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Emergency rules now in effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Administration

Rules adopted revising ch. Adm 10, relating to cost benefit
analyses of contractural services.

Exemption from Finding of Emergency
Section 8(2) of 2005 Wisconsin Act 89 requires the

Department of Administration to promulgate rules required
under ss. 16.004 (1), 16.705 (2) and 227.11 Stats., by using the
emergency rulemaking procedure under s. 227.24, Stats.,
except that the department is not required to provide evidence
that the emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of
public peace, health, safety or welfare and is not required to
provide a finding of emergency.
Plain language analysis

The department intends to promulgate a rule as required by
Act 89 to require a cost−benefit analysis to be completed for
each bid or request for proposal to compare the cost of
contracting for services versus providing the services with
state employees.

Currently, all state agencies and UW System campuses
may contract for services between $25,000 and $200,000 if
they can show that the services can be performed more
economically or efficiently by such a contract than by state
employees. Currently, if the contractual services would be
greater than $200,000, the contracting agency must complete
a more rigorous and detailed cost/benefit analysis to
demonstrate that the services can be performed more
economically or efficiently by such a contract than by state
employees.  This more rigorous and detailed analysis includes
total cost, quality and nature of services required, specialized

skills, time factors, risk factors and legal barriers.  Act 89
requires agencies to conduct uniform cost−benefit analysis of
each proposed contractual service procurement involving an
estimated expenditure of more than $25,000 in accordance
with standards prescribed in the rules.  Cost benefit−analysis
is defined to include total cost, quality, technical expertise and
timeliness of a service.

Act 89 also requires agencies to review periodically, and
before any renewal, the continued appropriateness of
contracting under each services agreement involving an
estimated expenditure of more than $25,000.  Act 89 requires
the department to complete an annual summary report of the
cost benefit−analysis prepared by state agencies in the
preceding fiscal year and recommendations for elimination of
unneeded contractual service procurements and for the
consolidation or resolicitation of existing contractual service
procurements.

Publication Date:July 1, 2006

Effective Date: July 1, 2006
Expiration Date: See section 8 (2) of 2005 Wis. Act 89.
Hearing Date: August 11, 2006

Agriculture, Trade & Consumer Protection (2)

1. Rules adopted revising chs. ATCP 10 and 11, relating to a
poultry flock certification program.

Finding of Emergency
(1)  The Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and

consumer protection (“DATCP”) administers Wisconsin’s
animal health and disease control programs, including the
national poultry improvement program (NPIP).  The NPIP is
designed to prevent the spread of Salmonella pullorum, fowl
typhoid and, in the case of turkeys, Mycoplasma
gallispepticum.  NPIP is governed by 9 CFR 145 and 147.
NPIP enrollment is voluntary, but non−enrolled flocks are
subject to certain movement restrictions.

(2)  Current DATCP rules prohibit the import, use, sale or
movement of poultry, farm−raised game birds or their eggs for
breeding or hatching unless they originate from flocks that are
enrolled in NPIP and meet NPIP standards.  Current DATCP
rules also prohibit the exhibition of poultry or farm−raised
game birds at a fair, exhibition or swap meet unless they
originate from an NPIP “pullorum−typhoid clean” or
equivalent flock, or are individually tested for
pullorum−typhoid.

(3)  NPIP is primarily designed for large commercial flocks
that move birds or eggs in interstate commerce.  NPIP requires
yearly testing of all sexually mature birds, and routine
inspections.  Fees for enrollment in the program differ based
on flock size and purpose, and range from $20 to $200.  NPIP
enrollment and testing may be cost−prohibitive for small
flocks.  Current rules restrict market access and exhibition by
small producers of poultry and farm−raised game birds, and
impose an unnecessary burden on those producers.  Some
small producers may be tempted to ignore or subvert current
rules, in order to market or exhibit their poultry or farm−raised
game birds.  That may, in turn, create unnecessary risks of
disease.
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(4)  It is urgently necessary to provide alternative disease
monitoring options for small producers of poultry and
farm−raised game birds, so that those producers can legally
and economically move, market and exhibit their birds.  The
current lack of alternatives creates an unnecessary economic
hardship, and an unnecessary risk of disease spread.

(5)  DATCP has proposed rules which would create
practical disease monitoring alternatives for small producers
of poultry and farm−raised game birds.  DATCP is proceeding
to adopt those rules by normal rulemaking procedures.
However, normal rulemaking procedures require at least a
year to complete.  A temporary emergency rule is needed to
eliminate unnecessary hardship and risk in the short term, and
to provide practical and effective disease monitoring for this
year’s fair and exhibition season.

Publication Date: March 3, 2006

Effective Date: March 3, 2006

Expiration Date: July 31, 2006
Hearing Date: March 31, 2006

Extension Through: September 28, 2006

2. Rules adopted revising ch. ATCP 136, relating to mobile
air conditioners; reclaiming or recycling refrigerant.

(1)  The Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade and
consumer protection (“DATCP”) administers s. 100.45, Stats.
 DATCP has adopted rules under ch. ATCP 136 to implement
s. 100.45, Stats.  The current rules regulate the sale and
installation of mobile air conditioner refrigerants, including
“substitute refrigerants” such as R 134A.  Among other
things, the current rules prohibit the sale of mobile air
conditioner refrigerants in containers holding less than 15 lbs.
of refrigerant.

(2)  On June 28, 2006, the Legislature’s Joint Committee
for Review of Administrative Rules (JCRAR) voted to
suspend all current state rules related to the installation and
sale of “substitute refrigerants” of any kind.  This broad
exemption will become effective on July 7, 2006 unless by
that date DATCP adopts a narrower alternative exemption by
emergency rule.  The narrower exemption specified by
JCRAR would apply only to the sale of the “substitute
refrigerant” R 134A.  The exemption would allow the sale of
R 134A to the general public in “do−it−yourself” containers
holding less than 15 lbs.

(3)  DATCP is adopting this emergency rule for the sole
purpose of preventing a broader JCRAR suspension of rules
that currently prevent the release of mobile air conditioner
refrigerant into the environment.

Publication Date: July 12, 2006

Effective Date: July 12, 2006

Expiration Date: December 9, 2006
Hearing Date: August 15, 2006

Commerce
(Commercial Buildings, Chs. Comm 61−65)

Rules adopted revising ch. Comm 62, relating to automatic
fire suppression for student housing facilities serving colleges
and universities.

Finding of Emergency
Department of Commerce finds that an emergency exists

within the state of Wisconsin and that adoption of a rule is
necessary for the immediate preservation of the public health,
safety and welfare.  A statement of the facts constituting the
emergency is as follows.

1.  In accordance with sections 101.14 (4) (b) 3., Stats., and
the provisions under 2005 Wisconsin Act 78, the department
has the responsibility to promulgate rules requiring the
installation of automatic fire sprinkler systems in various
student housing facilities serving colleges and universities.

2.  2005 Wisconsin Act 78 was published on January 6,
2006, making January 7, 2006 the effective date of the Act.

3.  Various provisions of the Act specified the effective date
as the trigger to install the automatic fire sprinkler systems.

4.  The department recognizes that promulgating this
emergency rule will incorporate under the commercial
building code, chapters, Comm 61 to 65, specific design and
construction standards for new student housing facilities that
are consistent with the intent of the Act.

5.  The department recognizes that without promulgating
this emergency rule, there could be confusion in design of any
new student housing to be constructed in the very near future.
The omission of the automatic fire sprinkler system during the
initial design and construction would potentially place lives
at greater risk.

6.  In addition, the department recognizes that without
promulgating this emergency rule, the confusion in omitting
the automatic fire sprinkler system would result in additional
costs to retrofit the installation of the system in order to fulfill
the statutory obligation based upon the effective date of the
Act.

Publication Date: March 4, 2006
Effective Date: March 4, 2006
Expiration Date: August 1, 2006
Hearing Date: May 15, 2006
Extension Through: September 29, 2006

Commerce
(Financial Resources for Business and
Communities, Chs. Comm 105 to 131)

Rule adopted creating ch. Comm 131, relating to diesel
truck idling reduction grants.

Exemption from Finding of Emergency
The legislature by Section 9108 (1w) in 2005 Wisconsin

Act 25, provides an exemption from a finding of emergency
for the adoption of this rule.

The rules specify who is eligible for receiving a grant in this
program for purchasing and installing diesel truck idling
reduction equipment.  Eligible costs are also specified, along
with how to apply for the grants.  Parameters for awarding the
grants are likewise specified.  These parameters include (1)
disallowing grants to any applicant who is failing to comply
with any conditions imposed on any previous grant received
in this program; and (2) alerting applicants that the
Department may (a) refuse to award grants for idling
reduction equipment on truck tractors that do not have a
sleeper berth, (b) annually allocate up to 25 percent of the
grant funding to applicants who own and operate 50 or fewer
truck tractors, and (c) set deadlines for submitting
applications, and then prorate the awards to the applicants if
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the total funding requested in the applications exceeds the
available revenue.

Publication Date: June 30, 2006

Effective Date: July 1, 2006

Expiration Date: November 28, 2006
Hearing Date: July 25, 2006

Corrections

A rule was adopted creating s. DOC 332.19, relating to a
sex offender registration fee.

