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Emergency Rules Now in Effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Rules adopted revising ch. ATCP 10, relating to diseases
of fish and farm−raised deer.

Finding of Emergency
(1)  The Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and

consumer protection (“DATCP”) administers Wisconsin’s
animal health and disease control programs, including
programs to control diseases of fish and farm−raised deer.

Disease Testing of Fish
(2)  DATCP regulates fish farms, including fish farms

operated by the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
(“DNR”).  DATCP also regulates the import, movement and
disease testing of fish.

(3)  Viral hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS) is a serious
disease of fish.  VHS was first reported in Wisconsin on May
11, 2007, after the Wisconsin Veterinary Diagnostic
Laboratory confirmed positive samples from freshwater
drum (sheepshead) in Little Lake Butte des Mortes (part of the
Lake Winnebago system).  VHS was subsequently found in
Lake Winnebago, and in Lake Michigan near Green Bay and
Algoma.  The source of VHS in these wild water bodies is not
known.  VHS has not yet been reported in any Wisconsin fish
farms.  VHS can be fatal to fish, but is not known to affect
human beings.

(4)  Current DATCP rules require health certificates for fish
and fish eggs (including bait) imported into this state, for fish
and fish eggs stocked into waters of the state, and for fish and
fish eggs (including bait species) moved between fish farms
in this state.  Import health certificates must include VHS

testing if the import shipment includes salmonids (salmon,
trout, etc.) or originates from a state or province where VHS
is known to occur.  VHS testing is not currently required for
fish or fish eggs stocked into waters of the state from
Wisconsin sources, for bait fish or eggs originating from
Wisconsin sources, for fish or fish eggs moved between fish
farms in Wisconsin, or for non−salmonids imported from
states where VHS has not yet been found.

(5)  Because VHS has now been found in waters of the
state, it is necessary to expand current VHS testing
requirements.  Because of the urgent need to minimize the
spread of VHS in this state, it is necessary to adopt VHS
testing requirements by emergency rule, pending the adoption
of a “permanent” rule.

Disease−Free Herd Certification of 
Farm−Raised Deer Herds

(6)  DATCP registers farm−raised deer herds in this state.
DATCP also regulates the import, movement and disease
testing of farm−raised deer.  Under current DATCP rules,
DATCP may certify a deer herd as brucellosis−free or
tuberculosis−free, or both, based on herd test results provided
by the deer keeper.  Certification is voluntary, but facilitates
sale and movement of deer.

(7)  Under current rules, a tuberculosis−free herd
certification is good for 3 years, but a brucellosis−free herd
certification is good for only 2 years.  There is no compelling
veterinary medical reason for the difference.  A rule change
(extending the brucellosis−free certification term from 2 to 3
years) is needed to harmonize the certification terms, so that
deer farmers can conduct simultaneous tests for both diseases.
Simultaneous testing will reduce testing costs and limit stress
on tested deer.  An emergency rule is needed to avoid some
unnecessary costs for deer farmers this year, pending the
adoption of permanent rules.

Publication Date: October 31, 2007
Effective Date: October 31, 2007
Expiration Date: March 29, 2008
Hearing Dates: January 7, 8, and 10, 2008

[See Notice this Register]

Commerce
(Licenses, Certifications, etc., Ch. Comm 5)

Rules adopted revising ch. Comm 5, relating to licensing
of elevator contractors and installers.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
Under the nonstatutory provisions of 2005 Wis. Act 456,

the Department of Commerce was directed to issue
emergency rules that implement provisions of the Act.  The
Act specifically states:  “Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1)
(a) and (3) of the statutes, the department of commerce is not
required to provide evidence that promulgating rules under
this subsection as emergency rules is necessary for the
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare and
is not required to provide a finding of emergency for the rules
promulgated under this subsection.”

The Act mandates the licensing of elevator contractors and
installers.  Under the Act no person may engage in the
business of installing or servicing conveyances or working on
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a conveyance unless licensed as of June 1, 2007.  These
emergency rules are being adopted in order to provide the
elevator industry the ability to comply with licensing aspects
of the Act and continue working until permanent rules are
implemented.

Publication Date: June 1, 2007

Effective Date: June1, 2007
Expiration Date: See section 7 (2), 2005 Wis.

Act 456
Hearing Date: June 27, 2007

Commerce (2)
(Amusement Rides, Ch. Comm 34)

1. Rule adopted creating s. Comm 34.22 (5m), relating to
amusement ride safety.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency

exists within the state of Wisconsin and that adoption of an
emergency rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of
the public health, safety and welfare.  A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is as follows.

1.  An amusement ride fatality occurred in Wisconsin on
July 14, 2007.  The ride involved the field attachment of
passengers who don harnesses and then are elevated off the
ground.

2.  Although no mechanical or equipment failure
contributed to the incident, attachment and connection
practices of the operators did not incorporate safety practices
used on some similar rides in the industry.

3.  The department recognizes that without promulgating
this emergency rule, there could be confusion in what
constitutes a recognized safe practice for the field attachment
or connection of harnessed passengers on similar amusement
rides.  The department believes clarifying the code will
promote safety.

Pursuant to section 227.24, Stats., this rule is adopted as an
emergency rule to take effect upon publication in the official
state newspaper and filing with the Secretary of State and the
Revisor of Statutes.

Publication Date: August 13, 2007

Effective Date: August 13, 2007
Expiration Date: January 10, 2008
Hearing Date: October 15, 2007

2. Rules adopted revising ch. Comm 34, relating to
amusement rides and affecting small businesses.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency

exists within the state of Wisconsin and that adoption of an
emergency rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of
the public health, safety and welfare.  A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is as follows.

1.  An amusement ride fatality occurred in Wisconsin on
July 14, 2007.

2.  The department is in the processing of promulgating rule
revisions under its Amusement Ride Code, chapter Comm 34
to address two issues that have come to light as a result of the
accident investigation.  The completion of this rule−making

process and their enactment cannot occur prior to the
beginning of the 2008 amusement ride season.  The issuance
of the emergency rules at this time is also necessary to allow
amusement ride owners and operators sufficient time to
acquire the necessary issuance.

3.  The department believes that establishing liability
insurance obligations for amusement ride owners and
operators will promote safety.

Publication Date: November 12, 2007
Effective Date: January 1, 2008
Expiration Date: May 30, 2008
Hearing Date: December 12, 2007

Commerce
(Financial Resources for Businesses and

Communities, Chs. Comm 104−131)

Rules adopted creating ch. Comm 135, relating to tax
credits and exemptions for internet equipment used in the
broadband market.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
These rules establish the criteria for administering a

program that will (1) certify businesses as temporarily
eligible for tax credits and exemptions for Internet equipment
used in the broadband market, and (2) allocate up to
$7,500,000 to these businesses for these tax credits and
exemptions.

Pursuant to section 227.24 of the statutes, this rule is
adopted as an emergency rule to take effect upon publication
in the official state newspaper.  In accordance with section 17
(1) (d) of 2005 Wisconsin Act 479, this rule will remain in
effect until January 1, 2008, or until the Department reports
its certifications and determinations under this rule to the
Department of Revenue, whichever is sooner.

The rules specify who is eligible for the income and
franchise tax credits and the sales and use tax exemptions in
this program, for Internet equipment used in the broadband
market.  Eligible equipment is also specified, along with how
to apply for the certifications and allocations.  Parameters for
allocating the authorized total of  $7,500,000 are likewise
specified.  These parameters emphasize (1) efficiently
initiating broadband Internet service in areas of Wisconsin
that otherwise are not expected to soon receive this service,
and (2) encouraging economic or community development.
The rule chapter also describes the time−specific legislative
oversight that is established in 2005 Act 479 for these
allocations, and describes the follow−up reports that the Act
requires from every person who receives a sales or use tax
exemption under this chapter.

Publication Date: February 20, 2007
Effective Date: February 20, 2007
Expiration Date: See section 17 (1) (d) 2005

   Wis. Act 479
Hearing Date: March 26, 2007

Dentistry Examining Board

Rule adopted amending the effective date of CR 04−095,
by amending the emergency rule that took effect on December
29, 2006, relating to the requirements for administering the
office facilities and equipment for safe and effective
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administration and the applicable standards of care, and to
provide for reporting of adverse occurrences related to
anesthesia administration.

Finding of Emergency
The board has made a finding of emergency.  The board

finds that failure to delay the effective date of CR04−095,
from July 1, 2007 to November 1, 2007 will create a danger
to the public health, safety and welfare.  The extra four months
are needed to allow the implementation of the rule to occur
and to ensure the continued use of conscious sedation for
dental patients.  The rules created a course requirement for
receiving a conscious sedation permit that did not exist.
Courses have and are being developed to meet this
requirement.  By November 1, 2007, the course will have been
available to enough dentists to ensure the continuation of the
use of conscious sedation.

Publication Date: June 24, 2007

Effective Date: July 1, 2007

Expiration Date: November 28, 2007
Hearing Date: July 11, 2007

Elections Board

Rules adopted creating s. ElBd 3.50, relating to pricing of
voter information available from the Statewide Voter
Registration System.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The Elections Board finds that under Section 180 of the

non−statutory provisions of 2005 Wisconsin Act 451, in
subsection (4), the Elections Board may promulgate
emergency rules under s. 227.24, Stats., implementing s. 6.36
(6), Stats., as created by Wisconsin Act 451. Notwithstanding
s. 227.24 (1) (c) and (2), Stats., emergency rules promulgated
under subsection (4) remain in effect until the date on which
permanent rules take effect. Notwithstanding s. 227.24 (1) (a)
and (3), Stats., the Elections Board is not required to provide
evidence that promulgating a rule under subsection (4) as an
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of public
peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under
subsection (4).

This amended rule interprets ss. 5.02 (14) and (17), 6.27,
6.275, 6.29, 6.33, 6.34, 6.35, 6.36, 6.40, 6.45, 6.46, 6.48, 6.50,
6.54, 6.55, 6.56, and 6.57, Stats.  The rule requires that
persons who request copies of information from the Statewide
Voter registration System must pay, for each such copy, a
charge calculated under the provisions of the rule.

At the present time, the Elections Board is limited, in the
fee that it can charge for information provided by the
Statewide Voter registration System, to the fee set by s. 19.35
(3), Stats.: “the actual, necessary, and direct cost of
reproduction and transcription of the record.”  In order to
recover both the cost of reproduction and the cost of
maintaining the list at the state and local level, rather than
having its charge be limited to the amount currently provided
under the public records law, the Board needs an immediate
rule reflecting both cost components required by the new
statute.

Publication Date: May 12, 2007
Effective Date: May 12, 2007
Expiration Date: See section 180 (4), 2005 

Wis. Act 451
Hearing Date: June 11, 2007

Health and Family Services
(Medical Assistance, Chs. HFS 100—)

Rules adopted revising ch. HFS 107, relating to benefits
covered by the Wisconsin Medical Assistance program, and
affecting small businesses.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Health and Family Services finds that

an emergency exists and that the adoption of an emergency
rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public,
health, safety and welfare.  The facts constituting the
emergency are as follows:

A recent revision to s. HFS 107.07 (2), the prior
authorization subsection of the dental services section of the
Medicaid Administrative Code, caused a result which was not
intended by the Department. To correct this error, the
Department is promulgating rules to clarify that the
Department’s intent is to require prior authorization for
orthodontia and other services provided under early and
periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment (EPSDT)
services. The medical necessity of these services is
determined by the Department based on information
submitted by the provider. Thus, it is necessary to require
prior authorization to determine the appropriateness of
providing these services to an individual recipient.

In the previous rulemaking (Clearinghouse Rule 05−033)
the prior authorization requirement was removed for most
procedures that had high rates of approval (greater than 75%).
The change was intended to reduce the staff time required for
dental offices to process prior authorization requests. The
Department did not intend to remove the requirement for prior
authorization for orthodontia and other services. The
Department specifically stated, in Clearinghouse Rule
05−033, that “Procedures where appropriate pricing requires
a high degree of clinical knowledge (e.g., orthodontics and
TMJ surgery), and procedures with strict time limitations
(e.g., dentures) are also proposed to retain prior
authorization.”

The language that was adopted, however, has been
interpreted by at least one dentist to mean that prior
authorization is no longer required to provide orthodontia to
recipients. This interpretation was upheld by an
administrative law judge in an administrative hearing. The
Department believes that the interpretation of the
administrative law judge could open up the Department to
being required to pay for procedures that are purely cosmetic.
Because the intent of the Department and the language
adopted, as recently interpreted, had opposite effects, the
Department is promulgating rules to revise section s. HFS
107.07 to clarify the intent of the rule.

A basic concept of the Medicaid program is that services
must be medically necessary to be reimbursable.  Allowing
the existing rule language to remain in its present form could
require reimbursement for orthodontia that is not medically
justified.
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Publication Date: April 30, 2007

Effective Date: April 30, 2007
Expiration Date: September 27, 2007
Hearing Date: June 12, 2007
Extension Through: November 25, 2007

Natural Resources  (3)
(Fish and Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—)

1. Rules adopted amending s. NR 20.20, relating to the hook
and line harvest of lake sturgeon.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Natural Resources finds that an

emergency exists and rules are necessary to prevent excessive
harvest of lake sturgeon from the inland waters of Wisconsin
during the 2007 hook and line season.

Publication Date: July 23, 2007

Effective Date: July 23, 2007
Expiration Date: December 20, 2007
Hearing Date: August 13, 2007

2. Rules adopted amending ss. NR 10.01 (1) (v), 10.12 (5) (d)
and 10.15 (6); and to repeal and recreate s. NR 10.01 (1)
(b), (g) and (u), relating to the 2007 migratory game bird
seasons and waterfowl hunting zones.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public welfare.  The federal government and state
legislature have delegated to the appropriate agencies
rule−making authority to control the hunting of migratory
birds. The State of Wisconsin must comply with federal
regulations in the establishment of migratory bird hunting
seasons and conditions.  Federal regulations are not made
available to this state until mid−August of each year. This
order is designed to bring the state hunting regulations to
conformity with the federal regulations.  Normal rule−making
procedures will not allow the establishment of these changes
by September 1.  Failure to modify our rules will result in the
failure to provide hunting opportunity and continuation of
rules which conflict with federal regulations.

Publication Date: August 30, 2007

Effective Date: August 30, 2007
Expiration Date: January 27, 2008
Hearing Date: October 19, 2007

3. Rules adopted affecting chs. NR 19 and 20, relating to
control of fish diseases and invasive species.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Natural Resources finds that an

emergency exists and rules are necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A
statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The World Health Organization for Animal Health (OIE)
lists Viral Hemorrhagic Septicemia (VHS) as a ”notifiable”
disease, meaning that outbreaks must be reported
immediately.  On May 11, the Department received notice that
freshwater drum collected from Little Lake Butte des Morts

(part of the Lake Winnebago system) were infected with the
VHS virus.  On May 23, May 24, and June 1, respectively, the
Department learned that brown trout from Lake Michigan,
smallmouth bass from Sturgeon Bay, and lake whitefish from
Lake Michigan had tested positive for the virus.

Earlier, VHS had been discovered in the Great Lakes, and
was known to be moving from the lower lakes (Ontario and
Erie), where it has already caused large−scale fish kills, via
Huron, where it has been present since 2005, to the upper
lakes (Michigan and Superior).  Lake Michigan is connected
to the Mississippi River by the Chicago Sanitary and Ship
Canal and Illinois River, allowing fish and fish diseases to
reach the Mississippi drainage basin.  Information obtained
pursuant to an emergency rule that took effect May 17
revealed that 88 bait dealers harvest live wild minnows from
a large number of state waters, including waters that are near
or connected to the Mississippi river, the Lake Winnebago
system, Green Bay and Lakes Michigan and Superior.

Twenty−seven species of Wisconsin fish have been
identified as susceptible by the OIE or USDA APHIS,
including most of our most important recreational and
commercial species.   It is expected the USDA APHIS will
soon expand its emergency order limiting the interstate
transportation of these species to apply to all fish species.  The
VHS virus can be transported from infected areas to areas
where it is not yet present via live fish, fish eggs, refrigerated
or frozen dead fish, or water where infected fish have been
present.  The presence of VHS virus in Wisconsin is therefore
a threat to the public health or safety or to the environment.

Publication Date: November 2, 2007
Effective Date: November 2, 2007
Expiration Date: March 31, 2008
Hearing Date: December 3, 2007

Natural Resources   (2)
(Environmental Protection − Water

Regulation, Chs. NR 300−)

1. Rules adopted revising ch. NR 345, relating to general
permits for dredging in Great Lakes navigable waterways.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public health, safety and welfare. The Wisconsin
Legislature enacted 2003 Wisconsin Act 118 to streamline the
regulatory process for activities in public trust waters.  The
state has an affirmative duty to administer the law in a manner
consistent with the public trust responsibilities of the State of
Wisconsin under Article IX, Section I of the Wisconsin
Constitution.

Act 118 identifies certain activities that may be undertaken
under a general permit.  There are no statutory general permits
for dredging, including operation of a motor vehicle, on the
beds of the Great Lakes to remove algae, mussels, dead fish
and similar large plant and animal nuisance deposits.  Without
emergency rules to create general permits, all dredging,
including operation of a motor vehicle, on the beds of the
Great Lakes to remove plant and animal nuisance deposits
require an individual permit with an automatic 30−day public
notice.  The required 30−day comment period will
unnecessarily delay projects that otherwise could go ahead
with prescribed conditions established in a general permit. To
carry out the intention of Act 118 to speed decision−making
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but not diminish the public trust in state waters, these
emergency rules are required to establish general permits to
be in effect for the 2007 summer season, with specific
standards for operation of a motor vehicle, on the beds of the
Great Lakes to remove plant and animal nuisance deposits.

