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Emergency rules now in effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Commerce 
(Financial Assistance for Businesses &

Communities, Chs. Comm 105—)

Rules were adopted creating ch. Comm 129, relating to
technology commercialization programs.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency

exists within the state of Wisconsin and that adoption of a rule
is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
health, safety and welfare.  A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is as follows.

1.  In accordance with sections 560.205 (3) and 560.275
(7), Stats., the department has the responsibility to promulgate
rules to administer an Early Stage Business Investment
Program and a Technology Commercialization Grant and
Loan Program.

2.  Section 560.205 (1) and (2), Stats., makes available
certain tax benefits for investors in early stage businesses for
tax years beginning after December 31, 2004.

3.  Section 560.275 (2), Stats., makes available grant and
loan program funds appropriated as of July 1, 2004.

4.  The department, being the agency with primary
authority for economic development in the state, recognizes
that there is a verified need to assist the development of high
growth early stage technology businesses.  Wisconsin has
historically ranked low in the development of new start−ups
and in the attraction of risk capital.

5.  The department recognizes that promulgating this
emergency rule will alleviate the need for investors to defer
investments into qualified new businesses while they wait for
the promulgation of the permanent rule.  Such a circumstance
would effectively halt new investment into early stage high
tech companies in Wisconsin, a result that would be contrary
to the intent of the legislation.

6.  In addition, the department recognizes that without
promulgating this emergency rule, the department would
likely be unable to fully utilize the funds made available to
benefit early stage businesses.

7.  Finally, the department recognizes that without
promulgating this emergency rule, Wisconsin’s early stage
businesses would be unable to compete fairly to attract
much−needed risk capital and federal research dollars to
Wisconsin.

Publication Date: December 2, 2004
Effective Date: December 2, 2004
Expiration Date: May 1, 2005
Hearing Date: January 12, 2005
Extension Through: June 29, 2005

Elections Board

Rules adopted creating s. ElBd 1.395, relating to the use of
funds in a federal campaign committee that has been
converted to a state campaign committee and relating to the
use of those converted funds whose contribution to the federal
committee would not have been in compliance with
Wisconsin law if the contribution had been made directly to a
state campaign committee.

Finding of Emergency
The Elections Board finds that an emergency exists in the

recent change in federal law that permits the transfer of the
funds in a federal candidate campaign committee’s account to
the candidate’s state campaign committee account and finds
that a rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A statement of the
facts constituting the emergency is as follows:

Since the Bi−Partisan Campaign Reform Act of 2002
(BICRA), transfers of funds from a federal campaign
committee to a state campaign committee had not been
authorized under federal law.  In November, 2004, Congress
amended the Federal Election Campaign Act, (H.R. 4818,
s.532(3) and 532(4), to permit the transfer of a federal
candidate’s campaign committee’s funds to the candidate’s
state campaign committee, if state law permitted, and subject
to the state law’s requirements and restrictions.

Because of  Congress’ action in November, 2004, money
which had not been available to a state committee under
BICRA, and which might not have qualified for use for
political purposes in a state campaign because of its source or
because of other noncompliance with state law, could now be
transferred to a state committee, if state law permitted.
Wisconsin law, under the Board’s current rule, ElBd 1.39,
Wis. Adm. Code,  allows for conversion of federal campaign
committees, and their funds, to a state campaign committee
without regard to the source of those funds and without regard
to contribution limitations.
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Restricting the use of such money to that money which has
been contributed to the candidate’s federal committee, under
circumstances in which the contribution would have
complied with Wisconsin law if it had been given directly to
the Wisconsin campaign committee, is found to be in the
public interest.

Publication Date: February 3, 2005

Effective Date: February 3, 2005*

Expiration Date: July 3, 2005
Hearing Date: May 18, 2005

*  On February 9, 2005, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended this emergency rule.

Insurance

Rules were adopted creating ch. Ins 14, Wis. Adm. Code,
relating to vehicle protection plans.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.
Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The statute requiring these changes is effective on
December 1, 2004. The length of the rulemaking process has
not permitted OCI to finish promulgating the rule. This
emergency implementation will allow vehicle protection
businesses to start getting registered and selling their
products. Many of these products are promoted as safety
related such as glass etching, the “club,” vehicle entry
warning sirens and others. Consumer would then be able
obtain the promoted safety benefits of these products as soon
as the legislature permitted them.

Publication Date: December 10, 2004

Effective Date: December 10, 2004

Expiration Date: May 9, 2005
Hearing Date: January 11, 2005
Extension Through: July 7, 2005

Natural Resources
(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1−)

Rules were adopted revising s. NR 20.33 (5) (c), relating to
the closure of sturgeon spearing on the Lake Winnebago
system.
Finding of emergency

The Department of Natural Resources find that an
emergency exists and a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public health, safety or welfare.  The facts
constituting this emergency are:

During the 2004 sturgeon spearing on Lake Winnebago,
spearers harvested a record 1,303 sturgeon on opening day,
exceeding the season harvest cap for adult female sturgeon.
the spearing season lasted only two days and resulted in an
overall harvest of 1,854 sturgeon.  The total harvest included
822 males, 348 juvenile females, and 684 adult females, 509
of which came on opening day, exceeding the harvest cap of
425.  Population reduction due to overharvest of lake sturgeon
could take years to reverse given the life history of lake
sturgeon.

Publication Date: February 2, 2005

Effective Date: February 2, 2005

Expiration Date: July 2, 2005
Hearing Date: February 23, 2005

Natural Resources (2)
(Environmental Protection − Water Regulation,

Chs. NR 300—)

1. Rules adopted revising ch. NR 326, relating to regulation
of piers, wharves, boat shelters, boat hoists, boat lifts and
swim rafts in navigable waterways.

Finding of emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public health, safety and welfare. The Wisconsin
Legislature recently enacted 2003 Wisconsin Act 118, to
streamline the regulatory process for activities in public trust
waters.  The state has an affirmative duty to administer the
new law in a manner consistent with the public trust
responsibilities of the State of Wisconsin under Article IX,
Section I of the Wisconsin Constitution.

2003 Act 118 identifies certain activities that may be
undertaken in public trust waters exempt from a permit, or
under a general permit. Certain activities may not be
undertaken in waters that are defined as “areas of special
natural resource interest” or at other locations where the
activity would cause detrimental impacts on public rights and
interests in navigable waters.  Without emergency rules to aid
in administering the new law, the following severe problems
will occur:

Until general permits are created by rule, any activity
which is not exempt requires an individual permit with an
automatic 30−day public notice.  The required 30−day
comment period will unnecessarily delay hundreds of
construction projects that otherwise could go ahead with
specified conditions for protecting lakes and streams (for
example, all new riprap and culvert applications currently
require public notices).

Unclear wording of exemptions currently puts property
owners, contractors and consultants at risk of violation.
Without clear procedures and standards established by
emergency rule, many more people may request exemption
determinations, slowing the decisions on individual permit
applications.

Wording of exemptions and temporary grading jurisdiction
puts lakes and streams at risk.  Without standards as intended
and described in the new law, exempted activities and grading
along shorelines will cause inadvertent but permanent
destruction of fish and wildlife habitat, loss of natural scenic
beauty and reduced water quality.  Rights of neighboring
property owners may also be harmed.  Cumulatively over one
or two construction seasons, these impacts will have
immediate and permanent effects on Wisconsin’s
water−based recreation and tourism industry.

To carry out the intention of the Legislature that 2003 Act
118 to speed decision−making but not diminish the public
trust in state waters, these emergency rules are required to
establish definitions, procedures and substantive standards
for exemptions, general permits and jurisdiction under the
new law.
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Publication Date: April 19, 2004

Effective Date: April 19, 2004*

Expiration Date: September 16, 2004
Hearing Date: May 19, 2004

*On June 24, 2004, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended this emergency rule.

2. Rules adopted creating ch. NR 328, subch. III, relating to
shore erosion control on rivers and streams.

Finding of emergency
SECTION 2.  FINDING. The emergency rule procedure,

pursuant to s. 227.24, Stats., is necessary and justified in
establishing rules to protect the public health, safety and
welfare. The Wisconsin Legislature enacted 2003 Wisconsin
Act 118 to streamline the regulatory process for activities in
public trust waters.  The state has an affirmative duty to
administer the law in a manner consistent with the public trust
responsibilities of the State of Wisconsin under Article IX,
Section I of the Wisconsin Constitution.

Act 118 identifies certain activities that may be undertaken
as exempt from a permit, or under a general permit.  There are
no statutory exemptions for shore protection on rivers and
streams.  Without emergency rules to create general permits,
all shore protection projects on rivers and streams require an
individual permit with an automatic 30−day public notice.
The required 30−day comment period will unnecessarily
delay projects that otherwise could go ahead with prescribed
conditions established in a general permit.

To carry out the intention of Act 118 to speed
decision−making but not diminish the public trust in state
waters, these emergency rules are required to establish
general permits to be in effect for the 2005 construction
season, with specific standards for shore erosion control
structures on rivers and streams.

Publication Date: April 8, 2005

Effective Date: May 1, 2005

Expiration Date: September 28, 2005
Hearing Date: May 16, 2005

Public Instruction

Rules adopted repealing s. PI 24.02 (3) and repealing and
recreating subchapter II of chapter PI 24, relating to the
payment of state aid under the student achievement guarantee
in education (SAGE) program.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Public Instruction finds an emergency

exists and that a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public welfare.  A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is:

Section 118.43 (6m), Stats., requires the department to
promulgate rules to implement and administer the payment of
state aid under s. 118.43 (6), Stats.  Because the next deadline
for pupil reporting requirements occurs in January 2005, the
rule must take effect as soon as possible to give eligible
schools enough notice to meet such requirements.

Publication Date: December 20, 2004
Effective Date: December 20, 2004
Expiration Date: May 19, 2005
Hearing Date: January 14, 2005

Regulation and Licensing

Rules adopted creating ch. RL 150 to 154, relating to the
licensure and regulation of athlete agents.

Exemption from finding of emergency
SECTION 4. Nonstatutory provisions of 2003 Wisconsin

Act 150 states in part:
(2)  The department of regulation and licensing may, using

the procedure under section 227.24 of the statutes,
promulgate the rules under section 440.9935 of the statutes,
as created by this act, for the period before permanent rules
become effective, but not to exceed the period authorized
under section 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes.
Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3) of the
statutes, the department is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating rules under this subsection as emergency
rules is necessary for the preservation of the public peace,
health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
findings of emergency for rules promulgated under this
subsection.
Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statutes authorizing promulgation:  s. 227.11 (2), Stats.,
and ss. 440.99, 440.991, 440.915, 440.992, 440.9925,
440.993, 440.9935, 440.994, 440.9945, 440.995, 440.9955,
440.996, 440.9975, 440.998 and 440.999, Stats., as created by
2003 Wisconsin Act 150.

Statutes interpreted:  Chapter 440, Subchapter XII.
This emergency rule is promulgated pursuant to 2003

Wisconsin Act 150.  This Act grants the Department of
Regulation and Licensing the authority to create rules relating
to the licensure and regulation of athlete agents.

In this order adopting emergency rules the Department of
Regulation and Licensing creates rules relating to the
licensure of athlete agents.  These rules are as a result of 2003
Wisconsin Act 150 which enacted the Uniform Athlete
Agents Act.  Chapters RL 150 to 154 establish requirements
and standards for registration and the practice of registered
athlete agents.  The rules specify the registration requirements
for temporary and permanent registration, renewal
requirements, and prohibited conduct for athlete agents.

SECTION 1 creates Chapter RL 150 which sets forth the
statutory authority and the definitions for the proposed rules.

SECTION 2 creates Chapter RL 151 which sets forth the
application process and requirements for an initial certificate
of registration, including the application process for a
temporary certificate of registration.

