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152.01 Board. (1) The state board of dental examiners shall consist of 5 licensed, 
resident practicing dentists, appointed by the governor, one eac.h year for terms of 5 years, 
and who may be selected from nominees of the Wisconsin state dental society. No person 
shan be a member who is in any way connected with or interested in a dental school or 
dental department thereof. Each member shall take and file the official oath. Each mem­
ber of the board shall be paid $20 per day and travel expenses incurred when actually 
and necessarily engaged in his duties. The secreta.ry of the board shall he paid an annual 
salary to be fixed by the board. 

(2) A meeting shall be held in June or July each year at a place fixed by the board, 
for examinations and other business. Other meetings may be called by the board. 

(3) The board shall elect a president, and a secretary-treasurer, in manner and for 
terms provided by by-law. The secretary shall give such bond as the board requires. His 
records shall be open to public inspection at reasonable hours. 

(4) The board shall report to the governor, November thirtieth each year, its proceed­
ings, including an account of moneys received and disbursed. 

(5) The board shall have a seal and may hold hearings and may require the attend­
ance of persons and the production of papers and may take testimony and hire investi­
gators. The president and secretary may issue subpmnas and administer oaths. The 
board may payout of its own funds witness fees and such other expenses as may be nec­
essary or incidental to the carrying out of its functions. 

(6) The attorney-general shall advise and assist the board or any member, but the 
board may employ with its own funds an attorney for consultation or to assist in legal 
proceedings. 

(7) The board shall make such reasonable rules, bylaws and regulations as it may 
deem necessary for the proper and better guidance, government, discipline and regulations 
of the board and of licensed dentists and dental hygienists or persons acting as such per­
taining to immoral or unprofessional conduct and unprofessional advertising as herein­
after defined in s. 152.06 (5) and (6). 

152.02 Practice. (1) One who was engaged in the lawful practice of dentistry 
in this state on January 1, 1939, may continue if he has annually registered. No other 
person shall practice dentistry in this state, unless he is licensed and annually registered 
in the state of Wisconsin. Any person shall be said to be practicing' dentistry within the 
meaning of this chapter who uses or permits to be used, directly or indirectly, for a profit 
or otherwise for himself or for any other person, the title "doctor", "Dr.", "Doctor of 
Dental Surgery", 01' "D. D. S.", or any other letters, titles, terms or descriptive matter 
personal or not, which directly or indirectly represent him to be engaged in the practic~ 
of dentistry; or who owns, leases, maintains, operates 01' controls, directly or indirectly, 
in whole or in part, an office 01' any other place where dental operations are performed 
01' who directly 01' indirectly is manager, proprietor 01' conductor of the same, except that 
the owners or lessees of real estate may lease the premises, or any part thereof, to dentists 
01' dental surgeons or physicians who are qualified to practice dentistry or dental surgery, 
within the meaning of this chapter; or who informs the public directly or indirectly in any 
language, orally, in writing 01' printing, 01' by drawing'S, demonstrations, signs or pic­
tures, that he can perform or will attempt to perform dental operations of any kind, or 
who undertakes to practice dentistry by any means or methods, as defined in this chapter, 
gratuitously, 01' f01' a salary, fee, money or other reward paid directly 01' indirectly to 
LimBelf 01' to any other person; to diag'11ose 01' profess to diagnose or treat or profess to 
treat 01' prescl'ibe or profess to prescribe for any of the lesions, diseases, disorders 01' 

deficiencies of the human oral cavity, teeth, investing' tissnes, maxilla. 01' mandible, or ad­
jacent associated structures; 01' who extracts human teeth, corrects malposition thereof; 
or who, except on written prescription of a licensed dentist, and by use of impressions 
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taken by a duly licensed and practicing dentist, shall directly or indirectly hy mail, cal'­
riel', person or any other method furnish, supply, construct, reproduce or repair pros­
thetic dentures, bridges, appliances or other structures to be used or worn as substitutes 
for natural human teeth; or who shall place such substitutes in the mouth directly or 
indirectly or adjust the same; or who shall take or make or give advice or assistance or 
provide facilities for the taking or making of any impression, bite, cast or design pre­
paratory to, or for the purpose of, or with a view to the maldng, producing, reproducing, 
constructing, fitting, furnishing, supplying, altering or repairing of any such prosthetic 
denture, bridge 01' appliance; 01' who shall administer anesthetics, either general or local, 
within the meaning of this chapter; or who engages in any of the practices included in 
the curricula of recognized dental schools or colleges. Except, that a physician or surgeoll 
licensed in this state may extract teeth 01' operate upon the palate or maxillary bones and 
investing tissues and administer anesthetics, either general or local, within the meaning 
of this chapter; and that a bona fide student, in regulaJ.· attendance at a dental school 01' 

