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Emergency rules now in effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection

Rules adopted creating ch. ATCP 112, relating to credit
report security freezes.

Finding of Emergency
(1)  The Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and

consumer protection (“DATCP”) will administer s. 100.54,
Stats. as of January 1, 2007.  DATCP is required under s.
100.54 (12), Stats. to adopt rules related to identification
required of consumers requesting credit report security
freezes.

(2)  As of January 1, 2007, s. 100.54, Stats. will be in effect,
however without an emergency rule the statute will be unclear
regarding what constitutes proper identification for purposes
of creating a security freeze, temporarily releasing a security
freeze or permanently removing a security freeze from a
consumer credit report.

(3)  DATCP is adopting this emergency rule for the sole
purpose of allowing consumers to clearly place a security
freeze on their consumer credit report while the permanent
rulemaking process is completed.

Publication Date: January 19, 2007

Effective Date: January 19, 2007

Expiration Date: June 18, 2007
Hearing Date: February 12, 2007

Commerce
(Financial Resources for Businesses and

Communities, Chs. Comm 104−131)

Rules adopted creating ch. Comm 135, relating to tax
credits and exemptions for internet equipment used in the
broadband market.
Exemption From Finding of Emergency

These rules establish the criteria for administering a
program that will (1) certify businesses as temporarily
eligible for tax credits and exemptions for Internet equipment
used in the broadband market, and (2) allocate up to
$7,500,000 to these businesses for these tax credits and
exemptions.

Pursuant to section 227.24 of the statutes, this rule is
adopted as an emergency rule to take effect upon publication
in the official state newspaper.  In accordance with section 17
(1) (d) of 2005 Wisconsin Act 479, this rule will remain in
effect until January 1, 2008, or until the Department reports
its certifications and determinations under this rule to the
Department of Revenue, whichever is sooner.

The rules specify who is eligible for the income and
franchise tax credits and the sales and use tax exemptions in
this program, for Internet equipment used in the broadband
market.  Eligible equipment is also specified, along with how
to apply for the certifications and allocations.  Parameters for
allocating the authorized total of  $7,500,000 are likewise
specified.  These parameters emphasize (1) efficiently
initiating broadband Internet service in areas of Wisconsin
that otherwise are not expected to soon receive this service,
and (2) encouraging economic or community development.
The rule chapter also describes the time−specific legislative
oversight that is established in 2005 Act 479 for these
allocations, and describes the follow−up reports that the Act
requires from every person who receives a sales or use tax
exemption under this chapter.

Publication Date: February 20, 2007
Effective Date: February 20, 2007
Expiration Date: See section 17 (1) (d) 2005

   Wis. Act 479
Hearing Date: March 26, 2007

Dentistry Examining Board

Rules were adopted amending ch. DE 11, relating to better
identifying the different levels of anesthesia, including
nitrous oxide, anxiolysis, conscious sedation−enteral,
conscious sedation−parenteral, deep sedation, and general
anesthesia, and the requirements for each level.
Finding of Emergency

The board finds that failure to delay the effective date of
CR04−095, from January 1, 2007, to July 1, 2007, will create
a danger to the public health, safety and welfare.  The extra six
months are needed to allow the implementation of the rule to
occur and to ensure the continued use of conscious sedation
for dental patients.
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Publication Date: December 21, 2006

Effective Date: December 29, 2006

Expiration Date: May 28, 2007
Hearing Date: January 31, 2007

Health and Family Services
(Community Services, Chs. HFS 30—)

Rules adopted revising ch. HFS 51, relating to the adoption
of children to include preadoption training requirements that
will apply to private adoptions, international adoption, and
adoptions of children with special needs and affecting small
businesses.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Health and Family Services finds that

an emergency exists and that rules are necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

On April 10, 2006, the Wisconsin State Legislature enacted
2005 Wisconsin Act 293, which amended s. 48.84, Stats., to
require first−time adoptive parents to receive preadoption
training before a child may be placed for adoption by a court
pursuant to s. 48.833, Stats., or before a prospective adoptive
parent may petition for placement of a child for adoption
under s. 48.837, Stats., or before a proposed adoptive parent
may bring a child into Wisconsin for an international adoption
under s. 48.839, Stats.  The Act further requires the
Department to promulgate rules that establish the number of
hours and topics covered in the training of first−time adoptive
parents.  The training must cover issues that may confront
adoptive parents in general and that may confront adoptive
parents of special needs or international children.

The Act requires the rules to be effective April 1, 2007.
Because the rules apply not only to the Department which
administers the special needs adoption program with the
assistance of private agencies under contract with the
Department, and with the cooperation of county human and
social service agencies, but also to private agencies that
handle domestic adoptions and international adoptions, the
Department has invested a significant amount of time
gathering information from agencies regarding what training
is currently provided to preadoptive parents.  The Department
conducted written and follow−up telephone surveys with
private agencies to determine what content was currently
being taught, and the format used for training.  The
Department’s Adoption Services Committee met over several
months to determine the curriculum for special needs
adoption, the competencies that would be required for all
training programs, the number of hours and the
documentation that would be required in the training.  In
addition, the Department reviewed the proposed Hague
Convention (federal) training requirements for proposed
adoptive parents of international children to assure that
Wisconsin’s training requirements for first−time
pre−adoptive parents would meet or exceed those
requirements.

As a result of this extensive collaboration with
stakeholders, development of the proposed training
requirements has been unusually long and now requires the
training requirements to be implemented as an emergency
rule in order to meet the legislated date of April 1, 2007, the
date adoptive parents must begin receiving preadoptive
training.

This emergency rules are substantially similar to the
proposed permanent rules except in the hours of training
required.  Under the emergency order, adoption agencies are
required to provide adoptive parents with 2 hours of
orientation and 10 hours of training.  The proposed permanent
rule requires adoption agencies to provide 2 hours of
orientation and 16 hours of training.  Stakeholder agencies
have indicated that the additional 5 months under the
emergency rule will allow them to prepare all proposed
adoptive parents to meet the orientation and training
requirements under the proposed permanent rules.

Publication Date: March 31, 2007
Effective Date: April 1, 2007
Expiration Date: August 29, 2007
Hearing Date: April 27, 2007

Health and Family Services
(Medical Assistance, Chs. HFS 101−109)

Rules adopted revising ch. HFS 107, relating to benefits
covered by the Wisconsin Medical Assistance program, and
affecting small businesses.
Finding of Emergency

The Department of Health and Family Services finds that
an emergency exists and that the adoption of an emergency
rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public,
health, safety and welfare.  The facts constituting the
emergency are as follows:

A recent revision to s. HFS 107.07 (2), the prior
authorization subsection of the dental services section of the
Medicaid Administrative Code, caused a result which was not
intended by the Department. To correct this error, the
Department is promulgating rules to clarify that the
Department’s intent is to require prior authorization for
orthodontia and other services provided under early and
periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment (EPSDT)
services. The medical necessity of these services is
determined by the Department based on information
submitted by the provider. Thus, it is necessary to require
prior authorization to determine the appropriateness of
providing these services to an individual recipient.

In the previous rulemaking (Clearinghouse Rule 05−033)
the prior authorization requirement was removed for most
procedures that had high rates of approval (greater than 75%).
The change was intended to reduce the staff time required for
dental offices to process prior authorization requests. The
Department did not intend to remove the requirement for prior
authorization for orthodontia and other services. The
Department specifically stated, in Clearinghouse Rule
05−033, that ”Procedures where appropriate pricing requires
a high degree of clinical knowledge (e.g., orthodontics and
TMJ surgery), and procedures with strict time limitations
(e.g., dentures) are also proposed to retain prior
authorization.”

The language that was adopted, however, has been
interpreted by at least one dentist to mean that prior
authorization is no longer required to provide orthodontia to
recipients. This interpretation was upheld by an
administrative law judge in an administrative hearing. The
Department believes that the interpretation of the
administrative law judge could open up the Department to
being required to pay for procedures that are purely cosmetic.
Because the intent of the Department and the language
adopted, as recently interpreted, had opposite effects, the
Department is promulgating rules to revise section s. HFS
107.07 to clarify the intent of the rule.
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A basic concept of the Medicaid program is that services
must be medically necessary to be reimbursable.  Allowing
the existing rule language to remain in its present form could
require reimbursement for orthodontia that is not medically
justified.

Publication Date: April 30, 2007
Effective Date: April 30, 2007
Expiration Date: September 27, 2007

Natural Resources  (4)
(Fish and Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—)

1. Rules adopted amending s. NR 1.21 and creating s. NR
1.26, relating to contracting for timber sale establishment
services on state land.

Exemption from finding of emergency
As provided in section 13 of 2005 Wis. Act 166,

“Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1) (a) and (3) of the
statutes, the department is not required to provide a finding of
emergency for a rule promulgated under this subsection.”

Section 1 of the proposed rule distinguishes between
timber sales related tasks that can be contracted and functions
that Department staff must perform to protect the resource and
assure compliance with regulations and property master
plans. The purpose is to divide technical activities that are
appropriate for contracting from administration of finance,
policy and compliance issues. The rule defines bidding and
payment procedures for the contracted services, including
prequalification of bidders based on experience with timber
sales and related forest inventory work. Section 2 makes
technical corrections in the definition of educational
requirements for cooperating foresters. The change would
make educational requirements for cooperating foresters and
department foresters identical, including the allowance of
training equivalent to that obtained at a college accredited by
the Society of American Foresters.

Publication Date: February 6, 2007
Effective Date: February 6, 2007
Expiration Date: July 6, 2007
Hearing Date: March 21, 2007

2. Rules adopted creating s. NR 45.075, relating to declaring
natural emergencies on forested lands owned by the state
and under the jurisdiction of the department.

Exemption from finding of emergency
As provided in section 13 of 2005 Wis. Act 166,

notwithstanding s. 227.24, Stats., the Department is not
required to provide a finding of emergency for this rule and
the emergency rule will remain in effect until a permanent rule
is promulgated.

Rule FR−11−07(E) specifies those emergencies on
forested land under the jurisdiction of the department over
which the chief state forester shall have management
authority.  This rule describes causes of unforeseen damage or
threat of damage to trees that could lead the chief state forester
to declare an emergency and assume management authority.
Included in the list of damaging agents that could lead to the
declaration of an emergency are those required by the
legislature: invasive species, pest infestation, disease, and
damage to timber from fire, snow, hail, ice, or wind.  The rule
states that when declaring and responding to an emergency,

the chief state forester shall consider the purpose of and
management plan for the affected property in his or her
decisions.  This rule, however, would allow the chief state
forester to take actions not described in the management plan
for a property if that were the most appropriate response to the
emergency.  Finally, this rule describes the processes by which
the declaration of the state of emergency shall be made
effective, canceled or modified.