SECTION 3 creates Chapter RL 152 which sets forth the
application process and requirements for renewal of a
certificate of registration.

SECTION 4 creates Chapter RL 153 which outlines the
standards of practice which apply to a credential holder.

SECTION 5 creates Chapter RL 154 which defines
unprofessional conduct.
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Publication Date: October 5, 2004
Effective Date: October 5, 2004
Expiration Date: March 4, 2005
Hearing Date: November 12, 2004
Extension Through: July 1, 2005

Revenue

Rules adopted revising s. Tax 18.07, relating to the
assessment of agricultural land.

Finding of emergency
The Wisconsin Department of Revenue finds that an

emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public welfare. The facts
constituting the emergency are as follows:

Pursuant to s. 70.32 (2r) (c), the assessment of agricultural
land is assessed according to the income that could be
generated from its rental for agricultural use. Wisconsin
Chapter Tax 18 specifies the formula that is used to estimate
the net rental income per acre. The formula estimates the net
income per acre of land in corn production based on a 5−year
average corn price per bushel, cost of corn production per
bushel and corn yield per acre. The net income is divided by
a capitalization rate that is based on a 50 year average interest
rate for a medium−sized, 1−year adjustable rate mortgage and
net tax rate for the property tax levy two years prior to the
assessment year.

For reasons of data availability, there is a three−year lag in
determining the 5−year average. Thus, the 2003 use value is
based on the 5−year average corn price, cost and yield for the
1996−2000 period, and the capitalization rate is based on the
5−year average interest rate for the 1998−2002 period. The
2005 use value is to be based on the 5−year average corn price,
cost and yield for the 1998−2002 period, and the
capitalization rate is to be based on the 2000−2004 period.

The data for the 1998−2002 period yields negative net
income per acre due to declining corn prices and increasing
costs of corn production. As a result, reliance on data for the
1998−2002 period will result in negative use values.

The department is issuing this emergency rule in order to
ensure positive and stable assessments of agricultural land for
2005.

Publication Date: December 29, 2004
Effective Date: December 29, 2004
Expiration Date: May 28, 2005
Hearing Date: May 26, 2005
Extension Through: July 26, 2005

Transportation

Rules adopted creating ss. Trans 254.12 (6) and 255.12
(17), relating to the issuance of single and multiple trip
oversize and overweight permits.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Transportation finds that an emergency

exists and that the rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public safety and welfare.  Although the
Department will pursue promulgation of this rule through
normal procedure, the Department finds an emergency exists
for the following reasons: (1) current administrative rules

have size limitations that prevent the use of the Milwaukee
Expressway for vehicles or load or dimensions greater than 11
feet in width, 13� feet in height, or 100 feet in length on the
Milwaukee Freeway; (2) structural beams and girders that
exceed the above transport limits are currently being
manufactured for the initial stages of construction of the
Marquette Interchange Reconstruction project; and (3) these
steel and concrete bridge components must be delivered to the
construction site beginning in February 2005 to keep the
project on time and on−budget.  Routing these oversized loads
on the Milwaukee surface street system may not be possible
due to the load lengths and the turning radiuses required.  If
the street geometry does allow the movement, these street
systems may not be designed to carry the weight of such loads.
Doing so will result in unsafe and possible permanent damage
to the surface street system.  Without this rule amendment, the
other alternative is to reduce the size of these structural
members (beams and girders) to meet these existing size
limitations which will significantly increase the total projects
costs and the time required to complete the project because of
the necessary redesign.

Publication Date: February 1, 2005
Effective Date: February 1, 2005
Expiration Date: July 1, 2005
Hearing Date: March 1, 2005

Workforce Development  (2)
(Labor Standards, Chs. DWD 270−279)

1. Rules adopted revising ss. DWD 274.015 and 274.03 and
creating s. DWD 274.035, relating to overtime pay for
employees performing companionship services.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

On January 21, 2004, pursuant to s. 227.26(2)(b), Stats., the
Joint Committee for Review of Administrative Rules directed
the Department of Workforce Development to promulgate an
emergency rule regarding their overtime policy for
nonmedical home care companion employees of an agency as
part of ch. DWD 274.
Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce
Development

Statutory authority:  Sections 103.005, 103.02, and 227.11,
Stats.

Statutes interpreted: Sections 103.01 and 103.02, Stats.
Section 103.02, Stats., provides that “no person may be

employed or be permitted to work in any place of employment
or at any employment for such period of time during any day,
night or week, as is prejudicial to the person’s life, health,
safety or welfare.” Section 103.01 (3), Stats., defines “place
of employment” as “any manufactory, mechanical or
mercantile establishment, beauty parlor, laundry, restaurant,
confectionary store, or telegraph or telecommunications
office or exchange, or any express or transportation
establishment or any hotel.”

Chapter DWD 274 governs hours of work and overtime.
Section DWD 274.015, the applicability section of the
chapter, incorporates the statutory definition of “place of
employment” and limits coverage of the chapter to the places
of employment delineated in s. 103.01 (3), Stats., and various
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governmental bodies. Section DWD 274.015 also provides
that the chapter does not apply to employees employed in
domestic service in a household by a household.

Section 103.02, Stats., directs that the “department shall,
by rule, classify such periods of time into periods to be paid
for at the rate of at least one and one−half times the regular
rates.” Under s. DWD 274.03, “each employer subject to this
chapter shall pay to each employee time and one−half the
regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours
per week.” Section DWD 274.04 lists 15 types of employees
who are exempt from this general rule and s. DWD 274.08
provides that the section is inapplicable to public employees.

Nonmedical home care companion employees who are
employed by a third−party, commercial agency are covered
by the overtime provision in s. DWD 274.03. Section DWD
274.03 applies to all employees who are subject to the chapter
and not exempt under ss. DWD 274.04 or 274.08. The chapter
applies to companion employees of a commercial agency
because under s. DWD 274.015 a commercial agency is
considered a mercantile establishment. Section DWD 270.01
(5) defines a mercantile establishment as a commercial,
for−profit business. The chapter does not apply to companion
employees of a nonprofit agency or a private household. In
addition, none of the exemptions to the overtime section in ss.
DWD 274.04 or 274.08 apply to companion employees of a
commercial agency.

The Joint Committee for the Review of Administrative
Rules has directed DWD to promulgate an emergency rule
regarding the overtime policy for nonmedical home care
companion employees of an agency. This provision is created
at s. DWD 274.035 to say that employees who are employed
by a mercantile establishment to perform companionship
services shall be subject to the overtime pay requirement in s.
DWD 274.03. “Companionship services” is defined as those
services which provide fellowship, care, and protection for a
person who because of advanced age, physical infirmity, or
mental infirmity cannot care for his or her own needs. Such
services may include general household work and work
related to the care of the aged or infirm person such as meal
preparation, bed making, washing of clothes, and other

similar services. The term “companionship services” does not
include services relating to the care and protection of the aged
or infirm person that require and are performed by trained
personnel, such as registered or practical nurses.

This order also repeals and recreates the applicability of the
chapter section and the overtime section to write these rules
in a clearer format. There is no substantive change in these
sections.

Publication Date: March 1, 2004
Effective Date: March 1, 2004*
Expiration Date: July 29, 2004

*  On April 28, 2004, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended s. DWD 274.035 created as
an emergency rule.

2. Rules adopted revising ch. DWD 272, relating to
increasing Wisconsin’s minimum wages.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that the rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

The federal minimum wage has fallen to its lowest
inflation−adjusted value of all time. When wages are so low
that workers and their families can’t afford their most basic
needs, society, particularly taxpayers, bears tremendous costs
due to poverty−related educational failure, workforce failure,
and citizenship failure. An adequate minimum wage supports
workers, helps strengthen families and communities, and
promotes the state’s overall economic and fiscal health.

Publication Date: May 25, 2005
Effective Date: June 1, 2005
Expiration Date: October 29, 2005
Hearing Date: June 14, 2005
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Scope statements

Chiropractic Examining Board

Subject
Changes to the language of s. Chir 6.02, Unprofessional

Conduct, to reflect the need for chiropractors to receive
adequate training, education and experience relating to the
use of new therapies and treatment modalities in the
chiropractic practice prior to application.

Objective of the rule.  To ensure that chiropractic
practitioners will be adequately trained and educated on the
proper usage, treatment and procedures directly related to the
usage of new therapies and treatment modalities prior to the
treatment of their patients.  The new rule should offer an
allowance for training to be received during coursework at an
accredited chiropractic college or board−approved
continuing education course.
Policy analysis

Cold laser therapy, anodyne therapy (infrared light
treatment) and other new therapies and treatment modalities
are emerging into the practice of chiropractic on a regular
basis.  To ensure that these new therapies and treatment
modalities being made available by advancements in the field
are administered appropriately, and to adequately educate
chiropractors on the treatment of their patients, a rules change
specifying that the chiropractic practitioner should have
adequate education and training prior to patient application
will be required.

The board is amending its rules to specify that
chiropractors need adequate training and education from
coursework at an accredited college of chiropractic or from a
board−approved continuing education program prior to usage
of these new treatments (to assure competence) in their
practice.
Comparison with federal requirements

None.
Statutory authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2), Stats.
Staff time required

200 Hours.

Financial Institutions − General

Subject
Ch. DFI—Gen 2, relating to the discretion the agency will

use in the enforcement of rules and guidelines against small
business.
Policy analysis

The objective of the rule is to create ch. DFI—Gen 2.
Section 895.59 (2), Stats., requires each agency to disclose in
advance the discretion that the agency will follow in the
enforcement of rules and guidelines against a small business.
A rule promulgated under s. 895.59 (2) shall 1)  include the
reduction or waiver of penalties for a voluntary disclosure by
a small business of actual or potential violations or rules or

guidelines, and may include the consideration of the
violator’s ability to pay when determining the amount of any
monetary penalty, assessment, or surcharge; 2) shall specify
when the agency will not allow discretion in the enforcement
of a rule or guideline against small businesses; and 3) shall
include all of the situations set forth in s. 895.59 (2) (a) – (f)
in which discretion is not allowed.  Section 895.59 (1) (a),
Stats., defines “small business” as having the meaning as set
forth in s. 227.114 (1), Stats., but not including an entity as
defined in ss. 48.685 (1) (b) or 50.065 (1) (c), Stats.   The
purpose of the proposed rule is to comply with s. 895.59 (2).
Comparison with federal requirements

None.
Statutory authority

Sections 895.59 (2) and 227.11 (2), Stats.
Staff time required

160 hours.
Entities affected by the rule

Entities that may be affected by the proposed rule include
adjustment service companies, currency exchanges,
collection agencies, insurance premium finance companies,
loan companies, sales finance companies, sellers of checks,
mortgage bankers, mortgage brokers, credit providers,
corporate and UCC filers, securities broker−dealers, agents,
investment advisers, investment adviser representatives,
Wisconsin target company acquirors, franchisors, securities
issuers and such other entities as may be affected by the
department.

Natural Resources

Subject
Objective of the rule.  Modification to ch. NR 10,  relating

to deer hunting seasons and regulations for the 2006 deer
hunting season.
Policy analysis

The Department will be promulgating administrative rules
relating to deer hunting seasons and regulations for the 2006
deer hunting season. The primary policy issue and related
objective will be to try to reach consensus, primarily amongst
the various deer hunting groups in the state, on changes to deer
hunting seasons and regulations that will result in increased
simplification of regulations, social acceptance of
management objectives, and enforceability of regulations
without compromising the Department’s ability to manage
antlerless deer harvest to fulfill the Department’s mandate to
responsibly manage deer populations at established deer
population goals.