Finding of Emergency
The department of corrections finds that an emergency

exists and that rules are necessary for the immediate
preservation of public peace, health, safety and welfare.  A
statement of the facts constituting the emergency is: Under
2005 WI Act 25, the legislature authorized the department to
establish a sex offender registration fee.  If the rule is not
created promptly and immediately, the department will not be
able to collect the fees which are to be used to offset the costs
of monitoring probationers, parolees, or persons on extended
supervision, which could result in a lessening of supervision
due to budget limitations.

The purpose of the emergency rule is to establish an annual
sex offender registration fee to partially offset the costs of
monitoring persons who are on probation, parole, or extended
supervision.  The permanent rule process has been started.
However, the permanent rule process will take approximately
nine months to complete.  Emergency rules are necessary to
respond promptly to the collection of fees while permanent
rules are being developed.

Publication Date: June 8, 2006

Effective Date: June 8, 2006

Expiration Date: November 5, 2006
Hearing Date: July 18, 2006

Elections Board

Rules adopted creating s. ElBd 1.395, relating to the use of
funds in a federal campaign committee that has been
converted to a state campaign committee and relating to the
use of those converted funds whose contribution to the federal
committee would not have been in compliance with
Wisconsin law if the contribution had been made directly to a
state campaign committee.

Finding of Emergency
The Elections Board finds that an emergency exists in the

recent change in federal law that permits the transfer of the
funds in a federal candidate campaign committee’s account to
the candidate’s state campaign committee account and finds
that a rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A statement of the
facts constituting the emergency is as follows:

Since the Bi−Partisan Campaign Reform Act of 2002
(BICRA), transfers of funds from a federal campaign
committee to a state campaign committee had not been
authorized under federal law.  In November, 2004, Congress
amended the Federal Election Campaign Act, (H.R. 4818, s.
532 (3) and 532 (4), to permit the transfer of a federal

candidate’s campaign committee’s funds to the candidate’s
state campaign committee, if state law permitted, and subject
to the state law’s requirements and restrictions.

Because of  Congress’ action in November, 2004, money
which had not been available to a state committee under
BICRA, and which might not have qualified for use for
political purposes in a state campaign because of its source or
because of other noncompliance with state law, could now be
transferred to a state committee, if state law permitted.
Wisconsin law, under the Board’s current rule, s. ElBd 1.39,
Wis. Adm. Code,  allows for conversion of federal campaign
committees, and their funds, to a state campaign committee
without regard to the source of those funds and without regard
to contribution limitations.

Restricting the use of such money to that money which has
been contributed to the candidate’s federal committee, under
circumstances in which the contribution would have
complied with Wisconsin law if it had been given directly to
the Wisconsin campaign committee, is found to be in the
public interest.

Publication Date: February 3, 2005
Effective Date: February 3, 2005*/**
Expiration Date: July 3, 2005
Hearing Date: May 18, 2005

*  On February 9, 2005, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended this emergency rule.

**  The legislative session ended on July 12, 2006, with no
action on the bill that would have sustained the suspension
action.

Emergency Management

Rule adopted creating ch. WEM 7, relating to disaster
assistance for local governments.

Finding of Emergency
  The Wisconsin Division of Emergency Management finds

that an emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting an emergency is as
follows:

1.  The 2005 Wis. Act 269 created the major disaster
assistance program under Wis. Stats. § 166.03 (2) (b) 9.  An
annual appropriation of $3,000,000 SEG A for fiscal years
2005−06 and 2006−07 was established under Wis. Stats. §
20.465 (3) (b) (s) from the petroleum inspection fund.  These
funds were provided to make payments to local units of
government for damages and costs incurred as a result of a
major catastrophe. This Act was made retroactive to January
1, 2005.

2. The Act requires the Wisconsin Department of Military
Affairs, through its Division of Emergency Management, to
promulgate rules to implement and establish the application
process and the criteria to determine eligibility under the
major disaster assistance program. The Division will
immediately begin the permanent rule−making process for
establishing administrative rules for these payments, but
cannot complete the required hearings and review of these
rules prior to the lapse of funds retained in the major disaster
assistance appropriation for fiscal year 2005−06.

3. To ensure that appropriated funds for fiscal year
2005−06 are timely paid to local governmental units for
damages and eligible costs incurred as a direct result of major
catastrophes, emergency administrative rules must be
established immediately.
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Publication Date: June 8, 2006
Effective Date: June 8, 2006
Expiration Date: November 5, 2006
Hearing Date: August 14, 15, 16 & 17, 2006

Health and Family Services (2)
(Health, Chs. HFS 110—)

1. Rules were adopted revising chs. HFS 110 and 111,
relating to licensing emergency medical technicians and
affecting small businesses.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Health and Family Services finds that

an emergency exists and that the adoption of an emergency
rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public,
health, safety and welfare.

The facts constituting the emergency are as follows:
In Wisconsin there are approximately 430 ambulance

service providers.  Approximately 80% are volunteer (not for
profit) or owned by private for profit entities.  The remaining
20% are government owned.  A total of 129 ambulance
service providers and 2,812 licensed individuals in 48
counties currently provide emergency medical services at the
EMT−basic−IV (74) or EMT−provisional intermediate (55)
level to approximately 2.65 million Wisconsin residents.  The
provider industry estimates that these ambulance service
providers are losing approximately $1.5 million dollars in
reimbursement revenues annually due to the codification of
the EMT−basic IV services in ch. HFS 110 as basic life
support.  The loss is likely to increase when the provisional
EMT−intermediate is renamed EMT−basic IV effective July
1, 2006, and an estimated 95% of the individuals who are
currently licensed and titled as provisional
EMT−intermediate will be renamed EMT−basic IV.
Ambulance service providers report that they cannot continue
to cover the costs of training and operating at the advanced life
support level of care while being reimbursed at the basic life
support level of care.  Consequently, the level of emergency
medical services provided in over half of the state’s 72
counties may be reduced or become non−existent unless
changes are implemented.

To maintain the level of emergency medical services that
are currently being provided and to avoid confusion about the
skills and level of care provided by the EMT−basic IV
licensee, the department in these emergency rules is changing
the name of the EMT−basic IV license to EMT−intermediate
technician and moving the licensing requirements to ch. HFS
111. These changes will allow ambulance service providers to
charge for both at the higher rate of reimbursement.  In
addition, these emergency rules will modify the continuing
education requirements under ch. HFS 110 to allow
ambulance service providers flexibility in providing refresher
training to EMT−basic licensees.  This change will reduce
financial and scheduling burdens on providers by allowing
them to use their training dollars more cost effectively.

Publication Date: July 1, 2006
Effective Date: July 1, 2006
Expiration Date: November 28, 2006
Hearing Dates: July 25, 26 and 27, 2006

2. Rules adopted creating ch. HFS 137, relating to
prescribing forms for use by physicians, technicians and

tissue bank employees when removing organs and tissue,
other than cardiovascular tissue from decedents.

Exemption from Finding of Emergency
The legislature by 2005 Wisconsin Act 230 requires these

rules to be promulgated as emergency rules and exempts the
Department from making a finding of emergency or
providing evidence that these rules as emergency rules is
necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health,
safety, or welfare.

Plain language analysis:
The Department is required by 2005 Wisconsin Act 230 to

appoint an advisory committee to assist the Department in
prescribing, by rule, a form for removal of organs and a form
for removal of tissue, other than cardiovascular tissue, for use
by physicians, technicians, and tissue bank employees under
section 157.06 (4m) (e) of the statutes, as created by Act 230.
Section 157.06 (4m) (e), Stats., requires a physician who
removes tissue or an organ from a decedent or a technician or
tissue bank employee who removes tissue from a decedent
under s. 157.06 (4m), Stats., to complete the form created by
the Department and transmit the form to the coroner or
medical examiner with jurisdiction over the decedent.

As required by section. 12. (1) (b) of Act 230, the
Department intends to promulgate permanent rules that are
substantially identical to the emergency rules.

Because these rules only prescribe forms, the Department
will, as allowed under s. 227.23, Stats., promulgate these rules
without adhering to the notice and public hearing
requirements set forth under ch. 227, Stats.  Also, as allowed
under s. 227.23, Stats., the forms prescribed by the proposed
rules will not be published in the Wisconsin administrative
code or the Wisconsin Administrative Register, but will be
listed by title and description with a statement as to how the
forms may be obtained.

Publication Date: July 24, 2006

Effective Date: August 1, 2006

Expiration Date: December 29, 2006

Natural Resources (3)
(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1—)

1. Rules were adopted amending ch. NR 25 relating to
commercial fishing for lake trout in Lake Superior.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Natural Resources finds that an

emergency exists and the foregoing rules are necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:
The waters of Lake Superior were not part of the extensive
off−reservation treaty rights litigation known as the Voigt
case.  The parties stipulated that the Lake Superior rights
would be dealt with, to the extent possible, by agreement
rather than litigation.  This rule represents the implementation
of the most recent negotiated amendments to the agreement
between the State and the Red Cliff and Bad River Bands.  In
order to comply with the terms of the agreement, the State
must change its quotas and commercial fishing regulations at
the earliest possible date.  Failure by the State to do so will not
only deprive state fishers of increased harvest opportunities
available under the agreement, but could also jeopardize the
agreement, putting the entire Lake Superior fishery at risk of
litigation.
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Publication Date: December 15, 2005

Effective Date: December 15, 2005

Expiration Date: May 14, 2006
Hearing Date: January 13, 2006

Extension Through: September 10, 2006

2. Rules were adopted revising ch. NR 47, relating to the
forestry research and development grant program.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to
regulate and administer grant programs.  The State legislature
has delegated responsibility for rule−making to the
Department of Natural Resources.  Normal rule−making
procedures will not allow the establishment of the rules in
time to allocate funds during this fiscal year.  Failure to
establish rules during FY06 will result in lost opportunity for
Wisconsin interests to compete for federal grants that improve
the public health, public good and the environment through
the development of alternative renewable energy and
biochemical sources from forestry biomass.