college may practice under direct supervision of a teacher in such dental school or col­
lege 01' infirmal'Y or clinic connected with such dental school or college. A legal prac­
titioner of another state may demonstrate before a recognized incorporated dental society 
01' school of instruction. Army, navy and United States pUblic health and veterans' 
bureau dentists may practice only while operating under the jurisdiction of such depart­
ments, unless they are duly licensed in this state. A dentallaboratol'Y or dental laborat01'Y 
technician may construct appliances 01> restorations for licensed dentists in a dental 
office or mechanical dental laboratory, only provided such appliances or restorations are 
constructed for a licensed dentist upon receipt of impressions or measurements supplied 
with directions and prescription from such licensed dentist, provided, that such appliances 
01' restorations or the services rendered in the construction, repair or alterations thereof 
shall not he advertised, sold or delivered, directly or indirectly, to the public by the dental 
laboratory or dental laboratory technician as principal or agent. 

(2) It shall be unlawful for any person or persons to practice 01' offer to practice den­
tish'Y or dental surgery, under the name of a company, association, or corporation and any 
person or persons practicing or offering to practice dentistl'Y or dental surgery shall do so 
under his name only; any person convicted of a violation of the provisions of this section 
shall be punished as provided in subsection (2) of section 152.08, and in addition t.hereto his 
license may be revoked as provided in paragraph (c) of subsection (3) of section 152.06. 

(3) No person shall circulate, or advertise fr~udulent or misle~d.ing statements as to 
the skill of the operator, the quahty of the materIals, drugs or meclicmes used or methods 
practiced. 

(4) Nothing' in this chapt~r shall prevent the establishment of dental clinics by boards 
of education of public or prIvate schools, county boards, bOal'ds of health or public or 
charitable institutions. 

152.03 Education; titles; fee. (1) No degree which shall entitle one to practice 
dent-ish'Y in this stat.e shall be conferred by any dental school or college in this state, except 
doctor of dental sUl'gery, and that only upon one who has satisfactorily completed a 
course of at least three years of eight months each in such recognized dental school 01' 

college. Advanced degrees in dentish'Y may be conferred by such recognized dental school 
or college. Possession of such degree shall entitle one licensed under this chapter to 
use the title "doctor", or append to his name the words or letters, "doctor", "Dr.", "Doctor 
of Dental Surgery", or "D. D. S." On and after January 1, 1941, the degree of "Doctor 
of Dental SurgCl'Y" shall be conferred only upon one who has satisfact.orily completed 
a curriculum of at least four years of thirty-two weeks each in a dental school 01' college 
recognized by the Wisconsin state board of dental examiners. No dental school or college 
within this state shall enroll anyone not filing with the board of dental examiners proof 
satisfactory to the board that he has an education equivalent to graduation from a high 
school or academy in Wisconsin offering a four-year curriculum beyond the eighth grade 
and the completion of a two-year period of college preparation satisfactol'Y to the board: 
On and after January 1, 1941 this board shall approve for admission to the licensing 
examination only graduat.es of dental schools or colleges that require for admission a mini­
mum of two years' college preparation leading to a baccalaureate degree and including 
English and the sciences, physics, biology and chemisil'Y, 01' who llave graduated in 1940 
or in any previous year, provided the minimum scholastic and statut0l'Y requirements of 
the Wisconsin state board of dental examiners for such years have been met. 