Deer Management for 2000 and Beyond was the last and
the largest deer management related strategic planning effort
initiated by the department to achieve the same objective
outlined for the proposed administrative rule order. A
majority of the current deer hunting regulations and seasons
are a result of Deer 2000. However, the current controversies
in Wisconsin related to deer are evidence to the fact that not
all the issues surrounding deer management in Wisconsin
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were solved with Deer 2000, even with the extensive effort
put forth to engage the public through the Deer 2000 initiative.
Therefore, to expect to reach consensus with this rule order is
ambitious and perhaps too optimistic. However, the
Department has recently concluded the Department Deer
Streamlining Team effort to review current deer seasons and
tagging to find ways to reduce complications associated with
current seasons while retaining herd control. The
recommendations from this team along with results from the
2005 Spring Hearings and previous guidance from the
Natural Resources Board will be considered when drafting the
proposed 2006 deer hunting season rules.

Statutory authority

Section 29.014, Stats.

Staff time required

Approximately 785 hours will be needed by the department
to develop the rule prior to and following the hearings.

Entities affected by the rule

The groups specifically interested in this rule process
include the various deer hunting groups in the state which
represent gun, bow and muzzleloader deer hunters,
conservation groups such as the Conservation Congress and
the Wisconsin Wildlife Federation, and other groups such as
the tribes in the ceded territory, non−hunting recreationists,
farmers, foresters, motorists and private landowners.

Comparison with federal requirements

Federal regulations allow states to manage the wildlife
resources located within their boundaries provided they do
not conflict with regulations established in the Federal
Register. None of these rule changes violate or conflict with
the provisions established in the Federal Code of Regulations.

Natural Resources

Subject

Objective of the rule.  The objective of the rule is to
establish formula−driven commercial harvest limits for
yellow perch from Lake Michigan and Green Bay.  Such
limits would allow harvest limits to rise and fall as objective
indices of fish abundance rise and fall.  This will 1) remove
the need for controversial and divisive rule−making to
increase or cut harvest limits, 2) produce timely reductions in
harvests when fish populations decline, and 3) will allow
rapid increases in harvests when fish populations recover.
Adjustments to daily sport fishing bag limits for yellow perch
from Green Bay and Lake Michigan may be included in the
rule that is proposed.

Policy analysis

The proposed rule is a change from current practice in
which harvest limits are made on a case−by−case basis as fish
populations increase or decline, but would not represent a
change in policy.  NR 1.04 (Great Lakes fisheries
management) states, “Management measures may include
but are not limited to seasons, bag and harvest limits,
limitations on the type and amount of fishing gear, limitations
as to participation in the fisheries and allocations of allowable
harvest among various users and the establishment of
restricted areas.”

Statutory authority

ss 29.041, 29.014 (1), 29.519 (1), and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.

Staff time required
The Lake Michigan Fisheries Team will develop the rule.

The Great Lakes Fisheries Specialist, working with a DNR
attorney will develop options for consideration by the LMF.
 It is estimated that the Great Lakes Fisheries Specialist will
devote 40 hours to rule development, the DNR attorney will
devote five hours the problem, and the LMFT will devote six
hours of meeting time to the issue.
Comparison with federal requirements

None applicable.
Entities affected by the rule

The rule will affect commercial fishers directly and sport
fishers indirectly.

Natural Resources

Subject
Objective of the rule.  Approval of a limited revision to NR

118, Wis. Adm. Code, standards for the Lower St. Croix
National Scenic Riverway.
Policy analysis

The proposed modification will change the riverway
management zone designation for two small portions of the
riverway.   These locations are within the Village of Osceola
and the City of St. Croix Falls.  The designation is proposed
to be changed from Small Town Historic Management to
River Town Management.  The major rule revision completed
in August 2004 created 5 management zones to prescribe
management of the riverway based on maintaining the
character of each of these zones.  This was intended to provide
flexibility in management based on maintaining and
protecting current uses. Upon further review it is clear these
management zone designations in Osceola and St. Croix Falls
need to be modified to recognize the existence of a significant
number of businesses in these areas.   This will allow these
uses to continue under a permit process as they have since the
rule was initially developed, without requiring a conditional
use permit process for each proposed new business or
modification of an existing business.

If this proposed change does not occur these communities
will be required to manage businesses as conditional uses in
these areas which means a significant increase in
administrative time and costs to conduct this additional step
in the permit process.  This change will not negatively impact
riverway protection.  Other provisions within the rule
maintain protection for the riverway.
Statutory authority

Section 30.27 Stats.,  Lower St. Croix River preservation.
Staff time required

3 weeks.
Comparison with federal requirements

This rule revision was developed to implement P.L.
90−560, Lower St. Croix river act of 1972.

Natural Resources

Subject
Objective of the rule.  Creation of Appendix DDDDD in ch.

NR 460 and ch. NR 462 to incorporate national emission
standards for hazardous air pollutants (NESHAP) for
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industrial, commercial and institutional boilers and process
heaters.  Other chapters may be amended, if germane and
appropriate, to accomplish the actions described above.
Policy analysis

There are no policy issues to be resolved. The US EPA
promulgated the NESHAP for industrial, commercial and
institutional boilers and process heaters on September 13,
2004 (40 CFR Part 63, Subpart DDDDD). The NESHAP
establishes maximum achievable control technology
(MACT) requirements for industrial, commercial and
institutional boilers and process heaters. This action
incorporates the boiler NESHAP into the Wisconsin
Administrative Code.

Section 285.27 (2), Stats., requires the Department to
promulgate NESHAP by rule. In addition, since this
NESHAP affects more than ten facilities in Wisconsin,
promulgation into state rule is consistent with the MACT
Streamlining Policy approved by the Natural Resources
Board in 1996.
Statutory authority

Sections 285.11 (1), 285.27 (2) and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats.
Staff time required

About 400 hours of Department staff time will be needed
to develop these rules.
Comparison with federal requirements

As noted above, the federal NESHAP for industrial,
commercial and institutional boilers and process heaters is an
existing federal regulation. While some changes to the federal
rule language and organization will be necessary to
accommodate state administrative rule format, no substantial
changes will be made, and the state rule will be essentially
identical to the federal NESHAP.
Entities affected by the rule

The NESHAP for industrial, commercial and institutional
boilers and process heaters will affect about 215 facilities
statewide.  All affected and potentially affected sources have
been or will be notified and informed about the existing
federal NESHAP regulation and about this rule making.

Transportation

Subject

Objective of the rule.  1989 Wisconsin Act 105 was enacted
by the Legislature on December 7, 1989.  The Act established
a classified driver license system and implemented the federal
commercial motor vehicle safety act (CMVSA) of 1986. The
federal CMVSA contained written guidelines on commercial
driver license waiver applicability, but was not initially
codified.  This state’s codified waivers in s. 343.055, Stats.,
and ss. Trans 102.20 and 102.22 were crafted to meet the
terms of these uncodified federal regulations.

Between March 8, 1996, and October 2, 2002, the U.S.
DOT amended 49 CFR 383.3 to codify those exemptions and
create new exemptions. These codifications slightly modified
a number of the federal waivers.  This rule making is intended
to examine the codified federal CDL waivers and amend
Wisconsin’s CDL waivers so that, where appropriate, they
more closely match the federal waivers.

Section 343.055 (5), Stats., requires the Department to
consider adopting all newly promulgated CDL waivers by
administrative rule.  This rule making will consider all
waivers that were uncodified or that did not exist as of May
12, 1992, and determine whether Wisconsin should adopt
them.  Waivers granted prior to May 12, 1992, may not be
adopted by Department rule making under s. 343.055(5),
Stats.
Policy analysis

49 CFR part 383.3(d)(2) exempts individuals from the
commercial driver’s license (CDL) requirements who are
firefighters and other persons who operate CMVs that are
necessary to the preservation of life or property or the
execution of emergency governmental functions, are
equipped with audible and visual signals, and are not subject
to normal traffic regulations. These vehicles include fire
trucks, hook and ladder trucks, foam or water transport trucks,
police SWAT team vehicles, ambulances, or other vehicles
that are used in response to emergencies.

Wisconsin has, by statute, waived CDL requirements for
fire trucks and rescue squad members. s. 343.055 (1) (b) and
(h), Stats.  Wisconsin does not currently exempt operators of
police SWAT team vehicles, ambulances, command post
vehicles or other emergency vehicles from CDL
requirements.  This rule making will consider whether to
waive drivers of such vehicles from CDL requirements.

Wisconsin has adopted federal farm service driver and
snowplow driver CDL waivers.  These waivers have,
however, been amended by the federal government in the
codification process.  Wisconsin will consider whether to
amend its rules to parallel the federal waiver.

The federal government also waives CDL requirements for
certain drivers hauling explosives.  The Department has not
been petitioned to adopt this waiver in Wisconsin and does not
expect to adopt a similar waiver in this state.  In this rule
making, DOT will consider whether to adopt that waiver in
Wisconsin.
Comparison with federal requirements

Current federal regulations under part 49 CFR part
383.3(d) exempt drivers of police SWAT team vehicles,
ambulances and command post type vehicles from holding a
CDL license. They also provide waivers for farm service
employees, snowplow drivers and pyrotechnics transporters.
This rule making will consider whether and to what extent to
adopt the federal CDL waivers codified at 49 CFR 383.3.
Entities affected by the rule

Wisconsin law enforcement personnel, emergency
management personnel and fire department staff may be
affected by the rule making and exempted from CDL
licensing requirements.

Small changes to the emergency snowplow and farm
service industry waiver exemptions are not expected to affect
those drivers or the industries they serve.

Not adopting the federal pyrotechnics industry waiver
would maintain today’s driver licensing status quo and would
therefore not affect that industry.
Statutory authority

s. 343.055 (1) (5), Stats.
Staff time required

30 hours.
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Transportation

Subject
 Objective of the rule.  Ch. Trans 200, relating to specific

information signs (SIS), will be amended to adopt new
flexibility allowing up to three business categories to be
displayed on one SIS.
Policy analysis

Change current restriction from two categories per sign to
maximum of three.
Comparison with federal requirements

Consistent with recent federal change incorporated into the
Section 2F.02 of the Manual of Uniform Traffic Control
Devices (MUTCD).  No more than three types of services
shall be represented on any sign or sign assembly. If three
types of services are shown on one sign, then the logo panels
shall be limited to two for each service (for a total of six logo

panels). The legend and logo panels applicable to a service
type shall be displayed such that the road user will not
associate them with another service type on the same sign. No
service type shall appear on more than one sign.

The Department has adopted the 2003 edition of the
MUTCD along with the February 4, 2005 Wisconsin
Supplement, effective as of that date (2/4/05).

Entities affected by the rule

Businesses eligible to participate in the SIS program where
limitations on sign sites or lack of other market opportunities
prevent participation due to space limitations.

Statutory authority

Sections 84.02 (4) (e) and 86.195 (6) (b), Stats., and
Section 2F.02 of the MUTCD.

Staff time required

8 hours.
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Submittal of rules to legislative council clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Commerce

Rule Submittal Date
On May 27, 2005, the Department of Commerce

submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council Rules
Clearinghouse.

Subject

The proposed rules amends ch. Comm 3, relating to stop
work, stop use and petition for variance procedures.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A hearing on the proposed rule is required and will be

held on June 27, 2005.  The organization unit responsible
for the promulgation of the rule is the Department of
Commerce.

Contact Information
Jim Quast
608 266−9292
jquast@commerce.state.wi.us

Financial Institutions − Banking

Financial Institutions − Savings Banks

Financial Institutions − Savings and Loan

Rule Submittal Date
On May 23, 2005, the Department of Financial

Institutions submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Subject

The proposed rules create ss. DFI−Bkg 3.08 and
DFI−SB 16.04 and ch. DFI−SL 22, relating to debt
cancellation contracts and debt suspension agreements.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A hearing on the proposed rule is required and will be

held on June 27, 2005.  The organization unit responsible
for the promulgation of the rule is the Department of
Financial Institutions, Division of Banking.