Publication Date: March 16, 2006

Effective Date: March 16, 2006

Expiration Date: August 13, 2006
Hearing Date: April 24 & 26, 2006

3. Rules were adopted creating s. NR 45.04 (1) (g), relating
to regulation of firewood entering and exiting department
lands and affecting small businesses.

Finding of Emergency
It is important to have restrictions on out−of−state firewood

entering department lands in place this camping season due to
recent developments in efforts to eradicate and quarantine
emerald ash borer in the areas where it is currently
established.  In Michigan, Ohio, Indiana and Ontario,
eradication programs are being dramatically scaled back or
abandoned entirely for this summer.  A recent audit of
quarantine efforts in Michigan where emerald ash borer is
most abundant and widespread is critical and faults their
program for lax enforcement and poor education of the public
to the dangers of moving firewood.  Given this situation, a
need for an external quarantine to protect Wisconsin forest
resources, industry, and community trees becomes obvious.
The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection has proposed an external quarantine on
host material of emerald ash borer and three other invasive
pests and diseases and our firewood regulation would help
support this effort, provide an opportunity for education of the
public and reduce one of the reasons people move firewood:
for use while camping.

Publication Date: March 27, 2006

Effective Date: April 1, 2006

Expiration Date: August 29, 2006
Hearing Date: July 5, 2006

Natural Resources (2)
(Environmental Protection − Water

Regulation, Chs. NR 300—)

1. Rules adopted revising ch. NR 326, relating to regulation
of piers, wharves, boat shelters, boat hoists, boat lifts and
swim rafts in navigable waterways.

Finding of emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public health, safety and welfare. The Wisconsin
Legislature recently enacted 2003 Wisconsin Act 118, to
streamline the regulatory process for activities in public trust
waters.  The state has an affirmative duty to administer the
new law in a manner consistent with the public trust
responsibilities of the State of Wisconsin under Article IX,
Section I of the Wisconsin Constitution.

2003 Act 118 identifies certain activities that may be
undertaken in public trust waters exempt from a permit, or
under a general permit. Certain activities may not be
undertaken in waters that are defined as “areas of special
natural resource interest” or at other locations where the
activity would cause detrimental impacts on public rights and
interests in navigable waters.  Without emergency rules to aid
in administering the new law, the following severe problems
will occur:

Until general permits are created by rule, any activity
which is not exempt requires an individual permit with an
automatic 30−day public notice.  The required 30−day
comment period will unnecessarily delay hundreds of
construction projects that otherwise could go ahead with
specified conditions for protecting lakes and streams (for
example, all new riprap and culvert applications currently
require public notices).

Unclear wording of exemptions currently puts property
owners, contractors and consultants at risk of violation.
Without clear procedures and standards established by
emergency rule, many more people may request exemption
determinations, slowing the decisions on individual permit
applications.

Wording of exemptions and temporary grading jurisdiction
puts lakes and streams at risk.  Without standards as intended
and described in the new law, exempted activities and grading
along shorelines will cause inadvertent but permanent
destruction of fish and wildlife habitat, loss of natural scenic
beauty and reduced water quality.  Rights of neighboring
property owners may also be harmed.  Cumulatively over one
or two construction seasons, these impacts will have
immediate and permanent effects on Wisconsin’s
water−based recreation and tourism industry.

To carry out the intention of the Legislature that 2003 Act
118 to speed decision−making but not diminish the public
trust in state waters, these emergency rules are required to
establish definitions, procedures and substantive standards
for exemptions, general permits and jurisdiction under the
new law.

Publication Date: April 19, 2004
Effective Date: April 19, 2004*/**
Expiration Date: September 16, 2004
Hearing Date: May 19, 2004
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*On June 24, 2004, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended this emergency rule.

**  The legislative session ended on July 12, 2006, with no
action on the bill that would have sustained the suspension
action.

2. Rules adopted creating ss. NR 328.31 to 328.36, relating
to shore erosion control on rivers and streams.

Finding of Emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public health, safety and welfare. The Wisconsin
Legislature enacted 2003 Wisconsin Act 118 to streamline the
regulatory process for activities in public trust waters.  The
state has an affirmative duty to administer the law in a manner
consistent with the public trust responsibilities of the State of
Wisconsin under Article IX, Section I of the Wisconsin
Constitution.

Act 118 identifies certain activities that may be undertaken
as exempt from a permit, or under a general permit.  There are
no statutory exemptions for shore protection on rivers and
streams.  Without emergency rules to create general permits,
all shore protection projects on rivers and streams require an
individual permit with an automatic 30−day public notice.
The required 30−day comment period will unnecessarily
delay projects that otherwise could go ahead with prescribed
conditions established in a general permit.  To carry out the
intention of Act 118 to speed decision−making but not
diminish the public trust in state waters, these emergency
rules are required to establish general permits to be in effect
for the 2006 construction season, with specific standards for
shore erosion control structures on rivers and streams.

Publication Date: May 5, 2006
Effective Date: May 8, 2006
Expiration Date: October 4, 2006
Hearing Date: June 13, 2006

Regulation and Licensing

Rules were adopted creating chs. RL 164 and 165, relating
to a code of conduct and renewal requirements for substance
abuse professionals.

Plain language analysis
The purpose of this emergency rule is to create a code of

conduct to facilitate assumption of disciplinary proceedings
as part of the transfer of the regulation of substance abuse
professionals from the Department of Health and Family
Services to the Department of Regulation and Licensing.  The
emergency rule also sets forth the requirements for renewal.

The Department of Regulation and Licensing must
promulgate this emergency rule for the period before the
effective date of the permanent rules as promulgated under
Wis. Stats. s. 440.88 (3).  Under the previous regulatory
scheme, the Department of Health and Family Services and
the Wisconsin Certification Board had established a code of
conduct and restrictions on late renewals.  This emergency
rule continues the applicability of the rules until the
department, with the advice of the Advisory Committee, can
establish permanent rules.

Exemption from finding of emergency
Section 9140 (1q) of 2005 Wisconsin Act 25 states in part:

“Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3) of the
statutes, the department is not required to provide evidence

that promulgating a rule under this subsection as an
emergency rule is necessary for the preservation of the public
peace, health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
a finding of emergency for a rule promulgated under this
subsection.”

Publication Date: April 15, 2006
Effective Date: April 15, 2006
Expiration Date: September 12, 2006
Hearing Date: June 27, 2006

Transportation

Rules adopted creating ch. Trans 515, relating to
contractual service procurement.

Exemption from finding of emergency
The Legislature, by Section 8 of 2005 Wis. Act 89,

provides an exemption from a finding of emergency for the
adoption of the rule.
Analysis Prepared by the Department of Transportation

The proposed rule requires a cost benefit analysis before
procuring engineering or other specialized services under s.
84.01 (13), Stats., in excess of $25,000 when those services
are normally performed by state employees. The required
analysis includes a comparison between the costs of
contracting out and performing the services with state
employees.  The analysis also considers other subjective
factors such as timeliness, quality and technical expertise.

Publication Date:July 1, 2006
Effective Date: July 1, 2006
Expiration Date: See section 8 (2) of 2005 Wis. Act 89
Hearing Date: August 8, 2006

Workforce Development
(Labor Standards, Chs. DWD 270−279)

Rules adopted revising ss. DWD 274.015 and 274.03 and
creating s. DWD 274.035, relating to overtime pay for
employees performing companionship services.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

On January 21, 2004, pursuant to s. 227.26(2)(b), Stats., the
Joint Committee for Review of Administrative Rules directed
the Department of Workforce Development to promulgate an
emergency rule regarding their overtime policy for
nonmedical home care companion employees of an agency as
part of ch. DWD 274.
Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce
Development

Statutory authority:  Sections 103.005, 103.02, and 227.11,
Stats.

Statutes interpreted: Sections 103.01 and 103.02, Stats.
Section 103.02, Stats., provides that “no person may be

employed or be permitted to work in any place of employment
or at any employment for such period of time during any day,
night or week, as is prejudicial to the person’s life, health,
safety or welfare.” Section 103.01 (3), Stats., defines “place
of employment” as “any manufactory, mechanical or
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mercantile establishment, beauty parlor, laundry, restaurant,
confectionary store, or telegraph or telecommunications
office or exchange, or any express or transportation
establishment or any hotel.”

Chapter DWD 274 governs hours of work and overtime.
Section DWD 274.015, the applicability section of the
chapter, incorporates the statutory definition of “place of
employment” and limits coverage of the chapter to the places
of employment delineated in s. 103.01 (3), Stats., and various
governmental bodies. Section DWD 274.015 also provides
that the chapter does not apply to employees employed in
domestic service in a household by a household.

Section 103.02, Stats., directs that the “department shall,
by rule, classify such periods of time into periods to be paid
for at the rate of at least one and one−half times the regular
rates.” Under s. DWD 274.03, “each employer subject to this
chapter shall pay to each employee time and one−half the
regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours
per week.” Section DWD 274.04 lists 15 types of employees
who are exempt from this general rule and s. DWD 274.08
provides that the section is inapplicable to public employees.