Publication Date: February 6, 2007
Effective Date: February 6, 2007
Expiration Date: July 6, 2007
Hearing Date: March 21, 2007

3. Rules adopted revising chs. NR 19 and 20, relating to the
control of fish diseases and invasive species.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Natural Resources finds that an

emergency exists and rules are necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A
statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The World Health Organization for Animal Health (OIE)
lists viral hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS)  as a ”notifiable”
disease, meaning that outbreaks must be reported
immediately.  VHS has been discovered in the Great Lakes,
and is moving from the lower lakes (Ontario and Erie), where
it has already caused large−scale fish kills, via Huron, where
it has been present since 2005, to the upper lakes (Michigan
and Superior).  Lake Michigan is connected to the Mississippi
River by the Chicago Sanitary and Ship Canal and Illinois
River, allowing fish and fish diseases to reach the Mississippi
drainage.  Twenty−seven species of Wisconsin fish have been
identified as susceptible by the OIE or USDA APHIS,
including most of our most important recreational and
commercial species.  The VHS virus can be transported from
affected areas to areas where it is not yet present via live fish,
fish eggs, refrigerated or frozen dead fish, or water where
infected fish have been present.  The presence of VHS virus
in the Great Lakes is therefore a threat to the public health or
safety or to the environment.

Publication Date: April 8, 2007
Effective Date: April 8, 2007
Expiration Date: September 5, 2007
Hearing Date: May 3, 10 and 17, 2007

4. Rules adopted revising chs. NR 19 and 20, relating to the
control of fish diseases and invasive species.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Natural Resources finds that an

emergency exists and the foregoing rules are necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The World Health Organization for Animal Health (OIE)
lists viral hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS)  as a ”notifiable”
disease, meaning that outbreaks must be reported
immediately.  VHS has been discovered in the Great Lakes,
and is moving from the lower lakes (Ontario and Erie), where
it has already caused large−scale fish kills, via Huron, where
it has been present since 2005, to the upper lakes (Michigan
and Superior).  Lake Michigan is connected to the Mississippi
River by the Chicago Sanitary and Ship Canal and Illinois
River, allowing fish and fish diseases to reach the Mississippi
drainage.  Twenty−seven species of Wisconsin fish have been
identified as susceptible by the OIE or USDA APHIS,
including most of our most important recreational and
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commercial species.  The VHS virus can be transported from
affected areas to areas where it is not yet present via live fish,
fish eggs, refrigerated or frozen dead fish, or water where
infected fish have been present.  The presence of VHS virus
in the Great Lakes is therefore a threat to the public health or
safety or to the environment.

This emergency rule clarifies and expands the emergency
rules put into effect on April 8, 2007.

Publication Date: May 2, 2007
Effective Date: May 2, 2007
Expiration Date: September 5, 2007

Optometry Examining Board

A rule was adopted creating ch. Opt 8, relating to
continuing education.

Exemption from finding of emergency
2005 Wisconsin Act 297 section 58 states in part:
“(3) Continuing education rules.  (b) …Notwithstanding

section 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3) of the statutes, the
optometry examining board is not required to provide
evidence that promulgating a rule under this paragraph as an
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of the public
peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under this
paragraph.”
Plain language analysis

Chapter Opt 8 is being created to incorporate the
continuing education requirements that optometrists must
complete in order to renew their registrations.  As a result of
the changes made to ch. 449, Stats., by 2005 Wisconsin Act
297, all optometrist will now be required to complete 30 hours
of continuing education.  Previously, only optometrists who
were certified to use diagnostic pharmaceutical agents (DPA)
and therapeutic pharmaceutical agents (TPA) were required
to complete continuing education course work.

Publication Date: November 8, 2006
Effective Date: November 8, 2006
Expiration Date: April 7, 2007
Hearing Date: December 7, 2006
Extension Through: June 5, 2007

Regulation and Licensing

Rules adopted creating chs. RL 160 to 168, relating to
substance abuse professionals.

Exemption from finding of emergency
Section 9140 (1q) of 2005 Wisconsin Act 25 states in part:

“Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3) of the
statutes, the department is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating a rule under this subsection as an
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of the public
peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under this
subsection.”
Plain language analysis

2005 Wisconsin Act 25 created Subchapter VII of chapter
440, Stats., Substance Abuse Counselors, Clinical
Supervisors, and Prevention Specialists.  This Act transferred
the certification and regulation of Alcohol and other Drug

Abuse (AODA) counselors from the Department of Health
and Family Services to the Department of Regulation and
Licensing, effective 2006.  This proposed rule−making order
creates rules relating to definitions, requirements for
certification, supervised practice, scope of practice, education
approval and professional liability insurance for substance
abuse professionals.

Publication Date: November 27, 2006
Effective Date: December 1, 2006
Expiration Date: April 30, 2007
Hearing Date: February 13, 2007

Transportation

Rules adopted revising ch. Trans 276, relating to allowing
the operation of certain 2−vehicle combinations on certain
highways without a permit.

Exemption from finding of emergency
The Legislature, by Section 7 of 2005 Wis. Act 363,

provides an exemption from a finding of emergency for the
adoption of the rule.
Plain language analysis

Section 348.07 (1), Stats., historically has limited vehicle
lengths on Wisconsin highways to 65 feet.  Section 348.07(2),
Stats., allowed vehicles meeting the specifications of that
subsection to operate without permits despite exceeding the
65−foot limit of subsection (1).

2005 Wis. Act 363 amended s. 348.07, Stats., and
essentially made 75 feet the default permitted length on the
state trunk highway system.  Wisconsin’s old default 65−foot
overall length limit still applies on all local roads but only
applies to state trunk highways that are designated as 65−foot
restricted routes by the Department.  This emergency rule
making establishes a preliminary list of such “65−foot
restricted routes.”

Prior to Act 363, s. 348.07 (4), Stats., permitted the
Department to designate “long truck routes” upon which no
overall length limits apply.  The Department designates the
state’s long truck routes in s. Trans 276.07.  This rule making
does not affect those longstanding designations.

The new “default” 75−foot overall length limit applies on
state highways that are neither designated as 65−foot
restricted routes under this rule making nor long truck routes
under s. Trans 276.07.

Definitions have been added to the rule to make it easier to
identify the nature of designations made by the Department in
Ch. Trans 276.

In drafting this rule the Department noticed several items
that it believes may be of special interest to the legislature and
which, in the Department’s view, deserve special legislative
attention.  First, Act 363 did not grant any authority for
75−foot vehicles using the new 75−foot routes to leave those
routes to reach fuel, food, maintenance, repair, rest, staging,
terminal or vehicle assembly facilities or points of loading or
unloading.  The Department does not believe this oversight
was intentional and, on an emergency basis, has designated
the intersection of each 75−foot route and any other highway
as a long truck route under its authority in s. 348.07 (4), Stats.
This will permit trucks to exceed the 65−foot default length
limit on local roads to access such facilities and make
deliveries.  The Department encourages the legislature to
consider statutorily establishing access rights for vehicles
using 75−foot restricted routes.

The second consequence of Act 363 the Department has
discovered in drafting this emergency rule is that one statute
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that formerly restricted double−bottom tractor−trailer
combinations to the state’s long−truck network was repealed
by the deletion of the reference to s. 348.07 (2) (gm), Stats.,
by the Act’s amendment of s. 348.07 (4), Stats.  Under the
amended statute, as revised by Act 363, it might appear to a
reader that double bottom trucks of unlimited length may
operate upon any highway in the state, including local roads
and streets, without permits.  Section 348.08 (1) (e), Stats.,
however, continues to provide that double−bottom trucks be
restricted to highways designated by the department under s.
348.07 (4).  WisDOT believes this provision continues to limit
double−bottom operation to long truck routes designated by
the Department under s. 348.07 (4), Stats.  WisDOT would
suggest the deleted reference to (2) (gm) in 348.07 (4), Stats.,
be re−inserted into the statute to avoid confusion.

Finally, the Department notes that s. 348.07, Stats., is
becoming difficult to decipher from a legal standpoint
because of the many amendments that have been made to it
over the years.  It may be that recodifying the statute for the
purpose of clarification of the length limitations of Wisconsin
law would be helpful to truck and long vehicle operators in
this state.

Publication Date: September 15, 2006

Effective Date: September 15, 2006

Expiration Date: See section 7 (2) of 2005 Wis.
  Act 363

Hearing Date: October 4, 2006

Workforce Development (2)
(Workforce Solutions, Chs. DWD 11 to 59)

1. Rules adopted revising s. DWD 56.06, relating to child
care rates and affecting small businesses.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The child care subsidy budget estimates that the child care
subsidy program will have a tight budget by the end of fiscal
year 06−07.  This is due to flat federal funding, rising
caseload, and increased provider costs.  To begin to address
the tight budget, the Department will not increase the child
care subsidy maximum rates for 2007.  This emergency rule
will maintain the maximum rates at 2006 levels.

Publication Date: January 22, 2007

Effective Date: January 22, 2007
Expiration Date: June 21, 2007
Hearing Date: May 7, 2007

2. Rules adopted revising ch. DWD 56, relating to child care
enrollment underutilization.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.  A
statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The child care subsidy budget is expected to have a
substantial deficit by the end of state fiscal year 2006−07.
While many factors will have an impact on the program’s final
fiscal balance, current spending patterns at current rates
suggest that the program will exceed its 06−07 budget
authorization by approximately $46 million.  This rule will
provide for more efficient use of the program’s limited
funding.

Publication Date: April 1, 2007
Effective Date: April 1, 2007
Expiration Date: August 29, 2007

Workforce Development
(Public Works Construction, 

Chs. DWD 290−294)

Rules adopted amending s. DWD 290.155 (1), relating to
the adjustment of thresholds for application of prevailing
wage rates.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

Adjusting the thresholds for application of the prevailing
wage rate requirements by emergency rule ensures that the
adjustments are effective on a date certain that is prior to the
time of year that project requests are generally submitted to
the Department and applicability of the prevailing wage law
is determined. The adjustment avoids imposing an additional
administrative burden on local governments and state
agencies caused by an effective decrease of the thresholds due
solely to inflation in the construction industry. If these new
thresholds are not put into effect by emergency rule, the old
thresholds will remain effective for approximately six to
seven months, until the conclusion of the permanent
rule−making process. The thresholds are based on national
construction cost statistics and are unlikely to be changed by
the permanent rule−making process.