Contact Information
Mark Schlei
608 267−1705

Financial Institutions − Credit Unions

Rule Submittal Date
On May 25, 2005, the Department of Financial

Institutions submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Subject
The proposed rules create ch. DFI−CU 74, relating to

incidental powers activity authority parity with federal
credit unions.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A hearing on the proposed rule is required and will be
held on June 27, 2005.  The organization unit responsible
for the promulgation of the rule is the Office of Credit
Unions.
Contact Information

Mark Schlei
608 267−1705

Health and Family Services
Rule Submittal Date

On May 24, 2005, the Department of Health and Family
Services submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Subject

To amend ss. HFS 119.07 (6) (b) to (d) and 119.15 (2)
and (3) relating to operation of the health insurance
risk−sharing plan (HIRSP).
Federal statutes or regulations which require adoption
of or are relevant to the substance of proposed rules:

There are no existing or proposed federal regulations
that address rates or assessments for the HIRSP program.
Court decisions directly relevant to the proposed rule:

None known.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing will be held on Monday, July 11, 2005
from 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m., at 1 W. Wilson St., Room
B272, Madison, WI  53702−0001.
Contact Information
For substantive questions on rules contact:

Randy McElhose, HIRSP Administrative Rules
P.O. Box 309
Room B274
1 W. Wilson St.
Madison, WI  53701−0309
mcelhrf@dhfs.state.wi.us
Phone: (608) 267−7127
Fax:  (608) 264−7720

For small business considerations contact:
Rosie Greer
608−266−1279
greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us

For rules processing information contact:
Rosie Greer
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608−266−1279
greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us

Health and Family Services
Rule Submittal Date

On May 25, 2005, the Department of Health and Family
Services submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Subject
The proposed rules affect ch. HFS 113, rules relating to

certification of first responders and authorizing first
responders to use the following 2 potentially life−saving
skills:

1. Non−visualized airway, to treat patients who are
either not breathing or their airway has been compromised
due to trauma or other means; and

2. The administration of epinephrine, for patients who
have suffered a severe allergic reaction.

Federal statutes or regulations which require adoption
of or are relevant to the substance of proposed rules:

The Department knows of no existing or proposed
federal regulations that address first responders.

Court decisions directly relevant to the proposed rule:
None known.
Public hearings:  A public hearing is required; however,

a public hearing has not yet been scheduled for this
proposed rule.

Names and phone numbers of agency contacts:
For substantive questions on rules contact:
Dan Williams
DHFS − Division of Public Health − Emergency

Medical Services
1 West Wilson Street Room 118
Madison, WI 53701−2659
608−261−6870
willidp@dhfs.state.wi.us

For small business considerations contact:
Rosie Greer
608−266−1279
greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us

For rules processing information contact:

Rosie Greer
608−266−1279
greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us

Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board

On May 31, 2005, the Marriage and Family Therapy,
Professional Counseling and Social Work Examining
Board submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council
Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
Statutory Authority:  ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and

457.03 (1), Stats.
The proposed rule−making order relates to supervised

clinical practice and temporary licenses issued by the
Marriage and Family Therapist Section.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is required and will be held on August

1, 2005, at 9:30 a.m. in Room 179A, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin, 53702.

Contact Person
Pamela Haack, Paralegal
Office of Legal Counsel
(608) 266−0495
Pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us

Regulation and Licensing

On May 31, 2005, the Department of Regulation and
Licensing submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative
Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Analysis
Statutory Authority:  s. 227.11 (2), Stats.
The proposed rule−making order relates to cheating on

an examination and breach of examination security.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and will be held on July 12,
2005, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 179A, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin, 53702.

Contact Person
Pamela Haack, Paralegal
Office of Legal Counsel
(608) 266−0495
Pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us
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Rule−making notices

Notice of Hearings
Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection

[CR 05−044]
(Reprinted and corrected from 5/31/05, Wis.

Adm. Register)
The State of Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade

and Consumer Protection (DATCP) issues dairy and food
licenses.  DATCP announces that it will hold a public hearing
on a rule related to dairy and food license fees under chs.
ATCP 59, 60, 70, 71, 75, 77, 80, 81, 82, and 85, Wis. Adm.
Codes.

DATCP will hold public hearings on June 14, June 15, June
16 and one by videoconference on June 17, 2005, at the places
shown below.  DATCP invites the public to attend the hearing
at these locations and comment on the proposed rule.
Following the public hearing date, the hearing record will
remain open until Ju1y 1, 2005, for additional written
comments.  Comments may be sent by e−mail to:
hearingcomments@datcp.state.wi.us

This proposed rule is posted at on the Wisconsin
Legislative Council web site at
http://www.legis.state.wi.us/lc/adm_rules.htm.  You may
also obtain a free copy of this rule by contacting the Wisconsin
Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection,
Division of Food Safety, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI
53708−8911, telephone (608) 224−4700 or e−mail
kathy.porter@datcp.state.wi.us.  Copies will also be available
at the public hearing.

Wisconsin Department Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer
Protection’s small business regulatory coordinator is Keeley
Moll.  She can be contacted at the following address: Keeley
Moll, Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI
53708−8911, telephone (608) 224−5039, e−mail
keeley.moll@datcp.state.wi.us

Hearing impaired persons may request an interpreter for
these hearings.  Please make reservations for a hearing
interpreter by Friday, June 3, 2005 by writing to Debbie
Mazanec, P.O. Box 8911, Madison WI 53708−8911,
telephone (608) 224−4712, e−mail:
debbie.mazanec@datcp.state.wi.us or by telephoning the
message relay system (TTY) at (608) 266−4399 to forward
your call to the department at (608) 224−5058.  Handicap
access is available at all locations for the hearings.

Four hearings are scheduled at the following Dates, Times
and Locations:

Tuesday June 14, 2005
11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Eau Claire
Eau Claire Division of Food Safety Area Office
Conference Room
3610 Oakwood Hills Parkway
Eau Claire, WI 54701

Wednesday June 15, 2005
11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Appleton
Fox Valley Technical College
Room B126
1825 N. Bluemound Drive
Appleton, WI 54912

Thursday June 16, 2005
11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Waukesha
Waukesha State Office Building
Department of Transportation Offices
Room 247
141 NW Barstow St.
Waukesha, WI 53188

Video Conference Hearing
June 17, 2005
11:00 a.m. 1:00 p.m.
At the following sites:

Main Broadcast Center
Madison
UW Pyle Center
Room 227
702 Langdon Street
Madison, WI 53706

Green Bay
Green Bay State Office Building
Room 618
200 N. Jefferson St.
Green Bay, WI 54301

Monroe
Monroe High School
Distance Learning Lab − B01
Use Gymnasium Entrance
1600 26th St
Monroe, WI 53566

La Crosse
La Crosse State Office Building
Dept of Transportation
Room B29
3550 Mormon Coulee Rd.
La Crosse, WI 54601

Wausau
UW Marathon County −Wausau
Distance Education & Instructional Technology
Room 218
518 South 7th Avenue
Wausau, WI 54401
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Background Summary
This rule increases current license and reinspection fees for

milk producers, dairy plants, food processing plants, food
warehouses, milk distributors, retail food stores, dairy, food
or water−testing laboratories, milk haulers, buttermakers,
cheesemakers and butter or cheese graders.  This rule
increases fees beginning in 2006.

This rule also provides for annual license fee adjustments
(up or down) beginning in 2007, based on the prevailing cash
balance in Wisconsin’s food safety program revenue account.
Any upward adjustment of fees must be submitted to an
industry advisory council and approved by the Board of
Agriculture Trade and Consumer Protection.  All annual fee
adjustments, whether up or down, must be published in the
Wisconsin administrative register.
Analysis Prepared by the Department of Agriculture,
Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP)

The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer
Protection (“DATCP”) administers Wisconsin’s dairy and
food safety program.  The program is funded, in part, by dairy
and food license fees.  This rule modifies current license fees.
It also provides a mechanism and criteria for future license fee
adjustments.
Rulemaking Authority

Statutory authority: 93.07 (1), 93.09 (10), 93.12 (7), 97.17
(4), 97.175 (2), 97.20 (2c) (b), (2g) (b), (2n) (b), (2w) and (4),
97.21 (4m) and (6), 97.22 (2) (b), (4) (am) and (8), 97.27 (3m)
and (5), 97.29 (3) (am), (cm) and (5), 97.30 (3m) and (5), and
98.146 (4), Stats.

Statutes interpreted: 93.09, 93.12, 97.17, 97.175, 97.20,
97.21, 97.22, 97.27, 97.29, 97.30 and 98.146 (4), Stats.
Rule Content

General
This rule increases current license and reinspection fees for

milk producers, dairy plants, food processing plants, food
warehouses, milk distributors, retail food stores, dairy, food
or water testing laboratories, milk haulers, buttermakers,
cheesemakers and butter or cheese graders.  This rule
increases fees beginning in 2006.

This rule also provides for annual license fee adjustments
(up or down) beginning in 2007, based on the prevailing cash
balance in Wisconsin’s food safety program revenue account.
Any upward adjustment of fees must be submitted to an
industry advisory council and approved by the Board of
Agriculture Trade and Consumer Protection.  All annual fee
adjustments, whether up or down, must be published in the
Wisconsin administrative register.
Initial Fee Increase

DATCP currently licenses certain businesses that produce,
process or handle dairy or food products.  These businesses
must pay license fees and comply with food safety and
labeling laws administered by DATCP.  License fees pay for
part of DATCP’s food safety and labeling program.  DATCP
may adjust most license fees by rule.  This rule increases
current license and reinspection fees as follows:

Entity Current Fee(s) Proposed Fee(s)

Dairy Farm $20 annual license fee $24
  (paid by dairy plant operator)

$20 or $40 reinspection fee $24 or $48
  (paid by dairy plant operator
  if reinspection is required)

Dairy Plant Annual license fee (calculations include an
increase in the basic license fee from $80 to $96):

$580 or $730 for grade A $699 or $879
  processing plant  (based on size)

$330 for grade A receiving station $397

$80 for grade A transfer station $96

$80 to $350 for grade B
  processing plant $96 or $421
   (based on size)

$80 for grade B receiving station $96
  or transfer station

Grade A milk procurement fee:
  0.6 cent per 100 lbs.      0.96 cent per 100 lbs.