Nonmedical home care companion employees who are
employed by a third−party, commercial agency are covered
by the overtime provision in s. DWD 274.03. Section DWD
274.03 applies to all employees who are subject to the chapter
and not exempt under ss. DWD 274.04 or 274.08. The chapter
applies to companion employees of a commercial agency
because under s. DWD 274.015 a commercial agency is
considered a mercantile establishment. Section DWD 270.01
(5) defines a mercantile establishment as a commercial,
for−profit business. The chapter does not apply to companion
employees of a nonprofit agency or a private household. In
addition, none of the exemptions to the overtime section in ss.
DWD 274.04 or 274.08 apply to companion employees of a

commercial agency.
The Joint Committee for the Review of Administrative

Rules has directed DWD to promulgate an emergency rule
regarding the overtime policy for nonmedical home care
companion employees of an agency. This provision is created
at s. DWD 274.035 to say that employees who are employed
by a mercantile establishment to perform companionship
services shall be subject to the overtime pay requirement in s.
DWD 274.03. “Companionship services” is defined as those
services which provide fellowship, care, and protection for a
person who because of advanced age, physical infirmity, or
mental infirmity cannot care for his or her own needs. Such
services may include general household work and work
related to the care of the aged or infirm person such as meal
preparation, bed making, washing of clothes, and other
similar services. The term “companionship services” does not
include services relating to the care and protection of the aged
or infirm person that require and are performed by trained
personnel, such as registered or practical nurses.

This order also repeals and recreates the applicability of the
chapter section and the overtime section to write these rules
in a clearer format. There is no substantive change in these
sections.

Publication Date: March 1, 2004
Effective Date: March 1, 2004*/**
Expiration Date: July 29, 2004

*  On April 28, 2004, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended s. DWD 274.035 created as
an emergency rule.

**  The legislative session ended on July 12, 2006, with no
action on the bill that would have sustained the suspension
action.
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Scope statements

Dentistry Examining Board

Subject

The board intends to clarify the requirements for
applications by dentists licensed in other states, territories,
and countries that hold degrees from non−accredited dental
schools.  Currently, the rules allow a graduate of a foreign
trained dentistry program that is not accredited to be evaluated
for education equivalency through an evaluation program
approved by the board.  However, the board has determined
there is no such program available to adequately evaluate the
didactic and clinical training of foreign trained dentists.  In
order to ensure educational equivalency exists between the
graduates of accredited and non−accredited dental schools,
the board intends to require graduates of a foreign trained
dentistry program that is not accredited seeking licensure in
Wisconsin to attend an accredited dental school in the United
States or Canada for a minimum of 2 years and graduate with
a doctor of dental surgery or a doctor of dental medicine
degree, or attend an accredited dental school in a country other
than the United States or Canada and graduate with a degree
from that school.

Policy Analysis

Objective of the rule.  To ensure that all applicants meet the
educational standards required of graduates of DDS or DMD
accredited educational programs.

Existing Policies Relevant to the Rule, New Policies
Proposed and Analysis of Policy Alternatives.

Until July 2, 2003, the board relied on the Marquette
University School of Dentistry to provide a program to meet
the need for the evaluation of didactic and clinical training of
graduates of dental schools that are not accredited.  At the
request of the Marquette University School of Dentistry the
evaluation program was discontinued and due to the
unavailability of a board approved evaluation program, the
board ceased licensing of foreign trained dentists.  The board
subsequently began a search for other acceptable programs.
Several denials were challenged at the administrative hearing
level and are at this time pending before the board.  At the
March 1, 2006 board meeting, the board voted to require that
foreign trained graduates seeking licensure in Wisconsin
attend an accredited dental school in the United States or
Canada for a minimum of 2 years and graduate with a doctor
of dental surgery or a doctor of dental medicine degree, or
attend an accredited dental school in a country other than the
United States or Canada and graduate with a degree from that
school.

Comparison with federal regulations

There is no existing or proposed federal regulation.

Statutory authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 447.04 (1) (b), Stats.

Entities affected by the rule

Applicants for dental licenses who have graduated from
non−accredited dental schools.

Staff time required
300 hours.

Financial Institutions − Banking
Subject

Section DFI—Bkg 80.68 relating to nonjudicial
enforcement and surrender of collateral.
Policy Analysis

The objective of the rule is to amend s. DFI—Bkg 80.86.
The purpose of this rule is to bring s. DFI—Bkg 80.68 into
conformity with newly created s. 425.206 (1) (d), Stats.
Under the current s. DFI—Bkg 80.68, where a merchant
request or demands the return of collateral, after providing the
customer with notice of default and opportunity to cure as
required by s. 425.105, Stats., a release of the collateral by the
customer is not a surrender under ss. 425.204 (3) and 425.206
(1), Stats., if the merchant fails to provide a notice to the
customer which clearly informs the customer of the right to a
hearing on the issue of default before any repossession.  2005
Wisconsin Act 255, s. 8 created s. 425.206 (1) (d), Stats.  This
statute section provides that notwithstanding any other
provision of law, no merchant may take possession of
collateral or goods subject to a consumer lease in this state
except when, for motor vehicle collateral or goods subject to
a motor vehicle consumer lease, the customer has not made a
demand as specified in s. 425.205 (1g) (a) 3., Stats., and, no
sooner than 15 days after the merchant gives the notice
specified in s. 425.205 (1g) (a), Stats., the merchant has taken
possession of the collateral or goods in accordance with s.
425.206 (2), Stats.  The rule amends s. DFI—Bkg 80.68 to
incorporate the provisions of s. 425.206 (1) (d), Stats.  The
rule provides that where a merchant requests or demands the
return of collateral, after providing the customer with notice
of default and opportunity to cure as required by s. 425.105,
Stats., a release of the collateral by the customer is not a
surrender under ss. 425.204 (3) and 425.206 (1), Stats., if the
merchant fails to provide a notice to the customer which
clearly informs the customer of the right to a hearing on the
issue of default before any repossession unless the creditor
has perfected its right to repossession under s. 425.206 (1) (d),
Stats.
Statutory authority

Sections 426.104 (1) (e) and 227.11 (2), Stats.
Staff time required

100 hours.
Entities affected by the rule

Creditors taking motor vehicles as collateral and lessors of
motor vehicles.

Financial Institutions − Banking
Subject

Rules relating to any person licensed under s. 138.09,
Stats., and operating as a pawnbroker.
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Policy Analysis
The objective of the rule is to repeal and recreate ch.

DFI—Bkg 77.  Currently ch. DFI—Bkg 77 relates to the
“Consumer Credit Review Board.”  However, this chapter is
no longer necessary and should be repealed because this board
was legislatively abolished.  Currently pawnbrokers are
subject to regulation under s. 138.10, Stats.  However, 2005
Wisconsin Act 158 provides that, effective October 1, 2006,
if a pawnbroker registers as a licensed lender under s. 138.09,
Stats., the pawnbroker is exempt from the requirements of s.
138.10, Stats.  The purpose of this rule is to set forth, in the
recreated ch. DFI—Bkg 77, matters pertaining to the
regulation of pawnbrokers, including definitions, hours and
days of operation, holding periods, law enforcement requests,
sales notices, effect of nonredemption, extensions and
prohibited practices.
Statutory authority

Sections 220.02 (2) and (3), and 227.11 (2), Stats.
Staff time required

250 hours.
Entities affected by the rule

Pawnbrokers.
Comparison with federal regulations

None.

Health and Family Services
Subject

The Department of Health and Family Services proposes
to revise ch. HFS 37, relating to information to be provided to
foster parents.
Policy Analysis

Sections 48.371 and 895.485, Stats., require the
Department to provide specified information to a variety of
persons responsible for providing care and maintenance to
children placed in out−of−home care.  While s. 895.485
speaks specifically to children placed in foster homes,
treatment foster homes, and family−operated group homes, s.
48.371 is broader and includes all group homes and
residential care centers for children and youth.  In addition, s.
48.371 was revised by 2005 Wisconsin Act 232 to include
relatives with whom the child is placed by the child welfare
agency or court.

During the Child and Family Services Review (CFSR) of
the Wisconsin child welfare system conducted by the  federal
Administration for Children and Families (ACF), a federal
agency funding state, territory, local, and tribal organizations
to provide family assistance (welfare), child support, child
care, Head Start, child welfare, and other programs relating to
children and families, federal reviewers identified the need to
provide greater assessment of a child’s needs, to provide that
information to caregivers providing services to children, and
to establish plans for caregivers to follow in case of a crisis or
emergency with a foster child.

In response to the findings, the Department developed a
Program Enhancement Plan (PEP), which was approved by
ACF.  In the Program Enhancement Plan, the Department
agreed to enhance the information to be provided to physical
custodians, particularly the information contained in
Appendix B to ch. HFS 37.  There are no federal regulations
regarding the specific information to be provided to physical
custodians at the time a child is placed in their care.

Under the proposed revisions to ch. HFS 37, the
Department intends to revise Appendix B to the chapter to
provide a minimal increase in the type of information to be
gathered, to create a more logical organization of the
information in the appendix, to establish a specific section of
the appendix relating to an emergency response plan (which
essentially focuses information already required in the
appendix), and to include tribal contact information.  In
addition, ch. HFS 37 will also be revised slightly to reflect
current statutory requirements.