(2) No person shall be examined by the board unless he files proof satisfactory to the 
board that he has the preliminary education described in sub. (1) and is a graduate of a 
recognized dental school or college approved by the Wisconsin state board of dental ex­
aminers, and that he has made and filed a declaration of intention to become a citizen of 
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the United States under 8 USC 1<145f, 01' that he holds a license to pract.ice dentistry in 
some other state of the United States of America as provided in s. 152.05 (2) and that a 
remittance of $25 accompany his a,pplication for examination, returnable to him only if 
from sickness or other good cause he is unable to complete the examination. 

(3) The board may, in its discretion, permit dental students who have successfully 
completed at least two years' work of eight months each in a recognized dental school 
and who files proof satisfactory to the board that he has the preliminary education de­
scribed ill subsection (1) to take written examination and credit, satisfactory grades to­
ward final examination. The board may require a fee of ten dollars for such examination. 

152.04 Examination. An applicant who has complied with s. 152.03 and who, in 
the case of one applying for a license after July 1, 1952, holds a certificate of registration 
in the basic sciences, as provided in ch. 147, shall be examined in writing in such of those 
subjects usually taught in reputable dental colleges as the board deems necessary. In addi­
tion, an applicant shall sul)lnit to such practical examination in operative and mechanical 
dentistry as may be prescribed by the board. In lieu of its own examination, the board 
may accept, in whole or in part, the certificate of the national board of dental examiners. 

152.05 License. (1) If the boarcl finds the applicant for a license qualified, it 
shall issue a license to practice dentistry, signed by the members and attested by the 
president and secretary. 

(2) The board may license without written examination a person holding a license 
to practice dentistry in another state who presents to the board satisfactory proof that 
he has reputably engaged in practice therein for 5 years next preceding' his application, 
if in such state the requirements imposed are equivalent to those of this state, upon pres­
entation of the license and a diploma from a reputable professional college approved and 
recognized by the board, provided that such other state extends a similar privilege to 
dentists licensed to practice in Wisconsin. The fee for such license shall be fixed by the 
board at not less than the reciprocity fee in the state whose license the applicant presents, 
but in no event less than $50. The applicant shall pass a practical demonstration in 
operative and mechanical dentistry as may be prescribed by the board. 

(3) Whoever engages in the practice of dentistry shall keep his license conspicuously 
displayed in the place of practice so as to' be easily seen and read. 

(4) Dentists shan annually register and pay a fee to be fixed each yeal' by the state 
board of dental examiners, which fee shall not exceecl $7. This fee shall be clue and pay­
able to the secretary of the board on or before September 30 of each year. The board shall 
publish a.nclmail an annual report and list of names and places of practice of all licensed 
dentists to· each licensed dentist at his last known address. The secre,tal'Y of the board 
shall also cause to be mailed a copy of such published list to the secl'etal'Y of state, the 
district attorney of each county, each local hoard of health, and to any other public offi­
cial who may request or have need thereof. Any registrant who, subsequent to registering, 
chang'es the address or place of his residence 01' professional office, or who opens an addi­
tional office, shall, within 30 days therea.£ter, notify the board in writing of such change 
and flU'nish his new residence 01' professional address. 

(5) A licensed dentist of g'oodmoral character changing his residence to another state 
shall, upon payment of five dollars, receive a certificate signed by the president ancl sec­
retary and bearing the board's seal, attesting his license and character. A licensed dentist 
removing to and practicing in another state, shalll'etain license in this state upon payment 
of the annual registration fee. 

(6) Upon proof of loss of the original and payment of five dollars, a duplicate license 
shall be issued. 

(7) No person shall practice dentistry in this state under any other Christian or 
given name or any other surname than that under which he was originally licensed or 
registerecl to practice dentistry in this or any other state, in any instance in which the 
state board of dental examiners shall, after a hearing, find that practicing under such 
changed name operates to unfairly compete with another practitioner or to mislead 
the public as to identity or to otherwise result in detriment to the profession or the public. 
This subsection cloes not apply to a change of name resulting from marriage or divorce. 

