 
include fa:rm tractors, well drillers or road machinery. 

(l) "Operator" means a person who is in actual or constructive physical control of a 
motor vehicle. It includes a person who has parked a motor vehicle. It includes the driver 
of a vehicle being pushed or towed and, in case there is no person actually doing the driv­
ing, the person who is doing the pushing or towing. 
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(d) "Proof' of' financial responsibility" or "proof' of' financial responsibility f'or the 
f'uture" means proof' of' ability to respond in damages for liability on account of acci­
dents occurring subsequent to the effective date of such proof', arising out of the' owner­
ship, maintenance or use of a motor vehicle in the amount of $10,000 because of bodily 
injury to or death of one person in anyone accident and, subject to such limit for one 
person, in the amount. of $20,000 because of' bodily injury to or death of' 2 or more per­
sons in anyone accident and in the amount of $5,000 because of injury to or destruction 
of property of others in anyone accident. " 

(e) "Registration" means, in the case of a person whose vehicle is registered under 
ch. 341, the registration so issued; in the case of a person whose vehicle is not so regis­
tered, it means the privilege to register a vehicle in Wisconsin and the reciprocal privi­
lege granted a nonresident to operate in Wisconsin a vehicle not registered in Wisconsin. 

(f) "State" means any state, territory or possession of the United States, the District 
of' Columbia, or any province of the Dominion of Canada. 

(g) "Vehicle" means every device in, upon or by which any person or property is or 
may be transported or drawn upon a highway, except vehicles used exclusively upon sta­
tiona~'Y rails or tracks 01' vehicles propelled by use of' elechicity obtained from overhead 
trolley structures. 

344.02 Administration of responsibility law. The commissioner shall administer 
and enforce this chapter and may, in his discretion, appoint any employe in the depart­
ment as his representative to affix his signature, including any facsimile signature adopted 
by him, to the administrative letters, not.ices and orders to enforce this chapter. 

344.03 Judicial review of commissioner's action. Any person aggrieved by any 
action of the commissioner pursuant to this chapter may, within 10 days after uotice 
thereof, or in any event before the commissioner ltas revoked or suspended the oper!j,ting 
privilege or registration by specific order if preceded by notice mailed at least 10 days 
prior to said revocation or suspension, file a petition in the circuit court of' Dane county 
for a review thereof as provided in s. 227.16. The court shall summarily hear the :peti-
tion and may make any appropriate order or decree within the scope of s. 227.20. " 

History I 1961 c. 662. 
The remedy provided in 344.03, that any for review of the commissioner's suspension 

person aggrieved by any action of the com- of a driver's operating privilege, and man­
missioner of the motor vehicle department dam us will not lie to compel reinstate:iIl.ent 
may, within 10 days after notice thereof, of the privilege. Underwood v. Karns, ,21 
petition for review in the circuit court as W (2d) 175, 124 NW (2d) 116. , ' 
provided in 227.16, is the exclusive remedy 

344.04 Power of court to stay suspension of registration of vehicle,S. (1) Not­
withstanding any other provision of this chapter, the commissioner shall not revoke qr 
suspend the registration of a vehicle when ordered not to do so by the co~u1 wherein. the 
judgment f'or damages was had or, in a case not involving a judgment, when ordered not 
to do so by a court pursuant to petition of the registrant in accordance ,vith sub. (2). 

(2) Upon receiving information, other than of' a judgment f'or damages in a court of' 
this state, that would be cause for revocation or suspension of registration, the commis­
sioner shall notify the registrant of his intention to revoke or suspend such registration. 
The registrant may thereupon petition any court of' record in his county for an ol;der 
enjoining the commissioner's contemplated action, whereupon the judge of such court 
shall grant an order restraining the commissioner in the matter until the petition is finally 
determined by the court. If such petition and order are served upon the commissioner 
within 10 days after the date of' the commissioner's notice or in any event before the 
commissioner has revoke'd or suspended the registration, the commissioner shall await 
the final determination of the com-to The commissioner shall be given notice of the hearing. 
Upon a showing' that it would result in undue hardship upon the petitioner to have any 
such registration revoked or suspended, the COllrt shall issue an order restraining the 
commissioner from revoking or sllspending the registration. 

(3) This section does not authorize a court to stay suspension or revocation ot an 
operator's license. 

344,05 Courts to report nonpayment of certain judgments. (1) Whenever an·y 
judgment in excess of $100 for damages arising out of a motor vehicle accident is not 
satisfied within 30 days after its having become final by expiration without appeal of the 
time within which an appeal might have been perfected or by final affirmation on appeal, 
the clerk of the court in which such judgment was rendered, or the judge if the comt has 
no clerk, shall forthwith forward to the commissioner a certified copy of such judgment 
upon request of the judgment creditor or the attol'lley of record for the judgment creditor. 

(2) If the defendant named in any certified copy of' a judgment reported to the com-
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missioner is a nonresident, the commissioner shall transmit a certified copy of the judg­
ment to the official in charge of the issuance of licenses and registration certificates of the 
state of which the defendant is a resident. 

History. 1963 c. 77. 

344.06 O()mmissioner to fU1'llish. operating record. The commISSIOner shall upon 
request furnish any person a certified abstract of the operating record of any person 
subject to the provisions of this chapter. If there is no record that such person has been 
convicted of violating any law relating to the operation of a motor vehicle or of any 
injury or damage caused by such person, the commissioner shall so certify in the abstract. 
The abstract of the operating record also shall fully designate the motor vehicles, if any, 
registered in the name of such person. Such abstract is not admissible in evidence in any 
action for damages or crinlinal proceeding arising out of a motor vehicle accident. 

344.07 Responsibility law not to prevent other process. Nothing in this chapter 
shall be construed as preventing the plaintiff in any action at law from relying for relief 
upon the other processes provided by law. 

344.08 Suspension for failure to report accident. (1) The commissioner may sus­
pend the operating' privilege or registration of any person who fails to report an acci­
dent as required by s. 346.70 or to give correctly the information requested by the com­
missioner in connection 1vith such report unless, in the judgment of the commissioner, 
there was excusable cause for such failure or unless the accident did not result in injury 
or damage to the person or property of anyone other than the person so required to report. 

(2) Any operating' privilege suspended pursuant to this section, or suspended pursu­
ant to any other section for failure to report an accident, shall be reinstated in acaord­
ance with s. 344.09 at the end of 13 months following the accident if, during such 13-
month perio'd, no notice of action instituted within one year from the date of the accident 
has been filed with the department in the manner specified in s. 344.18 (1) (d). 

344.09 Reinstatement of suspended operating privilege and registration. (1) 
Whenever the commissioner is satisfied that the reason for suspension of an operating 
privilege under this chapter has been removed, including satisfaction of any of the re­
quirements of s. 344.18, he shall forthwith order reinstatement of such operating privilege 
and shall give notice of such reinstatement to the person whose operating' plivilege has 
been suspended. Such reinstatement order has the same effect as an automatic reinstate­
ment under s. 343.39. 

(2) Whenever an operating plivilege suspended or revoked pursuant to this chapter 
is reinstate'd, any registration which was suspended or revoked along with the operating 
privilege is automatically reinstated and the department shall retul'll any surrendered and 
unexpired registration plate in its jJossession. 

SECURITY FOR PAST ACOIDENTS. 