Members of the general public that will be affected by the
rule are children and families.
Statutory authority

The Department’s authority to promulgate this rule is
found at ss. 895.485 (4) (a) and s. 227.11 (2), Stats.  In
addition, the general authority under s. 48.48 (16), Stats.,
applies.
Staff time required

It is anticipated that approximately 40 to 50 hours of staff
time will be required for the revision, review, and editing of
the amended rule.  In addition, members of the PEP
Out−of−Home Care Committee that was established as part of
the Program Enhancement Plan (PEP) will participate in the
revision process.  Entities that will be affected will also be
active participants in the revision process.
Entities affected by the rule

The rule will have a direct impact on the Department,
including the Bureau of Milwaukee Child Welfare (BMCW),
county human and social services agencies, and licensed child
welfare agencies.
Comparison with federal regulations

There is not a specific requirement in federal law that
mandates the provision of this information, although we
interpret s. 471(a)(24) of Title IV−E of the Social Security Act
to require that a provider of out−of−home care for children
subject to those provisions be provided such information
about a child placed in care.  Authority for the Child and
Family Services Review is located at 45 CFR Part 1355.

Health and Family Services
Subject

The Department of Health and Family Services proposes
to modify ch. HFS 45, relating to family child care centers; ch.
HFS 46 relating to group child care centers; and ch. HFS 55,
relating to day camps for children and day care programs
established by school boards.
Policy Analysis

The Department is required under s. 48.67, Stats., to
establish, by rule, minimum requirements and standards for
the operation of day care centers.  These requirements and
standards are codified under chs. HFS 45, 46, and 55.  2005
Wisconsin Act 165 revised s. 48.67, Stats., to require
licensees who are individuals, employees, and volunteers
who provide care to children under 5 years old to receive
training under s. 253.14 (4), Stats., relating to shaken baby
syndrome and impacted babies before the individual is issued
a license or before employment or volunteer work begins.
The Department intends to modify these rules to conform to
the new requirements under s. 48.67.

In addition, the Department intends to modify chs. 45, 46,
and 55 to conform with s. 948.53, Stats., (created by 2005
Wisconsin Act 184) which prohibits a person from leaving a
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child being transported in a vehicle that is owned or leased by
a child care provider or used to transport children to and from
a child care provider.  The Department specifically intends to
incorporate requirements for procedures to ensure that
children are tracked during transport and that parents are
notified if a child does not arrive at a day care center as
scheduled.  Further changes intended for chs. HFS 45, 46, and
55 are to ensure that the rules conform with the requirements
under s. 347.48 (4) (as), Stats.,  for restraining children under
8 years old in motor vehicles used to transport children in care.
The Department also intends to generally update and clarify
chs. HFS 45, 46, and 55.
Statutory authority

Sections 48.67 and 227.11 (2) Stats.
Staff time required

The Department estimates that it will take staff
approximately 60 hours to develop the proposed rules.  In
developing these rules, the Department will consult with the
Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention Board; the Department

of Commerce; the Child Care Forum, which is comprised of
members from the Department of Public Instruction; the
Child Care Section in the Department of Workforce
Development; private agencies and organizations affiliated
with child care; and licensed child care providers.
Entities affected by the rule

The proposed rule revisions may affect parents and
children who receive care in day care centers, including day
care programs operated or contracted by school boards, day
camp providers, nursery schools, preschools, head start,
camp, and day nurseries; licensed child care providers,
applicants for licensure, and their employees or volunteers;
school boards; contractors with school boards to operate day
care programs; and non−profit organizations that provide the
training relating to shaken baby syndrome.
Comparison with federal regulations

There appear to be no existing or proposed federal
regulations that address the activities to be regulated by the
proposed rules.
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Submittal of rules to legislative council clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Public Instruction
On July 14, 2006, the Wisconsin Department of Public

Instruction submitted a proposed rule order to the
Wisconsin Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rule amends ch. PI 21, relating to driver’s

education requirements and aid.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

The proposed rule brings ch. PI 21 into conformity with
ss. 115.28 (11) and 121.41 (1), Stats.  Therefore, pursuant
to s. 227.16 (2) (b), Stats., the department will not hold
public hearings regarding these rules.

Contact Person
The Division for Learning Support: Equity and

Advocacy is primarily responsible for promulgation of this
rule.  If you have questions regarding this rule, you may
contact Randall Thiel, Education Consultant,
608/266−9677.

Public Instruction
On July 14, 2006, the Wisconsin Department of Public

Instruction submitted a proposed rule to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rule amends ch. PI 40, relating to the

youth options program.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

Public hearings will be scheduled.

Contact Person
The Division for Academic Excellence is primarily

responsible for promulgation of this rule.  If you have
questions regarding this rule, you may contact Beth Lewis,
Consultant, 608/267−1062.

Public Instruction

On July 14, 2006, the Wisconsin Department of Public
Instruction submitted a proposed rule to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
The proposed rule repeals ch. PI 15, relating to

qualifications and selection procedures for CESA
administrators.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
The proposed rule repeal brings an existing rule into

conformity with a statute that has been changed to no
longer require the department’s involvement in CESA
administrator appointment activities.  Therefore, pursuant
to s. 227.16 (2) (b), Stats., the department will not hold
public hearings regarding these rules.

Contact Person
The Division of Finance and Management is primarily

responsible for promulgation of this rule.  If you have
questions regarding this rule, you may contact Lori
Slauson, Administrative Rules and Federal Grants
Coordinator, 608/267−9127.
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Rule−making notices

Notice of Hearing
Controlled Substances Board

[CR 06−058]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority

vested in the Controlled Substances Board in ss. 961.11 (1)
and 961.14, Stats., Stats., and interpreting ss. 961.11 (1) and
961.14, Stats., the Controlled Substances Board will hold a
public hearing at the time and place indicated below to
consider an order to create ss. CSB 2.31 and 2.32, relating to
the scheduling of two schedule I controlled substances,
N−benzylpiperazine (BZP) and 2,5 dimethoxy−4−(n)−
propylthiophenethylamine (2C−T−7) under chapter 961,
Stats., of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act.

Hearing Date, Time and Location
Date: September 7, 2006
Time: 9:30 a.m.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue
(Enter at 55 North Dickinson Street)
Room 121A
Madison, Wisconsin
Appearances at the Hearing:
Interested persons are invited to present information at the

hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708.  Written comments must be received by September 8,
2006, to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing.

Statutes interpreted:  Sections 961.11 (1) and 961.14, Stats.
Statutory authority:  Sections 961.11 (1) and 961.14, Stats.
Explanation of agency authority:  The Controlled

Substances Board is authorized by s. 961.11 (1) Stats., to add
substances to or delete or reschedule substances listed under
schedule I, in s. 961.14 Stats., pursuant to the rulemaking
procedures of ch. 227, Stats.

Related statute or rule:
21 CFR Sec. 1308.11 (d) (6) and (f) (2)
Plain language analysis:
By final rule of the Drug Enforcement Administration

(DEA), adopted effective March 10, 2004, 2,5
dimethoxy−4−(n)−propylthiophenethylamine (2C−T−7) and
N−benzylpiperazine (BZP) were classified as schedule I
controlled substances under the federal Controlled
Substances Act (CSA).  Neither 2C−T−7 or BZP have been so
scheduled under the Wisconsin Controlled Substances Act in
Chapter 961, Stats.  The objective of this proposed
rule−making is to bring the treatment of this drug into
conformity with that at the federal level.

Drugs that are classified as “controlled substances” under
federal and state laws are subject to higher civil and criminal

penalties for their illicit possession, distribution and use.
Health care providers are also subject to greater record
keeping requirements respecting their obtaining, prescribing
and dispensing of such drugs.  This is due to the fact that
certain drugs have a greater likelihood of abuse, addiction and
adverse consequences to patient health if utilized
inappropriately, than do other drugs.  In its Year 2003 Annual
Report, The National Forensic Laboratory Information
System (NFLIS) indicates BZP, a substance with effects
similar to amphetamines, in 0.18% of total club drugs
reported.  The DEA has encountered BZP in Wisconsin and
reports that it is often sold as MDMA (“Ecstasy”) when
combined with TFMPP.  Abuse of 2C−T−7, which produces
hallucinogenic−like effects, increased in 2000 and has also
been encountered at “raves” in Wisconsin.  Three deaths have
been associated with its consumption.  The DEA administers
the Controlled Substances Act.  This forms the basis for the
DEA action.

SECTION 1 schedules 2,5 dimethoxy−4−(n)−
propylthiophenethylamine (2C−T−7) into schedule I of the
Uniform Controlled Substances Act.

SECTION 2 schedules N− benzylpiperazine (BZP) into
schedule I of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulation:

21 CFR Sec. 1308.11 (d) (6)−  2,5 dimethoxy−4−(n)−
propylthiophenethylamine (2C−T−7).

21 CFR Sec. 1308.11 (f) (2)− N− benzylpiperazine (BZP).
Comparison with rules in adjacent states:
Illinois:
Not scheduled.
Michigan:
Not scheduled.
Minnesota:
Emergency scheduling− schedule I of that state’s

controlled substances act. [Both substances]
Iowa:
Not scheduled.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:
The Wisconsin Controlled Substances board reviewed the

federal rule summary and supplemental information for the
scheduling of these two substances, and agrees with the
conclusions therein regarding the potential for abuse, no
current accepted medical use and lack of medical safety for
these two substances.  The substances are the specific object
of abuse by young adults in the “raves” context, specifically,
in Wisconsin.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine
effect on small business or in preparation of economic impact
report:

Since there is no anticipated impact on small business from
this rule, no additional compliance, bookkeeping, reporting,
recordkeeping or professional skills are required.