Publication Date: December 28, 2006
Effective Date: January 1, 2007
Expiration Date: May 31, 2007
Hearing Date: February 19, 2007
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Scope statements

Insurance

Subject
Objective of the rule.  The proposed rule would allow life

insurers to use the 2001 CSO Preferred Class Structure
Mortality Table, which reflects differences in mortality
between preferred and standard lives in determining
minimum reserve liabilities, in accordance with s. 623.06 (2)
(am) 3., Stats., and s. Ins 2.80 (4) (a) and (b), Wis. Adm. Code.
Policy Analysis

The existing requirements are contained primarily in s.
623.06  (2) (am) 3., Stats., s. Ins 2.80 (4) (a) and (b), Wis. Adm.
Code, and Subch. V of Ch. 50, Wis. Adm. Code. These
provisions establish mortality tables to be used by insurers to
calculate minimum reserves and requirements related to
testing and reporting of actuarial information. The proposed
rule will allow insurers, meeting prescribed conditions, to use
the 2001 CSO Preferred Class Structure Mortality Table as
adopted by the National Association of Insurance
Commissioners (NAIC) at the September, 2006, national
meeting and published in the NAIC Proceedings (Third
Quarter 2006), in determining minimum reserves on policies
written after January 1, 2007. The table will allow insurers to
reflect differences in mortality between preferred and
standard lives in establishing reserve liabilities to more
precisely fit the characteristics of outstanding policies. The
proposed rule is under consideration as it has been
recommended by the NAIC, will increase the ability of
management and regulators to monitor financial status, and
has been adopted or is in the process of being adopted by a
significant number of other states.
Statutory Authority

The statutory authority for this rule is ss. 601.41 (3), 601.42
(3), and ch. 623, Stats.
Staff Time Required To Develop The Proposed Rule

100 hours and no other resources are necessary.
Entities That May Be Affected By The Proposed Rules

The proposed rule will affect insurers which offer life
insurance products.
Comparison With Federal Regulations

The office is unaware of any proposed or existing federal
regulation that is intended to address the activities to be
regulated by this proposed rule.

Medical Examining Board

Subject
Prescribing limitations on physician assistants.

Policy Analysis
Objective of the rule.  To modernize rules relating to

physician assistants’ prescribing limitations.
Currently, physician assistants may issue prescription

orders in patient situations described in written guidelines that
are reviewed annually by the physician assistant and
supervising physician.  Prescription orders must be

countersigned by the supervising physician or the patient
record must be countersigned within 72 hours or one week,
depending on the practice site.  Based on physician assistants’
advances in licensure and a record of safe prescribing,
co−signature of every prescription is no longer needed.
Further, re−conceptualizing the required written guidelines
for prescribing to reflect delegation of services would allow
for more flexibility in the assignment of tasks between the
physician and the physician assistant.
Comparison With Federal Regulations

There is no existing or proposed federal regulation.
Entities That May Be Affected By The Proposed Rules

Physicians, physician assistants, and all health care
institutions that employ physician assistants.
Statutory Authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 448.04 (1) (f), 448.05 (5)
and 448.40, Stats.
Staff Time Required To Develop The Proposed Rule

100 hours.

Natural Resources

Subject
Viral Hemorrhagic Septicemia virus was diagnosed as the

cause of huge fish kills in Lake Huron, Lake St Clair, Lake
Erie, Lake Ontario and the St Lawrence River in 2005 and
2006.  VHS is an invasive species. It can reasonably be
assumed that it is already present in Lake Michigan, although
it has not yet been confirmed there or in Lake Superior.  The
purpose of this rule is to slow or block the spread of the virus
from the Great Lakes to hatcheries, inland lakes, and the
Mississippi River drainage.  VHS is not a human health
concern.  Because other pathogens and invasive species travel
by the same pathways as VHS, this rule will have broader
significance.
Policy Analysis

The Department is committed to limiting the spread of
invasive species and pathogens in the environment.  This rule
will aid the Department in controlling the spread of VHS virus
in the following ways:

1) It prohibits the possession on the water and use of live
bait (crayfish, frogs, and minnows) from outside Wisconsin,
except minnows imported in compliance with USDA APHIS
and DATCP import and health requirements.  Live bait enters
Wisconsin from other parts of the country (including probably
Lake Ontario) where VHS may be present.  Because those
requirements preclude the importation of live fish that that
have not tested negative for VHS, this will help assure that the
VHS virus is not introduced to inland waters via live bait.

2) It prohibits the possession on the water and use of dead
bait, except used on the water the bait originated from, or on
Lake Michigan, Green Bay and their tributaries, or when
preserved in a way that would kill VHS virus.  VHS virus can
survive in dead bait that has been refrigerated or frozen.  Great
Lakes smelt, lake herring, and chubs and Pacific Ocean
herring are used for cut bait in Wisconsin.   This provision will
help assure that VHS virus is not imported in dead bait.
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3)  It prohibits the transportation of live fish or fish eggs
from waters of the Great Lakes or the Mississippi River
drainage, except a) fish being exported in compliance with
USDA APHIS regulations and orders, b) fish or fish eggs
tested and found to be free of VHS virus, and c) fish or fish
eggs transported with the prior written approval of the
Department.   We want to minimize the possibility that any
live fish or fish eggs from VHS−affected waters are
transported to VHS−free waters.  It is likely that VHS virus is
present in Lake Michigan and quite possible that it is present
in Lake Superior and the Mississippi River drainage.

4) It requires all boaters to drain water from bilges, ballast,
buckets, and live wells immediately after leaving waters of
the Great Lakes or of the Mississippi River drainage, unless
exempted in writing by the Department.   This provision
addresses the risk that boaters will inadvertently transport the
VHS virus in boats and compartments of boats.

5) It allows the Department to deny permits for the use of
non−standard minnow gear by licensed bait dealers, to
prevent the spread of invasive species or diseases.   Currently
the presence of pathogens or invasive species is not sufficient
to deny applications for non−standard minnow gear.  With this
provision, the Department will be able to assure that minnow
harvest is not authorized from waters where the VHS virus is
known to occur.
Statutory Authority

Sections 23.09 (2) (intro), 23.091, 23.11 (1), 23.22 (2) (a)
and (b) 6., 27.01 (2) (j), 29.014 (1), 29.041 and 227.11 (2) (a),
Stats.
Staff Time Required To Develop The Proposed Rule

Three weeks.
Entities That May Be Affected By The Proposed Rules

This rule will affect commercial fishers, wholesale fish
dealers, sport anglers, boaters, and individuals involved in the
importation, harvest, rearing, sale, or use of bait.
Comparison With Federal Regulations

In late 2006 the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Animal
and Plant Health Inspection Service issued an emergency
order limiting the movement of live fish from Ontario or
Quebec into the United States and limiting the interstate
movement of live fish.   That order does not apply to fish
moved within the boundaries of individual states.  This rule
addresses within−state spread of VHS virus, while the federal
order addresses between−state and between country spread of
VHS virus.  The proposed rule is similar in intent to the federal
order, but addresses some additional vectors of spread of this
pathogen.
Contact

Michael Staggs, Director
Bureau of Fisheries Management
101 S. Webster St.
Madison, WI 53707
Michael.Staggs@wisconsin.gov
608−267−0796

Natural Resources

Subject
Amendments are being proposed to Ch. NR 140, Wis.

Adm. Code, revising existing state groundwater quality

standards in cases where established federal numbers or
health based reference doses for substances have changed, or
where significant technical information, not considered when
federal numbers or reference doses were established, justifies
revision.

Amendments are also proposed to establish new state
groundwater quality standards for substances detected in, or
with a reasonable probability of entering, the groundwater
resources of the state, provided sufficient scientifically valid
technical information exists to allow the Department of
Health and Family Services (DHFS) to develop
recommendations for standards.
Policy Analysis

Background. Chapter NR 140, Wis. Adm. Code,
establishes numeric groundwater quality standards for
substances of public health and welfare concern.  It also
creates a framework for implementation of those standards.
New and revised groundwater quality standards in NR 140 are
based on recommendations developed by DHFS.  The Board
has approved amendments to NR 140 in 1988, 1990, 1991,
1993, 1995, 1996, 1998, 1999, 2003 and 2006, to revise
existing standards, establish new standards and to clarify rule
language.  There are now groundwater quality standards in
NR 140 for 122 substances of public health concern and 8
substances of public welfare concern.

Policy Issues/Analysis of Policy Alternatives.  Chapter NR
140, Wis. Adm. Code, was adopted by the Natural Resources
Board in 1985 to comply with Wisconsin Statute Chapter 160.
Chapter 160, Stats., created as part of the 1983 Wisconsin Act
410 (The Groundwater Bill), requires the Department of
Natural Resources to develop groundwater quality standards
for substances detected in, or having a reasonable probability
of entering, the groundwater resources of the state.

Chapter NR 140, Wis. Adm. Code, establishes
groundwater quality standards at two levels: preventive
action limit (PAL) and enforcement standard (ES).  In
accordance with ch. 160, Stats., ES groundwater quality
standards for substances of public health concern are
established based on recommendations received from DHFS.
PAL groundwater quality standards for substances of public
health concern are set at either 20% of the concentration of the
established ES, or at 10% of the concentration of the
established ES if the substance has carcinogenic, mutagenic
or teratogenic properties or interactive effects.
Statutory Authority

The Department’s statutory authority to establish state
groundwater quality standards is contained in Ch. 160, Stats.,
and ss. 281.12 (1), 281.15, 281.19 (1) and 299.11, Stats.

Chapter 160, Stats., establishes an administrative process
for developing numerical state groundwater quality standards
to be used as criteria for the protection of public health and
welfare by all state groundwater regulatory programs.
Chapter 160, Stats., directs the Department to use this
administrative process to establish numeric groundwater
quality standards for substances of public health or welfare
concern, found in, or having a reasonable probability of being
detected in, the groundwater resources of the state.
Staff Time Required To Develop The Proposed Rule

The estimated staff time needed to develop these
amendments to Ch. NR 140 is approximately 725 hours.
Entities That May Be Affected By The Proposed Rules

The proposed groundwater standards would apply to all
regulated facilities, practices and activities which may impact
groundwater quality.
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Comparison With Federal Regulations
The United States Environmental Protection Agency (US

EPA) establishes health based drinking water maximum
contaminant levels (MCLs) and health advisory (HA) levels.
Federal MCLs, applicable at public water supply systems, are
established based on scientific risk assessments and, in some
cases, economic and technological considerations.  Federal
HAs are developed for different durations of exposure (e.g.,
one−day, ten−day, and lifetime).  Lifetime HAs are developed
utilizing established health risk assessment reference doses
(RfDs).

The administrative process for developing numerical state
groundwater quality standards established in Ch. 160, Stats.,
requires that DHFS base their recommendations for standards
on federal numbers.  Federal numbers, as defined in Ch. 160,
Stats., include MCLs and established cancer risk levels.  In
cases where federal numbers have not yet been established for
a substance, DHFS utilizes acceptable daily intake/RfD
values to develop their recommendations for standards.
Contact Person

Bill Phelps, Bureau of Drinking Water and Groundwater,
P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707; (608) 267−7619;
William.Phelps@wisconsin.gov

Natural Resources

Subject
Objective of the rule.  Changes to chs. NR 406, 407, and

445.  The proposed rule changes pertain to implementation of
established air permit requirements and hazardous air
pollutant emission requirements for sources of emissions of
hazardous air contaminants associated with agricultural
waste.  In addition, possible proposed “clean up” amendments
to ch. NR 445 will address minor non−controversial technical
corrections.
Policy Analysis

Existing policy on the regulation of air emissions from
livestock operations is established in current rules as follows.