Publication Date: June 10, 2007

Effective Date: June 10, 2007

Expiration Date: November 7, 2007
Hearing Date: July 10, 2007

Extension Through: January 5, 2008

2. Rules adopted revising chs. NR 320, 323, 328, 329, 341,
343 and 345, relating to general permit criteria requiring
decontamination of equipment for invasive species and
viruses.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public health, safety and welfare. The Wisconsin
Legislature enacted 2003 Wisconsin Act 118 to streamline the
regulatory process for activities in public trust waters.  The
state has an affirmative duty to administer the law in a manner
consistent with the public trust responsibilities of the State of
Wisconsin under Article IX, Section I of the Wisconsin
Constitution.

Act 118 identifies certain activities that may be undertaken
under a general permit.  There are no statutory general permits
standards that require decontamination of equipment for
invasive species and viruses.  Without emergency rules to
create new general permit standards, any condition imposed
would be limited to individual permits only with an automatic
30−day public notice. The required 30−day comment period
will unnecessarily delay projects that otherwise could go
ahead with prescribed conditions established in a general
permit. To carry out the intention of Act 118 to speed
decision−making but not diminish the public trust in state
waters, these emergency rules are required to establish
general permits standards to be in effect for the 2007 summer
season, with specific standards that require decontamination
of equipment for invasive species and viruses.

In addition, The Department of Natural Resources finds
that an emergency exists and the foregoing rules are necessary
for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health,
safety or welfare. A statement of facts constituting the
emergency is: The World Health Organization for Animal
Health (OIE) lists viral hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS) as a
“notifiable” disease, meaning that outbreaks must be reported
immediately. VHS has been discovered in the Great Lakes,
and is moving from the lower lakes (Ontario and Erie), where
it has already caused large−scale fish kills, via Huron, where
it has been present since 2005, to the upper lakes (Michigan
and Superior). Lake Michigan is connected to the Mississippi
River by the Chicago Sanitary and Ship Canal and Illinois
River, allowing fish and fish diseases to reach the Mississippi
drainage. Twenty−seven species of Wisconsin fish have been
identified as susceptible by the OIE or USDA APHIS,
including most of our most important recreational and
commercial species. The VHS virus can be transported from
affected areas to areas where it is not yet present via live fish,
fish eggs, refrigerated or frozen dead fish, or water where
infected fish have been present. The presence of VHS virus in
the Great Lakes is therefore a threat to the public health or
safety or to the environment.

Publication Date: July 12, 2007
Effective Date: July 12, 2007
Expiration Date: December 9, 2007
Hearing Date: August 13, 2007

Natural Resources
(Environmental Protection − Air Pollution

Control, Chs. NR 400−)

Rules adopted creating s. NR 462.015, relating to national
emission standards for hazardous air pollutants for industrial,
commercial and institutional boilers and process heaters and
potentially affecting small business.
Finding of Emergency

The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,
Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public welfare.  Preservation of the public welfare
necessitates putting the rule into effect prior to the time that
it would take if the department complied with the normal
procedures.  Federal regulations that are the basis for ch. 462,
Wis. Adm. Code, were vacated on July 30, 2007 by the U.S.
Court of Appeals.  Both the vacated federal regulations and
ch. NR 462 contain a date for compliance of September 13,
2007. This order is designed to bring state rules into
conformity with the court−ordered vacatur of the federal
regulations.  Normal rule−making procedures will not allow
implementation of ch. NR 462 to be stayed before September
13, 2007.

Publication Date: September 13, 2007
Effective Date: September 13, 2007
Expiration Date: February 10, 2008
Hearing Date: October 26, 2007

Public Instruction
A rule is adopted creating ch. PI 33, relating to grants for

nursing homes.
Finding of Emergency

The Department of Public Instruction finds that an
emergency exists and that the adoption of an emergency rule
is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
welfare.  The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The school nursing grant program under s. 115.28 (47),
Stats., was created under 2007 Wisconsin Act 20.  The Act
became effective October 27, 2007, and appropriated
$250,000 annually beginning in the 2007−08 school year.  In
order for school districts to develop applications and for the
department to review the applications and grant awards in
time for the program to operate in the second semester of the
school year, rules must be in place as soon as possible to
establish application criteria and procedures.

Publication Date: November 24, 2007
Effective Date: November 24, 2007
Expiration Date: April 23, 2008

Revenue (2)

1. Rules adopted amending s. Tax 2.505, relating to the
computation of the apportionment fraction by multistate
professional sports clubs.
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Finding of Emergency
The Department of Revenue finds that an emergency exists

and that the rule order is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare. A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is:

The emergency rule is to prescribe the method to be used
for apportioning the apportionable income of interstate
professional sports clubs.

It is necessary to promulgate this rule order to provide the
method of apportionment to be used by interstate professional
sports clubs.

Publication Date: October 12, 2007
Effective Date: October 12, 2007
Expiration Date: March 10, 2008

2. A rule was adopted revising s. Tax 8.63, interpreting s.
125.54 (7), Stats., relating to liquor wholesale warehouse
facilities.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Revenue finds that an emergency exists

and that a rule order is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare. A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is:

The emergency rule is to change the amount of floor space
that a liquor wholesaler warehouse facility described in a
wholesalers’ permit is required to be from 4,000 to 1,000
square feet of floor space. It also creates a provision that
allows the minimum square footage requirement to be waived
when it is determined that a waiver is fair and equitable.

It is necessary to promulgate this rule order to remove the
threat of revenue loss to bona fide liquor wholesalers as a
result of having applications for issuance or renewal of
permits denied solely because they do not meet the square
footage requirement in the existing rule.

This rule is therefore promulgated as an emergency rule
and shall take effect upon publication in the official state
newspaper. Certified copies of this rule have been filed with
the Secretary of State and Revisor of Statutes, as provided in
s. 227.24, Stats.

Publication Date: October 29, 2007
Effective Date: October 29, 2007
Expiration Date: March 27, 2008
Hearing Date: January 2, 2008

[See Notice this Register]

Transportation

Rule adopted creating ch. Trans 178, relating to the
Unified Carrier Registration System.
Analysis

This chapter establishes in the Wisconsin Administrative
Code the fees to be charged under the Unified Carrier
Registration (UCR) system, and establishes a method for
counting the number of vehicles so that an entity knows
whether it is required to register under UCR and, if so, which
fee bracket applies to the entity.

Exemption From Finding of Emergency
The Legislature, by Section 2927, as created by 2007 Wis.

Act 20, provides an exemption from a finding of emergency
for the adoption of the rule.

Publication Date: December 19, 2007
Effective Date: December 19, 2007
Expiration Date: May 18, 2008
Hearing Date: March 5, 2008

[See Notice this Register]
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Scope Statements

Administration

Subject

The rules will amend ch. Adm 21 relating to advertising,
bidding and award of construction contracts.

Policy Analysis

The Department of Administration proposes amending
chapter Adm 21 to permit bidders and contractors to submit
state construction project bids in an electronic format. Under
the current rule, paper bid forms must be delivered in person
or by mail service to the Department’s office in Madison for
a scheduled bid opening. This method is not equitable to all
contractors throughout the State.

Based on customer input and current business practices
relating to electronic data and information transmission, the
Department has determined a strong need to offer electronic
bidding for state construction projects.  The proposed
amendments will allow contractors throughout the State to
have equal preparation time for submitting bids for state
construction projects.  The proposed rule amendment will
also allow for distribution of construction bidding plans via an
electronic media website.

This revision to the administrative code will allow for more
efficient, competitive, current and up to date practices for
design and construction of state facilities and the usage of
those facilities.

Statutory Authority

Section 16.855 (15), Wis. Stats.

Entities Affected by the Rule

Prospective bidders responding to the Department’s
proposals for specific construction projects.

Comparison with Federal Regulations

Part 4 of Title 48 of the Code of Federal Regulations
provides policy and procedures for the establishment and use
of electronic commerce in federal acquisitions (48CFR14).
The policy states that the federal government shall use
electronic commerce whenever practicable or cost−effective.
Agencies may exercise broad discretion in selecting the
hardware and software that will be used in conducting
electronic commerce.  Subpart 14.202−8, of Title 48 of the
Code of Federal Regulations allows contracting officers to
authorize use of electronic commerce for submission of bids.
If electronic bids are authorized, the solicitation shall specify
the electronic commerce method(s) that bidders may use.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

Approximately 80 hours of department staff time will be
needed to promulgate the rules.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

Subject

The rules affect ch. ATCP 35, relating to the prevention of
pollution from agricultural chemicals.

Objective of the Rule
Amend the existing rule to address new statutory language

that establishes a financial assistance program for capital
improvements designed to prevent pollution from
agricultural chemicals.  Amend the rules to delineate which
businesses, projects and costs are eligible for financial
assistance, how businesses would apply for the financial
assistance, how applications would be evaluated, and how
payments would be issued.
Policy Analysis

The Agricultural Chemical Cleanup Program rule (ATCP
35) makes reimbursement payments to responsible persons
that have cleaned up agricultural chemical discharges.  ATCP
35 has a maximum cap of $400,000 in eligible costs for any
one discharge site that has been expanded to $500,000 under
the recent statutory addition of s. 94.74, Stats.  The increased
cap is to allow for additional payments for costs of capital
improvements designed to prevent pollution from
agricultural chemicals.  The department proposes to update
this rule to address changes resulting from the new statutory
language.  The department may also renumber or reorganize
ch. ATCP 35, as necessary.

There is no alternative. The statutes require the department
to promulgate rules to implement this financial assistance
program.
Statutory Authority

Sections 93.07, 94.73, and 94.74, Stats.
Entities Affected by the Rule

Businesses that handle or store fertilizers or pesticides.
Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

DATCP estimates that it will use approximately 0.5 FTE
staff to develop this rule.  This includes research, drafting,
preparing related documents, coordinating advisory
committee meetings, holding public hearings and
communicating with affected persons and groups.  DATCP
will use existing staff to develop this rule.

Employee Trust Funds
Subject

The proposed rules affect ch. ETF 70, relating to the start
date for phasing out a primary or alternate plan and to
emergency withdrawals for beneficiaries.
Objective of the Rule

The proposed modifications concern adjusting the start
date for phasing out a primary or alternate plan in order to
reduce complications associated with the phase out, and also
expands financial emergency hardship withdrawals to include
hardships for a named beneficiary.
Policy Analysis

Fund Phase Out Process
Currently, s. ETF 70.08 (3) requires that phase one of the

12−month fund removal process begin on January 1 of the
year following the Deferred Compensation Board’s (Board)
decision to remove a fund from the program.  At the end of the
phase out process, any remaining accounts left in the closed
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fund are moved to the Board’s default fund.  By starting the
process on January 1, the end of phase two of the process is
supposed to occur on December 31 of that calendar year.

These modifications are prompted by recent experiences in
closing out funds on December 31.  It was evident that closing
a fund at the end of a calendar year creates complications for
all involved because the action occurs at a time when there are
end−of−year valuations, reconciliation activities, reports
being issued, and additional days that the financial markets
are closed.  All of these events occur at approximately the
same time.  By eliminating the January start date, and
permitting the process to begin six months after the Board has
made a fund removal decision, these problems will be
eliminated.  This change would create a rolling closure
window outside of end−of−calendar year complications and
still allow enough time to notify participants of the pending
closure.  For example, if the Board decides in May 2008 to
close a fund, the process would begin on November 1, 2008,
and conclude on April 30, 2009.

Emergency Hardship Withdrawal
Currently, s. ETF 70.10 allows a participant to make an

emergency hardship withdrawal.  The federal Pension
Protection Act of 2006 expanded financial emergency
hardship withdrawals to include hardships for a named
beneficiary.  However, the Wisconsin Deferred
Compensation Plan and Trust Document and s. ETF 70.10 are
inconsistent on this matter.  The Plan and Trust Document
already provides for this type of expansion in the law.  Now,
it is necessary to revise the administrative rule in order to
allow this expansion.

Definition of Beneficiary
This modification adds “beneficiary” to the applicable

subsections of s. ETF 70.10.  The rule also adds the definition
of “beneficiary to s. ETF 70.02, the definitions section of the
existing rule.  The definition of “beneficiary” is the same as
that in s. 40.02 (8), Stats.

Statutory Authority
Sections 40.03 (2) (ir) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.

Entities Affected by the Rule
The proposed modification would affect the Board and the

Department itself.

Comparison with Federal Regulations
This action will make the administrative code consistent

with the Plan document and clarify any confusion about
compliance with the Pension Protection Act of 2006.
Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

The Department estimates that state employees will spend
20 hours to develop this rule.

Public Instruction
Subject

The rules affect ch. PI 22, relating to the minority group
pupil precollege scholarship program.
Objective of Rule

The objective of the rule is to change the scholarship
eligibility criteria from being a minority pupil to being an
economically disadvantaged pupil.
Policy Analysis

The rules relate to the criteria for the review and approval
of applications for underrepresented minority group pupil

precollege scholarships and must be modified accordingly.  If
the rules are not modified, ch. PI 22, will conflict with the
statutory language under s. 115.43, Stats.
Statutory Authority

Sections 115.43 and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.
Entities Affected by the Rule

Scholarships are awarded to eligible pupils and paid to the
enrolling institution of higher education.
Comparison with Federal Regulations

Not applicable.
Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

The amount of time needed for rule development by
department staff and the amount of other resources necessary
are indeterminable. The time needed to create the rule
language itself will be minimal. However, the time involved
with guiding the rule through the required rule promulgation
process is fairly significant. The rule process takes more than
six months to complete.

Public Instruction
Subject

The rule affects ch. PI 37, relating to grants for national
teacher certification.
Policy Analysis

2007 Wisconsin Act 20, the biennial budget bill, modified
s. 115.42, Stats., to allow teachers receiving master educator
licenses through the state process to receive the same grants
as those master educators receiving licenses through national
certification and to provide an incentive to grant recipients to
work in high poverty schools.

Specifically, Chapter PI 37, relating to Grants for National
Teacher Certification, must be modified to: 1) allow teachers
with a state master educator license to receive a grant under
the program, and 2) allow teachers with a state master
educator license or educators holding a national teacher
certification to receive $5,000 (rather than $2,500) if he or she
works in a school in which at least 60 percent of the pupils
enrolled are eligible for free or reduced−price lunch.
Statutory Authority

Sections 115.42 and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.
Entities Affected by the Rule

Teachers holding a Wisconsin master educator license or
educators holding a national teaching certificate.
Comparison with Federal Regulations

Not applicable.
Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

The amount of time needed for rule development by
department staff and the amount of other resources necessary
are indeterminable. The time needed to create the rule
language itself will be minimal. However, the time involved
with guiding the rule through the required rule promulgation
process is fairly significant. The rule process takes more than
six months to complete.

Public Instruction
Subject

The rules will create a new chapter relating to a competitive
grant program for the development of programs in science,
technology, engineering, and mathematics, and for the pupils
in those subjects.
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Policy Analysis

2007 Wisconsin Act 20, the biennial budget bill, created a
new competitive grant program under s. 115.28 (46), Stats.,
appropriating  $61,500 annually for school districts to: 1)
develop innovative instructional program in science,
technology, engineering and mathematics; 2) support pupils
who are typically underrepresented in these subjects; and 3)
increase the academic achievement of pupils in those
subjects.

Statutory Authority

Sections 115.28 (46) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.

Entities Affected by the Rule

School districts.

Comparison with Federal Regulations

Not applicable.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

The amount of time needed for rule development by
department staff and the amount of other resources necessary
are indeterminable. The time needed to create the rule
language itself will be minimal. However, the time involved
with guiding the rule through the required rule promulgation
process is fairly significant. The rule process takes more than
six months to complete.

Public Instruction

Subject

The rules will create a new chapter to create a grant
program for school districts, other than Milwaukee public
schools, to employ additional school nurses or contract for
additional nursing services.

Policy Analysis

Grants must be awarded based on greatest need such as the
ratio of pupils to nurses, rate of chronic health problems
among pupils, and number of pupils from low−income
families.  Recipients may not supplant existing nursing staff
or services and must submit a report to the department
describing how the school district used the money and its
effectiveness in providing additional nursing services to
pupils who need such services.

Statutory Authority

Sections 115.28 (47) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.

Entities Affected by the Rule

School districts, with the exception of Milwaukee public
schools.

Comparison with Federal Regulations

Not applicable.

Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

The amount of time needed for rule development by
department staff and the amount of other resources necessary
are indeterminable. The time needed to create the rule
language itself will be minimal. However, the time involved
with guiding the rule through the required rule promulgation
process is fairly significant. The rule process takes more than
six months to complete.

Public Instruction
Subject

The rules will create a new chapter relating to
four−year−old kindergarten grants.
Policy Analysis

Beginning in the 2008−09 school year, the Act
appropriated $3,000,000 and allows school boards to apply to
the department for a 2−year grant to implement a 4−year−old
kindergarten program.

In the first school year of the grant, the school board may
receive up to $3,000 for each 4−year−old kindergarten pupil;
in the succeeding school year, $1,500 per 4−year−old pupil.
If funds are insufficient, the department may prorate the
payments.

The department is required to promulgate rules for the
program and particularly to define ”community approaches to
early education” as school boards that use this approach must
receive preference in receiving funds.
Statutory Authority

Sections 115.445 and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.
Entities Affected by the Rule

School districts.
Comparison with Federal Regulations

Not applicable.
Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

The amount of time needed for rule development by
department staff and the amount of other resources necessary
are indeterminable. The time needed to create the rule
language itself will be minimal. However, the time involved
with guiding the rule through the required rule promulgation
process is fairly significant. The rule process takes more than
six months to complete.

Public Instruction
Subject

The rules will create a new chapter relating to grants for
school district consolidation.
Policy Analysis

The department may award a one−time grant to any
consortium (consisting of 2 or more school districts) in
2008−09 for school district consolidation studies.  Grants
awarded may not be more than $10,000 per consortium.  No
funds may be encumbered after June 30, 2009.