344.12 Applicability of provisions relating to deposit of security for past acci­
dents. Subject to the exceptions contained in s. 344.14, the provisions of this chapter 
requiring deposit of security and requiring suspension for failure to deposit secmity 
apply to the operator and owner of every motor vehicle which is in any manner involved 
in an accident in this state which has resulted in bodily injury to or death of any pel'son 
or damage to property of any other person in excess of $100. 

344.13 Oommissioner to determine amount of security required following accident 
and to give notice thereof. (1) The commissioner after receipt of a report of an ac­
cident of the type specified in s. 344.12 shall determine, with respect to such accident, the 
amount of security which is sufficient in his judgment to satisfy any judg'ment for dam­
ages resulting from such accident which may be recovered against either operator or 
owner of the vehicles involved in such accident. Such determination shall be based upon 
the total property damage suffered by other persons whose property was involved in the 
accident, not including the vehicle a person was operating when such operation was with 
the owner's permission, and on the extent of personal injuries, including deaths, involving 
other parties to the accident. The determlllation as to the amount of security required 
shall 1Je made without regard to the fault of the persons involved but shall not be made 
with respect to operators 01' owners who are exempt from the requirements of security 
and suspension under s. 344.14 (2). 

(2) The commissioner shall determine the amount of security required to he deposited 
by each person on the basis of the accident reports or other information submitted. In 
addition to the accident reports required by law, the commissioner may request from any 
of the persons, including passengers and pedestrians, involve'd in such accident such 
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further information, sworn statements or other evidence relating' to property damage, 
personal injury or death in motor vehicle accidents as he deems necessary to aid in de­
termining the amount to be deposited as security under s. 344.14. Failure of a person 
to comply with such request is g1.'ounds for suspending such person's operating privilege 
but no suspension shall he made 011 such grounds until one follow-up request has been 
made and at least 20 'days have elapsed since the mailing of the first request. 

(3) The commissioner within 60 days after receipt of a report of an accident of the 
type specified in s. 344.12 and upon determining the amount of security to be required of 
any person involved in such accident or to be required of the owner of any vehicle involved 
in such accident, shall give at least 10 days' written notice to every such person of the 
amount of security required to be deposited by him. The notice also shall state that an 
order of suspension will be made as provided in s. 344.14, unless within such time security 
is deposited as required by the notice. The order of suspension lllay be made a part of the 
notice, with a provision that it will take effect on the date specified in this subsection unless 
security is deposited prior to that date. 

History: 1961 c. 662. 

344.14 Suspension for failure to deposit security; exceptions. (1) If a person 
who was given notice pursuant to s. 344.13 (3) fails to deposit security in the amount and 
by the time specified in the notice, the co=issioner shall forthwith suspend his operating 
privilege if he was the operator of a motor vehicle involved in the accident and all his 
registrations if he was the owner of a motor vehicle involved in the accident unless he 
furnishes proof satisfactory to the commissioner that he comes within one of the exceptions 
set forth in sub. (2). If the owner and operator are separate persons, only one of them 
need deposit security or the 2 persons may co-operate in depositing security. Upon request 
of the owner or operator in question, the commissioner may postpone the effective date of 
a suspension under this section not to exceed 20 days. 

(2) The requirements as to security and suspension stated in sub. (1) do not apply: 
(a) To the owner of a motor vehicle involved in an accident if the owner had in effect 

at the time of the accident an automobile liability policy 01' borrd with respect to such 
motor vehicle, which policy or bond complies with the requirements of s. 344.15. 

(b) To the operator who is not the owner of the vehicle involved in the accident if 
either the owner had in effect an automobile lia,bility policy 01' bond applying to the oper­
ator's operation of the motor vehicle at the time of the accident or there .was in effect at the 
time of the accident an automobile liability policy 01' bond with respect to the operator's 
operation of motor vehicles not owned by him, wbich policy or bond meets the require­
ments of s. 344.15. 

(c) To the operator or owner whose liability for damages resulting from the accident 
is, in the judgment of the commissioner, covered by any other form of liability insurance 
policy 01' bond meeting the requirements of s. 344.15. 

(d) To any person qualifying as a self-insurer under s. 344.16 01' to any person oper­
ating a vehicle for such self-insurer. 

(e) To the operator or owner of a vehicle involved in an accident wherein no injury 
was caused to the person of anyone other than such operator or owner and wherein dam­
age to property of anyone person other than such operator or owner did not exceed $100. 

(f) To the operator or owner of a vehicle legally parked at the time of the accident, 
pl'ovided that the operators of the other vehicles involved admit that such vehicle was 
legany parked 01' other proof establishing such fact to the commissioner's satisfaction is 
filed. 

(g) To the owner of a· vehicle if, at the time of the accident, the vehicle was being 
operated without his permission, express or implied, or was parked by a person who ha'd 
been operating such vehicle without such permission. 

(h) To any person who would otherwise have to deposit security if, prior to the date 
the commissioner would otherwise suspend such person's operating privilege and registra­
tions under sub. (1), there is filed with the commissioner evidence satisfactory to him that 
such person has been released from liability or has been finally adjudicated not to be liable 
or has executed a warrant for confession of judgment payable when and in sllch instal­
ments as the parties have ag1.'eed to 01' has executed a duly acknowledged written agree­
ment providing for the payment of an agreed amount in instalments with respect to all 
claims for injuries or damage resulting from the accident. The commissioner may accept 
a release from liability executed by a pa.rent as natural guardian on behalf of a minor 
child with respect to property damage 01' personal injuries sustained by such minor, pro­
vided that the total 'damages, including the cost of medical care, does not exceed $200 and 
that, in the case of personal injury, the doctor's certificate of injury filed with the depart­
ment certifies that such minor received no permanent injury. 

(i) To the owner of a vehicle insured as required by s. 40.57, 194.41 or 194.42 or to 
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the operator of such vehicle if operating witli tue owner's permission at the time of the 
accident. 

(j) To the owner of a vehicle involved in an accident if at the time of the accident 
such vehicle was owned by or leased to the United States, this state or any county or mu­
nicipality of this state, or to the operator of such vehicle if operating such vehicle with 
permission. 

(3) A suspension for failing to deposit secmity under sub. (1) shall suspend only 
the operator's license and operating privileges thereunder and shall not suspend a person's 
chauffelU"s license or his operating privilege thereunder when operating a vehicle subject 
to the requirements of s. 194.41 or 194.42 or a vehicle owned by or leased to the United 
States, this state or any cOlmty or municipality of this state. 

344,15 Requirements as to policy or bond. (1) No policy or bond is effective under 
s. 3;14.14 unless issued by an insurance company or surety company authorized to do 
business in this state, except as otherwise provided in sub. (2), nor unless such policy or 
bond is subject, if the accident has resulted in bodily injury or death, to a limit, exclu­
sive of interest and costs, of not less than $10,000 because of bodily injury to or death of 
one person in anyone accident and, subject to such limit for one person, to a limit of not 
less than $20,000 because of bo!dily injury to or death of 2 or more persons in anyone 
accident and, if the accident has resulted in injury to or destruction of property, to a 
limit of not less than $5,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in 
anyone accident. 

(2) A policy or bond with respect to a vehicle which was not registered in this state 
oi- was registered elsewhere at the time of the effective date of the policy or bond or the 
most recent renewal thereof may be effective under s. 344.14 even though not issued by an 
insurance company or surety company authorized to do business in this state if the 
following conditions are complied with: 

(a) The policy or bond either meets the liability limits specified in sub. (1) or meets 
the liability limits of the equivalent la.w of the state in which issued and such limits are, 
in the judgment of the commissioner, adequate to cover any damage or injury involved 
in the accident in question. . 