Grade B milk procurement fee
  0.2 cent per 100 lbs. No change

Reinspection fee:

$165 or $200 for grade A $203 or $246
  processing plant

$180 for grade B processing plant $221

$100 for grade A receiving station $123

$60 for grade A transfer state $ 74

$40 for grade B receiving station, $48
  or transfer station

Butter and cheese grading fee:

  1.09 cents per 100 lbs. of product No change

Food Processing
  Plant $60−$525 annual license fee $78 − $685

  (based on size and type)

$200 surcharge for canning $261

$40−$350 reinspection fee $49 − $431
  (based on size and type)

Food Warehouse $50−$200 annual license fee $65−261
  (based on size and type)

$75−$200 reinspection fee $92 − $246
  (based on size and type)

Milk Distributor  $50 annual license fee $60
    per facility

$20 reinspection fee $25
  per facility

Retail Food
  Store $30−$450 annual license fee $39−587

  (based on size and type)

$60−$300 reinspection fee $74 − $369
  (based on size and type)

Dairy, Food or
  Water Testing
  Lab $336 annual lab certification fee         No change

  for each dairy or food test (other
  than milk drug residue screening)

$276 annual lab certification fee for     No
change

  each water test

$25 annual certification fee for each    No change
  dairy or food analyst (other than milk
  drug residue screening analyst)

$50−$500 initial fee and $25−$50   No change
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  annual renewal fee for lab
  performing milk drug residue
  screening

$25 initial evaluation fee for milk drug  No
change

  residue screening analysts
  (if more than 3 per lab)

Milk Hauler $30 annual milk hauler license fee $36

$30 milk hauler reinspection fee $36

$40 milk weigher and sampler license $48
  fee (2−year license)

$40 milk weigher and sampler $48
  reinspection fee

Buttermaker or
  Cheesemaker $50 license fee (2−year license) $60

$25 Buttermaker or Cheesemaker $30
  reinspection fee

Butter or Cheese
  Grader $50 license fee (2−year license) $60
Annual Fee Adjustment

This rule provides for annual adjustment of the above fees
(up or down), based on the prevailing cash balance in
Wisconsin’s food safety program revenue account on June 30
of each year.  Fees are subject to the following adjustments
(adjustments take effect on September 1 of each year):

•  If the program revenue account balance on June 30 is less
than $400,000, DATCP may increase the fees by the percent
necessary to increase the account balance by an amount equal
to the difference between $500,000 and the account balance.
Before increasing any fee, DATCP must consult with an
advisory council of food and dairy processors.  The fee
increase, if any, must be approved by the DATCP Board and
published in the Wisconsin administrative register.

•  If the program revenue account balance on June 30 is
greater than $600,000, DATCP must reduce the fees by the
percent necessary to reduce the account balance by an amount
equal to the difference between $500,000 and the account
balance.

•  If the program revenue account balance on June 30 is
between $400,000 and $600,000, the fees do not change.
Exemptions

This rule does not affect any of the following:
•  Fees that DATCP charges for certain services, such as

review of food processing equipment plans, or the testing,
timing and sealing of pasteurizers.  DATCP is authorized to
charge fees for such services in order to cover its cost of
providing the services.  DATCP may adjust these service fees
by written notice, in order to keep fees consistent with service
costs.

•  License fees for milk and cream testers.  DATCP is not
authorized to adjust these fees by rule.  Milk and cream testers
currently pay a license fee of $50 (for a 2−year license) and a
reinspection fee of $25.

This rule exempts ungraded barrel cheese from current and
proposed cheese grading fees (paid by dairy plants).
Technical Changes

This rule makes certain non−substantive editorial and
drafting changes to current rules.
Fiscal Impact

State Fiscal Effect

This rule will increase food safety program revenues by
$1.2 million in 2006.  This is necessary to offset a projected
deficit in DATCP’s food safety program revenue account
beginning in FY 2005−06.  Fees have not been increased since
1998. DATCP proposes to increase license fees for all food
and dairy license categories.   A complete fiscal estimate is
attached.

Wisconsin’s food safety program is funded by a
combination of general tax dollars (GPR) and program
revenue from license fees (PR).   In 1991, license fees funded
about 40% of program costs.  The 1995−97 biennial budget
act reduced GPR funding, so that PR accounted for about 50%
of food safety funding.  Because of further GPR reductions in
recent state budgets, the current  PR funding share is about
60%.

Other developments have combined to deplete the food
safety PR account balance.  Recent state budgets have lapsed
a substantial amount of license fee revenue to the state general
fund (to help remedy state budget deficits).   DATCP has
delayed fee increases (none since 1998), but has experienced
a modest increase in operating costs.  DATCP also incurred a
significant increase in PR costs when the legislature
transferred the grade A milk certification program to DATCP
(without any attached funding).  DATCP currently projects a
PR account deficit in FY 2005−06.

DATCP is working to deliver effective food safety
protection as efficiently as possible.  DATCP’s bureau of food
safety and inspection currently has 88 staff −− 12.75 fewer
than in 1997 and 15.5 fewer than in 1991.  Dairy farm
inspection frequency is based on milk quality tests and past
inspection performance (DATCP is exploring ways to expand
this risk−based approach).  DATCP is also working with other
agencies to share resources and minimize duplication.  For
example:

•  DATCP works with local government to license and
inspect retail food establishments.  Twenty−seven local
entities license and inspect on behalf of DATCP, compared to
15 in  1997.  Local entities now license and inspect 3,800 retail
food establishments, and DATCP licenses and inspects the
remaining 4,700 establishments.

•  DATCP coordinates dairy plant inspection with the
United States Department of Agriculture, Agricultural
Marketing Service, to avoid duplicate inspection.

•  Since 1997, DATCP has worked with the Wisconsin
Department of Health and Family Services (DHFS) to
eliminate duplicate licensing and inspection of grocery stores,
restaurants, and combination grocery−restaurants.  DATCP
and DHFS have adopted uniform rules for grocery stores and
restaurants, to avoid conflicting standards.  Standards are
based on the federal model food code.

Local Fiscal Effect
DATCP currently provides administrative support to local

governments that license and inspect retail food
establishments as agents of DATCP.  Local governments
establish their own license fees, and reimburse DATCP for
administrative services costs.  The reimbursement amount
equals 10% of the license fee that DATCP would charge local
license holders, if DATCP licensed them directly.  An increase
in DATCP license fees therefore increases local
reimbursement payments.

In FY 2004, local governments made a total of $50,005 in
reimbursement payments.  If DATCP adopts the fee increases
proposed in this rule, the reimbursement rate will remain at
10%, but the total reimbursement amount will increase to
$61,505.  This rule thus increases local costs by $11,500
(statewide total).  Local governments can (and likely will)
pass this increased cost on to retail food businesses.  Local
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governments can set license fees to recover up to 100% of
their reasonable operating costs.

Business Impact

This rule increases current license fees for milk producers,
dairy plants, food processing plants, food warehouses, milk
distributors, retail food stores, dairy, food or water testing
laboratories, milk haulers, buttermakers, cheesemakers and
butter or cheese graders licensed by DATCP.  Many of these
licensed entities are “small businesses.”

The proposed fee increase is necessary to prevent a deficit
in Wisconsin’s food safety program revenue account.  Fees
have not been increased since 1998.  The proposed fee
increase will have an impact on the affected businesses, but
not a dramatic impact.  DATCP has worked to maintain a fair
and equitable license fee schedule.

Fees are based on actual food safety costs related to each
license sector.  Fees are also based on business size, food
product type, and type of food handling operations.  Smaller
businesses generally pay lower fees than large businesses, and
lower−risk businesses generally pay lower fees than
higher−risk businesses.

This rule increases food safety license fees, but does not
change other license requirements.  This rule requires no

additional recordkeeping, and no added professional services
to comply.  A complete small business analysis (“initial
regulatory flexibility analysis”) is attached.

Under 2003 Wis. Act 145, DATCP and other agencies must
adopt rules spelling out their rule enforcement policy for
small businesses.  DATCP has not incorporated a small
business enforcement policy in this rule, but will propose a
separate rule on that subject.  Food and dairy businesses must
pay required license fees in order to obtain a license from
DATCP.

Federal Regulation
There are no existing or proposed federal regulations

related to license fees for food and dairy businesses operating
in Wisconsin.

Surrounding State Programs
All of the surrounding states charge license fees to food and

dairy businesses.  License structure and fees vary between
states.  Differences in license fees may partly reflect
differences in general tax dollar support for food and dairy
programs in different states.

Minnesota
Minnesota has a license and fee structure that is similar, but

not identical to, Wisconsin’s structure:

Dairy Fees – Minnesota
Grade A pasteurizing plant $500
Grade A farm $50
Grade A farm reinspection fee $45
Manufacturing plant $140 per pasteurizer unit
Manufactured farm $25
Manufactured farm reinspection fee $45
Processor assessment $.07 per cwt for fluid milk products sold for retail

sale in Minnesota
Farm bulk milk pick−up tanker $25
Milk procurement fee $.0071 per cwt of raw milk purchased

Food Fees – Minnesota
Retail food handler $50−$2,001 based on sales volume
Wholesale food handler $57−$1,502 based on sales volume
Food broker $150
Wholesale food processor or manufacturer $169−$2,571 based on sales volume

Michigan
Michigan has a license and fee structure that is similar, but not identical to, Wisconsin’s structure“

Dairy fees – Michigan
Milk plant $175
Farms sending milk to plant $5−$10
Receiving or transfer station $50
Milk tank truck cleaning facility $50
Milk transportation company $20
Milk tank truck $10
Grade A milk distributor $50
Single service container and closure plant $50
Bulk milk hauler/sampler $40 for 2 years

Food Fees – Michigan
Retail food establishment $70
Limited wholesale food processor $70
Food warehouse $70
Extended retail food establishment $175
Wholesale food processor $175
Mobile food establishment $175
Temporary food establishment $28
Bottled water manufacturer $25 for each product registered and $25 for each

water dispensing machine
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Iowa
Iowa has a license and fee structure that is similar, but not identical to, Wisconsin’s structure:

Dairy Fees – Iowa
Milk plant $2,000 for 2 years
Transfer station $400 for 2 years
Receiving station $400 for 2 years
Milk hauler $20 for 2 years
Milk grader $20 for 2 years
Bulk milk tanker permit $50 for 2 years
Reinspection fee $40
Resealing pasteurizer fee $100 per reseal
Purchaser of milk fee − Grade A $.015 per cwt of raw milk purchased
Purchaser of milk fee − Grade B $.005 per cwt of raw milk purchased

Food Fees – Iowa
Mobile food unit or pushcart $20
Temporary food establishment $25
*Food establishment $30−$225 based on sales volume
*Food service establishment $50−$225 based on sales volume
Food processing plant $50−$250 based on sales volume
Egg handler $15−$250 based on cases sold

*If one establishment must hold both a food establishment and a food service establishment license, each license fee is 75%
of the established fee.

Illinois
Illinois has a license and fee structure that is substantially different from the Wisconsin structure:

Dairy Fees – Illinois
Milk plant permit $100
Receiving or transfer station $50
Cleaning and sanitizing facility $50
Milk hauler−sampler $25
Milk tank truck $25
Certified pasteurizer sealer $100

Illinois does not license or charge a fee to most food establishments. The following are fees charged to Illinois food
establishments:

Food Fees
Salvage Operator $100 plus inspection fee based on size
Bottled water manufacturer or distributor $150
Egg handlers, distributors and breakers $15−$200 plus inspection fee per case of eggs sold

Notice of Hearing
Commerce

(Petition for Variance)
[CR 05−049]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to chapters
101 and 145, and sections 167.10 (6m), 168.16 (4) and 560.02
(4), Stats., the Department of Commerce will hold a public
hearing on proposed rules under chapter Comm 3, relating to
stop work, stop use and petition for variance procedures.
The public hearing will be held as follows:

Date and Time:  Monday, June 27, 2005 at 10:00 a.m.

Location:  Room 3C, Thompson Commerce Center, 201 West
Washington Avenue, Madison

Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and
present comments on the proposed rules.  Persons making oral
presentations are requested to submit their comments in
writing.  Persons submitting comments will not receive
individual responses.  The hearing record on this proposed
rulemaking will remain open until July 8, 2005, to permit
submittal of written comments from persons who are unable

to attend the hearing or who wish to supplement testimony
offered at the hearing.  Written comments should be submitted
to Ronald Acker, at the Department of Commerce, P.O. Box
2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email at:
racker@commerce.state.wi.us.