Hazardous air pollutant (HAP) emissions from animal
feeding operations are regulated under ch. NR 445.  This rule
establishes ambient air standards for specific HAP, off the
source’s property.  The acceptable ambient concentration for
two HAP typically associated with animal feeding operations,
ammonia and hydrogen sulfide, are 418 and 335 micrograms
per cubic meter, respectively, both on a 24 hour average basis.
Multiple compliance demonstration options are provided in
this rule, including demonstrating stack emissions are below
table values in the rule, or air dispersion modeling predicting
impacts lower than established standards.

Revisions to ch. NR 445, made in July 2004 provide a 36
month exemption, until June 2007, for sources of HAP
emissions associated with agricultural waste.  After this
exemption period, new sources are required to comply upon
start up and existing sources have an additional 12 months to
comply.  The July 2004 revisions allow use of best
management practices as approved by the Department of
Natural Resources (DNR) as a compliance option.

Also published in July 2004, were revisions to the air
permit requirements of chs. NR 406 and 407, providing a
parallel 36 month air permit exemption for sources of HAP
emissions associated with agricultural waste from July 2004
to July 2007.

The end of the 36 month exemption period was established
to coincide with the anticipated completion of studies at the
state and federal level which would provide air emission data
to support rule applicability determinations and information
about the efficacy of best management practices to support
development of criteria for the evaluation of best
management practice proposals.  Information about these
studies is provided below.

Siting standards for new and expanding livestock
operations were published in ATCP 51 in 2006.  Included in
these standards are new odor standards.  The odor evaluation
component of the state study outlined below is intended to
support implementation of the odor standards in ATCP 51.
The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection (DATCP) is responsible for implementation of
ATCP 51.

State Study
The Department of Natural Resources (DNR) is engaged

in a cooperative project to evaluate air emissions and best
management practices for the control of hazardous air
pollutant emissions from the handling of agricultural waste.

The project includes ambient air monitoring for hydrogen
sulfide and ammonia as well as odor evaluation near several
dairy operations, installation of grant−funded improvements,
and ambient air monitoring to evaluate the impact of the
improvements in controlling hydrogen sulfide and ammonia
emissions.  Partners in this project include DATCP, USDA
Natural Resources Conservation Service (USDA NRCS),
Wisconsin Agricultural Stewardship Initiative, Wisconsin
Farm Bureau Federation, Dairy Business Association,
Professional Dairy Producers of Wisconsin, University of
Wisconsin−Platteville Pioneer Farm, and the University of
Wisconsin Discovery Farms.  Funding for this project is
provided by a USDA NRCS Conservation Innovation Grant,
along with state funds from DNR and DATCP.  Field work
began in 2006, later than anticipated due to protracted
negotiations.  The final report is due July 2008.  Note,
monitoring of air emissions associated with landspreading of
agricultural waste is not included in this study.

Federal Study
US EPA has initiated a national two−year program to

monitor and evaluate air emissions from animal feeding
operations.  Field work began in late 2006, later than
originally anticipated by DNR. Within 18 months after the
study ends, US EPA will evaluate the data and publish air
emission−estimating methods for animal feeding operations
(by mid−2010).  These methods will allow owners to estimate
air emissions from their animal feeding operations and
comply with applicable federal regulatory requirements in the
Clean Air Act, Comprehensive Environmental Response,
Compensation, and Liability Act, and the Emergency
Planning and Community Right−to−Know Act.  Note,
monitoring of air emissions associated with landspreading of
agricultural waste is not included in this study.

As noted above, the DNR anticipated obtaining data from
these studies in time to support implementation of the July
2004 rule revisions.  Lacking these study results, the DNR
currently does not have as much information as it intended to
form a sound basis for decisions on rule applicability and
criteria for evaluation of best management practice proposals.
In light of this, the proposed rule changes are necessary to
ensure appropriate implementation of air permit requirements
and hazardous air pollutant emission requirements for new
and existing sources of emissions of hazardous air
contaminants associated with agricultural waste.
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Possible “clean up” amendments to ch. NR 445 are
necessary to address minor non−controversial technical
corrections.

New Policy, Alternative Policies
The DNR does not anticipate changes to underlying policy

related to air permit requirements and hazardous air pollutant
emission requirements for sources of emissions of hazardous
air contaminants associated with agricultural waste.
However, the proposed changes will affect the manner or
timeframe in which existing requirements are implemented.

The DNR does not anticipate that the possible “clean up”
amendments will result in any policy changes.
Statutory Authority

Sections 285.11(1), 285.13 and 285.17, Stats.
Staff Time Required To Develop The Proposed Rule

214 hours DNR staff time.
Entities That May Be Affected By The Proposed Rules

Entities likely to be impacted or interested include owners,
operators, and neighbors of animal feeding operations;
agriculture industry advocacy organizations; environmental
advocacy organizations; and Wisconsin Department of
Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection.
Comparison With Federal Regulations

Existing Federal Regulations
Under the federal Clean Air Act, new and existing major

stationary sources of federally regulated air pollutant
emissions are subject to federal air permit requirements.
Included are permit requirements under the federal
“Prevention of Significant Deterioration” and
“Non−Attainment Area” New Source Review programs,
along with the applicable requirements for “Best Available
Control Technology”, and “Lowest Achievable Emission
Rate” technology and offsets, respectively.  Emissions
associated with animal feeding operations are not
categorically exempt from these requirements.

Under the federal Clean Air Act, 188 hazardous air
pollutants are regulated through National Emission Standards
for Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAPs) established by
industry sector.  No such standards have been established
specifically for animal feeding operations.  Furthermore,
ammonia and hydrogen sulfide, two air pollutants associated
with animal feeding operations, are not regulated as federal
hazardous air pollutants under the Clean Air Act.

Hazardous air pollutants associated with animal feeding
operations are regulated under the federal Comprehensive
Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act,
and the federal Emergency Planning and Community
Right−to−Know Act.  These federal regulations include
reporting requirements for releases of hazardous air
pollutants to the air.

As noted in an August 2005 US EPA press release, US EPA
began to realize in the late 1990’s that it didn’t have sufficient
air emissions data to implement federal Clean Air Act
requirements for animal feeding operations.  To resolve the
situation, US EPA began discussions with animal feeding
operation owners in 2001.  These discussions led to a January
31, 2005 EPA Federal Register notice offering individual
animal feeding operations an opportunity to voluntarily sign
a consent agreement committing animal feeding operations to
participate in a nationwide air emission monitoring study, pay
penalties, and achieve full compliance the Clean Air Act, the
Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation,
and Liability Act, and the Emergency Planning and

Community Right−to−Know Act, within the timeframes
established in the consent agreement.  In return, EPA provides
limited amnesty from enforcement action during the term of
the agreement.

The DNR is not aware of any new or proposed federal
regulations pertaining to air emissions animal feeding
operations.

Existing State Regulations
The federal air permit requirements described above are

incorporated into state air permit rules in chs. NR 405, 406,
and 407.  In addition, chs. NR 406 and 407 include air permit
requirements for minor sources.  Emissions associated with
animal feeding operations are not categorically exempt from
these requirements, however the revisions to chs. NR 406 and
407 published in July 2004 established an exemption period
ending in July 2007 for sources of hazardous air emissions
associated with agricultural waste.

Hazardous air pollutant emissions from animal feeding
operations are regulated under ch. NR 445.  This rule
establishes ambient air standards for specific hazardous air
pollutants, off the source’s property.  The acceptable ambient
concentration for two pollutants that are typically associated
with animal feeding operations, ammonia and hydrogen
sulfide, are 418 and 335 micrograms per cubic meter,
respectively, both on a 24 hour average basis.  As noted above,
ammonia and hydrogen sulfide are not regulated as federal
hazardous air pollutants.

Similar to federal reporting requirements, state reporting
requirements include the air spill reporting requirements in
ch. NR 445 and the annual air emission reporting
requirements of ch. NR 438.  Air emissions from animal
feeding operations are not categorically exempt from these
reporting requirements.

The proposed changes to chs. NR 406, 407, and 445,
pertain to implementation of established state air permit
requirements and state hazardous air pollutant emission
requirements for sources of emissions of hazardous air
contaminants associated with agricultural waste.  The
proposed changes will affect the manner in which state and
federal regulations differ, but are not expected to resolve the
existing differences.

The possible proposed “clean up” amendments to ch. NR
445 will address minor non−controversial technical
corrections.  No significant changes in the differences
between existing state and federal regulations are anticipated
from the possible proposed “clean up” amendments.
Contact

Eileen Pierce, WDNR
3911 S. Fish Hatchery Road
Fitchburg, WI  53711
608−275−3296
eileen.pierce@wisconsin.gov

Natural Resources

Subject
Objective of the rule.  Modify existing procedures and

possibly existing exemptions in Chapter NR 500, Wis. Adm.
Code to better manage accumulated sediment in detention
structures required by the Clean Water Act (CWA).
Policy Analysis

The volume of sediment accumulating in detention
structures and requiring sound management is expected to
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increase markedly as the storage capacity in existing
detention structures is exhausted and as more detention
structures are installed.  More sediment detention structures
are coming on line due to broader requirements for
stormwater management in the CWA.  Accumulated sediment
is a solid waste and must be managed in a manner that
complies with Chapter NR 500, Wis. Adm. Code.  Therefore,
there is an anticipated increase in the Waste and Materials
Management program’s workload and a need to maintain
consistency in sediment management practices.

The department has regulatory responsibility yet existing
review procedures are not defined and no adequate guidelines
exist.  The department would like to take a proactive approach
in this matter.  Alternatives include: 1) allow case−by−case
review by a wide range of reviewers without a consistent
regulatory framework, 2) provide a template for complete
self−regulation of accumulated sediments, 3) provide a
mechanism for the full review and approval for all
management approaches for accumulated sediment, or 4)
provide a regulatory structure for sediment management with
appropriate safeguards based on self−regulation combined
with targeted use of staff resources.
Statutory Authority

Chapter 289, Wis. Stats.

Staff Time Required To Develop The Proposed Rule
Approximately 500 hours of staff time will be required to

complete the rule revision.
Comparison With Federal Regulations

There are no comparable federal regulations pertaining to
the management of accumulated sediment.
Entities That May Be Affected By The Proposed Rules

The parties most affected by the proposed rule changes
include those regulatory authorities responsible for
administering stormwater ordinances, county and local units
of government and municipalities with sediment structures,
developers of housing, commercial or industrial sites, owners
of industrial site or health care parking lots, environmental
groups, consultants and interested citizens.