(b) The company which issued the policy or bond executes a power of attorney au­
thorizing the commissioner to accept service on its behalf of notice or process in any ac­
tion upon such policy or bond arising out of such accident. 

(3) Where service of process is made on the commissioner under a power of attorney 
filed in accordance with sub. (2), the commissioner sllall forthwith mail by registered mail 
a copy of the process papers to the company at the address given in the file'd power of 
attorney. In all cases of such service, there shall be served the original, one copy for the 
commissioner's record of service and such additional number of copies as there are de­
fendants so served in the action. The original shall be returned with proper certificate of 
service attached for filing' in court as proof of service of the copies by having mailed them 
by registered· mail to the defendants name therein. The service fee shall be $2 for each 
defendant so served . 

. (4) After receipt of the report of an accident of the type specified in s. 344.12, the 
commissioner shall forward to the insurance company or surety company named therein, 
that portion of the report which pertains to an automobile liability policy or bond. The 
commissioner shall assume that an automobile liability policy or bond as described in this 
section was in effect and applied to both the owner and operator with respect to the acci­
dent unless the insurance company or surety company notifies the commissioner otherwise 
within 30 days from the mailing to the company of that portion of the report pertaining 
to the automobile liability policy or bond. Upon receipt of notice from the company that 
an:automobile liability policy or bond was in effect as to the owner only, the operator only 
or was not in effect as to either of them, the commissioner shall within the remainder of 
the 60-day period specified in s. 344.13 (3) require the owner or operator or both, which~ 
ever is applicable, to deposit security pursuant to this chapter. As respects pernlission to 
operate the vehicle, the company may correct the report only if it files with the commis­
sioner ,vithin the 30-day perio'a specified in this subsection an affidavit signed by the 
owner stating that the operator did not have the owner's permission to operate the vehi­
cle. Where the company's failure to notify the commissioner within 30 days of a correction 
in that portion of the report pertaining to an automobile liability policy or bond is caused 
bY' fraud, the company shall notify the commissioner of the correction within 30 days of 
the time the fraud is discovered. 

(5) Nothing in this chapt€r shall be construed to impose any obligation not otherwise 
assumed by the insurance company or surety company in its automobile liability policy 01' 
bond except that if no correction is made in the report within 30 days after it is mailed to 
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the insurance company 01' sUl'ety company, the company, except in case of fraud, when" 
e,ver such fraud may occur, is estopped from using as a defense to its liability the, in­
sured's failUl'e to give permission to the operator or a violation of the purposes .of use 
specified in the automobile liability policy 01' bond or the use of the vehicle beyond agreed 
geographical limits. 

(6) Until July 1, 1958, the commissioner may accept for filing either the form of 
notice of insurance in use prior to the enactment of ch. 545, laws of 1957 (Form SR-21), 
or the form of notice of insurance specified in ch. 545, laws of 1957. In either event, the 
substantive provisions of ch. 545, la,ws of 1957, shall apply. 

(5) does not require an automobile lia­
bility insurer, in case of accident, to notify 
the state motor vehicle commissioner of an 
exclusion clause contained in its policy, and 
permits the insurer to rely on such exclu­
sion without notifying the commissioner of 
its intention to do so. Bean v. Kovacilr, 10 
W (2d) 646, 103 NW (2d) 899. 

Under (5), providing that. if no correc­
tion is made within a certain time by the 
liability insurer in the accident report 
(here made to the state motor vehicle de­
partment by the insured), the insurer is 

estopped from using as a defense to its 
liability the insured's ,failure to give, per­
mission to the operator of the automobile, 
the estoppel thus created removed only"the' 
element of reliance from equitable estoppel 
and did not make it merely a matter of evi­
dence, and the statute did not create ',an 
estoppel as a matter of law to which the 
rules of pleading estoppel do not apply;' 
Schneck v. Mutual Service Cas. Ins. Co:' 18" 
W (2d) 566, 119 NW (2d) 342. 

SR-21 filings discussed. 1969 WLR552" 

344.16 Requirements as to self-insurers. (1) Any person in whose name ~ore' 
than 25 motor vehicles are registered may qualify as a self-insurer by obtaining a certifi­
cate of self-insurance issued by the commissioner as provided in sub. (2). 

(2) The commissioner may, in his discretion, upon the application of such a person, 
issue a certificate of self-insurance when he is satisfied that such personis possessed ~nd 
will continue to be possesse'd of ability to pay judgments obtained against such person. 

(3) Upon not less than 5 days' notice and a hearing pursuant to such notice, th~ COm7 
missioner may upon reasonable gl'olmds cancel a certificate of self-insurance. Failure to 
pay any judgment within 30 days after such judgment has become final con$titutes ,a rea­
sonable ground for cancellation of a certificate of self-in:mrance. .. " 

344.17 Requirements as to form and amount of security. (1) The security required 
under s. 344.14 shall be in such form and in such amount as the commissioner may require 
but in no case in excess of the limits specified in s. 344.15 (1) with reference to the ac­
ceptable limits of a policy 01' bond. The person depositing security shall specify in writing 
the per50n or persons on whose behalf the deposit is made and, at any, time wJWe such 
deposit is in the custody of the cOlll1l1issioner or state treasurer, the person 'depositing it 
may, in writing, amend the specification of the persons on whose behalf the deposit is made 
to inclUde an additional person or persons, subject to the lilllitation that a single deposit 
of SeCUl'.ity shall be applicable only on behalf of persons required to furnish security be­
cause of the same accident. 

(2) The cOlll1nissioner may reduce the amount of security ordered in any case if, in 
his judgment, from evidence submitted, the amount ordered is excessive or has become 
excessive by filed release on part of the liability or by adjudication reducing the extent 
of the liability. In case the secm'.ity Ol'.iginally ordered had been deposited at the, time 
the reduced amount is ordered, the excess over the reduced amount shall be returned to th~ 
depositor or his personal representative forthwith, notwithstanding, the provisions. ofs. 
344.20. 

(3) In all cases where the commissioner accepts secUl'.ity in the form of a lien on real 
estate, the party owning such real estate shall pI'epare the propel' instrllment to, effect 
such lien, payable to the state and all persons entitled thereto under ch. 344, and shall 
record such instrument in the office of the register of deeds in the colmtywhere the real 
estate is situated. The commissioner may require the party to furnish the commissioner, 
an: abstract of merchantable title showing the lien to be a first lien on the: premises. A 
certified copy of the recorded instrument and abstract, when required, shall be deposited 
by the commissioner with the state treasurer. In all cases where a judgment' has been 
entered against a person involved in a motor vehicle accident and such judgment rema:ins 
unsatisfied 60 da,ys after it has become final, the judg'Illent creditor may for his own use 
and benefit and at his sole expense bring' an action to foreclose such lien in' the name of 
the state for his use and benefit under this section. The costs of such foreclosure may be 
estimated by the commissioner an'd added to the amount required to be posted. 1:n th~ 
foreclosure of such lien, the provisions of ch. 278 on foreclosUl'e of real estate mortgages 
shall apply as far as possible. 

