3.01 CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS

CHAPTER 3.

64

CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS.

3.01	Ten congressional	districts.	3.08	Seventh district.
3.02	First district.		3.09	Eighth district.
3.03	Second district.		3.10	Ninth district.
3.04	Third district.		3.11	Tenth district.
3.05	Fourth district		3.12	Milwaukee wards.
3.06	Fifth district,		3.13	Menominee County.
3.07	Sixth district			

- 3.01 Ten congressional districts. Until otherwise provided by law, the state is divided into 10 congressional districts, each of which shall be entitled to elect one representative in the congress of the United States as follows:
- 3.02 First district. The counties of Green, Kenosha, Racine, Rock and Walworth constitute the first district.
- 3.03 Second district. The counties of Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Jefferson and Waukesha constitute the second district.
- 3.04 Third district. The counties of Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Juneau, La Crosse, Lafayette, Monroe, Richland, Sauk and Vernon constitute the third district.
- 3.05 Fourth district. The eighth, eleventh, twelfth, fourteenth, seventeenth and nineteenth wards of the city of Milwaukee and that part of the third, fourth, tenth and sixteenth wards of the city of Milwaukee in the fourth congressional district; the cities of Cudahy, Franklin, Greenfield, Oak Creek, St. Francis, South Milwaukee, Wauwatosa and West Allis; and the villages of Greendale, Hales Corners and West Milwaukee, all in Milwaukee county, constitute the fourth district.
- 3.06 Fifth district. The first, second, fifth, sixth, seventh, ninth, thirteenth, fifteenth, eighteenth and twentieth wards of the city of Milwaukee and that part of the third, fourth, tenth and sixteenth wards of the city of Milwaukee in the fifth congressional district; the city of Glendale and the villages of Bayside, Brown Deer, Fox Point, River Hills, Shorewood and Whitefish Bay, all in Milwaukee county, constitute the fifth district.
- 3.07 Sixth district. The counties of Calumet, Fond du Lac, Ozaukee, Sheboygan, Washington and Winnebago constitute the sixth district.
- 3.08 Seventh district. The counties of Adams, Green Lake, Langlade, Marathon, Marquette, Portage, Shawano, Waupaca, Waushara and Wood constitute the seventh district.
- 3.09 Eighth district. The counties of Brown, Door, Florence, Forest, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Marinette, Oconto and Outagamie constitute the eighth district.
- 3.10 Ninth district. The counties of Barron, Buffalo, Chippewa, Clark, Dunn, Eau Claire, Jackson, Pepin, Pierce, St. Croix and Trempealeau constitute the ninth district.
- 3.11 Tenth district. The counties of Ashland, Bayfield, Burnett, Douglas, Iron, Lincoln, Oneida, Polk, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, Taylor, Vilas and Washburn constitute the tenth district.
- 3.12 Milwaukee wards. The wards of the city of Milwaukee referred to in ss. 3.05 and 3.06 shall be construed to be the wards of said city as created by the ordinance of the common council of the city of Milwaukee effective May 12, 1954.
- 3.13 Menominee County. For purposes of electing a representative to congress, Menominee county shall, until there is a reapportionment, remain a part of the several districts to which it belonged prior to the effective date (1959) of this section: townships 28, 29 and 30 north, range 16 east, presently a part of Oconto county, shall remain in the eighth congressional district; and townships 28, 29 and 30 north, range 15 east, townships 29 and 30 north, range 14 east and townships 29 and 30 north, range 13 east, presently a part of Shawano county, shall remain in the seventh congressional district.

Note: This section takes effect upon approval by the Secretary of Interior. See ch. 259, sec. 42, laws of 1959.