Section 227.137, Stats, requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.
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Entities affected by the rule:
Enforcement agencies; the Wisconsin Department of

Justice, local District Attorneys.

Fiscal Estimate
The department finds that the proposed rule will have no

significant fiscal impact.
Anticipated costs incurred by private sector:
The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal

effect on the private sector.
Effect on small business:
These proposed rules will be reviewed by the department’s

small business review advisory committee to determine
whether they will have any significant economic impact on a
substantial number of small businesses, as defined in s.
227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review
Coordinator may be contacted by email at
larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by calling (608) 266−8608.

Agency contact person:
Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and

Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708−8935.  Telephone: (608) 266−0495.  Email:
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for
submission:

Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack, Paralegal,
Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708−8935, or by email at
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Comments must be received
on or before September 7, 2006 to be included in the record
of rule−making proceedings.

TEXT OF RULE
SECTION 1.  CSB 2.31 is created to read:
CSB 2.31 Addition of 2,5 dimethoxy−4−(n)−

propylthiophenethylamine (2C−T−7) to schedule I. (1)
Section 961.14 (4) (wh) is created to read:

Section 961.14 (4) (wh) 2,5 dimethoxy−4−(n)−
propylthiophenethylamine, commonly known as “2C−T−7”;

SECTION 2.  CSB 2.32 is created to read:
CSB 2.32 Addition of N− benzylpiperazine (BZP) to

schedule I. (1)  Section 961.14 (7) (q) is created to read:
Section 961.14 (7) (q) N− benzylpiperazine, commonly

known as “BZP.”

Notice of Hearing
Controlled Substances Board

[CR 06−059]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority

vested in the Controlled Substances Board in ss. 961.11 (1)
and 961.14, Stats., Stats., and interpreting ss. 961.11 (1) and
961.14, Stats., the Controlled Substances Board will hold a
public hearing at the time and place indicated below to
consider an order to create ss. CSB 2.33 and 2.34, relating to
the scheduling of two schedule I controlled substances,
alpha−methyltryptamine (AMT) and 5−methyox−N,
N−diisopropyltryptamine (5−MeO−DIPT) under chapter
961, Stats., of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act.

Hearing Date, Time and Location
Date: September 7, 2006

Time: 9:40 a.m.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue
(Enter at 55 North Dickinson Street)
Room 121A
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing
Interested persons are invited to present information at the

hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708.  Written comments must be received by September 8,
2006, to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statutes interpreted:  Sections 961.11 (1) and 961.14, Stats.
Statutory authority:  Sections 961.11 (1) and 961.14, Stats.
Explanation of agency authority:
The Controlled Substances Board is authorized by s.

961.11 (1) Stats., to add substances to or delete or reschedule
substances listed under schedule I, in s. 961.14 Stats.,
pursuant to the rulemaking procedures of ch. 227, Stats.

Related statute or rule:
21 CFR Sec. 1308.11 (d) (15) and (19)
Plain language analysis:
By final rule of the Drug Enforcement Administration

(DEA), adopted effective October 3, 2004,
alpha−methyltryptamine (AMT) and 5−methoxy−N,
N−diisopropyltryptamine (5−MeO−DIPT) were classified as
schedule I controlled substances under the federal Controlled
Substances Act (CSA).  Neither AMT nor 5−MeO−DIPT
have been so scheduled under the Wisconsin Controlled
Substances Act in Chapter 961, Wis. Stats.  The objective of
this proposed rule−making order is to bring the treatment of
these drugs into conformity with that at the federal level.

Drugs that are classified as “controlled substances” under
federal and state laws are subject to higher civil and criminal
penalties for their illicit possession, distribution and use.
Health care providers are also subject to greater record
keeping requirements respecting their obtaining, prescribing
and dispensing of such drugs.  This is due to the fact that
certain drugs have a greater likelihood of abuse, addiction and
adverse consequences to patient health if utilized
inappropriately, than do other drugs.  The National Forensic
Laboratory Information System (NFLIS) has registered 10
cases of AMT and 12 cases of 5−MeO−DIPT.  The Drug
Enforcement Agency (DEA) asserts that AMT shares
pharmacological effects of amphetamine and LSD and that
5−MeO−DIPT copies the effects of MDMA, both Schedule I
hallucinogens.  Three deaths have been associated with its
consumption.  The DEA administers the Controlled
Substances Act.  This forms the basis for the DEA action.  The
policy alternative to not scheduling the indicated substances
concurrent with federal scheduling will be that state
prosecutions will not be available.  Generally, state
prosecutions at the local level, rather than federal
prosecutions, are more likely to occur where smaller amounts
of a scheduled substance are involved.

SECTION 1 schedules alpha−methyltryptamine (AMT)
into schedule I of the Uniform Controlled Substances Act.
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SECTION 2 schedules 5−methoxy−N,
N−diisopropyltryptamine (5−MeO−DIPT) into schedule I of
the Uniform Controlled Substances Act.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulation:

21 CFR § 13.08.11 has been amended as follows:
(d)***
(15)  Alpha−methyltryptamine (other name:  AMT)
********
(19)  5−methoxy−N,N−diisopropyltryptamine (other

name:  5−MeO−DIPT)
Comparison with rules in adjacent states:
Illinois:  AMT is included in schedule I of that state’s

controlled substances act.
Michigan:  Not scheduled.
Minnesota:  Not scheduled.
Iowa:  Not scheduled.
Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:
The Wisconsin Controlled Substances board reviewed the

federal rule summary and its basis for the scheduling of these
two substances.  The National Forensic Laboratory
Information System (NFLIS) has registered 10 cases of AMT
and 12 cases of 5−MeO−DIPT.  The Drug Enforcement
Agency (DEA) asserts that AMT shares pharmacological
effects of amphetamine and LSD and that 5−MeO−DIPT
copies the effects of MDMA, both schedule I hallucinogens.
Three deaths have been associated with its consumption.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine
effect on small business or in preparation of economic impact
report:

Since there is no anticipated impact on small business from
this rule, no additional compliance, bookkeeping, reporting,
recordkeeping or professional skills are required.

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Entities affected by the rule:
Enforcement agencies; the Wisconsin Department of

Justice, local District Attorneys.

Fiscal Estimate
The department estimates that the proposed rule will have

no significant fiscal impact.
Anticipated costs incurred by private sector:
The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal

effect on the private sector.
Effect on small business:
These proposed rules will be reviewed by the department’s

small business review advisory committee to determine
whether they will have any significant economic impact on a
substantial number of small businesses, as defined in s.
227.114 (1), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review
Coordinator may be contacted by email at
larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by calling (608) 266−8608.

Agency Contact Person
Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and

Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708−8935.  Telephone: (608) 266−0495.  Email:
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for
submission:

Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack, Paralegal,
Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708−8935, or by email at
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Comments must be received
on or before September 7, 2006 to be included in the record
of rule−making proceedings.

TEXT OF RULE
SECTION 1.  CSB 2.33 is created to read:
CSB 2.33 Addition of alpha−methyltryptamine (AMT)

to schedule I. (1)  Section 961.14 (4) (wi) is created to read:
Section 961.14 (4) (wi) Alpha−methyltryptamine,

commonly known as “AMT”;
SECTION 2.  CSB 2.34 is created to read:
CSB 2.34 Addition of 5−methoxy−N,

N−diisopropyltryptamine (5−MeO−DIPT)   (1)  Section
961.14 (4) (wj) is created to read:

Section 961.14 (4) (wj) 5−methoxy−N,
N−diisopropyltryptamine, commonly known as
“5−MeO−DIPT”;

Notice of Hearings
Natural Resources

[CR 06−097]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to s. 823.075

(1) (d), Stats., interpreting s. 823.075 (1) (d), Stats., the
Department of Natural Resources will hold public hearings on
the creation of s. NR 1.25, Wis. Adm. Code, relating to the
definition of “generally accepted forestry management
practices”.  2005 Wisconsin Act 79 created s. 823.075 (1) (d),
Stats., which requires the to define “generally accepted
forestry management practices” and allows the Department to
incorporate into the definition, by reference, the most recent
version of the Department publication entitled Wisconsin
Forest Management Guidelines.  The proposed rule requires
updates to the Forest Management Guidelines a minimum of
every five years and requires the Department to use a process
that incorporates public participation, including public
comments.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
s. 227.114, Stats., it is not anticipated that the proposed rule
will have an economic impact on small businesses.  The
Department’s Small Business Regulatory Coordinator may be
contacted at SmallBusiness@dnr.state.wi.us or by calling
(608) 266−1959.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
Department has made a preliminary determination that this
action does not involve significant adverse environmental
effects and does not need an environmental analysis under ch.
NR 150, Wis. Adm. Code.  However, based on the comments
received, the Department may prepare an environmental
analysis before proceeding with the proposal.  This
environmental review document would summarize the
Department’s consideration of the impacts of the proposal and
reasonable alternatives.

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that the
hearings will be held on:

Tuesday, August 29, 2006 at 4:00 p.m.
Conference Room, DNR Service Center
107 Sutliff Ave.
Rhinelander
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Wednesday, August 30, 2006 at 4:00 p.m.
Room 150, State Office Building
718 W. Clairemont
Eau Claire

Thursday, August 31, 2006 at 1:00 p.m.
Gathering Waters Room, DNR South Central Region

Hdqrs.
3911 Fish Hatchery Road
Fitchburg

NOTICE IS HEREBY FURTHER GIVEN that pursuant to
the Americans with Disabilities Act, reasonable
accommodations, including the provision of information
material in an alternative format, will be provided for
qualified individuals with disabilities upon request.  Please
call Carmen Wagner at (608) 266−1667 with specific
information on your request at least 10 days before the date of
the scheduled hearing.