The consortium must submit a plan identifying the school
districts engaged in the study, the issues the study will address,
and how the grant funds will be expended.  School districts are
prohibited from being a member of more than one
consortium.  The department must give priority to
applications that demonstrate prior attempts to address
underlying issues associated with management and operation
of the school districts’ programs.  The grant recipient must
submit the results of the study to the department.
Statutory Authority

Section 9137(3k) of 2007 Wis. Act 20.
Entities Affected by the Rule

School districts.
Comparison with Federal Regulations

Not applicable.
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Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule
The amount of time needed for rule development by

department staff and the amount of other resources necessary
are indeterminable. The time needed to create the rule
language itself will be minimal. However, the time involved
with guiding the rule through the required rule promulgation
process is fairly significant. The rule process takes more than
six months to complete.

Transportation
Subject

The rule affects ch. Trans 178, relating to the unified carrier
registration system.
Objective of the Rule

2007 Wis. Act 20, the biennial budget, authorizes
Wisconsin DOT to participate in the multi−state Unified
Carrier Registration (UCR) system, in accordance with
provisions of federal law PL 109−59 and 49 CFR Part 367.
Act 20 authorizes DOT to establish by rule in Wisconsin,
consistent with federal law, an annual fee for a motor vehicle
that is operated in Wisconsin and is subject to UCR
registration.  This rule making, creating ch. Trans 178, adopts
and establishes the UCR fee structure that is established under
federal law and regulations.  Federal law dissolves the Single
State Registration System, resulting in lost revenue unless this
state participates in UCR.

Policy Analysis
Under federal law, the UCR Board sets the fees that apply

to all states.  Consistent with federal law, this rule making
adopts those fees to apply to Wisconsin based carriers.  Under
federal law and regulation, UCR registration is required of all
motor carriers, private motor carriers (not for−hire motor
carriers, which are termed “motor private carriers” in federal
law and regulations), freight forwarders, brokers, and leasing
companies.  Wisconsin collects fees from any such business
that designates Wisconsin as its base state for this purpose.
Statutory Authority

Section 194.407 (1), Stats., as created by 2007 Wis. Act 20.
Entities Affected by the Rule

All motor carriers, private motor carriers (called “motor
private carriers” in federal law and regulation), freight
forwarders, brokers, and leasing companies whose base state
for UCR purposes is Wisconsin are affected by this rule.
Comparison with Federal Regulations

This rule making is determined by, and consistent with,
federal law and regulation.  All terms and definitions used in
this rule are the same as those in federal regulations.  The fee
schedule is set by the UCR Board and established in federal
regulation by the USDOT.  The fee schedule is the same for
all affected carriers, regardless of their base state location.
Estimate of Time Needed to Develop the Rule

80 hours
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Submittal of Rules to Legislative Council Clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

On November 28, 2007, the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection submitted a proposed rule
to the Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The rule affects chs. ATCP 10, 12, and 17, relating to

animal health and disease control.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

Public hearings are scheduled for January 7, 8, and 10,
2008. The Animal Health Division is primarily responsible
for this rule.

Contact Person
Melissa Mace
(608) 224−4883

Insurance

On November 30, 2007, the Office of the Commissioner
of Insurance submitted a proposed rule to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
These changes will affect s. Ins 2.19, Wis. Adm. Code,

relating to sales of life insurance and annuities to the
military and affecting small business.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is scheduled for January 11, 2008.

Contact Person
A copy of the proposed rule may be obtained from the

Web site at: http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm  or by
contacting:

Inger Williams
Public Information and Communications
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
(608) 264−8110

For additional information, please contact:
Fred Nepple
OCI Legal Unit
(608) 266−7726
e−mail: fred.nepple@wisconsin.gov

Revenue
On December 3, 2007 the Wisconsin Department of

Revenue submitted a proposed rule to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The proposed rule amends s. Tax 8.63, relating to liquor
wholesaler warehouse facilities.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is scheduled for January 2, 2008.
Contact Person

If you have questions, please contact:
Dale Kleven
Income, Sales and Excise Tax Division
Telephone (608) 266−8253
E−mail dale.kleven@revenue.wi.gov
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Rule−Making Notices

Notice of Proposed Rulemaking
Administration

[CR 07−078]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 16.004

(1) and 16.957 (2) (c) 4., 5, and (4) (b), Stats., interpreting ss.
16.957 (1) to (4), Stats., and according to the procedure set
forth in s. 227.16 (2) (e), Stats., the Department of
Administration will adopt the following rule as proposed in
this notice, without a public hearing unless, within 30 days
after publication of this notice, on December 15, 2007, the
Department of Administration is petitioned for a public
hearing by 25 natural persons who will be affected by the rule;
by a municipality which will be affected by the rule; or by an
association which is representative of a farm, labor, business
or professional group which will be affected by the rule.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Administration

The Department of Administration proposes an order to
revise Chapter Adm 43, relating to non−municipal electric
utility low−income assistance fees.

Statutory Authority
Sections 16.004 (1), 16.957 (2) (c) 4. and 5., and (4) (b),

Stats.

Statutes Interpreted
Section 16.957 (1) to (4), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
Under s. 16.957 (2) (c) and (4) (b), Stats., the Department

of Administration is required to promulgate rules for state
low−income assistance programs.

Related statute or rule
None

Plain language analysis of proposed amendments
1999 Wisconsin Act 9 included major provisions relating

to aspects of electric utility regulation, commonly referred to
as “Reliability 2000.”  That legislation created a new statutory
framework within which public benefit programs relating to
low−income energy assistance and energy conservation and
renewable energy were continued and expanded.  Under ss.
16.957 (2) (c) and (4) (b), Stats., the Department of
Administration was directed to promulgate rules setting fees
to be collected by utilities from their customers, and
establishing requirements and procedures related to those
low−income and energy conservation programs.   2005
Wisconsin Act 141 revised many of the provisions of the
earlier Act 9 and transferred responsibility and funding for
energy conservation and renewable programs to
non−municipal electric utilities under supervision of the
Public Service Commission.  However, low income
assistance programs for non−municipal electric utility
customers were not changed and continue to be funded as they
have been and remain the responsibility of the Department of
Administration.  This rule revision makes the changes
necessary to comply with 2005 Wisconsin Act 141. It also
makes modifications to the procedure used to collect the
low−income assistance fee, to simplify provisions that have

proven cumbersome in practice, and to reflect realistic
deadlines for various steps in the procedure.

In numerous locations throughout the entire chapter Adm
43, the term “public benefits” has been replaced with a more
specific “low−income assistance”.

Proposed revision to s. Adm 43.03 (1) modifies the
definition of “amount invoiced” to clarify that the amount
determined by the Department and invoiced to the
non−municipal electric utilities is only an estimate of what the
Department believes can be collected from utility customers
under provisions of the statutes and this rule.

Proposed revision to s. Adm 43.04 (2) and (3) clarifies
language and removes the requirement to use the named data
sources to calculate the low−income assistance need, leaving
the choice of data source to the discretion of the Department
rather than specify a source that the department cannot assure
will always be available.  The removal of named data sources
is also incorporated into ss. Adm 43.05 and 43.06.

Proposed revision to s. Adm 43.05(4) adds a requirement
that the Department compare the calculated low−income
assistance program funding amounts to be collected to the
ability of each non−municipal electric utility to collect that
amount in consideration of the statutory 3% cap on each
customer’s utility bill under ss. 16.957 (4) (c) 3. and (5) (am).
If the calculated amount to be collected exceeds the amount
collectable under the cap, the department may reduce the
amount.

Proposed revision to s. Adm 43.06 changes the date, from
March 1 to April 1, by which the department must determine
the number of residential and non−residential customers used
to allocate the amount to be collected.  The same section also
changes the date, from March 1 to May 15, by which the
department must notify each non−municipal electric utility of
the amount to be collected and the calculations used to
determine that amount.

Proposed revision to s. Adm 43.07 removes the beginning
date for the low income assistance fee collection because the
date has already passed.  It also changes the date, from April
1 to June 1, by which the non−municipal electric utilities must
submit their plans to collect the amount determined for the
low−income assistance program.  Section Adm 43.07 (3)
reflects the statutorily mandated change in the identification
of the low−income assistance program on the utility customer
bill.  It is now known as “state low−income assistance fee”
rather than a “non−taxable customer charge.”  Section Adm
43.07 (8) moves back, from May 15 to June 20, the date by
which a non−municipal electric utility must file a modified
collection plan if the original is disapproved by the
department.

Section Adm 43.08 (3) is rewritten to simplify the
reconciliation of actually collected fees with the amount
originally estimated by the department.  The new requirement
applies only to residential collections.  Variations are to be
reflected by changes to the next year’s amount collected.  If
an under−collection would result in substantial harm to the
low−income programs the department may postpone the
change until the following reconciliation period. The ability
of a non−municipal electric utility to request of waiver of any
under−collected fee is removed under s. Adm 43.08 (3) (c).
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The requirement for an initial announcement of program
availability is removed from s. Adm 43.11 because that
announcement has already been made.  Further, a provision is
added to s. Adm 43.11 requiring the annual report of each
non−municipal electric utility to be submitted in an electronic
format specified by the department.

Comparison with federal regulations
No known existing or proposed federal regulations

comparable to the proposed rules.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states
None of the four states neighboring Wisconsin has created

a fee to fund low income energy assistance programs.
Consequently, there are no rules comparable to this one which
establishes a Wisconsin fee and procedures to calculate and
collect it.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

The proposed rules will have no effect on small businesses.
The proposed amendments revise terminology to comply
with 2005 Wisconsin Act 141.

Agency Contact Person
Donna Sorenson
Department of Administration
101 E. Wilson Street
Madison, WI  53707−7864
608−266−2887
Donna.Sorenson@Wisconsin.Gov

Submission of Written Comments
Comments may be submitted to the agency contact person

that is listed above and via the Wisconsin Administrative
Rules Website at http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov by January
15, 2008.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
Pursuant to s. 227.114, Stats., the rule amendments herein

are not expected to negatively impact on small businesses.
The rule will have no specific affect on small businesses.
Small businesses will no longer be required to pay the
efficiency portion of the “non−taxable fixed charge” currently
included with utility bills.  Rather, a comparable amount will
now be included in the regular electricity bill.  The State
Low−Income Assistance Fee, which represents the
low−income portion of the previous fee will appear on the
electric bill after July 1, 2007, but the fee itself is imposed on
all electric utility customers by s. 16.957(4), Stats.  The rule
does not establish any compliance or reporting requirements,
or performance standards for small businesses.

Fiscal Effect
None.

Text of Rule

SECTION 1. Chapter Adm 43 (title), Adm 43.01 and 43.02
are amended to read:

NON−MUNICIPAL ELECTRIC UTILITY PUBLIC
BENEFITS LOW INCOME ASSISTANCE FEE

Adm 43.01 Authority. Sections 16.004(1) and 16.957
(2)(c) and  (4)(b) Stats., authorize the department to
promulgate rules for non–municipal electric utility public
benefits low−income assistance fees.

Adm 43.02 Purpose. The purposes of this chapter are to
establish the public benefits low−income assistance fee to be

collected by each non–municipal electric utility from its
customers, and to provide procedures for collecting that fee.
SECTION 2.  Adm 43.03 (1), (15) and (16) are renumbered
Adm 40.03 (7m), (9g) and (9r), and amended to read:

Adm 43.03 Definitions. In this chapter:
(7m) “Amount Estimated invoiced amounts” means that

portion of the public benefits low−income assistance program
funding level that is approved and allocated annually
estimated by the department to be collectable by each
non–municipal electric utility to be collected from its
customers.

(9g) “Public benefits Low−income assistance fee” means
that portion of the amount invoiced determined by formula
that a non−municipal electric utility allocates to and collects
from a customer, and may include approved reasonable and
prudent expenses.

(9r) “Public benefits Low−income assistance program
funding level” means the total funds to be collected by all
electric providers annually under s. 16.957 (4) and (5), Stats.
SECTION 3. Adm 43.04 (2) and (3) are amended to read:

(2) Average annual income of low–income household data
shall be estimated by averaging using the annual income of all
households at or below 150% of the poverty threshold as
shown by the most recent data available on or before March
1 from the U.S. census bureau or the department’s
demographic services section.

(3) The number of low–income households shall be
estimated by totaling the number of households at or below
150% of the poverty threshold as shown by the most recent
data available on or before March 1 from the U.S. census
bureau or the department’s demographic services section.
SECTION 4.  Adm 43.05 is repealed and recreated to read:

Adm 43.05 Establishing the low−income assistance
program funding level. (1) Annually on or before March 1 the
department shall determine, in accordance with s. 16.957 (4)
and (5), Stats., the low−income assistance program funding
level for the following fiscal year.

(2) When establishing the low−income assistance program
funding level, the department shall determine the number of
residential and non–residential customers served by each
electric provider based on the most recent data available on or
before April 1.

(3) After establishing the low−income assistance program
funding level, the department, using the formulas provided in
s. 16.957 (4) (c) and (5), Stats., shall determine the portion of
the low−income assistance program funding level that the
non–municipal electric utilities shall collect each fiscal year.
The department shall allocate 70% of this portion to be
collected from residential customers and 30% to be collected
from non–residential customers.

(4) After determining the residential and non−residential
amounts to be collected, the department shall make a
determination as to the ability to collect the full amounts as
determined by the formula. The basis of the determination
shall be multiplying the most recent gross sales of the
non−municipal electric utilities by the cap of 3%.  If the
department determines that the result exceeds the
non−municipal electric utility’s ability to collect, the
department may reduce the amount to be collected to a level
the department believes can be collected.
SECTION 5. Adm 43.06 (1) and (2) (a) are amended to read:

Adm 43.06.  Allocating the amount invoiced.  (1)  The
department shall annually determine the number of
residential and non−residential customers for each
non−municipal electric utility based upon the most recent data
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available on or before March April 1 from the annual report
of major utilities, licensees and others filed with the federal
energy regulatory commission, or similar sources as
determined by the department.

(2) (a)  The department shall calculate the amount invoiced
to be collected by determining a residential component and a
non−residential component and adding those components
together.
SECTION 6.  Adm 43.06 (2) (d), (e) and (3) are amended to
read:

(d) In cooperation with the non–municipal electric utilities,
the department may adjust the estimated residential
component to minimize any inequities resulting from the
application of the restrictions in s. 16.957 (4) (c) 3., Stats., in
order to produce a more uniform public benefits low−income
assistance fee.  The adjustment process may change the
amount of the residential component allocated to a
non–municipal electric utility, but shall not change the total
residential component.

(e) In cooperation with the non–municipal electric utilities,
the department may adjust the estimated non–residential
component to minimize any inequities resulting from the
application of the restrictions in s. 16.957 (4) (c) 3., Stats., in
order to produce a more uniform public benefits low−income
assistance fee.  The adjustment process may change the
amount of the non–residential component allocated to a
non–municipal electric utility, but shall not change the total
non–residential component.

(3) The department shall provide all calculations and
related information in writing to each non–municipal electric
utility in the form of a single annual invoice notification on or
before March 1 May 15.  This documentation shall include an
itemization of the residential and non–residential components
based on the proportions prescribed in s. 16.957 (4) (b) 2.,
Stats.
SECTION 7. Adm 43.07, Adm 43.08 (title) and (1) are
amended to read:

Adm 43.07 Collecting the public benefits low−income
assistance fee. (1)  IMPLEMENTATION.  Implementation of the
public benefits fee collection plan shall begin in fiscal year
2001.  DEADLINES.  The department may, at its discretion,
modify any deadlines contained in this rule upon notification
to the appropriate affected parties.

(2) COLLECTION PLAN.  On or before April June 1, each
individual non–municipal electric utility shall submit a
collection plan and supporting documentation to the
department for collecting the following fiscal year’s amount
invoiced and for recovering reasonable and prudent expenses.
The public benefits low−income assistance fee collection plan
shall be based on the calculations and related information
provided by the department under s. Adm 43.06. Each
non–municipal electric utility shall submit documentation
that demonstrates its implementation plan and a budget of
expenses necessary to comply with the requirements in s.
Adm 43.09.

(3) CHARGES BILLED. Each customer bill that includes a
public benefits low−income assistance fee shall identify the
public benefits low−income assistance fee as a “non−taxable
fixed charge.” “state low−income assistance fee.”  All charges
relating to the cost of supplying electric service to a residential
or non–residential customer shall constitute the basis for
calculating the limit on customer bill increases specified in s.
16.957 (4) (c) 3., Stats.

(4) EQUITABLE ALLOCATION.  Each non–municipal electric
utility shall submit documentation with its public benefits

low−income assistance fee collection plan that demonstrates
that the amounts of the public benefits low−income assistance
fee it intends to bill its residential and non–residential
customers equitably allocates the amount constituting the
residential component among its residential customer classes,
and the amount constituting the non–residential component
among its non–residential customer classes. The amount of
the public benefits low−income assistance fee may vary
between customer classes, but shall be uniform within a
customer class, except for variations due to the maximum bill
increase restrictions in s. 16.957 (4) (c) 3., Stats.

(5) REQUEST FOR REBATE. A customer that pays one or more
bills to a single non–municipal electric utility for meters
located within that utility’s service territory, may present
documentation to and request relief from that non–municipal
electric utility if the public benefits low−income assistance
fees paid by the customer within that utility’s service territory,
when aggregated by the customer, exceed $750 in any month.
The non–municipal electric utility shall rebate that portion of
the public benefits low−income assistance fee that exceeds
$750 in any month. Any amount so rebated to a customer
under this provision shall be treated as an under–collection for
purposes of s. Adm 43.08 (3).