The rule revisions will be developed with input from
affected stakeholders.  A Technical Advisory Committee
(TAC) would include representatives from some or all of the
stakeholders cited above.
Contact

Tom Portle
GEF 2, 101 S. Webster St., Madison
(608) 267−0877
Thomas.Portle@Wisconsin.gov
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Submittal of rules to legislative council clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Health and Family Services

On April 27, 2007 the Department of Health and Family
Services submitted proposed rules to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis

The rules will revise chs. HFS 83, 88, 89, 132, and 134
to require community−based residential facilities, adult
family homes, residential care apartment complexes,
nursing homes, and facilities for the developmentally
disabled to provide, to the Department, information
necessary to determine the facilities’ compliance with s.
55.14, Stats., relating to involuntary administration of
psychotropic drugs under s. 55.14, Stats.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required; however, a public hearing
has not yet been scheduled for this proposed rule.

Contact Person

For substantive questions on rules, contact:
Otis Woods, Administrator
Department of Health and Family Services
Division of Quality Assurance
1 West Wilson, Room 1150
P.O. Box 2969
Madison, WI 53701−2969
phone: (608) 267−7185, fax: (608) 267−0352
e−mail: Woodsol@dhfs.state.wi.us

For small business considerations and rulemaking
considerations, contact:

Rosie Greer
608−266−1279
greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us

Health and Family Services

On April 27, 2007 the Department of Health and Family

Services submitted proposed rules to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Analysis

The rules will revise ch. HFS 107 relating to prior
authorization of dental services to correct an error.

Section 441.56 of Title 42 of the Code of Federal
Regulations specifies the procedures and tests required to
provide early and periodic screening, diagnosis and
treatment (EPSDT) services to recipients.

This revision will assist the state in complying with the
requirements of that provision, by specifying more clearly
that the state’s intent is to only cover certain services
required as a result of a screening, as described in that
provision. The provision of dental services to Medicaid
recipients is described in 42 CFR s. 440.100. The state
regulations are currently in conformance with that
provision. This revision will not change that conformance.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required.  The Department
anticipates holding at least one public hearing which will
be published in the Wisconsin Administrative Register and
on the Wisconsin Administrative Rules Website at
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov
Contact Person

For substantive questions on rules, contact:

Al Matano
Division of Health Care Financing
P.O. Box 309
Madison, WI 53702
608−267−6848
matana@dhfs.state.wi.us

For small business considerations and rulemaking
considerations, contact:

Rosie Greer
608−266−1279
greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us
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Rule−making notices

Notice of Hearings
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

[CR 07−037]
[Reprinted from 4/30/07 Register]

The state of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade
and Consumer Protection (DATCP) announces that it will
hold public hearings on proposed amendments to chapters
ATCP 60, 69, 70, 71, 75, 77, 80, 81, 82 and 85, Wis. Adm.
Code, relating to food and dairy license and reinspection fees.

DATCP will hold three public hearings at the times and
places shown below.  DATCP invites the public to attend the
hearings and comment on the proposed rule.  Following the
public hearings, the hearing record will remain open until
Monday, June 11, 2007, for additional written comments.
Comments may be sent to the Division of Food Safety at the
address below, by email to
debbie.mazanec@datcp.state.wi.us, or online by using the
State of Wisconsin’s Administrative Rules website at:
https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home.

You may obtain a free copy of this rule by contacting the
Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection, Division of Food Safety, 2811 Agriculture Drive,
P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708.  You can also obtain a
copy by calling (608) 224−4712 or emailing
debbie.mazanec@datcp.state.wi.us.  Copies will also be
available at the hearings.  To view the proposed rule online,
go to the State of Wisconsin’s Administrative Rules website
at:

https://apps4.dhfs.state.wi.us/admrules/public/Home.

To provide comments or concerns relating to small
business, please contact DATCP’s small business regulatory
coordinator Keeley Moll at the address above, by emailing to
Keeley.Moll@datcp.state.wi.us or by telephone at (608)
224−5039.

Hearing impaired persons may request an interpreter for
these hearings.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by May 9, 2007, by writing to Deb Mazanec,
Division of Food Safety, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI
53708−8911, telephone (608) 224−4712.  Alternatively, you
may contact the DATCP TDD at (608) 224−5058.  Handicap
access is available at the hearings.

Hearing Dates and Locations:

Tuesday, May 15, 2007
10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

State of Wisconsin Office Building, Room 105

718 W. Clairemont Avenue

Eau Claire, WI 54701

Wednesday, May 16, 2007
10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Appleton Public Library, Room C

225 N. Oneida Street

Appleton, WI 54911

Tuesday, May 22, 2007
10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Dept. of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
2811 Agriculture Drive, Board Room (CR−106)
Madison, Wisconsin, 53718−6777

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection (“DATCP”) administers Wisconsin’s dairy and
food safety program.  The program is funded, in major part,
by dairy and food license fees.  This rule increases current
license fees in order to address an imminent deficit in the food
safety program revenue account.

Statutory Authority
Statutory authority:  93.07 (1), 93.09 (10), 93.12 (7), 97.17

(4), 97.175 (2), 97.20 (2c) (b), (2g) (b), (2n) (b), (2w) and (4),
97.21 (4m) and (6), 97.22 (2) (b), (4) (am) and (8), 97.27 (3m)
and (5), 97.29 (3) (am), (cm) and (5), 97.30 (3m) and (5), and
98.146 (4), Stats.

Statutes interpreted:  93.09, 93.12, 97.17, 97.175, 97.20,
97.21, 97.22, 97.27, 97.29, 97.30 and 98.146 (4), Stats.

DATCP has broad authority, under s. 93.07(1), Stats., to
adopt rules needed to implement laws under its jurisdiction.
DATCP also has specific authority, under the provisions cited
above, to establish dairy and food license and reinspection
fees.

Rule Content
This rule increases current license and reinspection fees for

dairy and food businesses, as shown below.  DATCP plans to
adopt and publish this rule before May 1, 2008, but fee
increases will first apply to fees that are due on July 1, 2008.

Entity Current Fee(s) Proposed
Fee(s)

Dairy Farm $24 annual license fee (paid
by dairy plant operator)

$32

$24 or $48 reinspection fee
(paid by dairy plant opera-
tor if reinspection is
required)

$32 or $64

Dairy Plant Annual license fee 
(calculations include an
increase in the basic license
fee from $96 to $129) 
$699 or $879 for grade A
processing plant  (based on
size)

$937 or
$1,178

$397 for grade A receiving
station

$532

$96 for grade A transfer sta-
tion

$129
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Entity Current Fee(s) Proposed
Fee(s)

$96 to $421 for grade B
processing plant (based on
size)

$129 or
$565

$96 for grade B receiving
station or transfer station

$129

Grade A milk procurement
fee:
  0.96 cent per 100 lbs.

1.081 cent
per 100 lbs.
(for pay-
ments due
beginning
July 1,
2008)

Grade B milk procurement
fee:
 0.2 cent per 100 lbs. No change

Reinspection fee:
$203 or $246 for grade A
processing plant

$336 or
$394

$221 for grade B processing
plant

$360

$122 for grade A receiving
station

$229

$48 for grade B receiving
station or transfer station

$64

Butter and cheese grading
fee:
1.09 cents per 100 lbs. of
product

1.5 cents per
100 lbs. of
product

Food Proc-
essing Plant

$78−$685 annual license fee
(based on size and type)

$105 − $918

$261 canning surcharge for
canning plants with annual
production of 25,000 or
more

$350

$49−$431 reinspection fee
(based on size and type)

$66 − $578

Food 
Warehouse

$65−$261 annual license fee
 (based on size and type)

$87−$350

$92−$246 reinspection fee
(based on size and type)

$123 − $330

Milk 
Distributor

$60 annual license fee per
facility

$80

$25 reinspection fee per
facility

$34

Entity Current Fee(s) Proposed
Fee(s)

Retail Food
Store

$37−$562 annual license fee
(based on size and type)

$50−$753

$74−$369 reinspection fee
(based on size and type)

$99 − $494

Dairy, Food
or Water
Testing Lab

$336 annual lab certification
fee for each dairy or food
test (other than milk drug
residue screening)

$450

$276 annual lab certification
fee for each water test

$370

$25 annual certification fee
for each dairy or food ana-
lyst (other than milk drug
residue screening analyst)

$34

$50−$500 initial fee and
$25−$50 annual renewal fee
for lab performing milk
drug residue screening

$67−$670
initial fee
$34−$67
annual
renewal fee

$25 initial evaluation fee for
milk drug residue screening
analysts
(if more than 3 per lab)

  $34

Bulk Milk
Tanker

$36 annual bulk milk tanker
license fee

  $48

$36 bulk milk tanker rein-
spection fee

  $48

$48 bulk milk weigher &
sampler license fee (2−year
license)

  $64

$48 bulk milk weigher and
sampler reinspection fee

  $64

Butter-
maker or
Cheese-
maker

$60 license fee (2−year
license)

  $80

Butter or
Cheese
Grader

$60 license fee (2−year
license)

  $80

This rule does not affect any of the following:
� Fees that DATCP charges for certain services, such as

review of food processing equipment plans, or the testing,
timing and sealing of pasteurizers.  DATCP is authorized to
charge fees for such services in order to cover its cost of
providing the services.  DATCP may adjust these service fees
by written notice, in order to keep fees consistent with service
costs.

� License fees for milk and cream testers.  DATCP is not
authorized to adjust these fees by rule.  Milk and cream testers
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currently pay a license fee of $50 (for a 2−year license) and a
reinspection fee of $25.

� License fees for meat establishments.  Meat inspection
programs are funded by a combination of federal dollars and
matching state GPR dollars.  Under federal law, states must
match federal dollars with state GPR dollars, not license fees.

Fiscal Estimate

State Fiscal Effect
This rule will increase food safety program revenues by

approximately $994,000 per year, beginning in FY 2008.  The
increase is needed to offset a projected deficit in DATCP’s
food safety program revenue account beginning in FY 2007.
A complete fiscal estimate is attached.

Wisconsin’s food safety program is funded by a
combination of general tax dollars (GPR) and program
revenue from license fees (PR).  In 1991, license fees funded
about 40% of program costs.  The 1995−97 biennial budget
act reduced the GPR funding share, so that PR funded about
50% of program costs.  Subsequent state budgets further
reduced the GPR funding share, so that PR now funds about
60% of the food safety budget.

Recent state budgets have lapsed a substantial amount of
food safety license fee revenue to the state general fund (to
help remedy state budget deficits).  At the same time, DATCP
has experienced a modest increase in operating costs.  DATCP
proposed a license fee increase in 2005, but was forced to
withdraw a large share of that fee increase proposal.  As a
result, DATCP projects a substantial food safety budget
deficit beginning in FY 2007.