152.06 Revocation. (1) The board may without further process revoke the license 
of one who for 60 days after notice in writing, by registered mail, mailed to his last 
known address, fails to annually register and pay the fee. His license may be reinstated, 
in the discretion of the board, by the payment of $25 within on8 year from revocation. If 
application for reinstatement is not made within a period of one year from revocation he 
ma,y be required to demonstrate that he is still qualified to practice by taking an examina-
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tion in such dental subjects as may be required 1)y the boal·d. The fee for such examina­
tion and reinstatement of license shall be $25. 

(2) The board may revoke or suspend the license of one convicted of a crime involv­
ing moral turpitude, of which the record of conviction, or a copy certified by the clerk 
or judge of the court, shall be conclusive evidence. 

(3) The board may on its own motion make investigations and conduct hearings in 
regard to the action of any licensed dentist and dental hygienist or any person who it has 
reason to believe is acting or has acted in such capacity within the state, and may, on its 
own motion 01' upon complaint in writing, duly signed and verified by the complainant and 
upon not less than ten days' notice to the licensed dentist and dental hygienist 01' person 
acting as such, suspend or revoke such license in the manner hereinafter provided if it finds 
that the holder of such license has: 

(a) Been guilty of immoral or unprofessional conduct; 
(b) Been guilty of having procured his license by fraud 01' perjury 01' through error; 
(c) Been guilty of a violation of s. 152.02 (2); 
(d) Been guilty of a violation of the rules andl'egulations adopted by the board. 
(4) A copy of the complaint shall forthwith be served upon the licensed dentist, 01' 

person acting' as such, complained against by personal service 01' by mailing of the same 
to his last known business address. The person so served shall file his answer thereto 
with the board within 10 days after such service and shall also serve a copy of such an­
swer on the complainant. The board shall thereupon set the matter for hearing as promptly 
as possible and within 30 days after the date of filing of the complaint. Either party 
may appeal' at such hearing in person 01' by attol'1ley 01' agent and present such testimony 
as may be pertinent to the controversy before the board. The action of the board shall be 
subject to review in the manner provided in chapter 227. 

(5) "Illlmoral 01' unprofessional conduct" means: Employing what is known as "cap­
pers" 01' "streeters" to obtain business; or resorting to unprofessional advertising, as de­
fined in subsection (6); obtaining fee by fraud or deceit; wilfully betraying professional 
secrets; employing directly or indirectly a student 01' suspended 01' unlicensed dentist to 
perform operations, diagnoses or treat lesions of the human teeth or jaws, 01' correct mal­
posed formations thereof, except that an unlicensed person may perform merely mechani­
cal work upon inert matter in a dental office or laboratory; the advertisement of dental 
business or treatment of devices in which untruthful or impossible statements are made; 
habitual intemperance, or g'l'OSS immorality. 

(6) "Unprofessional advertising" as this term is used in subsection (5) shall include: 
(a) Any advertising statements of a character tending to deceive or mislead the public; 
(b) Advertising professional superiority or the performance of professional services 

in a superior manner; 
(c) Advertising definite, fixed prices when the nature of the professional service ren­

dered and the materials required must be variable; 
(d) Advertising by means of large display, glaring, illuminated or flickering' light 

signs, 01' containing as a part thereof the representation of a tooth, teeth, bridge work 01' 

any portion of the human head; 
(e) Employing or making use of a~vertising solicitors or free pUblicity press agents; 
(f) Advertising either by sign 01' III any lllanner under the name of a corporation 

company,. ass.ociation, parlor 01' t.rad: na~e. No ~entist 01' dentists shall display any sig'~ 
or advertIse 11l any manner concerl1lng' hIS 01' theIr work by the use of any name except 
the name 01' names under which he or they are licensed to practice dentistry in this state 
nor shall he or they use any parlor 01' trade name in connection with such name or names' 
01' display any sign or advertise in any manner under any parlor or trade or assumed nam~ 
nnder which his or their business was formerly condncted. 

(g) ~~e use of any offi.ce .sign l~rge~' than six hundr~d square inche~ in size over all 
01' contaullng letters over SIX lllches III SIze. Such office SIgns may contalll only the name 
or names of the duly licensed dentists practicing therein, their titles, office hours and purely 
educational matter not in conflict with law. 