( 4) In all cases where the commissioner accepts security in the fOI'Ill of lien on per" 
sonal property, the party owning such personal property shall prepare the properinstru .. 
ment to effect such lien payable, to ,the state and all persons entitled therE)tounde, ch. 
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344 and shall ille such instrument in the office of the register of deeds in the cOlmty where 
such property is kept. He shall furnish the commissioner a certified copy of the filed in­
strument and, if required by the commissioner, a chattel abstract from the register of 
deeds showing the lien to be a first lien on such property. The certified copy and abstract 
shall be deposited by the commissioner with the state treasurer. In an cases where a 
judgment has been entered against a person involved in a motor vehicle accident and it 
remains unsatisfied 60 days after it has become final, the judgment creditor may, for his 
own use and benefit and at his sole expense, bring an action to foreclose such lien in the 
name of the state for his use and benefit under ch. 344. The costs of such foreclosure shall 
be estimated by the commissioner and added to the amount required to be posted. In fore­
closure of such lien the provisions of s. 241.13 on foreclosure of chattel mortgages shall 
apply as far as possible. 

NOTE: Cllapter 158, laws of 1963, nIne]l(letl (4), effecth'e July 1, 1965, to reatl: 
"(4) III nIl cases lyl1el'e tile conllnissioner nccepts security in tile fOI'In of lien on pel'­

sonal IH'opel'ty, tile llUl'ty o"'ning sue]l llel'sonal !)1'OIJel'ty shall IH'epal'e tIle p1'oller instl'u­
ment to effect sucll lien payable to the state and all IJerSOllS entitletl tl1ereto under 
eh. 344 antI shall file such instrument as prod(le(l in s. 469.401. He shall furnisl1 the e01n­
missioner n certified COllY of tile file(l illstl'uluent and, if l'eqnil.'ed by tIle COllUllissionel', a 
ehattel abstract from tlle filing officer showing' the lien to be a first lien 011 sucll property. 
Tile certified eopy and abstraet sl13ll be deposite(l by the eommissioner with tile state 
treaSul'er. III nIl cases 'l"bCl'C n jUdgIUCllt lU1S been ellteretl against a 11el'SOJl inyolved ill n 
Dl0tor 'vellicle ncci<lellt Ru(l it rCllHtills llllsutisfied 60 days after it bas becollic finnl, the 
jl1dgnlent cl'editol' JURY, for ]lis O"lyn use and l,encfit n]u1 ut Ids sole eXI)cnSe, hI·jng· all ac­
tion to fOl'cclose sucll lien ill tIle Juuue of the state fOl' ]lis use nlu1 benefit under clI. 344. 
Tile costs of suell foreclosure shall be estiIunted by tbe cOIluuissioner R11(1 nd<le(l to the 
amount required to be postetl. III foreclosnre of suell lien tile pro'\'i8iolls of ss. 409.501 to 
400.507 sllull al)ply us far us possible." 

(5) In all cases where the commissioner has accepted security in the form of a lien on 
real estate or personal property the state treasurer shall satisfy such lien of record on 
order of the commissioner to return the security upon the party's compliance with lJh. 
344. The state treasurer shall execute a satisfaction in legal form in the name of the 
state by state treasurer, custodian security "Motor Vehicle Responsibility Act." The 
treasurer shall note on the satisfaction that the commissioner has issued such order, and 
such notation shall be prima facie evidence of such issuance. The treasurer shall record 
or file such satisfaction with the proper register of deeds. 

History: 1963 c. 158. 

344.18 Duration of suspension for failure to deposit security. (1) Any operating 
privilege or registration suspended as provided in s. 344.14 shall remain suspended an'd 
shall not be renewed or reinstated until one of the following requirements has been met: 

(a) The person whose operating privilege or registration was suspended deposits the 
security required under s. 344.14. 

(b) There is filed with the commissioner evidence satisfactory to him that the person 
whose operating privilege or registration was suspende'd has been released from liability 
or has been finally adjudicated not to be liable. The commissioner may accept a release 
executed by a parent on behalf of a minor child only if the release satisfies the require­
ments specified in s. 344.14 (2) (h). 

(c) There is filed with the commissioner evidence satisfactory to him that the person 
whose operating privilege or registration was suspended has executed a warrant for con­
fession of judgment or duly acknowledged written agreement in accordance with s. 344.14 
(2) (h), subject however to the provisions of subs. (2) and (3) of this section. 

(d) Thirteen months have elapsed since the date of the accident and, during such 
period, no notice has been filed with the commissioner by any claimant that an action 
was instituted by a party in interest by actual service of summons and complaint within 
the one-year period following .the elate of the accident or by service of cOlmterclaim or 
cross-complaint within the 20-day answer period. If the action was commenced in a 
comt of record, the notice required by this paragraph shall include a certified copy of the 
summons and complaint or, counterclaim or cross-complaint and proof of service filed 
therein. If the action was commenced before a justice of the peace, the notice required 
by this section shall include a certificate from such justice establishing the fact tha~ the 
action was so commenced. In all cases of service under s. 345.09 (nonresident service), 
an additional notice and service must be made under ch. 344 to avail oneself of the pro­
visions of said chapter. 

(2) If there is any default in the payment of any instalment under any confession·of 
judgment, the commissioner, upon notice of such default given within the terms of the 
instalment agreement 01' in no event later than 30 days after the time for the final instal" 
meni, shall forthwith suspend the operating privilege and reg'istrations of the defaultirig 
person, which suspension shall remain in effect until the entire amount provided for in 
the confession of judgment has been paid. 

(3) If there is any default in the payment of any instalment under a duly acknowl-
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edged written agTeement, the commissioner, upon notice of such default given in no 
event later than 30 days after the time for final instalment, shall forthwith suspend the 
operating' privilege and registrations of the defaulting person, which suspension shall 
remain in effect until one of the following requirements has been met: 

(a) Such person deposits the security required under s. 344.14. 
(b) Thirteen months have elapsed since the date when the secmity was required and, 

dming such period, no notice has been filed with the commissioner by any claimant that an 
action was instituted by a party in interest by actual service of summons and complaint 
within the one-year period following' the date when such security was required 01' by serv­
ice of counterclaim or cross-complaint within the 20-day answer period. The notice re­
quired by this paragraph shall comply ,vith the provisions of sub. (1) (d). 

(4) The commissioner shall not suspend, as required by sub. (2) or (3), if the de­
faulting person has made payments to the extent specified in s. 344.15 (1) with reference 
to the acceptable limits of a policy or bond. 

History: 1961 c. 662. 

344.19 Applicability to nonresidents, unlicensed drivers, unregistered motor vehi" 
cles and accidents in other states. (1) If the operator or the owner of a motor vehicle 
involved in an accident ,vithin this state has no license or registration, whether because he 
is a nonresident or because he is a resident who has failed or neglected to obtain a license 
or registration in this state, he shall not be allowed a license or registration until he has 
complie'd with the requirements of this chapter to the same extent as would be necessary 
if, at the time of the accident, he had held a license and registration in this state. 

(2) If the operating privilege or registration of a nonresident is suspended pursu­
ant to s. 344.14, the commissioner shan transmit a certified copy of the record of such 
action to the motor vehicle commissioner or equivalent official of the state in which that 
person resides if the law of the state in which that person resides provides for similar 
action by the commissioner 01' equivalent official of that state in the event that a resident 
of this state has his nonresident's operating privilege 01' registration in that state sus­
pended 01' revoked for failure to comply with the safety responsibility law of that state. 