This hearing is held in accessible facility.  If you have
special needs or circumstances that may make
communication or accessibility difficult at the hearing, please
call (608) 266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY) at least 10 days
prior to the hearing date.  Accommodations such as
interpreters, English translators, or materials in audio tape
format will, to the fullest extent possible, be made available
upon a request from a person with a disability.
Analysis of Proposed Rules

1.  Statutes Interpreted.  Chapters 101 and 145, and sections
167.10 (6m), 168.16 (4) and 560.02 (4), Stats.

2.  Statutory Authority.  Chapters 101 and 145, and sections
167.10 (6m), 168.16 (4) and 560.02 (4), Stats.

3.  Related Statute or Rule.  None.
4.  Explanation of Agency Authority.  Chapters 101 and

145 and section 167.10 (6m), Stats., grant the Department of
Commerce the authority to protect public health, safety and
welfare and the waters of the state by establishing reasonable



Page 20 Mid−June 2005WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE REGISTER NO. 594

and effective safety standards for the construction, repair and
maintenance of public buildings and places of employment.
Section 168.16 (4), Stats., grants the department authority to
promulgate rules relating to the inspection of petroleum
products.  Section 560.02 (4), Stats., grants the department
authority to promulgate rules to carry out the mandates in
chapter 560, Stats, relating to the development of a state
economic policy.

5.  Summary of Proposed Rules.  The department
implements the protection of the public and the waters of the
state through the promulgation, administration and
enforcement of administrative rules.  These rules regulate
objects and activities, require specific approvals and/or
permits, and require credentialed individuals to perform
certain activities.  The department typically employs a
philosophy of education first and enforcement second in its
regulatory responsibilities.  However, there are times when
there is an imminent risk to public safety and health, and
immediate enforcement action is warranted.

The proposed rules consist of revisions in chapter Comm
3 that add procedures for the Safety and Buildings Division to
issue orders to immediately cease any construction,
installation, operation or activity or the use of a building,
building component, structure or mechanical device.  Specific
reasons are listed for the issuance of the orders.  The proposed
rules also contain procedures for review of the order by the
division administrator, and for a hearing on the order by the
department secretary.

The proposed rules also include revisions in the current
chapter Comm 3 rules relating to the petition for variance
procedures.  Those procedures currently apply only to the
Safety and Buildings Division within the Department.  The
proposed revisions will allow the petition for variance
procedures to be used by the entire Department, not just the
Safety and Buildings Division.

6.  Summary of, and Comparison with, Existing or
Proposed Federal Regulations.  There is no existing or
proposed federal regulation that addresses the Safety and
Buildings Division’s issuance of stop work and stop use
orders for the protection of public safety and health, or the
department’s processing of petitions for variance.

7.  Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States.  An Internet
search of adjacent states’ rules found the following
information relating to the issuance of stop work and stop use
orders for the protection of public safety and health, and to the
issuance of petitions for variance.

•  The Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of
Environmental Health, can issue stop work orders under the
department’s asbestos licensing program.  The Illinois
Environmental Protection Agency can issue stop work orders
for non−compliance with loan or grant conditions and
procedures under the agency’s Brownfields Redevelopment
Program and Public Water Supply Program.  The Illinois
Environmental Protection Agency can issue petitions for
variance for relief from environmental regulations under
certain circumstances.

•  Under the Iowa Comprehensive Petroleum Underground
Storage Tank Fund Board regulations, an inspector has the
right to stop installation work if standards for new tanks are
not followed by the installer.  Iowa’s Administrative Code
contains standards and a process for state departments to grant
individual waivers from rules in response to a completed
petition.

•  Under Michigan’s Food Law, Public Act 92, a stop work
order can be issued against a proposed food establishment if
applicable rules for the alteration or construction of the
establishment are not met.  The Michigan Department of

Labor and Economic Growth Construction Code contains
rules for the issuance of stop work orders, when work is being
done contrary to the provisions of the code or in a dangerous
or unsafe manner, under the Building Code, Plumbing Code,
Mechanical Code and Existing Building Code.  The Michigan
Electrical Code allows for the placement of a red tag on any
electrical equipment that is found imminently dangerous to
human life or property.  The Michigan Department of
Consumer and Industry Services can issue variances to the
department’s occupational safety and health standards.

•  The Minnesota Department of Administration State
Building Code contains rules for the issuance of stop work
orders when work is being done contrary to the provisions of
the code or in a dangerous or unsafe manner.  The Minnesota
State Building Code includes rules for plumbing, mechanical,
electrical, energy, fuel gas, and existing buildings.
Minnesota’s administrative rules contain requirements and a
process for state agencies to grant waivers and variances to
any rule, except for a rule that incorporates a statutory
requirement.

8.  Summary of Factual Data and Analytical
Methodologies.  There were no factual data or analytical
methodologies used to develop the proposed rules.

9.  Analysis and Supporting Documents used to Determine
Effect on Small Business or in Preparation of Economic
Impact Report.

The proposed rules should have a minimal effect on small
business.  There were no supporting documents used to
determine the effect on small business, and an economic
impact report was not prepared.

The proposed rules and an analysis of the proposed rules
are available on the Internet at the Safety and Buildings
Division Web site at www.commerce.wi.gov/SB/.  Paper
copies may be obtained without cost from Roberta Ward, at
the Department of Commerce, Program Development
Bureau, P.O. Box 2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email
at rward@commerce.state.wi.us, or at telephone (608)
266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY).  Copies will also be
available at the public hearing.
Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

1. Types of small businesses that will be affected by the
rules.

Relative to the stop work and stop use procedures, the rules
will affect any business that must comply with the
administrative codes enforced by the Safety and Buildings
Division.  Relative to the petition for variance procedures, the
rules will affect any business that must comply with the
administrative codes enforced by any of the divisions within
the department.

2. Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required
for compliance with the rules.

There are no reporting, bookkeeping or other procedures
required for compliance with the rules.

3. Types of professional skills necessary for compliance
with the rules.

There are no types of professional skills necessary for
compliance with the rules.

4. Rules have a significant economic impact on small
businesses.

No. Rules not submitted to Small Business Regulatory
Review Board
Environmental Analysis

Notice is hereby given that the Department has considered
the environmental impact of the proposed rules.  In
accordance with chapter Comm 1, the proposed rules are a
Type III action.  A Type III action normally does not have the
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potential to cause significant environmental effects and
normally does not involve unresolved conflicts in the use of
available resources.  The Department has reviewed these rules
and finds no reason to believe that any unusual conditions
exist.  At this time, the Department has issued this notice to
serve as a finding of no significant impact.
Fiscal Estimate

The Safety and Buildings Division is responsible for
administering and enforcing rules relating to protecting
public safety and health in public buildings, places of
employment and one− and 2−family dwellings.  The proposed
rules do not contain any changes in the division’s fees charged
for administering and enforcing those rules, including the
issuance of a stop work or stop use order.  Also, the proposed
rules will not create any additional workload costs for the
department.  Therefore, the proposed rules will not have any
fiscal effect on the department.

The proposed rules will not have a significant fiscal effect
on the private sector.  Enforcement of the proposed stop
work/stop use rules may result in increased costs for a specific
construction project or activity if the construction or activity
is ordered to stop for a significant length of time.

The small business regulatory coordinator for the
Department of Commerce is Carol Dunn, who may be
contacted at telephone (608) 267−0297, or Email at
cdunn@commerce.state.wi.us.

Notice of Hearing
Financial Institutions − Banking

Financial Institutions − Savings Banks
Financial Institutions − Savings and Loan

[CR 05−045]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN That pursuant to 220.04

(8), 214.03 (2), 214.715 (1) (d), 215.02 (18) and 227.11 (2),
Stats., and interpreting 220.04 (8), 214.03 (1) and 215.02 (18),
Stats., the Department of Financial Institutions, Division of
Banking will hold a public hearing at the Department of
Financial Institutions, Office of the Secretary, 345 W.
Washington Avenue, 5th Floor the city of Madison,
Wisconsin, on the 27th day of June, 2005 at 1:30 p.m. to
consider a rule to create ss. DFI—Bkg 3.08 and DFI—SB
16.04, and ch. DFI—SL 22 relating to debt cancellation
contracts and debt suspension agreements.
Analysis Prepared by the Department of Financial
Institutions, Division of Banking

Statute(s) interpreted:  ss. 220.04 (8), 214.03 (1) and
215.02 (18), Stats.

Statutory authority: ss. 220.04 (8), 214.03 (2), 214.715 (1)
(d), 215.02 (18) and 227.11 (2), Stats.

Related statute or rule: None.
Explanation of agency authority: Pursuant to chs. 214, 215,

220 and 221, the department regulates Wisconsin−chartered
savings banks, savings and loan associations, and banks.

Summary of proposed rule:  The objective of the rule is to
create ss. DFI—Bkg 3.08 and DFI—SB 16.04, and ch.
DFI—SL 22 relating to debt cancellation contracts and debt
suspension agreements.  The purpose of this rule is to
authorize Wisconsin−chartered banks, savings banks, and
savings and loan associations to provide debt cancellation
contracts and debt suspension agreements in the same manner
that such products are provided by federally−chartered banks,
savings banks, and savings and loan associations.  The rule
assists Wisconsin−chartered banks, savings banks, and

savings and loan associations in remaining competitive with
federally chartered banks, savings banks, and savings and
loan associations regarding these products.  The rule provides
definitions; identifies prohibited practices; and sets forth
certain requirements regarding fees, disclosures, and safety
and soundness practices.  The promulgation of this rule has
been approved by the Banking Review Board and the Savings
Institution Review Board.

Summary of and preliminary comparison with existing or
proposed federal regulation: 12 CFR 37, Office of Thrift
Supervision Opinion Letter 9/15/93 and Office of Thrift
Supervision Opinion Letter 12/18/95 provide federal
regulations and guidance similar to the proposed rule.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: Illinois
(Interpretative Letter 94−011), Michigan (Declaratory Ruling
04−053−N), Minnesota (wild card statute) and Iowa
(incidental powers statute) all authorize the providing of debt
cancellation contracts and debt suspension agreements.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:
The department reviewed federal regulations relating to debt
cancellation contracts and debt suspension agreements, as
well as rules adopted by other states regarding the same.

Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine
effect on small business: State−chartered banks, savings
banks, and savings and loan associations do not meet the
criteria of a small business.  The rule has, therefore, no effect
on small business.
Fiscal Estimate

There is no state fiscal effect, and there are no local
government costs.  No funding sources or ch. 20
appropriations are affected.  There are no long−range fiscal
implications.
Contact Person

A copy of the proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be
obtained at no charge from Mark Schlei, Deputy General
Counsel, Department of Financial Institutions, Office of the
Secretary, P.O. Box 8861, Madison, WI 53708−8861, tel.
(608) 267−1705.  A copy of the proposed rule may also be
obtained and reviewed at the Department of Financial
Institutions’ website, www.wdfi.org.

Written comments regarding the proposed rule may be
submitted to Mark Schlei, Deputy General Counsel,
Department of Financial Institutions, Office of the Secretary,
P.O. Box 8861, Madison, WI 53708−8861, tel. (608)
267−1705, or via the department’s website contact page,
e−mail the secretary.  Written comments must be received by
the conclusion of the hearing.

Notice of Hearing
Financial Institutions − Credit Unions

[CR 05−046]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN That pursuant to ss.

186.115(2), 186.235(8) and 227.11(2), Stats., and interpreting
ss. 186.115(1) and 186.235(21), Stats., the Office of Credit
Unions will hold a public hearing at the Department of
Financial Institutions, Office of the Secretary, 345 W.
Washington Avenue, 5th Floor in the city of Madison,
Wisconsin, on the 27th day of June, 2005, at 2:30 p.m. to
consider a rule to create ch. DFI—CU 74, relating to
incidental powers activity authority parity with federal credit
unions.
Analysis Prepared by the Office of Credit Unions.

Statute(s) interpreted:  ss. 186.115 (1) and 186.235 (21),
Stats.

Statutory authority: ss. 186.115 (2), 186.235 (8) and 227.11
(2), Stats.
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Related statute or rule: None.