Fiscal Impact
The rule proposal will result in increased costs of $37,44

annually.  While the publication may only be updated a
minimum of every five years, the review of new
guidance/policy to determine if an update to the publication
is required will be an on−going activity.

The proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be reviewed and
comments electronically submitted at the following Internet
site:  http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  Written comments on
the proposed rule may be submitted via U.S. mail to Ms.
Carmen Wagner, Division of Forestry, P.O. Box 7921,
Madison, WI 53707.  Comments may be submitted until
September 15, 2006.  Written comments whether submitted
electronically or by U.S. mail will have the same weight and
effect as oral statements presented at the public hearings.  A
personal copy of the proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be
obtained from Ms. Wagner.

Notice of Hearing
Podiatrists Affiliated Credentialing Board

[CR 06−056]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority

vested in the Podiatrists Affiliated Credentialing Board in ss.
15.085 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 448.665 and 448.695 (2), Stats.,
and interpreting s. 448.665, Stats, the Podiatrists Affiliated
Credentialing Board will hold a public hearing at the time and
place indicated below to consider an order to amend ss. Pod
1.02 (2), 1.09 (4), 3.01 (1) and (2), and 3.02 (1) (intro.) relating
to waiver of continuing podiatric medical education.

Hearing Date, Time and Location
Date: September 26, 2006
Time: 9:30 A.M.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue
(Enter at 55 North Dickinson Street)
Room 121A
Madison, Wisconsin
Appearances at the Hearing:
Interested persons are invited to present information at the

hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in

writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708.  Written comments must be received by September 26,
2006, to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.
Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statutory authority:  Sections 15.085 (5) (b), 227.11 (2),
448.665 and 448.695 (2), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority:  The Podiatrists
Affiliated Credentialing Board has the authority under s.
448.665, Stats., to promulgate rules relating to continuing
education.

Related statute or rule:  There are no other related statutes
or rules other than those listed above.

Plain language analysis:  Chapter Pod 3 sets forth the
requirements for obtaining continuing education for
podiatrists.  Each biennium, podiatrists are required to obtain
50 hours of acceptable continuing education.  Under the
current rule, licensees may apply to the board for a waiver of
this requirement provided they become ill, have a disability,
or another similar circumstance.  This proposed rule−making
is intended to provide greater flexibility because it permits the
board to consider postponing the continuing education
requirements and to consider other circumstances besides
disability or illness in making its determinations.

SECTION 1 amends the statutory citation for “controlled
substance” to the correct cite.

SECTION 2 amends an incorrect statutory citation to the
correct citation.

SECTION 3 amends an incorrect statutory citation.  It also
amends the requirements for obtaining a waiver of continuing
education requirements by permitting the board to consider
each request individually on its merits and to allow it to grant
a postponement, partial waiver, or total waiver of the
requirements.

SECTION 4 amends an incorrect statutory citation to the
correct citation.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulation:

There is no existing or proposed federal regulation.
Comparison with rules in adjacent states:
Iowa
First time licensees are not required to complete continuing

education as a prerequisite for license renewal.  An exemption
is allowed for disability or illness.

Illinois
The board may recommend a waiver for good cause, which

includes illness or hardship as defined by rule.  The rule
requires a finding of “extreme hardship,” including full time
service in the Armed Forces, incapacitating illness with
physician documentation, physical inability to travel to
continuing education sites, or other similar extenuating
circumstances.

Michigan
A 60 day late renewal period is allowed.  The board has

defined guidelines setting forth the policy the board will
follow in granting waivers.  Disability, military service,
absence from the continental United States, or circumstances
beyond the control of the applicant is deemed sufficient for
waiver by the board.

Minnesota
In the initial licensure period, a fraction of the 30 hours

required must be satisfied, represented by the ratio of the
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number of days the license is held in the initial licensure
period to 730 days.  A six month extension of the reporting
deadline is allowed and two consecutive extensions may be
granted for “good cause,” which includes unforeseen
hardships such as illness, family emergency and military
call−up.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:
Continuing education rules for other professions regulated

by boards connected to the Department of Regulation and
Licensing allow for hardship exceptions and exemptions for
initial licensees in their first full cycle of licensure.  These
provisions make reasonable allowances for not completing
the continuing education requirements.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine
effect on small business or in preparation of economic impact
report:

There are no additional recordkeeping or bookkeeping
requirements for small businesses, the rule does not increase
reporting requirements, and no professional skill, training or
credential is required beyond those that must currently be
maintained.

Section 227.137, Stats., requires an “agency” to prepare an
economic impact report before submitting the proposed
rule−making order to the Wisconsin Legislative Council.  The
Department of Regulation and Licensing is not included as an
“agency” in this section.

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector:
The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal

effect on the private sector.

Fiscal Estimate
The department finds that this rule will have no significant

fiscal impact.
Effect on small business:
These proposed rules will have no significant economic

impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1), Stats.
The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be
contacted by email at larry.martin@drl.state.wi.us, or by
calling (608) 266−8608.

Agency Contact Person
Pamela Haack, Paralegal, Department of Regulation and

Licensing, Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708−8935.  Telephone: (608) 266−0495.  Email:
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline for
submission:

Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack, Paralegal,
Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 152, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708−8935, or by email at
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Comments must be
received on or before September 26, 2006 to be included in the
record of rule−making proceedings.

TEXT OF RULE
SECTION 1.  Pod 1.02 (2) is amended to read:
Pod 1.02 (2)  “Controlled substance” has the meaning

under s. 961.10 961.01 (4), Stats.
SECTION 2.  Pod 1.09 (4) is amended to read:
Pod 1.09 (4)  The holder of a locum tenens license to

practice podiatric medicine and surgery shall practice
podiatric medicine and surgery as defined in s. 448.01 (8)
448.60 (4), Stats., providing the practice is confined to the
geographical area for which the license is issued.

SECTION 3.  Pod 3.01 (1) and (2) are amended to read:
Pod 3.01 Continuing podiatric medical education

required; waiver. (1)  Each podiatrist required to complete
the biennial training requirement under s. 448.465 448.665,
Stats., shall, in each second year at the time of making
application for a certificate of registration as required under
s. 448.465 448.665, Stats., sign a statement on the application
for registration certifying that the podiatrist has completed at
least 50 hours of acceptable continuing educational programs
relevant to the practice of podiatric medicine within the 2
calendar years immediately preceding the calendar year for
which application for registration is made.

(2)  A licensee may apply to the board for a postponement
or waiver of the requirements of this chapter on the grounds
of prolonged illness or, disability, or other similar
circumstances, and each case shall be individually considered
on its merits by the board grounds constituting hardship.  The
board shall consider each request individually on its merits
and may grant a postponement, partial waiver, or total waiver
of the requirements.

SECTION 4.  Pod 3.02 (1) (intro.) is amended to read:
Pod 3.02 Acceptable continuing medical educational

programs. (1) (intro.)  In satisfaction of the biennial training
requirement under s. 448.465 448.665, Stats., the board shall
accept an educational program approved at the time of the
podiatrist’s attendance by any of the following:

Notice of Hearing
Public Instruction

[CR 06−094]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN That pursuant to ss. 115.55

(9) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., and interpreting s. 118.55, Stats.,
the Department of Public Instruction will hold a public
hearing as follows to consider the amending of chapter PI 40,
relating to the youth options program.

The hearing will be held as follows:

Date, Time and Location
September 5, 2006, Madison
3:30 – 4:30 p.m.
GEF 3 Building, 125 South Webster St., Room 041
The hearing site is fully accessible to people with

disabilities.  If you require reasonable accommodation to
access any meeting, please call Beth Lewis, Consultant, at
(608) 267−1062 or leave a message with the Teletypewriter
(TTY) at (608) 267−2427 at least 10 days prior to the hearing
date.  Reasonable accommodation includes materials
prepared in an alternative format, as provided under the
Americans with Disabilities Act.

Copies of Rule and Contact Person
The administrative rule and fiscal note are available on the

department’s administrative rules web page at
http://www.dpi.wi.gov/pb/rulespg.html.  A copy of the
proposed rule and the fiscal estimate also may be obtained by
sending an email request to lori.slauson@dpi.state.wi.us or
by writing to:

Lori  Slauson, Administrative Rules and Federal Grants
Coordinator

Department of Public Instruction
125 South Webster Street
P.O. Box 7841
Madison, WI  53707
Written comments on the proposed rules received by Ms.

Slauson at the above mail or email address no later than
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September 12, 2006, will be given the same consideration as
testimony presented at the hearing.

Analysis by the Department of Public Instruction
Statute interpreted:  s. 118.55, Stats.
Statutory authority:  ss. 118.55 (9) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.
Explanation of agency authority:  Section 118.55 (9),

Stats., requires the department to promulgate rules to
implement and administer this program.

Related statute or rule:  None.
Plain language analysis:  2003 Wisconsin Act 131

modified the youth options program under s. 118.55, Stats.
Chapter PI 40 will be modified to conform to the changes
made under the Act, including:

Repealing the provision which required a school district to
pay for � of comparable courses (up to six credits) for a pupil
who attended a technical college for 10 or more credits in any
semester.