(3) Upon receipt of such certification from another state to the effect that the oper­
ltting privilege or registration of a resident of this state has been suspende'd or revoked 
in such other state pursuant to a law providing for its suspension or revocation for failure 
to deposit secmity for payment of judgments arising out of a motor vehicle accident, 
under circumstances which would require the commissioner to suspend a nonresident's 
operating privilege or registration had the accident occurred in this state, the commissioner 
shall suspend the license of such resident if he was the operator and all of his registra­
tions if he was the owner of a motor vehicle involved in such accident. The department 
may accept a certification which is in the form of a combine'd notice of required secUlity 
·and suspension or revocation order, but shan not suspend a resident's operating privilege 
or registration on the basis of such order until at least 30 da,ys have elapsed since the 
time for depositing secmity in the other state expired. A suspension under this section 
shall continue until such resident furnishes evidence of his compliance ,vith the law of the 
other state relating to the deposit of security. 

. 344.20 Oustody, disposition and retul'll of security. (1) Security deposited in 
compliance with this chapter shall be placed by the commissioner in the custody of the 
state treasurer and shall be applied only as provided in this section. When placing 
security in the custody of the state treasurer, the commissioner shall also file with the 
state treasurer a memorandum specifying the respective portions of such deposit required 
because of property damage or personal injuries, including deaths, suffered by 'each 
person who will be entitled to a portion of such deposit in the event of a judgme~t 
against either operator 01' owner for the damages resulting from such accident. 

(2) The state treasurer shall apply the security only to the payment of judgment~ 
and assignments and only as provided in this subsection: 

(a) The security may be applied to the payment of judgments for damages arising' 
out of the accident in question rendered against either operator or owner for the dam­
ages resulting from such accident in an . action at law begun not later than one year 
after the date of the accident or not later than one year after the date of deposit of any 
security under s. 344.18 (2). Any party to such action in favor of whom a judgment 

·was l'endered may move to have the court order the state treasurer to transmit to the 
court for application to the payment of the judgment the money or securities available 

. for such purpose, alid the court may so order. A certified copy of the order shall be 
served upon the state treasurer, which service shall be by mail only. Upon being so 
served, the state treasurer shall transmit to the .ol erk of the court the money or securities 

'itdheamount authorized by pal'. (c) or in the amount specified ill the court order if less. 
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than the amount so authorized. Securities transmitted shall be valued at the same amount 
as when received from the department. The state treasurer shall have no further responsI­
bility for the amount of the deposit so transmitted and the court shall determine and 
direct the application thereof. Any excess shall be returned by the court to the state 
treasurer to be held by him subject to the provisions of this chapter. 

(b) Subject to the restrictions imposed by par. (c), the security may be appiied to 
the payment of a duly aclmowledged assignment by the person who made the deposit, 
provided the assignment is accompanied by releases signed by all parties in interest and 
releasing the assignor from all liability to such parties on account of damages arising 
out of the accident in question. , 

(c ) No amount in excess of the portion designated in the connnissioner's filed security 
memorandum as having been deposited on account of damages suffered by the assignee 
or judgment creditor or person representing either of them shall be paid out on behalf 
of such person unless the depositor has been released from liability by all other parties 
in interest. In the latter event, the deposit may be applied to the payment of the judg­
ment or assignment in question without regard to the designations in the security memo­
randum. 

(3) The deposit of security or any balance thereof shall be returned to the depositor 
or his personal representative when evidence satisfactory to the commissioner has been 
filed with him that one of the contingencies specified in s. 344.18 (1) (b), (0) or (d) or 
(3) (b) has occurred. 

History: 1961 c. 662. 

344.21 Matters not to be evidence in civil suits. Neither the report required ,fol­
lowing an accident, the action taken by the commissioner pursuant to this chapter, the 
findings, if any, upon which such action is based nor the security filed as provIded in this 
chapter shall be referred to in any way or be any evidence of the negligence 01' due care 
of either pru:ty at the trial of any action at law to recover drunages, but this shall not be 
construed to exclude a notice of insurance filed pursuant to s. 344.15 (4) from being 
admissible in evidence where it would otherwise be material and admissible under the rules 
of evidence. 

344.22 Short title. Sections 344.12 to 344.22 and the general provisions appli­
cable thereto may be cited as the safety responsibility law. 

PROOF OF FINANOIAL RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE FUTURE. 

344.24 Applicability of sections relating to proof of financial responsibility for the 
future. Sections 344.29 to $44.41 are applicable in all cases in which a person is re" 
quired to deposit proof of financial responsibility for the future, including those cases 
in which a person is required to deposit proof of financial responsibility for the future 
under ss. 344.25 to 344.27 and those cases in which the deposit of proof of financial re­
sponsibility for the future is a condition precedent to reinstatement of an operating privi~ 
lege revoked pursuant to ch. 343. 

344.25 Revocation of license and registration for nonpayment of judgment; excep­
tions. , Upon the receipt, pursuant to s. 344.05, of a certified copy of a judgmeI].t for 
damages in excess of $100 arising out of a motor vehicle accident, the commissioner 
shall forth,vith revoke the operating privilege and all registrations of the person against 
whom such judgment was rendered, subject to the following exceptions: 

,(I) If the judgment arose out of an accident caused by the ownership oroperation, 
with permission, of a vehicle owned by or leased to the United States, this state '01; any 
county or municipality of this state or a vehicle subject to the requirements of ss.40:57, 
194.41 01' 194.42, the commissioner shall not revoke such license or registration." " ' 

(2) If the judgment cre'ditor consents in writing in such form as the commissi~ner 
may prescribe that the judgment debtor be allowed .to retain or reinstate his operating 
privilege and registrations, the srune may he allowed by the commissioner, in his discretion, 
for 6 months from the date of such consent and thereafter until such consent is I'evoked 
in writing, notwithstanding default in the payment of such judgment or of any instru~ 
ments thereof as prescribed in s. 344.27, provided the judgment debtor furnishes pI;oofof 
financial responsibility for the future and maintains such proof at all times when' such 
license an'd registrations are in effect during a period of 3 years following the entry of the 
judgment. ' " 
, (3) The commissioner shall not revoke such license or registrations if the judgmen,'t 
debtor obtains a court order for instalment payments and fU1'llishes proof of ,financi,al 
responsibility as provided in s. 344.27. , 

(4) The commissioner shall not revoke the chauff\)~r'~ license of, a debtor, his oplilr-
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ating privilege thereunder or his registration with respect thereto when the debtor is 
operating a vehicle subject to the requirements of s. 194.41 or 194.42 or a vehicle owned 
by or leased to the United States, this state or any county or municipality of this state. 

(5) When the commissioner receives certification of the entry of a damage judgment 
in accordance with s. 344.05 against a resident of this state which has been entered by a 
com-t in another jurisdiction, he shall give notice to such person that he has received 
such certification of judgment. If satisfaction of such judgment is not made and copy 
of such satisfaction filed with the commission,er within 30 days from the date such notice 
was given, the commissioner shall revoke the license and registrations of such judgment 
debtor. 

'History: 1961 c. 662. 

344.26 Revocation to continue until judgment paid and proof of financial responsi­
bility given. (1) Subject to the exceptions stated in ss. 344.25 (2) and 344.27 (2), 
any operating privilege or registration revoked pursuant to s. 344.25 shall remain ,revoked 
until every judgment mentioned in s. 344.25 is stayed, satisfied or discharged and, unless 
3 years have elapsed since the date of entry of the judgment which was the cause for 
revoca,tion, until the person whose operating privilege an'el registration was revoked fur­
nishes proof of financial responsibility for the future and maintains such proof at all 
times during such 3-year period ,when the operating privilege or registration is in effect. 