DATCP is working to deliver effective food safety
protection as efficiently as possible.  For example:

DATCP has reduced its food and dairy staff by
approximately 17% since 1990 (from 118 to 98 staff).
Staffing trends fairly reflect changes in the food and dairy
industry, including a reduction in dairy farm numbers and
increased delegation of retail food regulation to cooperating
local governments.  While food safety staffing needs have
declined in some traditional areas, they are growing in other
areas.

DATCP works with local governments to license and
inspect retail food establishments.  Thirty−four local entities
license and inspect on behalf of DATCP, compared to 15 in
1997 (local participation is voluntary).  Local entities now
license and inspect 4,600 retail food establishments.  DATCP
licenses and inspects the remaining 4,200 establishments.

DATCP is working to reform national dairy regulations,
which impose rigid Grade A inspection frequency
requirements.  DATCP is pursuing a more flexible, risk−based
inspection system that could reduce inspection costs.  In the
meantime, Wisconsin must comply with current inspection
mandates in order to ship milk and fluid milk products in
interstate commerce.

DATCP and the Wisconsin Department of Health and
Family Services (DHFS) have eliminated duplicate licensing
and inspection of grocery stores, restaurants, and combination
grocery−restaurants.  DATCP and DHFS have adopted
uniform rules for grocery stores and restaurants, based on the
federal Model Food Code.

Local Fiscal Effect
DATCP currently provides administrative support to local

governments that license and inspect retail food
establishments as agents of DATCP.  Local governments
establish their own license fees, and reimburse DATCP for
administrative services costs.  The reimbursement amount
equals 10% of the license fees that DATCP would charge local

license holders, if DATCP licensed them directly.  An increase
in DATCP license fees therefore increases local
reimbursement payments (current payments do not fully
compensate DATCP for its costs).

In FY 2006, local governments made a total of $58,000 in
reimbursement payments.  If DATCP adopts the fee increases
proposed in this rule, the reimbursement rate will remain at
10%, but the total reimbursement amount will increase to
approximately $76,500.  This rule thus increases local costs
by approximately $18,500 (statewide total).  Local
governments can (and likely will) pass this increased cost on
to retail food businesses.  Local governments can set license
fees to recover up to 100% of their reasonable operating costs.

Business Impact

This rule affects all milk producers, dairy plants, food
processing plants, food warehouses, milk distributors, retail
food stores, dairy and food testing laboratories, milk haulers,
buttermakers, cheesemakers, and butter and cheese graders
licensed by the department.  Many of these businesses are
“small businesses” as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.

This rule increases annual license fees, reinspection fees
and milk procurement fees, beginning with fees that are due
in July, 2008.  This will increase overall dairy and food
industry costs by a combined total of approximately $994,000
per year.  Costs for individual businesses will depend on
business size and type.  Because of competitive market
conditions, it may be difficult for affected businesses to
increase prices to recover these costs.

The proposed fee increases will have a significant but not
dramatic impact on affected businesses.  In the multi−billion
dollar dairy and food industries, license fees comprise a
relatively small overall share of industry costs.  DATCP has
worked to maintain a fair and equitable license fee schedule.

Fees are based on actual food safety costs related to each
license sector.  Fees are also based on business size, food
product type, and type of food handling operations.  Smaller
businesses generally pay lower fees than large businesses, and
lower−risk businesses generally pay lower fees than
higher−risk businesses.

This rule increases food safety license fees, but does not
change other license requirements.  This rule requires no
additional recordkeeping, and no added professional services
to comply.   A Business Impact Analysis is attached.

DATCP has not incorporated a small business enforcement
policy in this rule, but has adopted a separate rule on that
subject (see subch. VII of ch. ATCP 1).  DATCP will seek
voluntary compliance.  However, food and dairy businesses
must pay required license fees in order to obtain a license from
DATCP.

Federal Regulation

There are no existing or proposed federal regulations
related to license fees for food and dairy businesses operating
in Wisconsin.  However, national regulations such as the
Interstate Pasteurized Milk Ordinance (“PMO”) have a
significant impact on state program costs.  The PMO includes
rigid inspection frequency requirements for grade A dairy
farms and other grade A dairy operations.  Wisconsin must
comply with the PMO in order to ship milk and fluid milk
products in interstate commerce.

Surrounding State Programs

All of the surrounding states charge license fees to food and
dairy businesses.  License structure and fees vary between
states.  Differences in license fees are partly related to
differences in general tax dollar support for food and dairy
programs in different states.
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Minnesota
Minnesota has a license and fee structure that is similar to, but not identical to, Wisconsin’s structure:

Dairy Fees – Minnesota
Grade A pasteurizing plant $500
Grade A farm $50
Grade A farm reinspection fee $45
Manufacturing plant $140 per pasteurizer unit
Manufactured farm $25
Manufactured farm reinspection fee $45
Processor assessment $.07 per cwt for fluid milk products sold for retail

sale in Minnesota
Farm bulk milk pick−up tanker $25
Milk procurement fee $.0071 per cwt of raw milk purchased

Food Fees – Minnesota
Retail food handler $50−$2,001 based on sales volume
Wholesale food handler $57−$1,502 based on sales volume
Food broker $150
Wholesale food processor or manufacturer $169−$2,571 based on sales volume

Michigan
Michigan has a license and fee structure that is similar to, but not identical to, Wisconsin’s structure:

Dairy fees – Michigan
Milk plant $175
Farms sending milk to plant $5−$10
Receiving or transfer station $50
Milk tank truck cleaning facility $50
Milk transportation company $20
Milk tank truck $10
Grade A milk distributor $50
Single service container and closure plant $50
Bulk milk hauler/sampler $40 for 2 years

Food Fees – Michigan
Retail food establishment $70
Limited wholesale food processor $70
Food warehouse $70
Extended retail food establishment $175
Wholesale food processor $175
Mobile food establishment $175
Temporary food establishment $28
Bottled water manufacturer $25 for each product registered and $25 for each

water dispensing machine
Iowa
Iowa has a license and fee structure that is similar to, but not identical to, Wisconsin’s structure:

Dairy Fees – Iowa
Milk plant $2,000 for 2 years
Transfer station $400 for 2 years
Receiving station $400 for 2 years
Milk hauler $20 for 2 years
Milk grader $20 for 2 years
Bulk milk tanker permit $50 for 2 years
Reinspection fee $40
Resealing pasteurizer fee $100 per reseal
Purchaser of milk fee − Grade A $.015 per cwt of raw milk purchased
Purchaser of milk fee − Grade B $.005 per cwt of raw milk purchased
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Food Fees – Iowa
Mobile food unit or pushcart $20
Temporary food establishment $25
Food establishment $30−$225 based on sales volume*
Food service establishment $50−$225 based on sales volume*
Food processing plant $50−$250 based on sales volume
Egg handler $15−$250 based on cases sold

*If one establishment must hold both a food establishment and a food service establishment license, each license fee is 75% of the established fee.

Illinois

Illinois has a license and fee structure that is substantially different from the Wisconsin structure:

Dairy Fees – Illinois
Milk plant permit $100
Receiving or transfer station $50
Cleaning and sanitizing facility $50
Milk hauler−sampler $25
Milk tank truck $25
Certified pasteurizer sealer $100

Illinois does not license or charge fees to non−dairy food establishments, except that Illinois charges the following fees to the
following establishments:

Food Fees
Salvage Operator $100 plus inspection fee based on size
Bottled water manufacturer or distributor $150
Egg handlers, distributors and breakers $15−$200 plus inspection fee per case of eggs sold

Notice of Hearing
Elections Board

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 5.05 (1)
(f) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., and interpreting ss. 5.02 (14) and
(17), 6.27, 6.275, 6.29, 6.33, 6.34, 6.35, 6.36, 6.40, 6.45, 6.46,
6.48, 6.50, 6.54, 6.55, 6.56, and 6.57, Stats., the State
Elections Board will hold a public hearing at the offices of the
State Elections Board, located at 17 W. Main Street, in the
City of Madison, Wisconsin, on the 11th of June, 2007, at 9:30
a.m., to consider adoption of emergency rule s. ElBd 3.50,
relating to charges for voter registration data.

Analysis Prepared by the State Elections Board

Statute(s) interpreted: ss. 5.02 (14) and (17), 6.27, 6.275,
6.29, 6.33, 6.34, 6.35, 6.36, 6.40, 6.45, 6.46, 6.48, 6.50, 6.54,
6.55, 6.56, and 6.57, Stats.

Statutory authority: ss. 5.05 (1) (f) and 227.11 (2) (a)

Related statute(s) or rule(s): s. 19.35, Stats.

Explanation of agency authority: This amended rule
interprets ss. 5.02 (14) and (17), 6.27, 6.275, 6.29, 6.33, 6.34,
6.35, 6.36, 6.40, 6.45, 6.46, 6.48, 6.50, 6.54, 6.55, 6.56, and
6.57, Stats.  The rule requires that persons who request copies
of information or data from the Statewide Voter registration
System must pay, for each such copy, a charge calculated
under the provisions of the rule according to the schedule
established by the rule.

At the present time, the Elections Board is limited, in the
fee that it can charge for information provided by the
Statewide Voter registration System, to the fee set by s. 19.35
(3), Stats.: “the actual, necessary and direct cost of
reproduction and transcription of the record.”  In order to
recover both the cost of reproduction and the cost of
maintaining the list at the state and local level, rather than
having its charge be limited to the amount currently provided
under the public records law, the Board needs an immediate

rule reflecting both cost components required by the new
statute.

The Elections Board finds that under Section 180 of the
non−statutory provisions of 2005 Wisconsin Act 451, in
subsection (4), the Elections Board may promulgate
emergency rules under s. 227.24, Stats., implementing s. 6.36
(6), Stats., as created by Wisconsin Act 451. Notwithstanding
s. 227.24 (1) (c) and (2), Stats., emergency rules promulgated
under sub. (4) remain in effect until the date on which
permanent rules take effect. Notwithstanding s.  227.24 (1) (a)
and (3), Stats., the elections board is not required to provide
evidence that promulgating a rule under sub. (4) as an
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of public
peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under sub.  (4).

Plain language analysis: The rule provides the methods by
which the Elections Board staff will calculate the pricing to
fulfill requests for voter registration data that are contained
within the Statewide Voter Registration System.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulations: The federal government does not have a
voter registration system and does not provide voter
registration data for which it could exact a charge.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: Illinois, Iowa,
Michigan and Minnesota all have voter registration data
systems which collect a charge for data comparable to
Wisconsin’s.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:
The legislature has directed the board to calculate a cost of
data and record reproduction and a cost of list maintenance
and build those costs into its charges for copies of voter
registration data and records.  Those are the only data or
methodology that affects the rule.