Repealing the prohibition against taking more than 15
credit hours per semester at an IHE and the prohibition against
participating in the youth options program for more than two
semesters once the pupil gains 12th grade status.

Allowing a school district to establish a policy limiting its
payment to the equivalent of 18 postsecondary semester
credits for noncomparable courses taken for high school
credit at an institution of higher education or technical
college.

Providing that if a pupil receives a failing grade or fails to
complete a course for which the school board has made
payment under the program, the pupil’s parent or guardian (or
the pupil if he or she is an adult) must reimburse the school
board upon the school board’s request.  If a school board has
requested reimbursement and has not been reimbursed, the
pupil is ineligible to participate in the program.

Providing that a technical college must admit an eligible
pupil (unless the pupil is rejected because of disciplinary
problems) if there is space available in the course after
admission of individuals who are not attending the technical
college under the program.  This provision clarifies that pupils
under the program do not take priority for admission over
others applying to attend a technical college as a
postsecondary student.

The rules will also make the following technical
modifications:

Clarifying that regardless of whether the pupil plans to
attend an IHE or technical college, only one deadline applies
(May 15 for the fall semester and November 15 for the spring
semester) to school boards when notifying the pupil of its
determinations of high school credit.

Replacing the term “child with exceptional educational
needs” with “child with a disability” to be consistent with
terminology used under subchapter V of chapter 115, Stats.

Clarifying provisions relating to payment for equipment
under the program.

Adding a web address to notes within the rules to allow
easier accessibility to forms and other information referenced
in the rules.

Eliminating the requirement that the state superintendent’s
decisions be sent by certified mail.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed
federal regulations:  None.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states:
According to the 2001 Postsecondary Options:

Dual/Concurrent Enrollment Report compiled by the

Education Commission of the States Center for Community
College Policy, the following is a summary of similar
programs offered in states adjacent to Wisconsin:

Illinois:  Generally students are taught by college faculty,
either at the college or high school or through distance
education.  The Board of Education encourages AP courses.
The Illinois Community College Board has developed
policies governing admission to postsecondary courses by
high school students.  The board also has developed funding
policies for dual enrollment courses.  Most college courses are
offered by community colleges.  The student or school district
pays for courses.  It is a local decision as to who pays the
tuition costs for dually enrolled students.

Iowa:  Generally students are taught by college faculty,
either at the college or high school or through distance
education.  The program allows 11th and 12th grade students
to enroll part time in nonsectarian college courses in eligible
institutions.  A gifted and talented student, according to the
school’s criteria, may also enroll in college courses.  A student
may enroll part−time in an eligible postsecondary institution
for no more than four semester terms or six quarter terms
unless identified as a gifted and talented 9th− or 10th−grade
student.  Students may enroll in any of the three state
universities, the 15 public community colleges, and
accredited private institutions as defined in Iowa’s code and
are eligible for the Iowa Tuition Grant Program.  Students
must meet entrance requirements for postsecondary courses
as determined by the postsecondary institution before they
can enroll.  Students may not enroll in eligible postsecondary
courses if the high school in which a student is enrolled offers
a comparable course.  The student or school district pays for
the courses.  If the student does not successfully complete the
college courses, the student must pay.

Michigan:  Generally students are taught by college
faculty, either at the college or high school or through distance
education.  The program allows high school students to
participate in dual enrollment or other postsecondary options.
Qualified students for dual enrollment must take the MEAP
High School Test and must be endorsed in the subject area in
which they wish to dually enroll.  If a subject has no
endorsement, students are eligible to dually enroll in those
areas as long as they have taken the MEAP High School Test.
An eligible student must be enrolled in at least one high school
class in at least grade 11in a school district in Michigan,
except a foreign exchange student enrolled under a cultural
exchange program.  The postsecondary enrollment options
program establishes eligibility criteria for students,
institutions and courses.  It mandates eligible charges for
tuition, course fees and registration fees that can be charged
to a school district.  It creates requirements for enrollment and
credit.  The program requires schools to provide
postsecondary options counseling and mandates school
districts to report to the Department of Education.  The school
district pays for the courses.

Minnesota:  Generally students are taught by college
faculty, either at the college or high school or through distance
education.  This is the oldest dual enrollment program in the
United States.  All high school juniors/seniors, except cultural
exchange students, and some adults 21 years of age who do
not have a high school diploma, are eligible to participate
under the High School Graduation Incentives Act.  Students
may enroll in any public or private postsecondary institution.
The student may only enroll in nonsectarian courses.  The
student or the state pays for the courses.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:
The statutory language relating to the Youth Options

program under s. 118.55, was modified thereby necessitating
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the amending of its corresponding administrative code,
Chapter PI 40.

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine
effect on small business or in preparation of economic impact
report:  N/A

Anticipated costs incurred by private sector:  None.
Effect on small business:
The proposed rules will have no significant economic

impact on small businesses, as defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a),
Stats.

Fiscal Estimate
The proposed rule itself is not expected to have a fiscal

effect separate from the legislation modified under the Act.
Therefore, this fiscal note is based on the provisions in 2003
Wisconsin Act 131.  The provisions under the Act which may
have a fiscal effect on school district costs include:

1. Repealing the provision which required a school district
to pay for � of comparable courses (up to six credits) for a
pupil who attended a technical college for 10 or more credits
in any semester.  The amount saved by a school district would
depend on the number of pupils participating in the technical
college, the total number of credits taken, the total number of
comparable credits taken, and the district’s average per pupil
cost in the previous school year.  These amounts are
indeterminate.  This provision will have no state fiscal effect.

2. Repealing the prohibition against taking more than 15
credit hours per semester at an institution of higher education
(IHE) and allowing a school district to establish a policy
limiting its payment to the equivalent of 18 postsecondary
semester credits for noncomparable courses taken for high
school credit at an IHE or technical college.  The amount

saved by a school district would depend on whether it elects
to establish a policy limiting its payment to 18 postsecondary
semester credits for noncomparable courses taken at an IHE
or technical college.  If a district does establish such a policy,
payment could be limited to 18 semester credits taken over 4
semesters.  Using the statutory payment for private
universities under s. 118.55 (1) (c), Stats., of $273 per
semester credits, payment over 4 semesters would be $4,914
(18 semester credits X $273 per credit).  Under the previous
language, a district could pay up to $16,380 (15 semester
credits X 4 semesters X $273 per credit).  This provision will
have no state fiscal effect.

3. Providing that if a pupil receives a failing grade or fails
to complete a course for which the school board has made
payment under the program, the pupil’s parent or guardian (or
the pupil if he or she is an adult) must reimburse the school
board upon the school board’s request.  This provision
benefits school districts fiscally by allowing them to recover
tuition or fees paid for courses that a pupil drops or fails.
Because it is unknown how many pupils fail or drop courses
or whether a school district could actually recover the
payment from the pupil or his or her parent, these fiscal
benefits are indeterminate. This provision will have no state
fiscal effect.

4. Eliminating the requirement that the state
superintendent’s decisions be sent by certified mail.  The
department sends approximately 20 letters a year at $2.40 per
letter for a savings of $48 annually.   This provision will have
no local fiscal effect.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The proposed rules are not anticipated to have a fiscal
effect on small businesses as defined under s. 227.114 (1) (a),
Stats.
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Submittal of proposed rules to the legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection
(CR 05−028)

Chs. ATCP 1, 11, 13, 17, 29, 40, 42, 50, 55, 69, 70, 80, 81,
82, 85, 88, 92, 105, 111, 113, 118, 131, 134, 155 and 158,
relating to technical rule changes.

Natural Resources
(CR 06−027)

Ch. NR 46, relating to administration of the forest crop
law and managed forest law.

Natural Resources
(CR 06−022)

Ch. NR 47, relating to forestry research and development
grant program.

Natural Resources
(CR 06−024)

Chs. NR 135 and 340, relating to the reclamation of
nonmetallic mining sites.

Natural Resources
(CR 06−026)

Chs. NR 514 and 516, relating to landfilling of solid
waste.

Pharmacy Examining Board
(CR 06−050)

Chs. Phar 2 and 17, relating to a foreign graduate
internship.

Pharmacy Examining Board
(CR 06−052)

Ch. Phar 8, relating to controlled substances theft and
loss reporting requirements.

Workforce Development
(CR 06−044)

Chs. DWD 12, 16, 17, 55 and 56, relating to Wisconsin
Works, Emergency Assistance and Child Care.
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Rule orders filed with the revisor of statutes bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.   It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.   Contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at gary.poulson@legis.state.wi.us or (608) 266−7275 for updated information on
the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Commerce
(CR 06−040)

An order affecting ch. Comm 62, relating to automatic
fire suppression systems for student housing serving
colleges and universities.

Effective 10−1−06.

Employee Trust Funds
(CR 05−014)

An order affecting ch. ETF 10, relating to separate
retirement system investments in the fixed and variable
retirement investment trusts.

Effective 10−1−06.

Financial Institutions − Banking
(CR 06−045)

An order affecting ch. DFI−Bkg 74, relating to collection

agencies.
Effective 10−1−06.

Regulation and Licensing
(CR 06−014)

An order affecting ch. RL 128, relating to educational
programs for auctioneers.

Effective 10−1−06.

Revenue
(CR 06−030)

An order affecting ch. Tax 8, relating to liquor wholesaler
warehouse facilities.

Effective 10−1−06.
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