(2) A discharge in bankruptcy following the rendeling of any such judgment does 
not relieve the judgment debtor from any of the requirements of this section. 

(3) Judgments in excess of the amounts specified in s. 344.01 (2) (d) shall, for the 
purpose of this section only, be deemed satisfied when payments in the amounts so speci­
fied have been credited thereon. Payments made in settlement of any claims because of 
bodily injury, death or propel-ty damage ruising from a motor vehicle accident shall be 
credited in reduction of the respective amounts so specified. 

'344.27 Instalment payment of judgments; revocation upon default. (1) A judg­
ment debtor upon due notice to the judgment creditor may a,pply to the court in which 
suchju'elgment was rendered for the privilege of paying such judgment in instalments and 
the court, in its discretion and without prejudice to any other legal remedies which the 
judgment creditor may have, may so order and fix the amounts and times of payment of 
the instalments. 

(2) The commissioner shall not revoke the operating privilege or registration and 
shall restore any operating privilege or registration revoked following nonpayment of a 
judgment when the judgment debtor obtains such order permitting the payment of the 
judgment in instalments and, unless 3 years have elapsed since the entry of judgment, 
fUl'llishes an'd maintains proof of financial responsibility for the future. 

(3)11: the judgment debtor fails to pay any instalment as specified by such order, the 
commissioner, upon notice of such default, shall forthwith revoke the operating privilege 
and registrations of the judgment debtor lmtil such judgment is satisfied as provided in s. 
344.26. 

344.29 Proof, of financial responsibility required for each registered vehicle. Proof 
of flnancial responsibility for the future shall be furnished for each motor vehicle regis­
tered by any person required to give such proof. 

344.30 Alternate methods of giving proof of financial responsibility. Whenever the 
owner or operator of a motor vehicle is required under chs. 343 or 344 to give proof of 
finimcial responsibility for the future, such proof may be given by filing: 

, ' (1) 'A certificate of insurance as provided in s. 344.31 or 344.32; or 
(2) Abon'd as provided in s. 344.36; or 
(3) A certificate of deposit of money or securities as provided in s. 344.37; or 

, , (4) A certificate of self-insurance as provided in s. 344.16, supplemented by an agree­
ment by the self-insurer that, with respect to accidents occurring while the certificate is 
in force, he will pay the same amounts that an insurer would have been obligated to pay 
under an owner's motor vehicle liability policy if it had issued such a policy to such self-
insurer. . 

344.31 Certificate of insurance as proof. (1) Proof of financial responsibility for 
the future may he furnished by filing with the commissioner the written certificate of any 
insurance carrier duly authorized to do business in this state certifying that there is in 
effect a motor vehicle liability policy for the henefit of the person required to furnish 
proof' of financial responsibility. Such cel-tificate shall give the effective date of such 
motor vehicle liability policy, ,,'hich date shall he the same as the effective 'date of the 
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certificate and shall designate by explicit description or by appropriate reference all 
motor vehicles covered thereby, unless the policy is issued to a person who is not the 
owner of a motor vehicle. 

(2) No motor vehicle shall be or continue to he l'egistered in the name of any person 
required to file proof of financial responsibility unless such motor vehicle is so designated 
in such a certificate. 

344.32 Oertificate furnished by nonresidents as proof. (1) The nonresident owner 
of a motor vehicle not registered in this state may give proof of financial responsibility 
by filing with the commissioner a written certificate of an insurance carrier authorized to 
transact business in the state in which the motor vehicle described in such certificate is 
registered or, if such nonresident does not own a motor vehicle, then in the state in which 
the insured resides, provided such certificate otherwise conforms to the provisions of this 
chapter. The commissioner shall accept the certificate only upon condition that such in­
surance carrier complies with the following provisions with respect to the policies so 
certifie'd : 

(a) Such insurance carrier shall execute a power of attorney authorizing the com-· 
missioner to accept service on its behalf of notice or process in any action arising out of 
a motor vehicle accident in this state. 

(b) Such insurance carTier shall ag'l'ee in writing that such policies shall be deemed 
to conform with the laws of this state relating to the terms of motor vehicle liability 
policies issued herein. 

(2) If any insurance ca,rrier not authorized to transact business in this state, which 
has qualified to furnish proof of financial responsibility, defaults in any such undertak­
ings' 01' agreements, the commissioner shall not thereafter accept as proof any certificlj,te 
of·such carrier whether thf!retofore filed <;>1' t·hereafter tendered as proof, so long as such 
default continues. 

344.33 "Motor vehicle liability policy" defined. (1) CERTIFICATION. A "motor 
vehiCle liability policy" as that term is used in this chapter means an owner's policy or 
an operator's policy of liability insurance, certified as provided in s. 344.31 or 344.32 as 
proof of financial responsibility for the future, and issued, except as otherwise provided 
in s. 344.32, by an insurance carrier duly authOlized to transact business in this state to 
or for the benefit of the person named therein as insured. 

(2) OWNER'S POLIOY. An owner's policy of liability instlrance: 
(a) ShaH designate by explicit description or by appropriate reference all motor ve­

hicles with respect to which coverage is thereby to be granted; and 
(b) The policy shall apply for a period of 30 days but in no event beyond the end 

of the policy period, to a newly acquired automobile which replaces an automobile· de­
scribed in such policy; but this paragmph shall not operate to limit coverage for a re­
placement automobile to a period of 30 days if the policy provides coverage for a replace­
ment automobile for a longer period of time; and 

(c) Shall insure the person named therein and any other person, as insurec1, using any 
such motor vehicle or motor vehicles with the express or implied permission of such named 
ins.ured, against loss· from the liability imposed by law for damages arising out of the 
ownership, maintenance 01' use of such motor vehicle or motor vehicles within the United 
States of America or the Dominion of Canada, subject to limits exclusive of interest and 
costs, with respect to each such motor vehicle, as follows: $10,000 because of bodily injury 
to or death of one person in anyone accident and, subject to such limit for one person, 
$20,000 because of bodily injury to or death of 2 or more persons in anyone accident, 
and $5,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in anyone accident. 

(3) OPERATOR'S POLIOY. An operator's policy of liability insurance shaH insure the 
person named as insured therein against loss from the liability imposed upon him by law 
for damages arising out of the use by him of any motor vehicle not owned by him, 
within the same territorial limits and subject to the same limits of liability as are set forth 
in sub. (2) with respect to an owner's policy of liability insurance. 

(4) REQUIRED STATEMENTS IN POLIOY. Such motor vehicle liability policy shall state. 
the name and address of the named insured, the coverage afforded by the policy, the 
premium charged therefor, the policy period and the limits of liability, and shall contain 
I!tll agreement or be endorsed that insurance is provided thereunder in accordance with the 
coverage defined in this chapter with respect to bodily injury and death or property 
damage, or both, and is subject to all the provisions of this chapter. 

(5) CERTAIN TYPES OF COVERAGE EXCLUDED. Such motor vehicle liability policy shall 
not insure any liability under any workmen's compensation law as provided in ch. 102 
nor any liability on account of bodily injury to or death of any employe of the insured 
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while engaged in the employment; other than domes tie, of the insured, or while engaged in 
the operation, maintenance or repair of any such motor vehicle or any liability for dam­
age to property owned by, rented to, in charge of or transported by the insured. 

(6) PROVISIONS INCORPORATED IN POLICY BY LAWS. Every motor vehicle liability 
policy shall be subject to the following provisions which need not be contained therein: 

(a) The policy may not be canceled or annulled as to such liability by any agreement 
between the insurance caITier and the insured after the occurrence of any injury or dam­
age covered by such motor vehicle liability policy. 