(6) DEPARTMENT REVIEW.  On or before May 1 June 10, the
department shall approve, modify, or deny each proposed
collection plan and notify each non–municipal electric utility
accordingly. The department shall provide reasons for a
denial or modification in writing. A non–municipal electric
utility may protest a denial or modification of its collection
plan under the procedures set forth in s. Adm 43.12.

(7) PLAN IMPLEMENTATION. Each non–municipal electric
utility shall implement an approved or modified public
benefits low−income assistance fee collection plan at the start
of the first monthly or periodic billing cycle of the following
fiscal year. A modified collection plan shall be implemented
even if a protest has been filed under s. Adm 43.12.

(8) DEPARTMENT DENIAL. (a) If the department denies a
proposed public benefits low−income assistance fee
collection plan, the non–municipal electric utility shall
resubmit a collection plan to the department on or before May
15 June 20 for the department’s approval even if a protest has
been filed under s. Adm 43.12.  A resubmitted collection plan
must address all comments and suggestions provided by the
department in its denial.

(b) If the department denies a resubmitted collection plan,
the non–municipal electric utility shall collaborate with the
department to prepare a collection plan acceptable to the
department. If the parties are unable to reach an agreement on
or before June 1 25, the department shall issue a collection
plan for the non–municipal electric utility to implement the
following fiscal year.

Adm 43.08 Payment and reconciliation of the public
benefits low−income assistance fee. (1) PAYMENT DUE DATES.
Each non–municipal electric utility shall make equal monthly
payments to the department of the estimated invoiced amount
invoiced, no later than the 15th day of each month. The first
payment of each fiscal year is due on the 15th day of the second
full month of the fiscal year.
SECTION 8. Adm 43.08 (3) (a) is repealed and recreated to
read:

(3) RECONCILIATION OF COLLECTED FEEs.  (a) The
department and each non−municipal electric utility shall at a
minimum, once per year reconcile actual residential
collections less total reasonable and prudent expenses
approved by the department, with estimated invoiced
amounts.  All collections that exceeded the estimated
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invoiced amounts will be collected through an adjustment to
the next invoice.  A non−municipal electric utility that
collected less than the estimated invoiced amount will receive
a credit to their next invoice in the amount of the under
collection.  In the event that overall collections are
significantly under the total estimated invoiced amount the
department may postpone crediting the following invoice
until the next reconciliation period if the department
determines substantial harm would be done to the operation
of the low−income programs.

SECTION 9. Adm 43.08 (3) (b) is amended to read:

(b) Once in any fiscal year, a non–municipal electric utility
may submit a written request to the department to adjust its
public benefits low−income assistance fee collection plan.
The request shall contain the current amount that has been
over–collected or under–collected and the amount that is
forecasted to be over–collected or under–collected for the
remainder of the fiscal year, the reasons for the differences
and the non–municipal electric utility’s proposed adjustments
to its approved public benefits low−income assistance fee
collection plan. The department shall indicate its approval or
disapproval of the proposed adjustments in writing within 30
days of receipt of the request.  The non–municipal electric
utility may implement the collection plan adjustment
immediately upon department approval.  If the department
does not approve a collection plan adjustment, the affected
non–municipal electric utility may protest under procedures
set forth in s. Adm 43.12.

SECTION 10. Adm 43.08 (1)(c) is repealed.

SECTION 11. Adm 43.08 (1) (d) is renumbered Adm 43.08
(1) (c) and as renumbered, is amended to read:

(c) The department shall adjust a non–municipal electric
utility’s public benefits low−income assistance fee collection
plan effective on the beginning of the fiscal year for which the
collection plan was submitted, upon a successful appeal filed
under s. Adm 43.12.

SECTION 12. Adm 43.08 (4) is amended to read:

(4) ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE AND UNCOLLECTIBLE ACCOUNTS.

A non–municipal electric utility’s reconciliation statement
may include an estimation of the uncollected amount of its
preceding year’s public benefits low−income assistance fee
that is recorded as an accounts receivable.  A non–municipal
electric utility’s reconciliation statement may also include an
estimated amount of its public benefits low−income
assistance fee that was recorded in a previous fiscal year as
accounts receivable and has been subsequently recognized as
uncollectible revenues. The cost of uncollectible revenues
may be included in a request for reasonable and prudent
expenses in s. Adm 43.09.

SECTION 13. Adm 43.09 (1) is amended to read:

Adm 43.09 Requesting approval for reasonable and
prudent expenses. (1) A non–municipal electric utility may
request recovery of reasonable and prudent expenses incurred
in the development and implementation of its public benefits
low−income assistance fee collection plan.  The request shall
be submitted in writing to the department for approval on or
before February 15. The request shall include an accounting
of actual costs for the previous calendar year. The
non–municipal electric utility may include approved
expenses in its public benefits low−income assistance fee
collection plan for the following fiscal year.

SECTION 14. Adm 43.09 (5) and Adm 43.10 (1) are amended
to read:

(5) A non–municipal electric utility shall document all
reasonable and prudent expenses it seeks to include in the
public benefits low−income assistance fee.

Adm 43.10 Voluntary contributions. (1) ANNUAL

OPPORTUNITY.  At least annually, each electric utility shall
provide its residential and non–residential customers an
opportunity to make voluntary contributions to the trust fund
established under s. 25.96, Stats., to fund their choice of
programs established in ss. 16.957 (2) (a) and (b) 1., Stats. An
electric utility shall provide the opportunity for its residential
and non–residential customers to make such voluntary
contributions by including an insert and return envelope in the
mailing containing the annual public benefits report required
by s. 16.957 (4) (am), Stats.  Each electric utility may provide
opportunities for its residential and non–residential
customers to make voluntary contributions to an energy
assistance fund administered by the electric utility at other
times and by other methods.
SECTION 15. Adm 43.11 (1) is repealed.

SECTION 16. Adm 43.11 (2), (3) and (4) are renumbered
Adm 43.11 (1), (2) and (3), and as renumbered, are amended
to read:

Adm 43.11 Reports and annual statements. (1) FINANCIAL

REPORT. No later than 60 days after the end of each fiscal year,
each non–municipal electric utility shall submit to the
department a complete financial report of its public benefits
low−income assistance fees. The report shall include a
complete explanation of the collection reconciliation and the
balance as of the end of the fiscal year, an assessment of the
implementation of its public benefits low−income assistance
fee collection plan, the amount collected by customer class,
and any other matter the department determines necessary.

(2) DEPARTMENT STATEMENT. The department shall provide
each non–municipal electric utility with an annual statement
within 120 days of the end of each fiscal year identifying the
total amount of the annual amount invoiced  to each
non–municipal electric utility, and describing the programs
for which the public benefits low−income assistance fees
were used.

(3) NON–MUNICIPAL ELECTRIC UTILITY  STATEMENT. Each
non–municipal electric utility shall distribute the
department’s annual statement to each of its residential and
non–residential customers. No non–municipal electric utility
may be required to provide an individual customer the
specific amount of public benefits low−income assistance
fees assessed to that customer when it distributes the
department’s annual statement.
SECTION 17. Adm 43.11 (4) is created to read:

(4) REPORTS IN ELECTRONIC FORMAt. Each non−municipal
electric utility shall submit the report in sub. (1), using an
electronic format specified by the department.
SECTION 18. Adm 43.12 (1) and (2) are amended to read:

Adm 43.12 Appeals. (1) RIGHT TO PROTEST. A
non–municipal electric utility that disputes the department’s
denial or modification of its proposed public benefits
low−income assistance fee collection plan, the denial of an
expense request, or the denial of a reconciliation statement
may protest to the department.  The non–municipal electric
utility shall serve the protest in writing on the administrator of
the department’s division of energy and public benefits within
15 days of the receipt of the department’s denial or
modification of the proposed public benefits low−income
assistance fee collection plan under s. Adm 43.07, the
reconciliation statement under s. Adm 43.08, or the expense
claim under s. Adm 43.09.
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(2) AUTHORITY TO RESOLVE PROTESTS. The administrator of
the department’s division of energy and public benefits shall
have the authority to settle and resolve any protest brought
under this subsection.  If the protest is not resolved by mutual
agreement, the division administrator shall promptly issue a
written decision to the protesting utility.

Notice of Proposed Rulemaking
Administration

[CR 07−079]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 16.004

(1) and 16.957 (2) (c) 2, Stats., interpreting ss. 16.957 (1) to
(4), Stats., and according to the procedure set forth in s. 227.16
(2) (e), Stats., the Department of Administration will adopt
the following rule as proposed in this notice, without a public
hearing unless, within 30 days after publication of this notice,
on December 15, 2007, the Department of Administration is
petitioned for a public hearing by 25 natural persons who will
be affected by the rule; by a municipality which will be
affected by the rule; or by an association which is
representative of a farm, labor, business or professional group
which will be affected by the rule.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Administration
The Department of Administration proposes an order to

amend Chapter Adm 45, relating to low income assistance
public benefits.
Statutory authority

Sections 16.004 (1), 16.957 (2) (c), and 227.11 Stats.
Statutes Interpreted

16.957 (1) to (4), Stats.
Explanation of agency authority

Under s. 16.957 (2) (c), Stats., the Department of
Administration is required to promulgate rules for state
low−income assistance programs.
Related statute or rule

None
Plain language analysis

1999 Wisconsin Act 9 included major provisions relating
to aspects of electric utility regulation, commonly referred to
as “Reliability 2000.”  That legislation created a new statutory
framework within which public benefit programs relating to
low−income energy assistance and energy conservation and
renewable energy were continued and expanded. 2005
Wisconsin Act 141 revised many of the provisions of the
earlier Act 9 and transferred responsibility and funding for
energy conservation and renewable programs to
non−municipal electric utilities under supervision of the
Public Service Commission.  However, low income
assistance programs for non−municipal electric utility
customers were not changed and continue to be funded as they
have been and remain the responsibility of the Department of
Administration.  The proposed rule revisions remove “public
benefits” terminology to clarify that the rule applies only to
the low−income assistance program in compliance with 2005
Wisconsin Act 141

The proposed amendments also change the term “secured
correctional facility” to “juvenile correctional facility” as
amended in 2005 Wisconsin Act 344 (s. 938.02(10p), Stats.).

Lastly, the amendment removes the requirement that the
department consult with the Council on Utility Public
Benefits prior to announcing new or continued low−income

assistance programs. This requirement is redundant to that
already stated in s. 16.957(2) intro., Stats.

Comparison with federal regulations
No known existing or proposed federal regulations

comparable to the proposed rules.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Each of the four states adjacent to Wisconsin operates
programs that provide assistance to low−income households
that face difficulty dealing with utility bills.  In general, these
programs implement federally mandated and funded
programs.  While the programs differ substantially between
states in the details of their structure, each has promulgated
rules governing the programs.
� Title 89 of the Illinois Administrative Code, Chapter 1,

Subchapter b, Part 109 addresses the low−income home
energy assistance program. Included in this rule are
subparts B & C which govern the energy assistance or bill
payment program and the weatherization program
respectively.

� Michigan Administrative Rule 400.7001 – 7049 governs
the “State Emergency Relief Program” which includes
provisions for assistance with utility charges.

� Iowa Administrative Code [427], Chapter 5 establishes
the eligibility, method of administration, and hearing and
appeals provision of the Weatherization Assistance
Program.  IAC [427] Chapter 10 establishes similar
provisions for the Low Income Energy Assistance
Program.  Additionally, Iowa has created the Affordable
Heating Program under IAC 427 Chapter 11 to provide
energy assistance in addition to the federal low income
energy assistance program for households whose incomes
falls below 110% of the federal poverty income guidelines
rather than the 150% limit for the Low Income Assistance
Program.

�  Minnesota Rule 3300.0800 – 3300.1900 establishes the
procedures for operation of the Minnesota weatherization
program.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies
The department relied on the following sources to draft the

proposed rules or to determine the impact on small
businesses:
� 2005 Wisconsin Act 141 transferred the energy assistance

and renewable energy responsibilities to the Public
Service Commission.  The proposed rule amendments
remove references to the “public benefits” programs to
comply with 2005 Wisconsin Act 141.  There are no new
reporting requirements or operational standards resulting
from the proposed rule amendments.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

The proposed rules will have no effect on small businesses.
The proposed amendments revise terminology to comply
with recent statutory changes.

Agency Contact Person
Donna Sorenson
Department of Administration
101 E. Wilson Street
Madison, WI  53707−7864
608−266−2887
Donna.Sorenson@Wisconsin.Gov

Submission of Written Comments
Comments may be submitted to the agency contact person

that is listed above and via the Wisconsin Administrative
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Rules website at http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov by January
15, 2008.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:

Pursuant to s. 227.114, Stats., the rule amendments herein
are not expected to negatively impact on small businesses.

Fiscal Effect

None.

Text of Rule

SECTION 1. Adm 45 (title), 45.01 and 45.02 are amended to
read:

LOW−INCOME ASSISTANCE PUBLIC BENEFITS
Adm 45.01 Authority. Sections 16.004 (1) and 16.957 (2)

(c) 2., Stats., authorize the department to promulgate rules for
low−income assistance public benefits programs.

Adm 45.02 Purpose. The purpose of this chapter is to
establish general eligibility and application requirements and
procedures for assistance under a low−income public benefits
assistance program established under s. 16.957 (2) (a), Stats.

SECTION 2.  Adm 45.03(2) and (3) are amended to read:
45.03 (2) “Benefit” means an award of financial or other

assistance by the department or a contractor designated by the
department to an eligible household under a public benefits
low−income assistance program.

45.03 (3) “Contractor” means a community action agency
described in s. 46.30 (2) (a) 1., Stats., a nonstock, nonprofit
corporation organized under ch. 181, Stats., or a local unit of
government under contract with the department that provides
services under a public benefits low−income assistance
program.

SECTION 3.  Adm 45.03 (6) is amended to read:
45.03 (6) “Low income public benefits assistance

program” means a program established in accordance with s.
16.957 (2) (a), Stats.

SECTION 4. Adm 45.03 (9) is amended to read:
45.03 (9)  “Secured Juvenile correctional facility” has the

meaning specified in s. 938.02(15m) (10p), Stats.

SECTION 5.  Adm 45.04 (1) and (2) are amended to read:
Adm 45.04 Eligibility requirements. (1) A person or

household eligible to receive fuel bill payment assistance,
early identification crisis assistance, weatherization or
conservation services, and similar low−income assistance
from federally funded programs specified in ss. 16.26 and
16.27, Stats., shall be eligible for assistance through a
low−income public benefits assistance program.

45.04 (2) The following are not eligible for assistance
under a low−income public benefits assistance program:

SECTION 6.  Adm 45.04 (2) (b) is amended to read:
45.04 (2) (b)  A person who is imprisoned in a state prison

or a person placed at a secure juvenile correctional facility or
a secured child caring institution.

SECTION 7.  Adm 45.05 and 45.06 (1) are amended to read:
Adm 45.05 Program elements. In consultation with the

council on utility public benefits, the The department shall
annually announce new or continued programs offered by the
department that will provide low−income assistance.  The
department shall also provide specific information on the
application process, where to obtain an application, the
eligibility criteria, and where to file the application for each
program created or continued under s. 16.957 (2) (a), Stats.

Adm 45.06 Application requirements. (1) A person or
household may apply for a benefit from a low−income public
benefits assistance program by completing an application on
forms prescribed by the department.  At a minimum an
application shall contain the names and ages of all household
members, residence address, actual or estimated fuel use,
documentation of income, the names of home energy
providers and the social security number of the
head−of−household.

Notice of Proposed Rulemaking
Administration

[CR 07−080]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that under 2005 Wisconsin

Act 141, the Department of Administration proposes to repeal
Chapter Adm 44 of the Wisconsin Administrative Code
relating to energy conservation and efficiency and renewable
resource programs.  Because the repeal of Ch. Adm 44 is in
conformity with 2005 Wisconsin Act 141, the Department,
under s. 227.16 (2) (b), will not hold a public hearing
concerning this matter.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Administration
Plain language analysis

2005 Wisconsin Act 141 amended s. 16.957, Stats., to
exclude energy conservation and efficiency and renewable
resource programs from Department duties effective July 1,
2007.  The proposed elimination of Chapter Adm 44 complies
with 2005 Wisconsin Act 141 that transferred all the
responsibilities governed by the rule to the Public Service
Commission effective July 1, 2007. Separately, the Public
Service Commission has developed a rule to fulfill its new
responsibilities.  The proposed rule repeal brings an existing
rule into conformity with a statute that has been changed to no
longer require the Department’s involvement in the energy
conservation and efficiency and renewal resource programs.
Therefore, pursuant to s. 227.16(2)(b), Stats., the Department
will not hold public hearings regarding this rule.
Comparison with federal regulations

No known existing or proposed federal regulations
comparable to the proposed rules.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Each of the four states adjacent to Wisconsin operates
energy efficiency and renewable energy programs, albeit with
substantial variation in strategies and methods.
� The Minnesota Department of Commerce operates the

“conservation improvement program” under Minnesota
Rule, Chapter 7690.  This rule specifies the “procedures
to be followed by public utilities in submitting, and by the
department [of Commerce] in analyzing and selecting,
proposals for conservation improvement programs and to
provide for the participation of other interested persons in
developing conservation improvement programs.”
Minnesota Rule, Chapter 7635 establishes the
requirements for “Major regulated utilities to offer their
residential utility customers services related to the
promotion of energy conservation.”  This is similar to the
Wisconsin system, effective July 2007, that requires
utilities to develop and deliver energy efficiency and
renewable energy programs subject to oversight by a state
agency.