(h) Any printed advertisement larger than twenty square inches in size. Such printed 
advertisement may contain only the name or names of the duly licensed dentists their 
titles, office hours, location, t.elephone number or numbers and purely educational :natter 
not in conflict with law. 

(7) The board may suspend the license or certificate and registration of any person 
licensed, certified 01' registered under this chapter who is a patient in a hospital for 
mental diseases in this state 01' elsewhere. A certified copy of commitment or admission 
papers shall be conclusive evidence of the incapacity of such person to continue in the 
practice of dentistry or dental hygiene, as the case may be. A person who has been re-
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leased from a hospital for mental diseases may l'equest the board in writing for rein­
statement of his license 01' certificate 01' registration in dentistry or ill dental hygiene, as 
1 be case may be. Following receipt of such request the board shall hold a hearing' as S001l 

as practicable to determine the capacity of the applicant to re-engage ill practice. Ai 
ouch hearing medical or other testimony on the issue of the applicant's capacity and 011 

the degree of his recovery may be offered 011 behalf of the applicant 01' the board. The 
hoard may also, in its discretion, examine such applicant so a::; to be satisfietl that he is 
Iheu qualifierl to resume his practice. Any decision made following such hearing shall be 
reviewable in the manner provided in chapter 227. 

152.07 Dental hygienists. (1) No person shall engage in practice as a dental 
hygienist without a certificate from the state hoard of dental examiners. The certificate 
authorizes the holder to remove calcareous deposits, accretions and stains from the sur­
faces of teeth, and apply ordinary washes of a. soothing character, but not to operate 
otherwise on the teeth 01' other tissues of the oral cavity. 

(2) (a) An applicant shall file proof satisfactory to the board that he is a citizen 
of the United States of America. and has a general education equivalent to graduation 
from a. high school or academy in Wisconsin offering a 4-year curriculum beyond the 
eighth grade and that he is a. graduate of a training school for dental hygienists, appl'oved 
and recognized by the board having a course of not less than 2 years of 8 months each. 
A remittance of $10 shall accompany his application, retul'llable to the applicant only if 
from sickness 01' other good cause he is unable to complete the examination. Applicants 
who have graduated prior to July 1, 1941, shall file proof satisfactory to the board that 
their educational requirements at the time of their graduation equaled those then required 
by the Wisconsin state board of dental examiners. 

(b) Applicants who qualify under paragraph (a) shall be examined in writing in 
such of those subjects usually taught in reputable schools for the training of dental 
hygienists as the board deems necessary. In addition, the applicants shall submit to such 
practical examination as may be prescribed by the board. 

(3) One to whom a certificate is issued shall register with the secretary and pay a fEe 
of not more than $2, on 01' before the next succeeding September 1, and annually there­
after. 

(4) Certified dental hygienists may he employed by boards of education of public 
"I' private schools, county boards, boards of health, 01' public or charitable institutions, 
opera ting only under the direct supervision of one 01' more licensed dentists as provided 
ill subsection (8) of this section and may be employed in any dental office only under 
the direct supervision of one or more licensed dentists, and not exceeding the number of 
licensed dentists opemting therein and subject to the regulations of the hoard of dental 
(~xalniners in enforcing this section and may under the direction and supervision of 
licensed dentists, act as assistant instructors in a school for the training of dental hygien. 
ists. They shall not otherwise engage in the practice of delltal hygiene. 

(5) The state board of dental examiners may revoke or suspend the certificate of 
a dental hygienist for violation of this chapter. The license of a dentist who shall permit 
a dental hygienist operating under his supervision to violate this chapter, shall be revoked 
or suspended uncleI' the provisions of this chapter. 

(6) The board may certify without written examination one certified to practice 
dental hygiene in another state who prescnts to the board satisfactory proof that he has 
reputably engaged in practice therein for 5 years next preceding his application if in 
such state the requirements imposed are equivalent to those of this state, upon pr~senta­
tion of a certificate from such other state and evidence of completion of a course in a 
reputable training school for dental hygienists approved and recognized by the board 
provided that such other state extends a similar provision to dental hygienists certified t~ 
practice in Wisconsin. The fee for such certificate shall be fixed by the bom'd at not less 
than the reciprocity fee in the state whose certificate the applicant presents, in no event 
to be less than $15. The applicant shall pass a practical demonstration in dental hygiene 
to the satisfaction of the board. 