(b) The satisfaction by the insured of a judgment for such injury or damage shall 
not be a condition precedent to the right or duty of the insurance carrier to make payment 
on account of such injury or damage. 

(c) The insurance carrier shall have the right to settle any claim covered by the policy, 
and if such settlement is made in good faith, the amount thereof shall be deductible from 
the limits of liability specified in sub. (2) (b). 

(d) The policy, the written application therefor, if any, and any rider or endorse­
ment which does not conflict with the provisions of this chapter constitutes the entire 
contract between the parties. 

(7) EXCESS OR ADDITIONAL COVERAGE. Any policy which grants the coverage required 
for a motor vehicle liability policy may also grant any lawful coverage in excess of or in 
addition to the coverage specified for a motor vehicle liability policy and such excess or 
additional coverage is not subject to the provisions of this chapter. With respect to a 
policy which grants such excess or additional coverage the term "motor vehicle liability 
policy" applies only to that part of the coverage which is required by this section. 

(8) REIMBURSEMENT PROVISION PERMITTED. Any motor vehicle liability policy may 
provide that the insured shall reimburse the insurance carrier for any payment the in­
surance CaITIer would not have been obligated to make under the terms of the policy except 
for the provisions of this section. 

(9) PRORATION OF INSURANCE PERMITTED. Any motor vehicle liability policy may 
provide for the prorating of the insurance thereunder with other valid and collectible 
insurance. 

(10) MULTIPLE POLICIES. The requirements for a motor vehicle liability poliey may 
be fulfilled by the policies of one or more insurance CalTIerS which polieies together meet 
such requirements. 

(11) BINDERS. Any binder issued pending the issuance of a motor vehicle liability 
policy shall be deemed to fulfill the requirements for such a policy. 

HistOl'Y: 1963 c. 410. 

344.34 Notice of cancellation or termination of certified policy. When an insur­
ance carrier has certified a motor vehicle liability policy under s. 344.31 or a policy under 
s. 344.32, the insurance so certified shall not be canceled or terminated until at least 10 
days after a notice of cancellation or termination of the insurance so certified has been 
filed in the office of the commissioner, except that such a policy subsequently procured 
and certifieel shall, on the effective date of its certification, terminate the insurance previ­
ously certified with respect to any motor vehicle designated in both certificates. 

344.35 This cha.pter not to affect other policies. (1) This chapter does not apply 
to or affect policies of automobile insurance against liability which may now or hereafteT 
be required by any other law of this state. If such policies contain an agTeement or arE' 
endorsed to conform to the requirements of this chapter, they may be certified as proof 
of financial responsibility under this chapter. 

(2) This chapter does not apply to or affect policies insuring solely the insured named 
in the policy against liability resulting from the maintenance or use by persons in the 
insured's employ or on his behalf of motor vehicles not owneel by the insured. 

344.36 Bond a.s proof. (1) Proof of financial responsibility may be evidenced by 
the bonel of a surety company duly authorized to transact business within this state or a 
bond with at least 2 individual sureties each owning real estate within this state and to­
gether having equities equal in value to at least twice the am01mt of the bond, which real 
estate shall be scheduled in the bonel approved by a judge of a court of record. Such bonel 
shall be conditioned for the payment of the am01mts specifieel in s. 344.01 (2) (d). The 
band shall be filed with the commissioner and shall not be cancellable except. after 10 days' 
written notice to the commissioner. 

(2) The bond constitutes a lien in favOl' of the state upon any surety's real estate 
which is scheduled in the bonel and which is not exempt by law from execution. Such lien 
is effective as of the time when the commissioner records the bond in the office of the 
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register of deeds of the cOlmty wherein Sllch real estate is located, as provided ins. 
235.45. Such lien exists in favor of any holder of a final judgment against the person 
who filed such bond, for damages resulting from the ownership, maintenance, use or oper­
ation of a motor vehicle after such bond was recorded, including damages for care and for 
loss of services because of bodily injury to or death of any person and damages because 
of injury to or destruction of property and the consequent loss of use thereof. 

(3) If the judgment rendered against the principal on the bond is not satisfied within 
60 days after it has become final, the judgment creditor may, for his own use and benefit 
and at his sole expense, bring an action in the name of the state against the company or 
persons executing the bond, including an action or proceeding to foreclose any lien that 
may exist upon the real estate of a person who has executed such bond. In the foreclosure· 
of such lien, ch. 278 on the foreclosure of real estate mortgages shall apply as far as 
possible. 

344.37 Money or securities as proof. (1) Proof of financial responsibility for the 
future may be evidenced by the certificate of the state treasurer that the person named 
therein has deposited with him $25,000 in cash, or in securities such as may legally be 
purchased by savings banks or for trust funds of a market value of $25,000. The state 
treaSlU'er shall not accept any such deposit and issue a certificate therefor and the com­
missioner shall not accept such certificate unless accompanied by evidence that there are no 
unsatisfied judgments of any character against the depositor in the county where the 
depositor resides. 

(2) Deposits made under this section shall be held by the state treasurer to satisfy, 
in accordance with this chapter, any execution on a judgment issued against the person 
making the deposit, for damages resulting from the ownership, maintenance, use 01' opera­
tion of a motor vehicle after such deposit was made, including damages for care and for 
loss of services hecause of bodily injury to. or death of any person and damages because 
of injury to or destruction of property and the consequent loss of use thereof. Money 
or securities so deposited llJ.'e not subject to attachment 01' execution lIDless such attach­
ment or execution llJ.oises out of a suit for damag'es as set forth in this section. 

344.38 Owner may give proof for others. Whenever any person required to give 
proof of financial responsibility for the future under this chapter is or later becomes an 
operator in the employ of any owner, or is or later becomes a member of the immediate 
family or household of the owner, the commissioner shall accept proof given by such 
owner in lieu of proof by such other person. When proof has been given as provided in 
this section, the person on whose behalf such owner gave proof may be gTanted a license, 
hut only to operate those vehicles for which proof was so given. The department shall 
note such restriction on the person's license, including a designation of each vehicle for 
which proof was given. 

344.39 Substitution of proof. The commissioner shall consent to the cancellation 
of any bond or certificate of inslU'ance 01' the commissioner shall direct and the state 
treasurer sholl retlU'n any money or securities to the person entitled thereto upon the sub­
stitution and acceptance of other adequate proof of financial responsibility pursuant to 
this chapter. 

344.40 Suspension for failure to maintain proof; other proof may be required. (1) 
Whenever any person who has furnished proof of financial responsibility fails to maintain 
such proof at any time during the period when proof of financial responsibility is required, . 
the connnissioner shall revoke such person's operating privilege and registration for a 
period of time running from the date of revocation until such time as either satisfactory 
proof of financial responsibility is again furnished or the period during which proof was 
required to be furnished has expired. 

'(2) Whenever any proof of financial responsibility filed under this chapter no longer 
fulfills the purposes for which required, the commissioner shall require other proof meet­
ing the requirements of this chapter and shall suspend the operating privilege and regis­
tration pending the filing of such other proof. 