� The Iowa Utilities Board, under the Iowa Department of
Commerce, oversees energy efficiency and renewable
programs under several administrative rules.  The Iowa
Administrative Code (IAC) [199] Chapter 28 – Iowa
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Supplemental Energy Conservation Plan covers a
voluntary plan for the “small− to medium−sized energy
suppliers.”  IAC [199] Chapter 35 provides
implementation governance for gas and electric utilities
required by statute to be rate−regulated and to provide the
(Iowa Utilities) board the necessary information to review
each utilities assessment of potential, to develop specific
capacity and energy savings performance standards for
each utility and to evaluate the appropriateness of each
utility’s energy efficiency plan.  IAC [199] Chapter 36
requires that “Each non−rate regulated gas and electric
utility shall file energy efficiency plans…”  Lastly, IAC
[565] Chapter 18 establishes the State Energy Program
under the Environmental Services Division of the
Department of Natural Resources.

� The Michigan Low Income and Energy Efficiency Fund
is overseen by the Michigan Public Service Commission
in the Department of Labor and Economic Growth,
generally through Commission orders.  Funding is
through the utility rate base.  Michigan Rule 460.2401 –
2414 provides standards to be followed by public utilities
that choose to deliver residential conservation programs.
Unlike Wisconsin, Michigan does not mandate that the
state’s utilities provide energy efficiency programs.

� The Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic
Development operates energy efficiency and renewable
energy programs in that state. There are no rules
governing the efficiency programs.   Illinois Admin. Code
Title 86 Revenue, Part 517 provides rules by which the
Department of Revenue collects a Renewable Energy
Resources and Coal Technology Development Assistance
Charge.  Half of this charge is used to fund a Renewable
Energy Resources Trust Fund administered by the
Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity.
Illinois Administrative Code Title 32, Energy, Chapter 1,
Part 130 covers the Illinois Renewable Fuels
Development Program.

Agency Contact Person
Donna Sorenson
Department of Administration
101 E. Wilson Street
Madison, WI  53707−7864
608−266−2887
Donna.Sorenson@Wisconsin.Gov

Submission of Written Comments

Comments may be submitted to the agency contact person
listed above and via the Wisconsin Administrative Rules
Website at http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov by January 15,
2008.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

Pursuant to s. 227.114, Stats., the repeal of this rule is not
expected to negatively impact on small businesses.  A similar
set of energy conservation and efficiency and renewable
resource programs will be maintained by non−municipal
electric utilities with oversight by the Public Service
Commission, with no break in service to customers or small
businesses.

Fiscal Effect

None

Text of Rule

SECTION 1.  Chapter Adm 44 is repealed.

Notice of Hearings
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

[CR 07−107]
The State of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade

and Consumer Protection (DATCP) announces that it will
hold public hearings on a proposed amendment to chapters
ATCP 10, 12, and 17, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to animal
health and disease control.

Hearing Information

Monday, January 7, 2008
6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Fox Valley Technical College
1825 N. Bluemound Drive, Room C140
Appleton, WI 54912

Tuesday, January 8, 2008
6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
2811 Agriculture Drive
1st Floor − Rm. 106 (Boardroom)
Madison, Wisconsin  53718

Thursday January 10, 2008
6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Dept. of Natural Resources West Central Region

Headquarters
1300 W. Clairemont Avenue – Room 158
Eau Claire, WI 54701

Hearing impaired persons may request an interpreter for
these hearings.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by December 19, 2007, by writing to Melissa
Mace, Division of Animal Health, P.O. Box 8911, Madison,
WI 53708−8911, telephone (608) 224−4883.  Alternatively,
you may contact the DATCP TDD at (608) 224−5058.
Handicap access is available at the hearings.

Written Comments
DATCP invites the public to attend the hearings and

comment on the proposed rule.  Following the public
hearings, the hearing record will remain open until Friday,
January 25 for additional written comments.  Comments may
be sent to the Division of Animal Health at the address below,
by email to Melissa.mace@wisconsin.gov or online at:
  https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home

To provide comments or concerns relating to small
business, please contact DATCP’s small business regulatory
coordinator Keeley Moll at the address above, by emailing to
Keeley.Moll@wisconsin.gov or by telephone at (608)
224−5039.

Copy of Rule
You may obtain a free copy of this rule by contacting the

Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection, Division of Animal Health, 2811 Agriculture
Drive, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708.  You can also
obtain a copy by calling (608) 224−4883 or emailing
Melissa.mace@wisconsin.gov.  Copies will also be available
at the hearings.  To view the proposed rule online, go to:

https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection

This rule modifies Wisconsin animal health and disease
control rules.  Among other things, this rule:
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� Establishes new rules related to viral hemorrhagic
septicemia (VHS) in fish, and simplifies registration of
fish farms.  DATCP has adopted temporary emergency
VHS rules, which this rule would make “permanent.”

� Modifies current rules related to farm−raised deer,
including rules related to herd registration, disease
control, imports, movement and condemnation.  Changes
are consistent with proposed federal rules.

� Modifies current rules related to cattle, including rules
related to voluntary Johne’s disease testing and
classification, tuberculosis import testing, and imports of
cattle originating from Mexico.

� Modifies current rules related to poultry imports and
enrollment in the national poultry improvement program.

� Modifies current rules related to animal markets, dealers
and truckers.

� Modifies current rules related to Wisconsin’s livestock
premises registration program.  This rule makes it easier
to register, and extends the current annual registration
period to 3 years.

� Clarifies current disease indemnity appraisal procedures.
� Makes minor drafting changes to update, clarify and

correct current rules.

Statutory Authority
Sections 93.07 (1) and (10), 95.18, 95.19 (3), 95.197 (2),

95.20, 95.22(2), 95.32 (5), 95.38 (3), 95.45 (4) (c) and (5),
95.51 (7), 95.55 (6), 95.57 (1), 95.60 (3), (4) (c) and (4s),
95.65 (2), 95.68 (8), 95.69 (8) and 95.71 (8), Stats.

Statutes interpreted
Sections 93.07 (10), 95.18, 95.19, 95.197, 95.20, 95.22,

95.23, 95.32, 95.36, 95.38, 95.45, 95.51, 95.55, 95.57, 95.60,
95.65, 95.68, 95.69 and 95.71, Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
DATCP has broad general authority to adopt rules

interpreting statutes under its jurisdiction (see s. 93.07(1),
Stats.).  DATCP is specifically authorized to adopt rules to
protect the health of animals in this state, and to prevent,
control and eradicate communicable diseases among animals.

Rule contents
The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and

Consumer Protection (DATCP) administers Wisconsin’s
animal health and disease control program.  This rule
modifies current DATCP rules under chs. ATCP 10 (animal
diseases and movement), ATCP 12 (animal markets, dealers
and truckers) and ATCP 17 (livestock premises registration).

Fish

Fish Farm Registration

This rule allows a fish farm operator to register 2 or more
fish farms under a single annual registration certificate (under
current rules, a separate registration certificate is required for
each fish farm).  A single registration certificate may cover
both type 1 and type 2 fish farms.  The registration certificate
must identify each fish farm location, and must indicate
whether that location is registered as a type 1 or type 2 fish
farm.  As under current rules, the operator must pay annual
fees based on the number and types of fish farms registered
(this rule does not change current fees).

This rule clarifies that fish may be moved between type 2
fish farms registered to the same operator, or from a type 2 to
a type 1 fish farm registered by the same operator, without a
fish health certificate.  Under this rule, as under current rules,

the fish farm operator must keep complete records of the fish
movement.
VHS Test Reports

Under this rule, a veterinarian who tests fish in this state for
viral hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS) must report the test
result to DATCP, regardless of whether the test result is
positive or negative.
VHS Testing Requirements

Current DATCP rules require health certificates for all of
the following:
� Fish and fish eggs (including bait) imported into the state.
� Fish and fish eggs stocked into Wisconsin public waters.
� Fish and fish eggs moved between Wisconsin fish farms.

Under current rules, import health certificates must include
VHS testing if the import shipment includes salmonids
(salmon, trout, etc.) or originates from a state or province
where VHS is known to occur.  VHS testing is not currently
required for any of the following:
� Fish or fish eggs stocked into Wisconsin public waters

from Wisconsin sources.
� Bait fish or fish eggs originating from Wisconsin sources.
� Fish or fish eggs moved between Wisconsin fish farms.
� Non−salmonids imported from states (such as Minnesota)

where VHS has not yet been found.
This rule expands current VHS testing requirements.

Under this rule, a fish health certificate and VHS testing are
required for all of the following fish and fish eggs if they are
of a known VHS−susceptible species identified by the United
States department of agriculture (USDA) and were either (1)
collected from a wild source in any state within the preceding
12 months, or (2) kept on a fish farm that received fish or fish
eggs of any species collected from a wild source in any state
within the preceding 12 months:
� Fish or fish eggs stocked into Wisconsin public waters.
� Fish or fish eggs moved between Wisconsin fish farms.
� Fish or fish eggs distributed by a bait dealer for use as bait.

The bait fish testing requirement will initially apply to
emerald shiners (a known VHS−susceptible species), but
will not initially apply to other major bait species such as
fathead minnows, white suckers and golden shiners
(which are not yet known to be VHS−susceptible).
However, it could eventually apply to other species if
USDA finds that those species are also VHS−susceptible.
A retail bait dealer is not required to conduct duplicate
tests on fish previously tested by a wholesale bait dealer.

This rule also prohibits any person from selling bait fish of
any kind if the seller has reason to know that the bait is affected
with VHS or another reportable disease.
Operators Moving Fish Between Their Own Fish Farms

This rule clarifies that VHS and other routine disease
testing requirements do not apply when operators (including
DNR) are moving fish or fish eggs between their own
registered fish farms.  However, current DATCP rules
continue to prohibit such movement if the operator knows or
has reason to know that the fish or fish eggs are affected with
a reportable disease such as VHS.  DATCP may also issue
quarantine and other disease control orders to individual fish
farm operators, as necessary.
Registrant Responsibility

This rule clarifies that a person who registers a fish farm is
responsible for ensuring that fish farm operations comply
with DATCP rules.  However, this rule does not relieve other
persons of liability for rule violations that they commit.
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Farm−Raised Deer

Chronic Wasting Disease Test Reports

Under this rule, a veterinarian who tests a farm−raised deer
in this state for chronic wasting disease must report the test
result to DATCP, regardless of whether the test result is
positive or negative.

Herd Registration; General

Under current rules, no person may keep farm−raised deer
at any location in this state unless DATCP has issued a current
annual registration certificate authorizing that person to keep
farm−raised deer at that location.  An annual registration
certificate currently expires on December 31 of each year.
This rule changes the annual expiration date to March 15,
beginning with the first registration year beginning after the
effective date of this rule.

One Registered Herd Kept at 2 or More Locations

This rule clarifies that a person may keep farm−raised deer
at 2 or more locations identified in a single herd registration
certificate, subject to the following conditions:
� All of the herd locations must be actively enrolled in

Wisconsin’s chronic wasting disease status program.

� The registrant may move farm−raised deer between
locations identified in the herd registration certificate
without a certificate of veterinary inspection if all of the
following apply:

� Those farm−raised deer are identified with official
individual identification.

� The registrant keeps a detailed record of the
movement.

� All farm−raised deer covered by the registration
certificate will be treated as members of a single herd, for
purposes of disease control and movement.

Two or More Registered Herds Kept at One Location

Under this rule, separately−registered farm−raised deer
herds may be kept at the same location (even if they are owned
by different persons) subject to the following conditions:
� If the herds are “medically separated,” each herd is

considered a separate herd for purposes of disease control,
movement, and enrollment in Wisconsin’s chronic
wasting disease status program.  Farm−raised deer moved
between any of the medically separated herds must be
accompanied by a certificate of veterinary inspection, and
registrants must keep a detailed record of each movement.

� If the herds are not medically separated:

� All of the farm−raised deer covered by the herd
registrations are collectively treated as a single herd
for purposes of disease control and movement,
regardless of location or ownership, and regardless of
whether they are part of the same registered herd.

� Farm−raised deer may be moved between any of the
herd locations identified on any of the herd
registration certificates, without a certificate of
veterinary inspection, provided that they are identified
with official individual identification.  Registrants
must keep detailed records of the movements.

� All of the herds, including all locations covered by the
herd registration certificates, must be actively enrolled
in Wisconsin’s chronic wasting disease status
program.

� Herds are “medically separated,” for purposes of this rule,
if all of the following apply:

� They are separated by a double fence meeting
Department of Natural Resources (DNR) standards or,
in the case of farm−raised deer other than white−tailed
deer, by a functionally equivalent barrier approved by
DATCP.

� Bio−security procedures effectively prevent disease
transmission between the herds.

� The department inspects each shared herd location,
and finds that the herds are “medically separated.”  There
is an inspection fee of $150 (no change from current rules).

Chronic Wasting Disease Tests
Under current rules, a farm−raised deer keeper must have

a chronic wasting disease test performed on every
farm−raised deer at least 16 months old that dies in captivity,
or is killed or sent to slaughter (the test sample must be sent
to an approved laboratory within 10 days after it is collected).
Under this rule, testing is required for deer at least 8 months
old that meet the same criteria.  Under this rule, a test sample
must be collected within 10 days after the animal dies, or is
killed or slaughtered (or within 10 days after the death is first
discovered).  Under this rule as under the current rules, the test
sample must be sent to an approved laboratory within 10 days
after it is collected.
Condemnation of Farm−Raised Deer

This rule clarifies current rules related to DATCP
condemnation of diseased or suspect farm−raised deer.  Under
this rule, a condemnation order may do all of the following:
� Specify a reasonable deadline for destruction of the

condemned animals.
� Direct appropriate disease testing and disposition of the

carcasses.
� Require the herd owner or custodian to enter into a

“premises plan” as a condition to the payment of state
indemnities.  The “premises plan” may require the herd
owner or custodian to clean and disinfect the herd
premises, limit future cervid movement to and from the
premises, or comply with other requirements that are
reasonably designed to prevent the spread of disease.  A
“premises plan” may include a restrictive covenant, such
as a fence maintenance requirement, that is binding on
subsequent property owners for the duration of the
agreement.

Under current rules, the owner of condemned farm−raised
deer may apply for state indemnity payments.  Under this rule,
an application for indemnity payments must include proof of
compliance with DATCP’s condemnation order.
Chronic Wasting Disease Herd Status Program; Annual
Census

Under current rules, no person may move farm−raised deer
from a herd in this state unless the herd is enrolled in
Wisconsin’s chronic wasting disease herd status program.
Enrollees must, among other things, submit an annual herd
census to DATCP.  Among other things, an annual herd census
must report the number, species and sex of animals that have
left the herd since the last annual census, and how those
animals left the herd.  Under this rule, an annual herd census
must also include:
� A report of apparent escapes, including approximate

escape dates and circumstances, and steps taken to prevent
recurring escapes.

� An explanation and accounting for overall changes in herd
population since the last annual census.

� Census verification by a Wisconsin certified veterinarian
if required by the department.
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White−tailed Deer Herd; Fence Certificate

Under current law, fences for farm−raised white−tailed
deer herds must be approved by DNR, and must comply with
DNR rules.  Under this rule, a person applying for a DATCP
registration certificate to keep white−tailed deer must include,
with the application, a copy of a valid DNR fence certificate
for each registered location.

Hunting Preserves

Under current law, a person operating a farm−raised deer
hunting preserve must hold a hunting preserve registration
certificate from DATCP (a certificate is valid for 10 years).
Current rules spell out hunting preserve registration standards
and application requirements.  Under this rule, an application
must also include all of the following:
� An estimate of the farm−raised deer population on the

hunting preserve premises, by species, age and sex.

� The identification numbers of any farm−raised deer on the
hunting preserve that bear identification numbers.

Under this rule, all non−natural additions to a hunting
preserve must have 2 forms of official individual
identification, one visible and one implanted.

Disease−Free Certification of Farm−Raised Deer

Under current rules, DATCP may certify a herd of
farm−raised deer as brucellosis−free or tuberculosis−free, or
both, based on herd test results provided by the herd owner.
Participation is voluntary, but disease−free herd certification
facilitates the sale and movement of farm−raised deer.  Herd
certification is generally governed by federal rules (uniform
methods and rules) that DATCP has incorporated by reference
in its rules.

Under current federal rules, tuberculosis−free herd
certification is good for 3 years, while brucellosis−free herd
certification is good for only 2 years.  USDA proposes to
harmonize the certification terms, but has not yet adopted the
necessary rule changes.  USDA has authorized DATCP to
harmonize the terms by state rule.

This rule extends brucellosis−free herd certification from
2 years to 3 years (a herd owner may request a shorter term),
consistent with tuberculosis−free herd certification.  That will
allow herd owners to conduct simultaneous tests for both
diseases.  Simultaneous testing will reduce testing costs and
limit stress on tested deer.

This rule also clarifies that DATCP may transfer a herd
certification to new herd owner, or grant equivalent
certification status to a new herd created from an existing
certified herd, if the herd meets certification standards and the
owner applies for certification within 90 days.

Tuberculosis in Farm−Raised Deer

Under current rules, a farm−raised deer must be
slaughtered within 15 days if it is found to be a tuberculosis
reactor, except that DATCP may extend the slaughter deadline
by up to 15 days.  Under this rule, DATCP may extend the
slaughter deadline by up to 30 days.

Importing Farm−Raised Deer

Farm−raised deer imported to this state must meet
standards specified in current rules.  Among other things, the
imported animal must meet one of several alternative
requirements related to tuberculosis status.  This rule modifies
current import standards, based on current federal standards
for interstate movement.  This rule eliminates current
requirements for post−import testing.

Moving Farm−Raised Deer Within Wisconsin
Farm−raised deer moved between separately registered

herds in this state must meet standards specified in current
rules.  Among other things, the farm−raised deer must meet
one of several alternative requirements related to tuberculosis
status.  Under one alternative, a farm−raised deer may qualify
for movement if it tests negative on 2 tuberculosis tests, where
the second test is performed within 360 days prior to
movement.  Under this rule, the second test must be conducted
within 90 days prior to movement.