(7) The board lhay without further process revoke the license of a dental hygienist 
who fOI' 60 days after notice in writing, by registered mail, mailed to his last known ad­
chess, fails to annually register and pay the fee prescribed. He may be reinstated, in the 
discretion of the board, upon the payment of $5 within one year from revocation. If 
application for reinstatement is not made within a peliod of one year from revocation 
he may be required to demonstrate that he is still qualified to practice by taking an ex­
amination in such 5ubjects relating to dental hygiene as may be required by the board. 
The fee for sHch examination and reinstatement of certificate shall be $10. 



2255 DENTISTRY 152.09 

(8) (a) The term public health dental hygienists shall include all dental hygienists, 
licensed in this state, employed by official agencies such as school boards, local boards, 
departments of health 01' county boards, in any public health 01' educational capacity. 

(b) The qualifications of all public health dental hygienists 01' instructors in dental 
hygiene hereafter entering such employment shall be determined by a committee of 3 
examiners, one selected by the state board of health, who is a dental employe of that 
board, one member of the state board of dental examiners to be named by that board 
and one selected by the state superintendent of public instruction who is an employe 
of that department. 

(c) Candidates recommended by the committee of examiners shall be certified by 
the state board of health to the local appointing body upon request and appointment 
shall be made from the certified list. 

(d) Public health dental hygienists or instructOl's shall make it written report monthly 
in triplicate, one copy to the employing board, one to the local directing committee 01' 

officer, and one to the state board of health, showing the work done. The state board 
of health, through its department of dental education, shall examine the repol't and 
make recommendations for the improvement and the development of the dental hygiene 
service. 

(e) The state board of health shall prescribe forms and equipment and notify the 
public dental hygienists where they can be purchased. 

(f) This subsection shall not apply to cities of the first class. 
(g) Any violation of this subsection Rhall constitute a misdemeanor and shall be pun­

ishable by a fine of not less than $10 nor more than $100. 

152.08 Penalties. (1) Any licensed dentist, dental hygienist, 01' person hoIc1ing 
himself out as such who shall employ what are known as "cappers" 01' "streeters" to ob­
rain business; or who shall obtain a fee by fraud 01' deceit; 01' who shall wilfully betray 
professional secrets; 01' who shall employ directly 01' indirectly a student 01' suspended or 
unlicensed dentist, dental hygienist or person holding himself as sueh, to perform opera­
tions, to diagnose and treat lesions of the human teeth, 01' jaws, 01' correct malposed for­
mations thereof, except that an unlicensed person may perform merely mechanical work 
upon inert material in a dental office or lalJoratory; or who shall be guilty of "unpro­
fessional advertising" as defined in subseetion (6) of section 152.06; shall upon a first 
eonviction be fined not less than twenty-five nor more than one hUllch-ed dollars and costs, 
and upon a seeond or subsequent convietion shall be fined not less than one hundred nor 
more than five hunch'ed dollars, or be punished by imprisonment not less than sixty days 
nor more than one year, 01' by both such fine and imprisonment. 

(2) Anyone who shall unlawfully engage in the practice of dentistry shall be fined 
not less than one hundred nor more than one thousand dollars, or shall be imprisoned not 
less than 60 days nor more than one year, or both, for each person treated. 

152.085 Injunction to enforce chapter 152. If it appeal'S upon the complaint of 
any person to the board of dental examiners, 01' it is believed by the board that any person 
is violating any of the provisions of this chapter, the board or the district attol'lley of the 
propel' county may investigate snch alleged violation, and may, in addition to 01' in lieu 
of any other remedies provided by law, bring aetion in the name and on behalf of the 
state against any snch person to enjoin snch violation. Between meeting'S of the board, its 
president and secretary, acting in its behalf, are empowered jointly to make such an in­
vestigation, and on the basis thereof to bring such an action. 

152.09 Legislative intent. This entire chapter shall be deemed to be passed in the 
interests of the public health, safety and welfare and its provisions shall be liberally con­
strued to carry out its objects and purposes. 