Effect on small business: The rule will have no effect on
small business or economic impact.
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Contact Person

George A. Dunst
Legal Counsel, State Elections Board
17 West Main Street, P.O. Box 2973
Madison, Wisconsin 53701−2973
Phone 266−0136
(george.dunst@seb.state.wi.us)

Submission of Comments and Deadline for Submission

Comments should be submitted to:
State Elections Board
17 West Main Street, P.O. Box 2973
Madison, Wisconsin 53701−2973
Phone 266−0136 (elections.state.wi.us)
Deadline for submission: June 4, 2007.

Text of Rule

Pursuant to the authority vested in the State of Wisconsin
Elections Board by ss. 5.05 (1) (f) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.,
the Elections Board hereby creates s. ElBd 3.50, interprets ss.
5.02 (14) and (17), 6.27, 6.275, 6.29, 6.33, 6.34, 6.35, 6.36,
6.40, 6.45, 6.46, 6.48, 6.50, 6.54, 6.55, 6.56, and 6.57, Stats.:

SECTION 1.  ElBd  3.50 is created to read:
ElBd 3.50 Charges for voter registration data.
(1) Definitions. As used in this rule:
(a) “Custom report” means a report that is not programmed

to run in the Statewide Voter Registration System at the time
a request for the report is made.

(b) “Election official” has the same meaning as provided in
s. 5.02 (4e), Stats.

(c) “Official registration list” has the same meaning as
provided in s. 6.36, Stats.

(d) “Protected information” means any information that is
protected from general public disclosure by ss.6.36(1)(b)1.a.,
and 6.47, Stats.

(e) “Report” means a defined list of related voter
registration data records generated from the Statewide Voter
Registration System.

(g) “Voter registration data” means data contained in the
official registration list.

(h) “Voter registration data record” means a set of related
information requested from the official registration list which
consists of a core data element and related attributes.  A core
data element is the basic unit of data that is being requested,
including, but not limited to, a voter name, candidate, election
official, or address.  The related attributes consist of pieces of
data associated with that core data element.

(2) The official registration list shall be open to public
inspection consistent with the requirements of ss. 6.36, 6.45
through 6.47, and ss. 19.31 through 19.36, Stats.

(3) Any person may obtain, from the official registration
list, voter registration data that is not protected information,
upon payment of the applicable charges.

(4) The charge for reports in electronic format is a $25 base
fee per report plus $5 for the first 1,000 voter registration data
records in the report, plus $5 for each additional 1,000 voter
registration data records, rounded to the nearest thousand.
The maximum charge for an electronic report is $12,500.

(5) The charge for a paper copy of a report is $.25 per page,
plus the cost of postage and shipping.

(6) Any request for a report or custom report submitted to
the State Elections Board shall either be made in writing by

the requester or shall be reduced to writing by the board’s
staff.  Any request by the board for payment in advance for the
report requested shall include a copy of the report request in
writing as submitted by the requester or as memorialized by
the board’s staff.

(7) Any person may request a copy of the poll list used at
an election from the municipal or county clerk who has
custody of the list.  The cost of a copy of a poll list provided
by a municipal or county clerk shall be a fee determined by
that clerk not to exceed the cost of reproduction.

(8) The state elections board, its staff, and each municipal
or county election official shall take steps to ensure that any
protected information contained in the Statewide Voter
Registration System, or on a poll list, is not made available for
public inspection.

(9) If a request for voter registration data requires a custom
report, and the elections board staff determines that it can
produce the report, the cost of producing the custom report
charged to the requester shall be calculated by the board’s staff
on a case−by−case basis and shall include, in addition to the
costs articulated in subs. (4) or (5), including any applicable
costs of handling and mailing, costs of reproduction,
including programming costs; and the costs of maintenance of
the SVRS as authorized by s. 6.36 (6), Stats.  Requests
fulfilled under this subsection are not subject to the maximum
charge limitations in sub. (4).

(10) The fees received from requests for voter registration
data will remain with the municipality, county, or the State
Election Board, whoever produces and provides the report.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
The creation of this rule does not affect business.

Fiscal Estimate
The creation of this rule has no fiscal effect.

Notice of Hearing
Health and Family Services

(Medical Assistance, Chs. HFS 101−109)
[CR 07−041]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 49.45
(10) and 227.11 (2), Stats., and interpreting s. 49.46 (2) (b) 1.,
Stats., the Wisconsin Department of Health and Family
Services proposes to repeal ss. HFS 107.07 (1) (k) and (2) (a)
5. and 107.22 (4) (a) and (b), and to amend ss. HFS 107.07 (2)
(a) (intro.), (3) (intro.) and (a) 3., (4) (intro.) and (j) and (4m),
and 107.22 (4) (intro.), relating to benefits covered by the
Wisconsin Medical Assistance program, and affecting small
businesses.

Hearing Date(s) and Location(s)

Date and Time Location
June 12, 2007
10:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon

1 West Wilson Street
Room B−370
Madison, WI

The hearing site is fully accessible to people with
disabilities.  If you are hearing impaired, do not speak English
or have circumstances that might make communication at a
hearing difficult; you require an interpreter or a non−English
large print or taped version of the proposed rules, contact the
person at the address or telephone number given below at least
10 days before the hearing.  With less than 10 days notice, an
interpreter may not be available.
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Submission of Comments and Deadline for Submission
Written comments may be submitted at the public hearing

or submitted to the contact person listed below.  Comments
may also be made using the Wisconsin Administrative Rule
Website at http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  The deadline for
submitting comments to the Department is 4:30 p.m. on June
19, 2007.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Health and
Family Services

The Department is revising rules to clarify circumstances
under which the Wisconsin Medicaid program will reimburse
providers for orthodontia and certain other services provided
to recipients under age 21. In Clearinghouse Rule 05−033, the
prior authorization requirement was removed for most
procedures that had high rates of approval (greater than 75%).
The change was intended to reduce the staff time required for
dental offices to process prior authorization requests. The
Department did not intend to remove the requirement for prior
authorization for orthodontia and other services. In
Clearinghouse Rule 05−033, the Department specifically
stated that “Procedures where appropriate pricing requires a
high degree of clinical knowledge (e.g., orthodontics and
TMJ surgery), and procedures with strict time limitations
(e.g., dentures) are also proposed to retain prior
authorization.” The adopted language, however, has been
interpreted by at least one dentist to mean that prior
authorization is no longer required to provide orthodontia to
recipients. This interpretation was upheld by an
administrative law judge in an administrative hearing.
Because the intent of the Department and the language
adopted, as recently interpreted, had opposite effects, the
Department intends to revise rules to clarify the Department’s
intent  to require prior authorization for orthodontia and other
services provided under early and periodic screening,
diagnosis and treatment (EPSDT) services.

A basic concept of the Medicaid program is that services
must be medically necessary to be reimbursable. The medical
necessity of these services is determined by the Department
based on information submitted by the provider. Thus, it is
necessary to require prior authorization to determine the
appropriateness of providing these services to an individual
recipient.  Allowing the existing rule language to remain in its
present form could require reimbursement for orthodontia
that is not medically justified.

The department will first implement these changes in
emergency rule that is followed by a substantially identical
permanent rule.

Effect on Small Business
The rule changes are being made to correct an error made

in Clearinghouse Rule 05−033. The error made in
Clearinghouse Rule 05−033 could require reimbursement of
orthodontia that is not medically justified. The Department
does not expect that the rules will increase costs to dentists.

Small Business Regulatory Coordinator
Rosie Greer
Greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us
608−266−1279

Fiscal Estimate
The Department is revising rules to clarify circumstances

under which the Wisconsin Medicaid program will reimburse
providers for orthodontia and certain other services provided
to recipients under age 21. In Clearinghouse Rule 05−033, the
prior authorization requirement was removed for most
procedures that had high rates of approval (greater than 75%).
The change was intended to reduce the staff time required for
dental offices to process prior authorization requests. The

Department did not intend to remove the requirement for prior
authorization for orthodontia and other services. In
Clearinghouse Rule 05−033, the Department specifically
stated that “Procedures where appropriate pricing requires a
high degree of clinical knowledge (e.g., orthodontics and
TMJ surgery), and procedures with strict time limitations
(e.g., dentures) are also proposed to retain prior
authorization.”  The adopted language, however, has been
interpreted by at least one dentist to mean that prior
authorization is no longer required to provide orthodontia to
recipients. This interpretation was upheld by an
administrative law judge in an administrative hearing.
Because the intent of the Department and the language
adopted, as recently interpreted, had opposite effects, the
Department is promulgating rules to revise section s. HFS
107.07 to clarify the Department’s intent  to require prior
authorization for orthodontia and other services provided
under early and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment
(EPSDT) services.

A basic concept of the Medicaid program is that services
must be medically necessary to be reimbursable. The medical
necessity of these services is determined by the Department
based on information submitted by the provider. Thus, it is
necessary to require prior authorization to determine the
appropriateness of providing these services to an individual
recipient.  Allowing the existing rule language to remain in its
present form could require reimbursement for orthodontia
that is not medically justified.

The rule will not have a fiscal effect on local government
or the private sector.  Restoration of prior approval provisions
in the dental services section of the Medicaid regulations
should result in continued savings to the Medicaid program.

Copies of Rules and Fiscal Estimate
A copy of the full text of the rules and the fiscal estimate

can be obtained at no charge from the Wisconsin
Administrative Rules Website at http://adminrules.
wisconsin.gov or by contacting the person listed below.

Contact Person
Al Matano
Division of Health Care Financing
P.O. Box 309
Madison, WI 53702
608−267−6848  or  matana@dhfs.state.wi.us

Notice of Hearing
Natural Resources

(Environmental Protection—Air Pollution
Control, Chs. NR 400—)

[CR 07−040]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 227.11

(2) (a), 285.11 (1), (6) and (16), 285.60 (6), 285.67 and
285.69, Stats., interpreting ss. 227.11 (2) (a) and 285.11 (1)
and (6), Stats., the Department of Natural Resources will hold
a public hearing on revisions to chs. NR 400, 406, 407, 410
and 439, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to construction permits
and stack test requirements.  The State Implementation Plan
developed under s. 285.11 (6), Stats., is also being revised.
The Department is proposing to incorporate changes in
federal regulations.

Some changes in chs. NR 400 and 407 are updating
definitions and other revisions to the federal standards
regarding fugitive emissions and permitting standards.
Additional changes in chs. NR 406 and 407 clarify when a
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construction permit is needed for sources covered under
general operation permits. Portable source relocation
limitations found in ch. NR 406 will be amended by changing
the numerical emission limitations to language limiting the
relocation limitations to less than major source thresholds.

Section NR 410.03 will be amended so construction
permits can be issued concurrently with operation permits,
streamlining the process for minor revisions to those permits.
The revision is being made so that the collection of permit fees
and the issuance of an operation permit are independent of
each other.  If fees are not paid, the Department has the ability
to revoke a permit or to refer the source to the Department of
Justice to collect the fees.