Under this rule, a farm−raised deer may not be moved
between separately registered herds in this state unless it has
been enrolled in Wisconsin’s chronic wasting disease status
program for at least 5 years.  If the source herd is located in
a DNR wild deer chronic wasting disease eradication zone, it
must have been enclosed by a DATCP−approved double fence
for at least 5 years.

Cattle
Johne’s Disease Testing and Herd Classification

DATCP currently administers a voluntary herd testing and
classification program related to Johne’s disease in cattle.
Herd testing and classification is conducted according to
federal standards adopted by the United States department of
agriculture (USDA).  This rule incorporates the latest version
(2006) of the USDA standards.

Under current rules, Johne’s disease test samples must be
collected by an accredited veterinarian, by an individual
working under direct supervision of an accredited
veterinarian who submits the sample for testing, or by an
authorized DATCP or USDA employee or agent.  Under this
rule, a milk sample for Johne’s disease testing may also be
collected by a Dairy Herd Improvement Association (DHIA)
authorized technician.
Imported Cattle and Bison; TB Test Exemption

Current rules exempt imported bovine animals (cattle and
bison) from the requirement of a pre−import tuberculosis test
if the animals originate from a state that USDA has classified
as “TB−free” if that state accepts Wisconsin animals without
a TB test.  Under this rule, the exemption does not apply if the
state of origin has a confirmed TB−positive herd, until that
herd is depopulated and all epidemiologically linked herds
have tested negative for TB.
Cattle and Bison from Mexico

Under this rule, no person may import an “M−branded”
bovine animal (cattle or bison) to this state, except directly to
slaughter.  “M−branded” animals are animals branded with
the letter “M” to signify that they have been imported from
Mexico.

Poultry
National Poultry Improvement Plan Enrollment

Under current rules, a poultry flock owner may enroll the
flock in the national poultry improvement program (DATCP
administers the program in this state).  Enrollment facilitates
the sale and movement of poultry.  Under this rule, a flock may
not be enrolled in the program unless the flock premises have
been registered under Wisconsin’s livestock premises
registration program (the premises ID number must be
included on the enrollment application).
Poultry Imports

Under current rules, poultry may not be imported to
Wisconsin unless they are accompanied by a valid certificate
of veterinary inspection that certifies all of the following:
� They originate from flocks enrolled in the national poultry

improvement plan.
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� They originate from flocks classified as “U.S.
pullorum−typhoid clean” and, in the case of turkeys and
turkey eggs, “Mycoplasma gallisepticum clean” under the
national poultry improvement plan.

This rule changes current poultry import requirements.
Under this rule, poultry may not be imported to Wisconsin
unless they are accompanied by a valid certificate of
veterinary inspection that certifies at least one of the
following:
� They originate from flocks enrolled in the national poultry

improvement plan.
� They originate from flocks classified as “U.S.

pullorum−typhoid clean” and, in the case of turkeys and
turkey eggs, “Mycoplasma gallisepticum clean” under the
national poultry improvement plan or under an equivalent
plan approved by DATCP.

� All test eligible birds have tested negative for pullorum,
fowl typhoid and, in the case of turkeys, Mycoplasma
gallisepticum within 90 days prior to import.  Tested birds
must bear official individual identification, and there may
be no change of ownership between the test sampling date
and the import date.

Llamas and Alpacas
Under this rule, a llama or alpaca imported to Wisconsin

must be accompanied by a certificate of veterinary inspection
that includes the official individual identification of the llama
or alpaca.

Animal Markets
General

This rule does all of the following:
� Eliminates the current requirement for animal market

operators to pass a test before being initially licensed by
DATCP.

� Requires animal market operators to transport and handle
animals in a safe and humane manner.

� Clarifies animal transport vehicle registration
requirements.

� Requires animal market operators to record the official
individual identification of goats that bear official
individual identification.

� Requires animal market operators to record the livestock
premises code, if any, of each premises from which the
operator receives or to which the operator ships livestock.

Federally Approved Livestock Import Markets
Under current rules, certain livestock imported to a

federally−approved livestock import market in this state are
exempt from Wisconsin import requirements, provided that
they meet those requirements before leaving the market.
Under this rule, before the animals leave the market, the
market operator must also disclose the animals’ state of origin
to the animal purchaser.

Animal Dealers
This rule does all of the following:

� Eliminates the current requirement for animal dealers to
pass a test before being initially licensed by DATCP.

� Requires animal dealers to transport and handle animals
in a safe and humane manner.

� Clarifies animal transport vehicle registration
requirements.

� Requires animal dealers to record the official individual
identification of goats.

� Requires animal dealers to record the livestock premises
code, if any, of each premises from which the dealer
receives or to which the dealer ships livestock.

Animal Truckers
This rule does all of the following:

� Eliminates the current requirement for animal truckers to
pass a test before being initially licensed by DATCP.

� Eliminates the current license exemption for animal
truckers that haul animals for other persons fewer than 6
times per license year.

� Requires animal truckers to transport and handle animals
in a safe and humane manner.

� Clarifies animal transport vehicle registration
requirements.

� Requires animal truckers to record the livestock premises
code, if any, of each premises from which the trucker
receives or to which the trucker ships livestock.

Slaughter Establishments
Under current rules, no person may remove livestock from

a slaughter establishment after the animal has been weighed
and purchased by the slaughter establishment.  Under this
rule, no person may remove livestock after they have been
off−loaded at the slaughter establishment.

Disease Indemnities
Under current law, DATCP may condemn and order the

destruction of animals to prevent the spread of serious
diseases.  In some cases, the owner of the diseased animals
may be eligible for state indemnity payments.  Under this rule,
if the owner of a diseased animal is eligible for state
indemnities, and if the animal is of a type not frequently sold
at public auction, DATCP must appoint a knowledgeable
independent appraiser to determine the value of the animal.
The appraiser must determine appraised value based on the
animal’s size, species, sex, and grade or quality, and by
relevant information related to prevailing market prices for
animals of that size, species, sex, and grade or quality.

Prohibited Practices
This rule prohibits any person from selling, moving or

disposing of an animal before the result of a disease test of that
animal is known, if that disease test is required by law prior
to the sale, movement or disposition.

Livestock Premises Registration
Registration Renewal Period

Under current law, a person keeping livestock in this state
must register each location where those livestock are kept.
“Livestock” includes bovine animals, equine animals, goats,
poultry, sheep, swine other than wild hogs, farm−raised deer,
captive game birds, camelids, ratites and fish.  Under current
DATCP rules, a person must renew a livestock premises
registration every year.  This rule extends the current renewal
period.  Under this rule, a person will only be required to
renew once every 3 years.
Who May Register

Under current rules, if person A feeds and cares for
livestock owned by person B, on premises owned by person
C, any of those persons may register the premises (the others
need not).  However, if the premises are part of an operation
(such a dairy farm) that DATCP licenses under other
applicable law, current rules provide that only the license
holder may register the premises.  This rule eliminates that
restriction, so that any eligible person (including, but not
limited to, the license holder) may register the premises.  This
rule retains a current rule provision which allows an applicant
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for an initial license (such as an initial dairy farm license) to
register the livestock premises as part of that initial license
application.
DATCP May Register Premises if Operator Does Not

This rule authorizes DATCP to register livestock premises,
or renew a premises registration, on behalf of an operator that
fails to do so.  For example, DATCP could register livestock
premises on behalf of operators who may have religious
objections to registering themselves.  Before DATCP
registers any premises on behalf of any person, DATCP must
notify that person of the person’s duty to register and of
DATCP’s intent to register on that person’s behalf.
Registration by DATCP does not relieve the person of any
penalties or liability that may apply as a result of the person’s
failure to register the livestock premises.
Other Changes

This rule makes a number of other minor drafting changes
designed to update, clarify and correct current rules.
Comparison with federal regulations

DATCP administers animal disease control programs in
cooperation with USDA.  USDA has well−established control
programs for historically important diseases such as
tuberculosis and brucellosis.  Federal rules for these programs
spell out standards for disease testing, disease control,
international and interstate movement of animals, certifying
the disease status of states, and certifying the disease status of
individual herds.

USDA operates national veterinary diagnostic
laboratories, and coordinates multi−state responses to major
disease epidemics.   USDA exercises disease control
authority, including quarantine and condemnation authority,
and provides funding for indemnity payments to certain
owners of condemned animals.  USDA operates state and
regional offices, and coordinates field operations with states.

USDA has less well−developed programs for new or
localized diseases, or emerging animal−based industries.
States often take a lead role in developing programs to address
new animal health issues and disease threats (farm−raised
deer and fish diseases, for example), particularly if those
issues or threats have a more local or regional focus.
Wisconsin’s program related to fish and farm−raised deer are
perhaps the leading programs in the nation, and have provided
models for proposed federal programs.

USDA may provide grant funding, regulatory incentives,
or other assistance in support of state programs and
regulation.  For example, USDA provides funding for
voluntary Johne’s disease testing and herd management,
based on federal program standards.

States have independent authority to regulate animal health
and movement, including imports from other states.
However, states strive for reasonable consistency, based on
standards spelled out in federal regulations.  Where
well−established federal standards and procedures exist, state
disease control programs typically incorporate those federal
standards.  However, states may independently address new
and emerging disease issues, especially if those issues have a
state or regional focus and are not a priority for USDA.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Surrounding state animal health programs are broadly
comparable to those in Wisconsin, but vary in a variety of
ways.  Differences in disease regulations and control
programs may reflect differences in animal populations,
animal−based industries, and disease threats in the different
states.  Programs for historically important diseases, such as

tuberculosis and brucellosis, tend to be fairly similar between
states and are based on well−established federal standards.
Programs for newer forms of agriculture, such as farm−raised
deer and aquaculture, tend to be more variable.

Aquaculture
All of the surrounding states regulate aquaculture, to

some degree:
� Minnesota requires fish import permits, and licenses fish

farms and fish dealers.  Health certification is required for
fish imports, but not for fish farms.  Bait imports are
prohibited.

� Iowa requires fish import permits, and licenses fish farms.
Health certification is required for fish imports, but not for
fish farms.

� Illinois licenses fish farms and fish dealers.  An import
permit and health certification is required for certain fish
imports (salmonids).  There is limited regulation of fish
transport vehicles.

� Michigan licenses fish farms.  Health certification is
required for fish imports.

Johne’s Disease
All of the surrounding states (Illinois, Michigan, Iowa and

Minnesota) have adopted a voluntary Johne’s disease testing
and herd management program, based on the federal program.
Wisconsin has a similar program, which it is updating under
this rule.

Fiscal Impact
This rule will not have a significant state or local fiscal

impact, except that the fish health provisions of this rule will
have the following impact on DNR and DATCP.
Impact on DNR

This rule will have a fiscal impact on DNR fish hatchery
and stocking operations.  Under this rule, all VHS−susceptible
fish and fish eggs (including VHS−susceptible bait species)
must be tested for VHS before being stocked to Wisconsin
public waters if they were either (1) collected from a wild
source within the preceding 12 months or (2) kept on a fish
farm that received fish or fish eggs of any species collected
from a wild source within the preceding 12 months.

DNR annually registers approximately 100 fish farms with
DATCP.  Thirteen of those fish farms are state−owned fish
hatcheries.  The remainder are registered by DNR but owned
by private DNR “cooperators” (as registrant, DNR assumes
legal responsibility for compliance with fish health rules).
DATCP estimates that DNR will need to conduct VHS tests
on a combined total of approximately 120 lots of fish per year
(including fish at state hatcheries and “cooperator” fish farms
registered by DNR).

Assuming an average test cost of $500 per lot, the total cost
to DNR would be approximately $60,000 per year.  However,
DNR has already implemented a number of internal controls
and VHS testing protocols, so the added cost of this rule will
be less than $60,000.  DNR costs may increase if USDA finds
that additional fish species are susceptible to VHS (the
amount of the increase will depend on which fish species are
found to be susceptible).
Impact on DATCP

DATCP will incur added costs to administer and enforce
the fish health testing requirements under this rule.  DATCP
will need at least 2.0 FTE staff to review and process a large
volume of fish health certificates in a timely manner; to train
fish health inspectors to collect samples for VHS testing; to
provide compliance information and respond to industry
inquiries; to conduct inspections and monitor compliance; to
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conduct investigations of possible law violations; and to
initiate enforcement actions if necessary.

The 2.0 FTE staff will have a combined total cost of at least
$120,000 per year, including salary, fringe benefits and
support costs.  DATCP will attempt to absorb these costs in the
short term by shifting staff from other important disease
control responsibilities, but DATCP will not be able to do so
indefinitely without putting other livestock sectors at
unacceptable risk.  DATCP will seek federal grant funds to
cover some of the costs, but federal funding is not guaranteed.

Business Impact

Aquaculture Industry
This rule creates new regulations to control viral

hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS) in fish, and simplifies
registration of fish farms.   This rule will affect fish farm
operators and bait dealers.  This rule will also affect the
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources (DNR).  The
effect on DNR is described in the fiscal estimate for this rule.

This rule will benefit the aquaculture industry by helping
to control the spread of VHS, a very serious disease of fish.
This rule will also benefit fish farm operators, by simplifying
current fish farm registration requirements (operators will be
able to register multiple fish farms on a single registration
form).  However, this rule may add costs or limit operations
for some fish farmers and bait dealers, as described below.

Fish Farm Operators
DATCP estimates that this rule will affect 30−40 private

fish farms, not counting DNR “cooperator” fish farms
registered by DNR.  Many of the affected fish farms are “small
businesses,” and many of them will be substantially affected
by this rule.  VHS testing requirements may force some fish
farm operators to curtail all or part of their operations.
However, some fish farms already conduct VHS tests in order
to meet federal requirements for interstate movement of fish.

Fish farm operators may incur added testing requirements
under this rule if they keep VHS−susceptible fish or fish eggs
that were either (1) collected from any wild source within the
preceding 12 months, or (2) kept on a fish farm that received
fish or fish eggs (of any species) collected from any wild
source within the preceding 12 months.  Operators must test
those VHS−susceptible fish or fish eggs before they distribute
them for bait, for stocking to Wisconsin public waters, or for
delivery to other fish farms (other than those registered by the
same operator).

A veterinarian or other qualified fish health inspector must
certify that the fish or fish eggs are VHS−free, based on tests
using approved methods.  VHS tests must be conducted on a
statistically representative sample of fish drawn from the
tested species or farm.  The average cost to test and certify a
single lot of fish is approximately $500 (actual costs vary
depending on test method, number of fish in the lot, number
of fish species in the lot, etc.).  A single fish farm might need
to test from 1−30 lots per year, depending on the source and
species of the fish, the number of separate fish lots kept on the
fish farm, and purposes for which the fish are kept and
distributed.

DATCP estimates that approximately 30−40 private fish
farm operators will need to conduct VHS tests, and that they
will conduct those tests on a combined total of approximately
40 lots of fish per year.  Assuming an average cost of $500 per
test per lot, the combined total cost to all affected private fish
farm operators will be approximately $20,000 per year.

However, some of those affected fish farmers are already
performing VHS tests in order to meet federal requirements

for shipping fish in interstate commerce, so the net impact of
this rule may be less than $20,000.  Fish farm costs may
increase if USDA finds that additional fish species are
susceptible to VHS (the amount of the increase will depend on
which fish species are found to be susceptible).
Bait Dealers

Wisconsin bait dealers are currently licensed by DNR.
This rule will affect licensed bait dealers in 2 ways:
� If bait dealers buy VHS−susceptible bait species that

originate from wild sources, their purchase costs may
reflect the seller’s added cost of VHS testing under this
rule.

� If bait dealers collect VHS−susceptible bait species from
wild sources, they will need to conduct VHS tests before
reselling or distributing the bait.  They will also need to
withhold the bait from distribution for at least 4 weeks
pending the completion of VHS tests.  That will add costs,
and may not be practically feasible for affected bait
dealers.

This rule applies only to bait species that are known to be
susceptible to VHS.  Of the major bait species in Wisconsin
(fathead minnow, white sucker, golden shiner and emerald
shiner), only one species (emerald shiner) is currently known
to be susceptible to VHS.  Emerald shiners are obtained
exclusively by wild harvesting, while other major bait species
can be hatched and raised on farms.  At this time, DATCP
estimates that emerald shiners represent less than 10% of the
overall bait market in Wisconsin (the market for
wild−harvested emerald shiners has already diminished as a
result of federal VHS testing requirements for emerald
shiners moved in interstate commerce).

DATCP estimates that approximately 25 Wisconsin bait
dealers are currently harvesting emerald shiners from the
wild.  DATCP estimates that each of those bait dealers would
need to test an average of 6 lots of wild−harvested emerald
shiners each year, before distributing the emerald shiners for
sale.  Assuming an average cost of $500 per test lot, the
average annual cost for an individual bait dealer would be
about $3,000 per year, and the combined total cost to all 25 of
those bait dealers would be about $75,000 per year.  That
figure does not include added costs to hold the emerald
shiners for 4 weeks while testing is completed.  It is extremely
difficult to hold emerald shiners for extended periods, so it
may not even be possible for most bait dealers to hold them
for the required 4 weeks.

The difficulty of holding emerald shiners for 4 weeks,
combined with the added cost of testing emerald shiners, may
drive many bait dealers out of the business of harvesting wild
emerald shiners for sale as bait.  However, those bait dealers
may still be able to harvest and sell other types of bait that are
not affected by this rule.