Explanation of agency authority: Pursuant to ch. 186,
Stats., the Wisconsin Office of Credit Unions regulates
state−chartered credit unions.

Summary of proposed rule:  The objective of the rule is to
create ch. DFI—CU 74 relating to incidental powers activity
authority parity with federal credit unions. The purpose of this
rule is to permit Wisconsin−chartered credit unions to provide
certain loan−related products in the same manner that such
products are provided by federally−chartered credit unions.
The promulgation of this rule has been approved by the Credit
Union Review Board.

Summary of and preliminary comparison with existing or
proposed federal regulation: NCUA Rules and Regulations
Part 721 authorizes a federal credit union to engage in
activities incidental to its business.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states: Illinois
(Authorizing Letter 05/07/02), Michigan (Interpretive
Memorandum 06/18/04 and Declaratory Ruling 04−053−M),
Minnesota (parity statute) and Iowa (parity statute) all
authorize the providing of debt cancellation contracts and
debt suspension agreements.

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies: No
factual data or analytical methodologies were necessary for
the rule.

Analysis and supporting documentation used to determine
effect on small business: The rule does not have an effect on
small business.

Fiscal Estimate

There is no state fiscal effect, and there are no local
government costs.  No funding sources or ch. 20
appropriations are affected.  There are no long−range fiscal
implications.

Contact Person

A copy of the proposed rule and fiscal estimate may be
obtained at no charge from Mark Schlei, Deputy General
Counsel, Department of Financial Institutions, Office of the
Secretary, P.O. Box 8861, Madison, WI 53708−8861, tel.
(608) 267−1705.  A copy of the proposed rule may also be
obtained and reviewed at the Department of Financial
Institutions’ website, www.wdfi.org.

Written comments regarding the proposed rule may be
submitted to Mark Schlei, Deputy General Counsel,
Department of Financial Institutions, Office of the Secretary,
P.O. Box 8861, Madison, WI 53708−8861, tel. (608)
267−1705, or via the department’s website contact page,
e−mail the secretary.  Written comments must be received by
the conclusion of the hearing.

Notice of Hearings
Health and Family Service

(Health, Chs. 110—)

[CR 05−048]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN That pursuant to ss. 146.50

(6g) (a), (13) (a) and (b), and 227.11 (2) (a), Stats., and
interpreting s. 146.50 (6g), (8), (8m), (9) and (13), Stats.,  the
Department of Health and Family Services will hold a public
hearing, at the following time(s) and location(s), to consider
emergency rules and proposed permanent rules repealing,
renumbering, renumbering and amending, amending, and
creating rules relating to relating to certification of first
responders.

Hearing Dates and Locations

June 27, 2005
1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.
1 W. Wilson St., Rm. 751
Madison, WI
         And
June 27, 2005
6:00 PM to 8:00 PM
Crowne Plaza
4402 E. Washington Ave
Meeting Rm. A
Madison, WI 53703
Written comments and materials may also be submitted to

the Department using the Wisconsin Administrative Rules
website at http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov or to the contact
person listed below.  The deadline for submitting comments
at the website and the contact person is 4:30 p.m., on July 5,
2005.
Analysis Prepared by the Department of Health and
Family Services

Currently, first responders may provide the skills contained
in the national standard curriculum and basic life support in
accordance with skills and medications covered in the
Wisconsin revision of the national standard curriculum for
training first responders; application of backboard and
cervical collar for purpose of spinal immobilization;
administration of oxygen; and performance of defibrillation;
and additional skills and medications approved by the
department based on recommendations of the  EMS physician
advisory committee and the under s. 146.55 (2m), Stats., and
the EMS board and state EMS medical director under s.
146.50 (13) (b), Stats.

This proposed order both generally updates ch. HFS 113,
and authorizes first responders to use the following 2 types of
potentially life−saving skills:

1. Non−visualized airway, to treat patients who are either
not breathing or their airway has been compromised due to
trauma or other means; and

2. The administration of epinephrine, for patients who have
suffered a severe allergic reaction.

A copy of the full text of the proposed rules can be obtained
at no charge from the Wisconsin Administrative Rules
website at http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov or by contacting
the contact person listed below.
Fiscal Estimate

This revised administrative rule will allow first responders
to obtain certain skills in addition to those that are provided
in the national standards curriculum.  If first responders
choose to acquire these skills, the purchase of a medical kit at
a cost of approximately $150 would be required.  The cost of
this kit could be reimbursed by the ambulance service which
works with the first responder, so there would be no net cost
to the first responder for this kit.  Since this provision is not
mandatory, it is not known how many first responders would
seek to obtain these skills.  Therefore, it is not possible to
estimate the fiscal effect of this provision on local emergency
medical services providers.  A copy of the full text of the fiscal
estimate may be obtained at no charge at the Wisconsin
Administrative Rules website at:
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov or by contacting the contact
person listed below.
Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The department does not currently certify first responder
service providers other than first responders that are certified
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to defibrillate and does not believe that these proposed rules
affect small businesses other than private business entities
that provide first responder services.  The department invites
comments from members of the public, including private
entities who are first responder service providers, and other
small businesses who believe that these proposed rules will
have a fiscal impact on their small business.

The proposed changes do not include reporting or
bookkeeping requirements.
Contact Person

Dan Williams
Department of Health and Family Services
Division of Public Health − Emergency Medical Services
1 West Wilson Street Room 118
P.O. Box 2659
Madison, WI 53701−2659
608−261−6870
Fax: 608−261−6392
willidp@dhfs.state.wi.us

Small Business Regulatory Coordinator
Rosie Greer
Department of Health and Family Services
1 W. Wilson St. Rm. 658
Madison, WI 53702
Greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us
608−266−1279
Fax: 608−267−1434

Notice of Hearing
Health and Family Service

(Health, Chs. 110—)
[CR 05−047]

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 149.143
(2) (a) 2., 3., and 4., Stats., and 227.11 (2) Stats., interpreting
ss. 149.14 (5m), 149.142, 149.143, 149.146, and 149.165,
Stats., the Department of Health and Family Services will
hold a public hearing to consider the proposed permanent
rules and emergency rules amending HFS 119.07 (6) (b) to (d)
and 119.15 (2) and (3), relating to operation of the health
insurance risk−sharing plan (HIRSP) at the following time
and location.  The Department anticipates the emergency
rules will take effect on July 1, 2005.
Hearing Date(s) and Location(s)

The public hearing will be held:
Monday, July 11, 2005, 1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Conference Room B272 (Floor 2B)
State Office Building
1 West Wilson Street
Madison, WI
The hearing site is fully accessible to people with

disabilities.  If you are hearing or visually impaired, do not
speak English, or have circumstances that might make
communication at a hearing difficult and if you, therefore,
require an interpreter or a non−English, large print or taped
version of the hearing document, contact the person at the
address or phone number given above at least 10 days before
the hearing.  With less than 10 days notice, an interpreter may
not be available.

Written comments may be submitted at the public hearing.
In lieu of attending the public hearing, written comments and
materials may be submitted to the Department using the
Wisconsin Administrative Rules website at
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov or submitted by regular mail
or email to the Department’s contact person listed below:

Randy McElhose
Division of Health Care Financing
P.O. Box 309, Room B274
1 W. Wilson St.
Madison, WI  53701−0309
Phone: (608) 267−7127 or if you are hearing impaired,

(608) 266−1511 (TTY)
Fax: (608) 264−7720
mcelhrf@dhfs.state.wi.us
The deadline for submitting comments is 4:30 p.m., on

July 18, 2005.
Analysis Prepared by the Department of Health and
Family Services

The State of Wisconsin in 1980 established a Health
Insurance Risk−Sharing Plan (HIRSP).  HIRSP provides
major medical health insurance for persons who are covered
under Medicare because they are disabled, persons who have
tested positive for HIV, and persons who have been refused
coverage or who cannot get coverage at an affordable price in
the private health insurance market because of their mental or
physical health conditions.  Also eligible for coverage are
persons who recently lost employer−sponsored insurance
coverage if they meet certain criteria.  According to state law,
HIRSP policyholder premium rates must fund sixty percent of
plan costs, except for costs associated with premium and
deductible reductions.  The remaining funding for HIRSP is
to be provided by insurer assessments and adjustments to
provider payment rates, in co−equal amounts.

HIRSP Plan 1 is for policyholders that do not have
Medicare.  Ninety−one percent of the 18,530 HIRSP policies
in effect in February 2005 were enrolled in Plan 1.  Plan 1 has
Option A ($1,000 deductible) or Option B ($2,500
deductible).  The rates for Plan 1 contained in this rulemaking
order increase an average of 15.0% for policyholders not
receiving a premium reduction.  The average rate increase for
policyholders receiving a premium reduction is 12.1%.  Rate
increases for individual policyholders within Plan 1 range
from 7.0% to 16.8%, depending on a policyholder’s age,
gender, household income, deductible and zone of residence
within Wisconsin.  Plan 1 rate increases reflect and take into
account the increase in costs associated with Plan 1 claims.

HIRSP Plan 2 is for persons eligible for Medicare because
of a disability or because they become age−eligible for
Medicare while enrolled in HIRSP.  Plan 2 has a $500
deductible.  Nine percent of the 18,530 HIRSP policies in
effect in February 2005 were enrolled in Plan 2.  The rate
increases for Plan 2 contained in this rulemaking order
increase an average of 20.3% for policyholders not receiving
a premium reduction.  The average rate increase for
policyholders receiving a premium reduction is 17.3%.  Rate
increases for individual policyholders within Plan 2 range
from 11.2% to 22.2%, depending on a policyholder’s age,
gender, household income and zone of residence within
Wisconsin.  Plan 2 premiums are set in accordance with the
authority and requirements set out in s. 149.14 (5m), Stats.
Fiscal Estimate

HIRSP has the purpose of making health insurance
coverage available to medically uninsured residents of the
state.  This order updates HIRSP premiums for policyholders
effective July 1, 2005.  It also adjusts total HIRSP insurer
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assessments and provider payment rates for the 12−month
period beginning July 1, 2005.  This adjustment process is
occurring in order to reflect changing HIRSP costs and satisfy
a statute−specified calculation methodology, in order to fund
total HIRSP costs.

The fiscal adjustments contained in this order were
developed by an independent actuarial firm on behalf of
HIRSP.  The projected adjustments have been reviewed by
DHFS staff and approved by the HIRSP Board of Governors.
The Board is a diverse body composed of consumers,
insurers, health care providers, small business and other
affected parties.  By statute, these adjustments include
estimates for the annual reconciliation process, which is based
on the previous calendar year and implemented in the
subsequent plan year.  The fiscal adjustments are based upon
a combination of a retrospective reconciliation process,
current HIRSP expenses, inflation trends in medical care and
statutory requirements.  The resulting adjustments are then
applied to the time−period beginning July 1, 2005.  Similar
annual fiscal adjustments to the HIRSP rules have occurred in
each state fiscal year (SFY) since 1998.

HIRSP funding will increase by $29,432,763 in SFY 2006
as a result of the proposed changes contained in this order.
This annual amount is comprised of an increase of $6,433,230
in insurer assessments, an increased adjustment (levy) of
$9,708,019 regarding provider payment rates, and a projected
increase of $13,291,514 in policyholder premiums.  This
increase in HIRSP program revenues is expected to equal the
increase in program expenditures for provided services.  As
a result, the net overall fiscal effect is estimated to be zero.