Chapters NR 439 and 462 have different and conflicting
stack test requirements for boilers that are subject to national
emission standards for hazardous air pollutants, maximum
achievable control technology (MACT).  The proposed
amendment to ch. NR 439 allows boilers subject to that
MACT standard to use the testing schedule in ch. NR 462
rather than the current requirements in ch. NR 439.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
s. 227.114, Stats., the proposed rule may have an impact on
small businesses.  The initial regulatory flexibility analysis is
as follows:

a.  Types of small businesses affected:  Sources of fugitive
emissions may become subject to the federal operation permit
program as a result of this rule change.  Low emitting dry
cleaners, metal cleaners and chrome electroplaters may be
excluded from major source permitting requirements as a
result of this rule.

b.  Description of reporting and bookkeeping procedures
required:  Facilities subject to federal operation permit
requirements must report their compliance status to the
Department every six months.  Facilities that are not subject
to federal operation permit requirements must report their
compliance annually.

c.  Description of professional skills required:  The
proposed rule changes does not create any additional need for
professional skills than those that are required under current
regulations.

The Department’s Small Business Regulatory Coordinator
may be contacted at SmallBusiness@dnr.state.wi.us or by
calling (608) 266−1959.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
Department has made a preliminary determination that this
action does not involve significant adverse environmental
effects and does not need an environmental analysis under ch.
NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code.  However, based on the comments
received, the Department may prepare an environmental
analysis before proceeding with the proposal.  This
environmental review document would summarize the
Department’s consideration of the impacts of the proposal and
reasonable alternatives.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the hearing
will be held on:

June 12, 2007 Room 511, GEF #2 Building
(Tuesday) 101 South Webster Street
at 1:00 p.m. Madison

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
the Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of informational
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.  Please
call Robert Eckdale at (608) 266−2856 or by e−mail at
Robert.Eckdale@wisconsin.gov with specific information on

your request at least 10 days before the date of the scheduled
hearing.

Fiscal Estimate
No governmental economic impacts are anticipated.

Copies of Rule and Submission of Comments
The proposed rule and supporting documents, including

the fiscal estimate may be viewed and downloaded and
comments electronically submitted at the following Internet
site:  http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  (Search this Web site
using the Natural Resources Board Order No. AM−12−07.
Written comments on the proposed rule may be submitted via
U.S. mail to Joe Brehm, Bureau of Air Management, P.O. Box
7921, Madison, WI 53707 or by e−mail to Joseph.Brehm@
wisconsin.gov.  Comments may be submitted until June 19,
2007.  Written comments whether submitted electronically or
by U.S. mail will have the same weight and effect as oral
statements presented at the public hearings.  If you do not have
Internet access, a personal copy of the proposed rule and
supporting documents, including the fiscal estimate may be
obtained from Robert Eckdale, Bureau of Air Management,
P.O. Box 7921, Madison, WI 53707 or by calling (608)
266−2856.

Notice of Hearing
Revenue

[CR 07−027]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that, pursuant to and

interpreting s. 73.029, Stats., the Department of Revenue will
hold a public hearing at the time and place indicated below, to
consider the amendment and creation of rules relating to
electronic funds transfer.

Hearing Information
The hearing will be held at 9:00 A.M. on Wednesday, May

30, 2007, in the Events Room (1st floor) of the State Revenue
Building, located at 2135 Rimrock Road, Madison,
Wisconsin.

Handicap access is available at the hearing location.

Analysis Prepared by the Department of Revenue
Statute interpreted: s. 73.029, Stats.
Statutory authority: s. 73.029, Stats.
Explanation of agency authority: Section 73.029, Stats.,

provides that the department may require electronic funds
transfer only by promulgating rules.

Related statute or rule: s. 71.91 (7), Stats.
Plain language analysis: This proposed rule order creates

a provision specifying that withholding payments by an
employer of the delinquent tax of an employee (also known
as wage certification payments) are required to be made by
electronic funds transfer (EFT). It also updates notes to
provide current contact information for the department’s EFT
Unit.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulation: There is no existing or proposed federal
regulation that is intended to address the activities to be
regulated by the rule.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: The department
is not aware of a similar rule in an adjacent state.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:
Wage certifications are authorized under s. 71.91(7), Stats.
The number of wage certification payments received each
year number in the tens of thousands. The department has
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determined that in order to administer this program in the
most cost effective manner, it is necessary to require
employers to make wage certification payments
electronically.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine
effect on small business: The department provides methods to
pay taxes using EFT that occur at no or minimal cost to the
payer. In addition, an exception to the requirement to pay
electronically for situations where an undue hardship is
caused is provided in the rule. Based on this, the department
has concluded that this proposed rule order does not have a
significant effect on small business.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector: This proposed
rule order does not have a significant fiscal effect on the
private sector.

Effect on small business: This proposed rule order does not
have a significant effect on small business.

Agency contact person: Please contact Dale Kleven at
(608) 266−8253 or dkleven@dor.state.wi.us, if you have any
questions regarding this proposed rule order.

Submission of comments: Comments may be submitted to
the contact person shown below no later than one week after
the public hearing on this proposed rule order is conducted.
Information as to the place, date, and time of the public
hearing will be published in the Wisconsin Administrative
Register.

Dale Kleven
Department of Revenue
Mail Stop 6−40
2135 Rimrock Road
P.O. Box 8933
Madison, WI 53708−8933

Text of Rule

SECTION 1.  Tax 1.12 (1), (2), (3) (g), and (4) (a) (intro.)
are amended to read:

Tax 1.12 (1). SCOPE.  This section applies to any person
who is required to or elects to pay or deposit taxes or, fees, or
other amounts by electronic funds transfer, or “EFT.”

Tax 1.12 (2). PURPOSE.  The purpose of this section is to
specify which taxes and, fees, and other amounts are required
to be paid or deposited using the EFT payment method, to
provide that certain persons not required to use the EFT
payment method may elect to do so and to explain the
procedures for using EFT.

Tax 1.12 (3) (g). “Payer” means any person who is required
to or elects to pay or deposit taxes or, fees, or other amounts
by electronic funds transfer.

Tax 1.12 (4) (a) (intro.). Except as provided in sub. (11), the
department requires a person who owes taxes and, fees and
other amounts as described in subds. 1. to 13. 14. to pay or
deposit the taxes and, fees, and other amounts using the EFT
payment method. The following taxes and, fees, and other
amounts are included in the EFT payment requirement:

SECTION 2.  Tax 1.12 (4) (a) 14. is created to read:

Withholding by an employer of the delinquent tax of an
employee under s. 71.91 (7), Stats.

SECTION 3.  Tax 1.12 (4) (b) is amended to read:

Tax 1.12 (4) (b). Any person not required to use the EFT
payment method under par. (a) may elect to use the EFT

payment method to pay or deposit the taxes or, fees, or other
amounts specified in par. (a).

Note to revisor: Replace the note at the end of Tax 1.12 (6)
(a) with the following:

Note: A request for an EFT registration packet may be
made by calling the department’s EFT unit at (608) 264−9918;
by writing to EFT Unit, Wisconsin Department of Revenue,
P.O. Box 8949, Madison WI 53708−8949; or by submitting an
online form via the department’s website at
www.revenue.wi.gov.

SECTION 4.  Tax 1.12 (7) (intro.) is amended to read:
Tax 1.12 (7) (intro.). EFT PAYMENT PROCEDURES.

EFT payments or deposits shall be credited by the department
directly to the payer’s tax account or, for amounts described
in sub. (4)(a)14., to the employee’s delinquent tax account.
The payer may use the ACH debit or ACH credit transfer
option, or both, as follows:

Note to revisor: Replace the note at the end of Tax 1.12 (7)
(a) with the following:

Note: Written requests for department approval of another
ACH debit transfer method should be addressed to EFT Unit,
Wisconsin Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 8949, Madison
WI 53708−8949.

Note to revisor: Replace the note at the end of Tax 1.12 (11)
(a) 1. with the following:

Note: Written waiver requests should be addressed to EFT
Unit, Wisconsin Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 8949,
Madison WI 53708−8949.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

This proposed rule order does not have a significant
economic impact on a substantial number of small businesses.

Fiscal Estimate

The proposed rule requires that withholding payments by
an employer of the delinquent tax of an employee be made
using electronic funds transfer.  No change is made to filing
thresholds or amounts remitted.  The rule should have a
minimal fiscal impact on taxpayers. It is expected that
administrative cost savings will be $34,000 per year
beginning in fiscal year 2009.

Comments on the Rule
Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and

may make an oral presentation.  It is requested that written
comments reflecting the oral presentation be given to the
department at the hearing.  Written comments may also be
submitted to the contact person shown below no later than
June 6, 2007, and will be given the same consideration as
testimony presented at the hearing.

Contact Person
Small Businesses: Others:
Tom Ourada Dale Kleven
Department of Revenue Department of Revenue
Mail Stop 624−A Mail Stop 6−40
2135 Rimrock Road 2135 Rimrock Road
P.O. Box 8933 P.O. Box 8933
Madison, WI  53708−8933 Madison, WI  53708−8933
Telephone (608) 266−8875
E−mail: 
  tourada@dor.state.wi.us

Telephone (608) 266−8253

E−mail: 
  dkleven@dor.state.wi.us
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Submittal of proposed rules to the legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Commerce
(CR 07−007)

Chs. Comm 5 and 20, relating to dwelling contractor
certification.

Regulation and Licensing
(CR 06−125)

Chs. RL 4 and 174 to 177, relating to the registration of
sanitarians.

Transportation
(CR 06−103)

Ch. Trans 200, relating to specific information signs.

Veterans Affairs
(CR 07−022)

Ch. VA 8, relating to the county veterans service officer
grant program.
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Rule orders filed with the revisor of statutes bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.  It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.   Contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at gary.poulson@legis.state.wi.us or (608) 266−7275 for updated information on
the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Architects, Landscape Architects, Professional
Engineers, Designers and Land Surveyors
(CR 06−057)

An order affecting A−E 6, relating to land surveyor
education and experience requirements.

Effective 6−1−07.

Health and Family Services
(CR 05−052)

An order affecting ch. HFS 107, relating to private duty
nursing and respiratory care service benefits covered by
the Wisconsin medical assistance program.

Effective 7−1−07.

Natural Resources
(CR 06−104)

An order affecting ch. NR 17, relating to hound dog

training and trialing on captive wild animals.
Effective 7−1−07.

Natural Resources
(CR 06−111)

An order affecting ch. NR 25, relating to commercial
fishing open seasons in Lake Michigan for chubs.

Effective 7−1−07.

Public Service Commission
(CR 06−106)

An order affecting ch. PSC 135, relating to incorporating
recent changes to the federal pipeline safety regulations.

Effective 7−1−07.
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