Bait dealers that are not currently harvesting emerald
shiners will not be substantially affected by this rule unless
USDA finds that additional bait species are susceptible to
VHS.  If USDA finds that other major bait species are
susceptible to VHS, this rule could have a more dramatic
impact on bait dealers.  The impact will depend on the species
that are affected.
Farm−Raised Deer Keepers

This rule changes current rules related to farm−raised deer.
This rule makes all of the following changes:
� Requires veterinarians who perform chronic wasting

disease (CWD) tests to report test results to DATCP.
� Changes the annual expiration date for farm−raised deer

herd registrations, from December 31 to March 31.
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� Clarifies that a person may keep farm−raised deer at 2 or
more locations identified in a single herd registration
certificate, subject to specified conditions.

� Clarifies that separately−registered farm−raised deer
herds may be kept at the same location (even if they are
owned by different persons), subject to specified
conditions.

� Modifies current CWD testing requirements.  Under
current rules, a test must be performed on every
farm−raised deer at least 16 months old that dies in
captivity, or is killed or sent to slaughter (the test sample
must be sent to an approved laboratory within 10 days
after it is collected).  Under this rule, testing is required for
deer at least 8 months old that meet the same criteria.
Under this rule, a test sample must be collected within 10
days after the animal dies, or is killed or slaughtered (or
within 10 days after the death is first discovered).  Under
this rule as under the current rules, the test sample must be
sent to an approved laboratory within 10 days after it is
collected.

� Clarifies current rules related to DATCP condemnation of
diseased or suspect farm−raised deer.  Under this rule, a
condemnation order may specify a reasonable compliance
deadline, may direct appropriate testing and disposition of
carcasses, and may require the herd owner or custodian to
enter into a “premises plan” as a condition to the payment
of state indemnities. 

� Clarifies annual herd census requirements under
Wisconsin’s chronic wasting disease herd status program.
Under this rule, an annual herd census must report
apparent escapes, and must explain and account for
changes in herd population since the last census.

� Clarifies that a person applying to register a herd of
white−tailed deer with DATCP must include, with the
registration application, a copy of a valid DNR fence
certificate (currently required by law) for each registered
location.

� Clarifies that a person applying for a 10−year hunting
preserve certificate from DATCP must include, in the
application, an estimate of the farm−raised deer
population on the hunting preserve premises (by species,
age and sex).  The application must also include the
identification numbers of any farm−raised deer on the
hunting preserve that bear identification numbers.  Under
this rule, all non−natural additions to a hunting preserve
must have 2 forms of official individual identification, one
visible and one implanted.

� Extends the term of a brucellosis−free herd certification,
from 2 years to 3 years, so that it is consistent with the term
of a tuberculosis−free herd certification.  That will allow
herd owners to conduct simultaneous tests for both
diseases.

� Allows DATCP to extend the 15−day slaughter deadline
for tuberculosis reactors by up to 30 days (current rules
allow only a 15−day extension).

� Modifies current tuberculosis regulations for imports of
farm−raised deer, to make them consistent with federal
standards for interstate movement.  This rule also
eliminates current requirements for post−import testing.

� Clarifies current rules related to movement of farm−raised
deer between separately registered herds in this state.

Most of the changes in this rule are designed to clarify
current rules, or to make current rules consistent with federal
rules.  The rule changes will have minimal impact on most
farm−raised deer keepers, and will reduce costs and facilitate
deer farm operations in many cases.  Clear and effective rules

will help prevent and control chronic wasting disease and
other diseases, for the benefit of the entire farm−raised deer
industry.

This rule will require farm−raised deer keepers to perform
chronic wasting disease tests on farm−raised deer that die
between the ages of 8 months and 16 months (current rules
only require testing of animals that die at age 16 months or
older).  The reduction in test age may require some
farm−raised deer keepers to test a slightly larger number of
farm−raised deer.  The United States Department of
Agriculture (USDA) currently pays laboratory testing costs,
but farm−raised deer keepers must pay at least part of the cost
to have test samples collected by a veterinarian.  The sample
collection cost ranges from $15/head to $140/head depending
on the availability of a veterinarian.  In recent years, USDA
has paid the first $50 of this cost (future funding is uncertain).

This rule requires additional (implanted) ID tags for
farm−raised deer entering hunting preserves, to facilitate
disease traceback.  The cost of the additional tag is estimated
at less than $5 per farm−raised deer.  In recent years, USDA
has paid for implanted ID tags (future funding is uncertain).
Cattle and Goat Producers

Under current rules, Johne’s disease test samples must
normally be collected by accredited veterinarians.  This rule
allows Dairy Herd Improvement Technicians to collect milk
samples that are used as Johne’s disease test samples.  That
will make it easier, and less costly, for dairy farmers to
participate in the Johne’s disease herd testing and
management program.

Current rules exempt imported bovine animals (cattle and
bison) from the requirement of a pre−import tuberculosis test
if the animals originate from a state that USDA has classified
as “TB−free” if that state accepts Wisconsin animals without
a TB test.  Under this rule, the exemption does not apply if the
state of origin has a confirmed TB−positive herd, until that
herd is depopulated and all epidemiologically linked herds
have tested negative for TB.  This rule also prohibits imports
of cattle originating from Mexico, except directly to
slaughter.  This rule will help prevent imports of diseased
cattle, and provide important protection for Wisconsin’s
livestock industry.  It will not have significant adverse effects
on the livestock industry.
Poultry Producers

Under current rules, a poultry flock owner may voluntarily
enroll in the National Poultry Improvement Plan (enrollment
facilitates the sale and movement of poultry).  Under this rule,
a flock owner may not enroll unless the owner has registered
flock premises under Wisconsin’s livestock premises
identification program.  This will not have a significant
impact on flock owners, because registration is already
required by law.

Current rules regulate poultry imports to Wisconsin.  This
rule modifies poultry import standards, to provide more
flexible options for poultry importers.  This rule will have no
adverse impact on poultry importers.
Animal Markets, Dealers and Truckers

This rule does all of the following:
� Eliminates the current requirement for animal market

operators, animal dealers and animal truckers to pass a test
before being initially licensed by DATCP.

� Requires animal market operators, animal dealers and
animal truckers to transport and handle animals in a safe
and humane manner.

� Clarifies animal transport vehicle registration
requirements.
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� Requires animal market operators, animal dealers and
animal truckers to record the official individual
identification of goats that bear official individual
identification.

� Requires animal market operators, animal dealers and
animal truckers to record the livestock premises code, if
any, of each premises from which the operator receives or
to which the operator ships livestock.

� Requires operators of federally−approved livestock
import markets to disclose, to livestock recipients, the
state of origin of livestock leaving the import market.

This rule will simplify licensing of animal market
operators, dealers and truckers, by eliminating current testing
requirements.  This rule will require some animal market
operators, dealers and truckers to make minor changes in
recordkeeping and operating procedures.  Recordkeeping
changes will improve disease control and traceback
capability, for the benefit of the entire livestock industry.  This
rule will not have any significant adverse effect on animal
market operators, dealers or truckers.

Persons Keeping Livestock; Premises Registration
Under current law, a person who keeps livestock at a

location in this state is required to register that location with
DATCP.  Under current rules, the person must renew the
registration annually.  If the person holds another license from
the department, the person must register as part of the license
application process.

This rule extends the renewal period from one year to 3
years.  Under this rule, a license holder may register as part of
the license application process but is not required to do so (the
person may register separately).  Under this rule, DATCP may
register known livestock premises if the livestock operator
fails to do so (because the operator has religious objections,
for example).  These changes will make it easier and more
convenient for livestock operators to comply with premises
registration requirements.  This rule will have no adverse
impact on the livestock industry.

Slaughter Establishments
This rule clarifies the current prohibition against removing

live animals from slaughter establishments.  This rule will not
have any adverse effect on slaughter establishments.

Disease Indemnities
This rule clarifies the procedures that DATCP will use to

determine the appraised value of animals condemned for
disease control purposes, in order to determine the amount of
state indemnity payments.  This rule will not have any
significant adverse effect on livestock operators, and will
clarify indemnity procedures.

Small Business Analysis

Overall, this rule improves disease control and prevention
for the benefit of the entire livestock and aquaculture industry.
In many cases, this rule will actually improve flexibility and
reduce costs for individual businesses, including small
businesses.  Overall, this rule has few adverse impacts on
small business.

This rule may have some adverse effects on some small
businesses (especially bait dealers that harvest emerald
shiners from wild sources for sale as bait).  If USDA finds that
additional fish or bait fish species are susceptible to VHS, this
rule may have a more dramatic impact on fish farm operators
or bait dealers, or both.  Many of the affected entities will be
small businesses.

This rule is needed to protect the health of Wisconsin
livestock industries, including the aquaculture and
farm−raised deer industries.  It is also needed to protect the
health of wild animals, including fish.  Effective disease
control is important for all the people of the state, and for the
affected livestock industries.

Although this rule may have some adverse effects on some
small livestock businesses, those effects are generally
minimal and are outweighed by the need to prevent and
control the spread of serious diseases that could destroy entire
industries.  DATCP has not exempted small businesses,
because the risk of disease spread is unrelated to business size.

Overall, this rule will benefit Wisconsin livestock
industries by improving control of serious diseases.  This rule
will also increase flexibility and reduce costs for many
individual businesses.  This rule may have some adverse
effects on some individual businesses, those effects are
generally limited and are outweighed by the need to prevent
and control the spread of serious diseases that could destroy
entire industries.

Notice of Hearing
Commissioner of Insurance

[CR 07−108]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to the

authority granted under s. 601.41 (3), Stats., and the
procedures set forth in under s. 227.18, Stats., OCI will hold
a public hearing to consider the adoption of proposed rules
affecting section Ins 2.19, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to sales
of life insurance and annuities to the military and affecting
small business.

Hearing Information
Date: January 11, 2008

Time: 10:00 a.m., or as soon thereafter as the matter
 may be reached

Place: OCI, Room 223
125 South Webster St. − 2nd Floor
Madison, WI

Submission of Written Comments
The deadline for submitting comments is 4:00 p.m. on the

14th day after the date of the hearing.
Written comments can be mailed to:

Fred Nepple
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 2.19
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
PO Box 7873
Madison WI 53707−7873

Written comments can be hand delivered to:
Fred Nepple
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 2.19
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor
Madison WI 53703−3474

Comments can be emailed to:
Fred Nepple
fred.nepple@wisconsin.gov

Web site: http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm
Comments submitted through the Wis. Adm. Rule Web site

at  http://adminrules. wisconsin.gov  will be considered.
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Copy of Rule

A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,
analysis and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the OCI
internet Web site at http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by
contacting Inger Williams, Public Information and
Communications, OCI, at: inger.williams@wisconsin.gov,
(608) 264−8110, 125 South Webster Street – 2nd Floor,
Madison WI or PO Box 7873, Madison WI 53707−7873.

Analysis Prepared by the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance (OCI)

Statutes interpreted
Sections 600.01, 628.34, 628.347, Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 600.01 (2), 601.41 (3), 601.42, 628.34, 628.347,

Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
This proposed rule defines practices relating to the sale of

life insurance and annuities to the military that are misleading
and unfair trade practices.  Accordingly it is authorized by s.
628.34, Stats, which prohibits and permits OCI to define
unfair trade practices.

Related statutes or rules
Section 628.34, Stats., prohibits misrepresentation or

unfair practices in the business of insurance.  In addition ss.
Ins 2.14 to 2.17, Wis. Adm. Code, govern specific practices
relating to the sales of annuities and life insurance.

Plain language analysis and summary of the proposed rule
Congress on September 29, 2006, enacted the Military

Personnel Financial Services Protection Act, Pub. L. No.
109−290 (2006) (the “Federal Act”).  Congress found it
imperative that members of the United States Armed Forces
be shielded from “abusive and misleading sales practices” and
protected from certain life insurance products that are
“improperly marketed as investment products, providing
minimal death benefits in exchange for excessive premiums
that are front−loaded in the first few years, making them
entirely inappropriate for most military personnel.”

The Federal Act asks that the “States collectively work
with the Secretary of Defense to ensure implementation of
appropriate standards to protect members of the Armed
Forces from dishonest and predatory insurance sales practices
while on a military installation.” The Federal Act calls on the
National Association of Insurance Commissioner (“NAIC”)
to, in coordination with the Secretary,  create standards for
products specifically designed to meet the particular needs of
members of the Armed Forces, regardless of the sales
location.

The NAIC developed the Military Sales Practices Model
Regulation (“Model”) to address the Federal Act request.  The
Model specifically prohibits certain acts and practices as
false, misleading, deceptive or unfair under Wisconsin’s
unfair trade practices statute (s. 628.34, Stats.) Many of the
provisions incorporate Department of Defense (“DoD”)
solicitation rules. For example by tracking DoD regulations
the Model prohibits a practice of soliciting the sales of life
insurance in barracks, day rooms and other restricted areas.

The Model also addresses Congressional concerns
regarding suitability and product standards. In this regard, the
Model prohibits recommending the purchase of any life
insurance product which includes a “side fund” to junior
enlisted service members in pay grades E− 4 and below, unless

the insurer has reasonable grounds for believing that the life
insurance portion of the product, standing alone, is suitable.

The proposed rule conforms to the recommended NAIC
Model.
Comparison with federal regulations

See Plain language analysis.  The Model  tracks or
incorporates relevant DoD solicitation regulations in DoD
Instruction 1344.07: Personal Commercial Solicitation on
DoD Installations, and Army Regulation 210−7: Commercial
Solicitation on Army Installations.  These regulations identify
prohibited sales practices directed at active duty service
members.
Comparison of rules in adjacent states

Illinois:  The Illinois Insurance Department is currently in
the process of promulgating the Model.

Iowa: The Iowa Insurance Department is currently in the
process of promulgating the Model.

Michigan: The Michigan Insurance Department is
currently in the process of promulgating the Model.

Minnesota: The Minnesota Insurance Department is
currently in the process of promulgating the Model.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

The proposed rule is based on a review of complaints,
enforcement investigations conducted by other state
insurance departments and the recommendations and analysis
prepared and shared by the NAIC.
Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine
rule’s effect on small businesses

The proposed rule solely requires appropriate sales
practices.  As such it will not impose any additional costs
relating to those practices.  While use of appropriate life and
annuity sales practices with active duty military is an
important topic, such sales are not a material portion of
insurance business in this state.  This is confirmed by the few
complaints OCI has received on the topic and also by DoD
information that shows only a small number of active duty
military personnel resident in Wisconsin.
Summary of effect on small business

This rule will have little or no effect on small businesses.
It will not require bookkeeping procedures or professional
skills beyond those currently required.

Agency Contact Person
Inger Williams, OCI Services Section, at:

Phone: (608) 264−8110
Email: inger.williams@wisconsin.gov
Address: 125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor

Madison WI 53703−3474
Mail: PO Box 7873, Madison, WI 53707−7873

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to

s. 227.114, Stats., the proposed rule may have an effect on
small businesses.  The initial regulatory flexibility analysis is
as follows:
Types of small businesses affected

Insurance agents and brokers and small insurers.
Description of reporting and bookkeeping procedures
required

None beyond those currently required.
Description of professional skills required

None beyond those currently required.
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Small business regulatory coordinator
The OCI small business coordinator is Eileen Mallow and

may be reached at phone number (608) 266−7843 or at email
address eileen.mallow@wisconsin.gov

Fiscal Estimate
This rule change will have no significant effect on the

private sector, state, or local government.

Notice of Hearing
Revenue

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to s. 125.54
(7) (d), Stats., and interpreting s. 125.54 (7), Stats., the
Department of Revenue will hold a public hearing at the time
and place indicated below, to consider the amendment of rules
relating to liquor wholesaler warehouse facilities.

Hearing Information
The hearing will be held at 9:00 A.M. on Wednesday,

January 2, 2008, in the Events Room (1st floor) of the State
Revenue Building, located at 2135 Rimrock Road, Madison,
Wisconsin.

Handicap access is available at the hearing location.

Comments on the Rule
Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and

may make an oral presentation.  It is requested that written
comments reflecting the oral presentation be given to the
department at the hearing.  Written comments may also be
submitted to the contact person shown below no later than
January 9, 2008, and will be given the same consideration as
testimony presented at the hearing.

Contact Person
Small Businesses:

Julie Raes
Department of Revenue
Mail Stop 6−73
2135 Rimrock Road
P.O. Box 8933
Madison, WI  53708−8933

Telephone (608) 267−9892
E−mail julie.raes@revenue.wi.gov

Others:
Dale Kleven
Department of Revenue
Mail Stop 6−40
2135 Rimrock Road
P.O. Box 8933
Madison, WI  53708−8933

Telephone (608) 266−8253
E−mail dale.kleven@revenue.wi.gov

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Revenue

Statute interpreted
Section 125.54 (7), Stats.

Statutory authority
Section 125.54 (7) (d), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority
Section 125.54 (7) (d), Stats., provides that the department

shall promulgate rules to administer and enforce the
requirements of s. 125.54 (7), Stats. It also provides that the

department shall establish by rule minimum requirements for
warehouse facilities on premises described in permits issued
under s. 125.54, Stats.
Related statute or rule

Section 25.54 (7), Stats.
Plain language analysis

This proposed rule order changes the amount of floor space
that a liquor wholesaler warehouse facility described in a
wholesalers’ permit is required to be from 4,000 to 1,000
square feet of floor space. It also creates a provision that
allows the minimum square footage requirement to be waived
when it is determined that a waiver is fair and equitable.

In addition to the changes to the requirements concerning
liquor wholesaler warehouse facilities and liquor
wholesalers, the rule creates a provision requiring the
department to prepare and maintain a list of all liquor
wholesale permittees and shall post the names from this list on
the Internet. The Internet site shall list the name of each
permittee and the total square feet of floor space of the
premises described in the permit. The department shall update
the Internet site on a quarterly basis.
Comparison with federal regulations

There is no existing or proposed federal regulation that is
intended to address the activities to be regulated by the rule.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

The department is not aware of a similar rule in an adjacent
state.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

Tax 8.63 was created to satisfy the requirements of s.
125.54 (7), Stats., which, in part, provides that the department
establish minimum requirements for warehouse facilities on
premises described in wholesalers’ permits. One of the
requirements established by Tax 8.63 is that a liquor
warehouse facility be a minimum of 4,000 square feet of floor
space.