HIRSP affects policyholders, insurers and health
providers.   Under HIRSP, policyholders are required by law
to fund 60% of its costs, except for costs associated with
premium and deductible reductions.  The remaining funding
for HIRSP is to be provided by insurer assessments and
adjustments to provider payments rates, in co−equal amounts.
HIRSP offers health insurance to high medically at−risk
citizens, at rates subsidized by healthcare insurers and
healthcare providers of service.  HIRSP has approximately
18,530 policyholders, or 0.3% of Wisconsin’s population of
about 5.5 million.  HIRSP increases the number of Wisconsin
citizens with health insurance.  Wisconsin citizens receive
health insurance coverage that would otherwise be
unaffordable or unobtainable.  Citizens improve their health
status.  Healthcare insurers are enabled to provide coverage to
an underserved marketplace niche.  Healthcare providers
receive additional customers.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

HIRSP program statutes require an assessment of insurers
and providers in order to help finance HIRSP.  The rule
changes do not affect health insurers who are small businesses
as ”small business” is defined in s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats.  The
rules changes may affect some health care providers that are
small businesses.  The net fiscal impact of HIRSP on these
small health care providers is unknown.

For More Information:

A copy of the full text of the rules and the full text of the
fiscal estimate, and other documents associated with this
rulemaking may be obtained, at no charge, from the
Wisconsin Administrative Rules website at
http://adminrules.wisconsin.gov.  At this website you can also
register to receive email notification whenever the
Department posts new information about this rulemaking
and, during the public comment period, you can submit
comments on the rulemaking order electronically and view
comments that others have submitted about the rule.

A copy of the full text of the rule and the fiscal estimate may
also be obtained by contacting the Department’s
representative listed below:

Randy McElhose
Division of Health Care Financing
P.O. Box 309, Room B274
1 W. Wilson St.
Madison, WI 53701−0309
Phone: (608) 267−7127 or if you are hearing impaired,

(608 266−1511 (TTY)
Fax: (608) 264−7720
mcelhrf@dhfs.state.wi.us

Small Business Regulatory Coordinator:
Rosie Greer
Greerrj@dhfs.state.wi.us
608−266−1279

Notice of Hearing
Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional

Counseling and Social Work Examining
Board

[CR 05−042]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority

vested in the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5)
(b), 227.11 (2) and 457.03, Wis. Stats., and interpreting
s. 457.08 (4) (b) 1. and 2., Wis. Stats., the Marriage and
Family Therapy, Professional Counseling and Social Work
Examining Board will hold a public hearing at the time and
place indicated below to consider an order to repeal
MPSW 2.01 (9) (b); and to amend MPSW 2.01 (9) (intro.) and
3.09 (1), relating to postgraduate education and field
experience for licensure as a clinical social worker.
Hearing Date, Time and Location
Date: June 29, 2005
Time: 9:30 A.M.
Location:  1400 East Washington Avenue

Room 179A
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing:
Interested persons are invited to present information at the

hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708, or by email to pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Written
comments must be received on or before July 11, 2005 to be
included in the record of rule−making proceedings.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing.
Statute interpreted

Section 457.08 (4) (b) 1. and 2., Stats.
Statutory authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 457.03, Stats.
Explanation of agency authority

Currently, s. MPSW 2.01 (9) requires clinical courses to
comprise at least 40% of an applicant’s non−field placement
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credits in his or her social work degree program.  That
provision has resulted in unintended inequities for applicants
because it requires some individuals to take more courses than
others depending upon how many credits are required for the
particular degree program.  By requiring specific clinical
courses, rather than a percentage of them, applicants will have
to meet uniform criteria, regardless of how many credits are
required in their degree program, thereby eliminating any
existing inequities.

Section MPSW 3.09 (1) presently requires that applicants
for licensure as clinical social workers provide evidence that,
as part of their degree program, they took a course of study
which included a clinical focus and a supervised field
training.  The underlying statutory provision was amended by
the legislature in 2003 Wisconsin Act 301, permitting
applicants to obtain their clinical requirements in a
postgraduate setting, instead of only during their degree
programs.  This proposal will now be in conformity with the
statute and will permit applicants to substitute their hours of
supervised clinical work experience in lieu of their supervised
field training.

Plain language analysis

Prior to the enactment of 2003 Wisconsin Act 301, s.
447.08 (4), Stats., required that applicants for licensure as a
clinical social worker had to provide evidence that during the
applicant’s degree program, he or she took a course of study
that included a clinical focus and a supervised field training.
Because the law did not provide a means of achieving
postgraduate clinical credit, this provision was found to be
overly restrictive and was therefore amended by the
legislature with 2003 Wisconsin Act 301.  The amendment
permitted applicants to obtain their clinical requirements in a
postgraduate setting, rather than just during their degree
programs.

The proposed rule changes would implement 2003
Wisconsin Act 301 by setting forth a specific number of hours
of supervised clinical work experience which, in turn, could
be substituted for the supervised clinical field training.
Additionally, the proposal would amend s. MPSW 2.01 (9),
which defines the term “clinical concentration in social
work.”  Currently the rule requires clinical courses to
comprise at least 40% of their non−field placement credits in
their degree program.  This rule has resulted in unintended
inequities for applicants, depending on how many credits are
required for each degree program.  By requiring specific
clinical courses, instead of a percentage of them, applicants
will have to meet uniform criteria, regardless of how many
credits are required in their degree program.

SECTION 1.  Section MPSW 2.01 (9) (intro.) is amended.
Under the existing rule, in order to graduate with a “clinical
social work concentration” in either a master’s or doctoral
program, clinical courses must comprise at least 40% of the
non−field placement credits.  The existing rule also delineates
the areas in which the theory and practice courses must be
taken, for example, in case management, psychopathology in
social work, clinical assessment and treatment of specific
populations, psychopharmacology, psychotherapeutic
interventions, and social work related electives.

The proposal eliminates the 40% non−field placement
credit requirement.  Instead, the rule would require students
to take one psychopathology in social work course and two
theory and practice courses from the following groups:  case
management, clinical assessment and treatment of specific
populations and problems, psychopharmacology,
psychotherapeutic interventions, and social work related
electives.

SECTION 2.  Section MPSW 2.01 (9) (b) is repealed
because the psychopathology in social work course would
now be a mandatory course, rather than an elected one.

SECTION 3.  Section MPSW 3.09 (1) is amended.  The
existing rule requires applicants for licensure as clinical social
workers to have either a master’s or doctoral degree in social
work with a concentration in clinical social work.  It also
requires the completion of supervised field training as part of
the degree program.  This amendment enables applicants to
substitute 1,500 hours of supervised clinical work experience
in lieu of their supervised field training by submitting an
affidavit indicating that they have completed 1,500 hours of
supervised clinical social work experience in not less than one
year in clinical setting, and which also includes at least 500
hours of supervised, face−to−face client contact.
Determination of significant fiscal effect on the private
sector

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal
effect on the private sector.
Fiscal estimate

The department estimates that this rule will require staff
time in the Division of Professional Credentialing and Office
of Legal Counsel to revise applications, and to provide
customer service.  The value of these staffs’ salary and fringe
benefits for this work is estimated at $828.
Effect on small business

Pursuant to s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats., these proposed rules
will have no significant economic impact on a substantial
number of small businesses.  The Department’s Small
Business Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted
by email at christopher.klein@drl.state.wi.us, or by calling
(608) 266−8608.
Agency contact person

Pamela Haack, Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington Avenue,
Room 171, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708−8935.
Telephone: (608) 266−0495.  
Email:  pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Copies of the notice
of hearing are available upon request.
Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline
for submission

Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack,
Department of Regulation and Licensing, 1400 East
Washington Avenue, Room 171, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708−8935.
Email pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Comments must be
received on or before July 11, 2005, to be included in the
record of rule−making proceedings.

Notice of Hearing
Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional

Counseling and Social Work Examining
Board

[CR 05−041]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority

vested in the Marriage and Family Therapy, Professional
Counseling and Social Work Examining Board in ss. 15.08 (5)
(b), 227.11 (2) and 457.03 (3), Wis. Stats., and interpreting
s. 457.14 (1) (a) to (d) and (2), Wis. Stats., the Marriage and
Family Therapy, Professional Counseling and Social Work
Examining Board will hold a public hearing at the time and
place indicated below to consider an order to amend s. MPSW
3.11 (5), relating to expiration of a temporary credential
issued by the Social Worker Section.
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Hearing Date, Time and Location

Date: June 29, 2005
Time: 9:30 A.M.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

Room 179A
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing
Interested persons are invited to present information at the

hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Legal Counsel, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin
53708, or by email to pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Written
comments must be received on or before July 11, 2005 to be
included in the record of rule−making proceedings.
Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing.

Statutes interpreted:  Section 457.14 (1) (a) to (d) and (2),
Stats.
Statutory authority

Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 457.03 (3), Stats
Explanation of agency authority

Currently, s. MPSW 3.11 provides that a temporary
credential expires upon notification of having failed the
required examination or 9 months after having been issued,
whichever is earlier.  This proposal would permit applicants
to retake the failed examination without having to surrender
their temporary certificate or license, thereby allowing them
to remain in practice while they await the next examination
opportunity.  However, the temporary certificate or license
would still expire 9 months from the date of its issuance.
Plain language analysis

The current rule provides that a temporary social worker
license will expire when the holder fails the required
examination, or after the 9 month period passes, whichever is
earlier.  The person who fails the required examination must
then return their license to the social worker section.
Furthermore, this temporary license may not be renewed.

The proposed rule−making order would eliminate the
expiration of the temporary license upon the failure of the
required examination and that the license holder must then
return the license.  The proposed change would allow the
temporary license holder to retake the required examination

until they are able to pass the examination during the 9 month
period of time.  Therefore, the license will only expire at the
end of the 9 month period of the license and may not be
renewed.

The proposed rule change is good because it eliminates the
loss of the temporary license and streamlines the licensing
process while maintaining the protection of the public.  The
protection is maintained because under either version of the
rule – current or proposed – the license holder could retake the
examination; however, with the proposed change, the license
holder would still be able to practice while retaking the
examination.  Previously, at best the person could only
practice case management; at worst they may be terminated
due to the loss of the temporary license.  Furthermore, small
business will not be affected and there may be a small benefit
as the temporary credential holder may remain in practice
while they are attempting to pass the required examination.
Determination of significant fiscal effect on the private
sector

The department finds that this rule has no significant fiscal
effect on the private sector.
Fiscal estimate

The proposed rule will have no impact on the department’s
funds.
Effect on small business

Pursuant to s. 227.114 (1) (a), Stats., these proposed rules
will have no significant economic impact on a substantial
number of small businesses.  The Department’s Small
Business Regulatory Review Coordinator may be contacted
by email at christopher.klein@drl.state.wi.us, or by calling
(608) 266−8608.
Agency contact person

Pamela Haack, Department of Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington Avenue,
Room 171, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708−8935.
Telephone: (608) 266−0495. 
Email:  pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Copies of the notice
of hearing are available upon request.
Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline
for submission

Comments may be submitted to Pamela Haack,
Department of Regulation and Licensing, Office of Legal
Counsel, 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935,
Madison, Wisconsin 53708−8935.
Email pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.  Comments must be
received on or before July 11, 2005 to be included in the
record of rule−making proceedings.
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Submittal of proposed rules to the legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Elections Board
(CR 05−027)

Ch. ElBd 1, relating to conversion of federal campaign
committee funds.
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Rule orders filed with the revisor of statutes bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.   It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.   Contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at gary.poulson@legis.state.wi.us or (608) 266−7275 for updated information on
the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Natural Resources
(CR 04−128)

An order affecting ch. NR 169, relating to the dry cleaner
environmental response program.

Effective 8−1−05.

Natural Resources
(CR 04−136)

An order affecting ch. NR 46, relating to the
administration of the Managed Forest Law.

Effective 8−1−05.



The State of Wisconsin
Department of Administration
Bureau of Document Services
Document Sales and Distribution Section
P.O. Box 7840
Madison, Wisconsin 53707−7840

First Class Mail

Dated Material.  Please Do Not Delay!