344.41 Duration of proof; when proof may be canceled or returned. (1) Subject 
to the exceptions I!!et forth in sub. (2), the commissioner shall, upon request, consent to . 
the immediate cancellation of any bond or certificate of insurance, shall direct· the state 
treasurer to return to the person entitled thereto any money or securities deposited pur­
suant to this chapter as proof of financial responsibility (with which directive the state 
treasurer sball comply) and shall waive any requirement of the filing of proof of financial 
responsibility whenever any of the following events has occurred: 

(a) The period dUloing which proof of financial responsibility is required has expired i 
or 
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.. (b) The person on whose behalf such proof was filed has died 01' has become perma­
nently incapacitated to operate a motor vehicle; or 

(c) The person who has given proof sUl'renders his license and registration to the 
commissioner. 

(d) If a person required to fUl'llish proof of financial responsibility has more than 
one motor vehicle registered in his name and does not intend to use all of the vehicles he 
has registered, he may surrender the valid registration plates for the vehicle or vehicles 
not being used and continue his filing of proof of financial responsibility only on the 
vehicle on which registration plates are retained by him. 

(2) The commissioner shall not consent to the cancellation of any bond or the refUl'll 
of any lllOney or secUl'ities if any action for damages upon a liability covered by such 
proof is then pending' or any judgment upon any such liability is then unsatisfied, 01' if 
the person who filed the bond or deposited the money or securities has, within one year 
immediately preceding the request for cancellation of the bond or retul'll of the money or 
securities, been involved as an operator or owner in any motor vehicle accident resulting 
in injUl'y or damage to the person or property of others. An affidavit of the applicant as 
to the nonexistence of such facts, or that he has been released from all of his liability, or 
has been finally adjudicated not to be liable for such injUl'y or damages is sufficient evidence 
thereof in the absence of evidence to the contrary in the records of the commissioner. 

(3) Whenever any person whose proof has been canceled or retul'lled under sub. (1) 
(c) desires reinstatement of his license or registration prior to the expiration of the 
period during which proof of financial responsibility is required, he shall again fUl'nish 
proof of financial responsibility. Thereupon his license is automatically reinstated as 
provided in s. 343.39 and the department shall retUl'n his registration plates, if not ex­
pired. 

History; 1961 C. 662. 

PENALTIES FOR VIOLATIONS OF CHAPTER. 

344.45 Surrender of license, and registration upon suspension .. (1) Whenever a 
person's operating privilege or registration is revoked or suspended pursuant to this 
chapter, the commissioner shall also order such person to surrender to the department his 
license and the registration plates and certificates of registration of the vehicles for which 
registration was revoked or suspended. If such person fails forthwith to retUl'll such 
license, registration plates 01' certificates of registration to the department, the commis­
sioner shan direct a traffic officer to take possession thereof and retul'll them to the de­
partment. 

(2) Any person who intentionally fails or refuses to retul'll a license, registration 
plate or certificate of registration as required by this section may be fined not more than 
$100 or imprisoned not more than 6 months or both. 

344.46 Transfer of vehicle ownership to defeat purpose of chapter. (1) No owner 
of a motor vehicle involved in an accident in this state which is reportable under s. 346.70 
shall transfer the ownership or registration of such vehicle lmtil this chapter has been 
cQmplied with or until the commissioner is satisfied that such transfer is proposed in good 
faith and not for the purpose or with the effect of defeating the purposes of this chapter; 

. (2) Any person violating this section may be fined not more than $200 or imprisoned 
not more than 6 months or both. 

(3) This section does not apply to or affect the registration of any vehicle sold by a 
person who, pursuant to the terms or conditions of any written instrument giving a light 
of repossession, has exercised such light and has repossessed such vehicle from a person 
whose registration has been suspended pursuant to this chapter. 

344.47 Operating vehicle after suspension or revocation. (1) No person whose 
registration has been revoked or suspended pursuant to this chapter shall, during such 
revocation 01' suspension, operate or knowingly permit the operation of any motor vehicle 
owned by him, except as pelwtted under this chapter. 

(2) Any person violating this section may be fined not less than $50 nor more than 
$200 or imprisoned not more than 6 months or hoth. 

344.48 Forged proof. (1 ) No person shall: 
(a) Forge or, without authority, sign any notice provided for in s. 344.15 (4) to, the 

effect that. a policy or bond is in effect or, knowing 01' having reason to believe that such 
notice has heen forged or signed without authOlity, file 01' offer such notice for filing; or 

(b) Forge or, without authority, sign any evidence of proof of financial responsibility 
or, knowing or having reason to believe that such evidence has been forged or signed with­
out authority, file or offer such evidence for filing. 
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(c) Sign 01' file the affidavit mentioned in s. 344.15 (4), knowing that it contains a 
false statement. 

(2) Any person violating this section may he fined not more than $1,000 01' imprisoned 
not more than one year or both. 

FINANOIAL RESPONSIBILITY FOR RENTED VEHICLES. 

344.51 Financial responsibility for domestic rent-a-cars. (1) No person shall for 
compensation rent any motor vehicle to be operated by or with the 'consent of the person 
renting such vehicle unless there is filed with the department a good and sufficient bond 
01' policy of insurance or certificate issued by a company or exchange organized under the 
laws of this state or duly authorized to transact business in this state. Such bond, policy, 
or certificate shall proVIde that the company 01' exchange which issued it will be liable for 
damages caused by the negligent operation of such motor vehicle in the amounts set forth 
in s. 344.01 (2) (d). 

(2) Any person failing to comply with this section is directly liable for all damages 
caused by the negligence of the person operating such rented vehicle to the extent that 
such liability could have been established if this section had been complied with. 

(3) Any person violating this section may be fined not more than $200 or imprisoned 
not more than 6 months or both. 

(4) In this section, "motor vehicle" means a self-propelled vehicle. 

344.52 Financial responsibility for foreign rent-a-cars. (1) Whenever any motor 
vehicle rented for compensation outside this state is operated in this state, the lessor of 
such motor vehicle is directly liable for all damages to persons or property caused by the 
negligent operation of such rented vehicle unless, at the time when such damage 01' injury 
occurs, the operation of the vehicle is effectively covered by a policy of insurance which 
provides coverage at least in the amounts specified in s. 344.01 (2) (d) for property dam­
age, personal injury or death suffered by any person on account of the negligent opera­
tion of such vehicle. The amolUlt of liability imposed upon the lessor by this section in 
the absence of insurance coverage shall not exceed the limits set forth in s. 344.01 (2) (d) 
with respect to the acceptable limits of liability when furnishing proof of financial respon­
sibility. The fact that the rented vehicle is operated in this state contrary to any under­
standing or agreement with the lessor is not a defense to any liability imposed by this 
section .. 

(2) If a motor vehicle rented for compensation outside this state is operated in this 
state, the lessor of such vehicle is deemed to have irrevocably appointed the commissioner 
as his agent or attorney upon whom legal process may be served in any action or pro­
ceeding against such lessor or his executor, administrator, personal representative, suc­
cessors or assigns, growing out of the operation of such rented motor vehicle in this state. 
Such appointment is binding upon the lessor's executor, administrator, personal repre­
sentative, successors or assigns. The operation of such rented motor vehicle in this state is 
a signification of the lessor's agreement that such legal process or notice may be served 
upon .him 01' his executor, administrator, personal representative, successors 01' assigns 
and that process or notice so served has the same leg-al force as if personally served upon 
him or them in this state. Service of such process or notice shall be made as provided in 
s. 345.09. This section does not affect the rig-ht to serve process or notice on the non­
resident operator of the rented motor vehicle as provided in s. 345.09. 

(31 In this section, "motor xehicle" means a self-propelled vehicle. 