Since the provisions of Tax 8.63 became effective, the
department has become aware of bona fide liquor wholesalers
whose facilities are less than the required 4,000 feet of floor
space. In response, the department has created this proposed
rule order to lessen the required amount of floor space and
provide an exception so that a bona fide liquor wholesaler will
not have an application for issuance or renewal of a permit
denied solely because it does not meet the square footage
requirement.
Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect
on small business

As the proposed changes to Tax 8.63 ease the requirements
for warehouse facilities, the department has concluded that
this proposed rule order does not have a significant effect on
small business.

Anticipated Costs Incurred by Private Sector
This proposed rule order does not have a significant fiscal

effect on the private sector.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
This proposed rule order does not have a significant

economic impact on a substantial number of small businesses.

Text of Rule
SECTION 1.  Tax 8.63 (1) is amended to read:
 (1) MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS FOR WAREHOUSE

FACILITIES. The premises described in a permit issued
under s. 125.54, Stats., shall be a minimum of 4,000 1,000
square feet of floor space and shall be located in a
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free−standing building that is not part of or connected to a
premises covered by a retail license or permit issued under s.
125.51, Stats.

SECTION 2.  Tax 8.63 (1m) is created to read:
(1m) EXCEPTION TO MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS.

The secretary of revenue may waive the requirement that a
premises described in a permit issued under s. 125.54, Stats.,
be a minimum of 1,000 square feet of floor space when the
secretary determines the waiver fair and equitable, if the
applicant or permittee does both of the following:

(a) Submits a written request for a waiver along with the
application for issuance or renewal of a permit.

(b) Clearly indicates how the requirements described in
sub. (1) and s. 125.54 (7), Stats., otherwise will be or have
been met.

SECTION 3.  Tax 8.63 (7) is created to read:
(7)  INTERNET POSTING OF PERMITTEE

INFORMATION. The department shall prepare and maintain
a list of all permittees under s. 125.54, Stats., and shall post the
names of permittees from this list on the Internet at a site that
is created and maintained by the department. The Internet site
shall list the name of each permittee and the total square feet
of floor space of the premises described in the permit. The
department shall update the Internet site on a quarterly basis.

Note: This section interprets s. 125.54 (7), Stats.

Notice of Hearing
Transportation

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to s. 194.407
(1) and (3), Stats., as created by 2007 Wis. Act 20, interpreting
s. 194.407, Stats., the Department of Transportation will hold
a public hearing on March 5, 2008 at the Hill Farms State
Transportation Building, Room 144−B, 4802 Sheboygan
Avenue, Madison, WI, at 10:00 AM, on the adoption of an
emergency rule creating ch. Trans 178, Wis. Adm. Code,
relating to the Unified Carrier Registration system.

Parking for persons with disabilities and an accessible
entrance are available.

A copy of the emergency rule may be obtained upon
request from Carson Frazier, Wisconsin Department of
Transportation, Division of Motor Vehicles, Bureau of
Vehicle Services, Room 255, P. O. Box 7911, Madison, WI
53707−7911.  You may also contact Ms. Frazier by phone at
(608) 266−7857 or via e−mail: carson.frazier@dot.state.
wi.us.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Transportation

Statutes interpreted
Section 94.407, Stats., as created by 2007 Wis. Act 20

Statutory authority
Section 94.407 (1) and (3), Stats., as created by 2007 Wis.

Act 20.

Explanation of agency authority
Section 194.407 of the statutes authorizes the Department

to implement and administer a unified registration system for
motor carriers consistent with 49 USC 13908 and 14504a, and
to prescribe annual fees for that registration.

Related statute or rule
Section 194. 407, Stats., 49 USC 13908 and 14504a, 49

CFR 367.

Plain language analysis
This chapter establishes in Wisconsin Administrative Code

the fees to be charged under the Unified Carrier Registration
(UCR) system, and establishes a method for counting the
number of vehicles so that an entity knows whether it is
required to register under UCR and, if so, which fee bracket
applies to the entity.
Comparison with federal regulations

This emergency rule complies and is consistent with
federal law and regulations pertaining to the Unified Carrier
Registration system.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states

Michigan: There are no regulations pertaining to UCR, as
of October 24, 2007.

Minnesota: Minnesota is not a participating state in the
UCR program in 2007.  There are no regulations pertaining to
UCR, as of October 24, 2007.

Illinois : There are no regulations pertaining to UCR, as of
October 24, 2007.

Iowa: There are no regulations pertaining to UCR, as of
October 24, 2007.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies

 This emergency rule is derived solely from federal
regulation and Unified Carrier Registration Agreement, both
of which are authorized by 49 USC 13908 and 14504a and
implement those sections.  If Wisconsin chooses not to
participate in the UCR program, Wisconsin will forfeit
revenues from carrier registration pursuant to federal law.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
This emergency rule is derived solely from federal law,

federal regulation, and Unified Carrier Registration
Agreement.  Any effect on small businesses is a result of
federal law, regulation and the Unified Carrier Registration
Agreement.  The bill will affect some small businesses by
requiring them to pay an annual registration fee based on the
size of its truck fleet, with fees of $39 to $806 annually. These
fees are established under federal law at 49 CFR 367.20.  If
Wisconsin does not charge these fees, small businesses that
operate affected trucks and trailers outside this state will
nevertheless be required to pay these same fees to other states.
The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by e−mail at ralph.sanders@dot.state.wi.us, or by
calling (414) 438−4585.

Fiscal Effect
This emergency rule is derived solely from federal law,

federal regulation, and Unified Carrier Registration
Agreement.  Any fiscal impact on the liabilities or revenues
of any county, city, village, town, school district, vocational,
technical and adult education district, sewerage district, or
federally−recognized tribes or bands is a result of federal law,
federal regulation and the Unified Carrier Registration
Agreement.

Anticipated Costs Incurred by Private Sector
This rule is derived solely from federal law, federal

regulation, and Unified Carrier Registration Agreement.  Any
cost incurred by the private sector is a result of federal law,
federal regulation and the Unified Carrier Registration
Agreement.  Many parties subject to these fees are paying
higher fees under the Single State Registration System
(SSRS), which the Unified Carrier Registration fee replaces;
they will see significant annual fee reductions.  Numerous
smaller motor carriers, motor private carriers, brokers,
leasing companies, and freight forwarders are exempt from
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SSRS and are made subject to Unified Carrier Registration;
they will be required to pay annual fees of $39−$806 or more
depending upon their size.  The sum of fees collected by this
state will be the same under Unified Carrier Registration as
presently collected under SSRS.  Under federal law, federal
regulation, and the Unified Carrier Registration Agreement,
the amounts of UCR registration fees is established so that the
amount collected, in total, is the same as the total amount of
fees that had been collected under the former SSRS program.
The base of motor carriers from which the fee is collected
differs from the base under the SSRS program.  Therefore,
some types of carriers may pay more or less fees under UCR,

but the total is the same.

Copies of Emergency Rule and Contact Person
Copies of this emergency rule are available without cost

upon request by writing to Carson P. Frazier, Division of
Motor Vehicles, P.O. Box 7911, Madison WI  53707−7911, by
calling (608) 266−7857 or via e−mail at carson.frazier@dot.
state.wi.us.

To view the emergency rule via e−mail/internet, you may
visit the following website:  http://www.dot.wisconsin.
gov/library/research/law/rulenotices.htm.
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Submittal of Proposed Rules to the Legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Commerce
(CR 07−005)

Ch. Comm 200, relating to small business enforcement
discretion.

Corrections
(CR 03−124)

Ch. DOC 346, relating to secure detention facilities and
juvenile portions of a county jail.

Employee Trust Funds
(CR 07−066)

Ch. ETF 11, relating to hearsay evidence in
administrative appeal hearings.

Health and Family Services
(CR 07−077)

Ch. HFS 144, relating to student immunizations.

Health and Family Services
(CR 07−090)

Ch. HFS 145, relating to student immunizations: disease
list revisions and reporting.

Public Service Commission
(CR 07−044)

Chs. PSC 111 and 112, relating to electric utility
construction applications.

Transportation
(CR 07−084)

Ch. Trans 129, relating to motorcycle courses.
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Rule Orders Filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.  It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.   Contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at gary.poulson@legis.wisconsin.gov or (608) 266−7275 for updated information
on the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
(CR 07−006)

An order affecting chs. ATCP 60, 69, 77, 80 and 82,
relating to safe production, processing, distribution and
sale of milk and dairy products.

Effective 2−1−08.

Elections Board
(CR 07−059)

An order affecting ch. ElBd 3, relating to voter
registration.

Effective 2−1−08.

Health and Family Services
(CR 06−081)

An order affecting ch. HFS 43, relating to training for
child protective services caseworkers and supervisors.

Effective 2−1−08.

Natural Resources
(CR 07−014)

An order affecting ch. NR 20, relating to fishing on the
inland, outlying, and boundary waters of Wisconsin.

Effective 2−1−08 and 4−1−08.

Natural Resources
(CR 07−025)

An order affecting ch. NR 809, relating to IESWTR, LT1,
DDBP, PN, CCR, radionuclide, and total coliform rules
and updating of analytical methods for public water
systems.

Effective 2−1−08.

Natural Resources
(CR 07−034)

An order affecting ch. NR 140, relating to groundwater
quality standards.

Effective 2−1−08.

Natural Resources
(CR 07−055)

An order affecting ch. NR 10, relating to the migratory
game bird seasons and waterfowl hunting zones.

Effective 2−1−08.
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Public Notices

Financial Institutions — Banking

Notice of Interest Rate on Required Residential Mortgage 
Loan Escrow Accounts For 2008

Under Section 138.052 (5) (a), Stats., with some exceptions, a bank, credit union, savings bank, savings and loan
association, or mortgage banker, which originates a residential mortgage loan requiring an escrow account to assure
the payment of taxes or insurance, shall pay interest on the outstanding principal of the escrow.

Section 138.052 (5) (am) 2., Stats., directs the division of banking to determine annually the required interest rate.
The rate is based on the average of interest rates paid on regular passbook deposit accounts by institutions under the
division of banking’s or office of credit unions’ jurisdiction.

The Department of Financial Institutions, Division of Banking, has calculated the interest rate required to be paid
on escrow accounts under Section 138.052 (5), Stats., to be 0.94% for 2008.  This interest rate shall remain in effect
through December 31, 2008.

Contact Person
Mr. Michael J. Mach, Administrator
Department of Financial Institutions
Division of Banking
Telephone (608) 261−7578

Health and Family Services

State of Wisconsin Medicaid Nursing Facility Payment Plan:  FY 07−08

(Medical Assistance Reimbursement of Nursing Homes)

The State of Wisconsin reimburses Medicaid−certified nursing facilities for long−term care and health care services
provided to eligible persons under the authority of Title XIX of the Federal Social Security Act and ss. 49.43 to 49.47,
Wisconsin Statutes.  This program, administered by the State’s Department of Health and Family Services, is called
Medical Assistance (MA) or Medicaid.  Federal Statutes and regulations require that a state plan be developed that
provides the methods and standards for setting payment rates for nursing facility services covered by the payment
system.  A plan that describes the nursing home reimbursement system for Wisconsin is now in effect as approved
by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).

The Department is proposing changes in the methods of payment to nursing homes and, therefore, in the plan
describing the nursing home reimbursement system.  The changes are effective January 1, 2008.

The proposed changes would update the payment system and make various payment−related policy changes.  Some
of the changes are necessary to implement various budget policies in the Wisconsin 2007−2009 Biennial Budget.
Some of the changes are technical in nature; some clarify various payment plan provisions.

The estimated increase in annual aggregate expenditures attributable to these changes for nursing homes serving
MA residents is approximately $1,426,255 all funds, ($821,237 FFP), excluding patient liability.

The proposed changes are being implemented to comply with Wisconsin Statutes governing Medicaid payment
systems, particularly s. 49.45 (6m), Wis. Stats.

The proposed changes are as follows:

1. Modify the methodology to adjust the reimbursement for nursing homes within the parameters of 2007−2009
Biennial Budget Bill and to disburse the $1,426,255   allotted in the bills to a rate increase of approximately 2% for
ICFs−MR.  These modifications will include adjustments to the Medicaid Access Incentive for ICFs−MR in section
5.942 and create a new incentive payment in section 3.600 for ICFs−MR.   It is estimated that these adjustments will
provide an increase of 0.9% for State operated ICFs−MR and 5.5% for privately operated ICFs−MR.
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2. Modify the labor factors in Section 5.410.

3. Implement any modifications as directed by State statutory changes or non−statutory language in the 2007−09
state budget.

Copies of the Proposed Changes
Copies of the available proposed changes and proposed rates may be obtained free of charge by writing to:

Division of Long Term Care 
Attention:  Nursing Home Medicaid Payment Plan 
P.O. Box 7851
Madison, WI  53703−7851

or by faxing James Cobb at 608−264−7720.

The available proposed changes may be reviewed at the main office at any county department of social services
or human services office.

Written Comments/Meetings
Written comments on the proposed changes may be sent to the Division of Health Care Financing, at the above

address.  The comments will be available for public review between the hours of 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. daily in Room
350 of the State Office Building, 1 West Wilson Street, Madison, Wisconsin.  Revisions may be made in the proposed
changes based on comments received.  There will also be public meetings to seek input on the proposed plan
amendment.  If you would like to be sent a public meeting notice, please write to the above address.  Revisions may,
also, be made in the proposed changes based on comments received at these forums.

Health and Family Services
State of Wisconsin Medicaid Payment Plan for FY 2007−2008

Medicaid Reimbursement for Inpatient Hospital Services:
Acute Care Hospitals, Children’s Hospitals and Major Border Status Hospitals

The State of Wisconsin reimburses hospitals for inpatient hospital services provided to Medical Assistance
recipients under the authority of Title XIX of the Social Security Act and Chapter 49 of Wisconsin Statutes.  This
program, administered by the State’s Department of Health and Family Services, is called Medicaid or Medical
Assistance.

Under current law, Wisconsin hospitals are paid on a reimbursement system based on Diagnosis Related Groupings
(DRGs).  The DRG system covers Acute Care Hospitals, Children’s Hospitals and Major Border Status Hospitals.
Each hospital is assigned a unique hospital specific cost−based DRG rate.  In addition, a cost outlier payment is made
when the cost of providing services exceeds a pre−determined trimpoint.  The Department intends to modify the
inpatient rate setting methodology for Acute Care Hospitals, Children’s Hospitals and Major Border Status Hospitals
to reflect the budget approved by the Legislature.

The Department is proposing to implement a rate setting methodology change for these providers that would
establish provider payment rates to the approved SFY 2007 levels.  This change will impact inpatient hospital services
provided by:  Acute Care Hospitals, Children’s Hospitals and Major Border Status Hospitals.  The effective date for
these proposed changes will be January 1, 2008; however, rate adjustments will impact all SFY 2008 claims.

Acute Care Hospitals, Children’s Hospitals and Major Border Status Hospitals

Under the proposed changes, the Department will reimburse hospitals based on Diagnosis Related Groupings
(DRGs).  The Department will adjust DRG payment rates in a way such that, when combined with the rates in effect
for July 1, 2007 to December 31, 2007, the aggregate effect is to freeze each hospital’s DRG payment rate at the final
approved SFY 2007 rate.  Under this methodology, each hospital is assigned a hospital specific DRG base rate.  This
rate includes adjustments for differences in wage levels, includes an amount for capital expenditures, and payment
enhancements for qualifying Disproportionate Share Hospitals and facilities with Graduate Medical Education
programs.  In addition, a cost outlier payment is made when the cost of providing services exceeds a pre−determined
trimpoint.  The provider specific, cost based DRG rates for providers are adjusted as necessary to ensure budget
compliance.

Proposed Change

The proposed change is to the adjust DRG payment rates in a way such that, when combined with the rates in effect
for July 1, 2007 to December 31, 2007, the aggregate effect is to freeze each hospital’s DRG payment rate at the final
approved SFY 2007 rate.
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There is no change in the definition of those eligible to receive benefits under Medicaid, and the benefits available
to eligible recipients remain the same.  The effective date for these proposed changes will be January 1, 2008 with
rate adjustments impacting all SFY 2008 claims.

Copies of the Proposed Change

A copy of the proposed change may be obtained free of charge at your local county agency or by calling or writing
as follows:

Regular Mail
Division of Health Care Financing

P.O. Box 309
Madison,  53701−0309

Phone
James Vavra, Director 

Bureau of Fee−for−Service Health Care Benefits
(608) 261−7838

FAX
(608) 266−1096

Attention:  James Vavra

E−Mail
vavrajj@dhfs.state.wi.us

A copy of the proposed change is available for review at the main office of any county department of social services
or human services.

Written Comments

Written comments are welcome.  Written comments on the proposed change may be sent by FAX, e−mail, or regular
mail to the Division of Health Care Financing.  The FAX number is (608) 266−1096. The e−mail address is
vavrajj@dhfs.state.wi.us.  Regular mail can be sent to the above address.  All written comments will be reviewed and
considered.

All written comments received will be available for public review between the hours of 7:45 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.
daily in Room 350 of the State Office Building, 1 West Wilson Street, Madison, Wisconsin.  Revisions may be made
in the proposed changed methodology based on comments received.



The State of Wisconsin
Department of Administration
Bureau of Document Services
Document Sales and Distribution Section
P.O. Box 7840
Madison, Wisconsin 53707−7840

First Class Mail

Dated Material.  Please Do Not Delay!


