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Emergency rules now in effect

Under s. 227.24, Stats., state agencies may promulgate
rules without complying with the usual rule−making
procedures. Using this special procedure to issue emergency
rules, an agency must find that either the preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare necessitates its action
in bypassing normal rule−making procedures.

Emergency rules are published in the official state
newspaper, which is currently the Wisconsin State Journal.
Emergency rules are in effect for 150 days and can be
extended up to an additional 120 days with no single
extension to exceed 60 days.

Occasionally the Legislature grants emergency rule
authority to an agency with a longer effective period than 150
days or allows an agency to adopt an emergency rule without
requiring a finding of emergency.

Extension of the effective period of an emergency rule is
granted at the discretion of the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules under s. 227.24 (2), Stats.

Notice of all emergency rules which are in effect must be
printed in the Wisconsin Administrative Register. This notice
will contain a brief description of the emergency rule, the
agency finding of emergency or a statement of exemption from
a finding of emergency, date of publication, the effective and
expiration dates, any extension of the effective period of the
emergency rule and information regarding public hearings on
the emergency rule.

Copies of emergency rule orders can be obtained from the
promulgating agency.  The text of current emergency rules can
be viewed at www.legis.state.wi.us/rsb/code.

Commerce 
(Financial Assistance for Businesses &

Communities, Chs. Comm 105—)

Rules were adopted creating ch. Comm 129, relating to
technology commercialization programs.

Finding of Emergency
The Department of Commerce finds that an emergency

exists within the state of Wisconsin and that adoption of a rule
is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
health, safety and welfare.  A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is as follows.

1.  In accordance with sections 560.205 (3) and 560.275
(7), Stats., the department has the responsibility to promulgate
rules to administer an Early Stage Business Investment
Program and a Technology Commercialization Grant and
Loan Program.

2.  Section 560.205 (1) and (2), Stats., makes available
certain tax benefits for investors in early stage businesses for
tax years beginning after December 31, 2004.

3.  Section 560.275 (2), Stats., makes available grant and
loan program funds appropriated as of July 1, 2004.

4.  The department, being the agency with primary
authority for economic development in the state, recognizes
that there is a verified need to assist the development of high
growth early stage technology businesses.  Wisconsin has
historically ranked low in the development of new start−ups
and in the attraction of risk capital.

5.  The department recognizes that promulgating this
emergency rule will alleviate the need for investors to defer
investments into qualified new businesses while they wait for
the promulgation of the permanent rule.  Such a circumstance
would effectively halt new investment into early stage high
tech companies in Wisconsin, a result that would be contrary
to the intent of the legislation.

6.  In addition, the department recognizes that without
promulgating this emergency rule, the department would
likely be unable to fully utilize the funds made available to
benefit early stage businesses.

7.  Finally, the department recognizes that without
promulgating this emergency rule, Wisconsin’s early stage
businesses would be unable to compete fairly to attract
much−needed risk capital and federal research dollars to
Wisconsin.

Publication Date: December 2, 2004
Effective Date: December 2, 2004
Expiration Date: May 1, 2005
Hearing Date: January 12, 2005

Elections Board

Rules adopted creating s. ElBd 1.395, relating to the use of
funds in a federal campaign committee that has been
converted to a state campaign committee and relating to the
use of those converted funds whose contribution to the federal
committee would not have been in compliance with
Wisconsin law if the contribution had been made directly to a
state campaign committee.
Finding of Emergency

The Elections Board finds that an emergency exists in the
recent change in federal law that permits the transfer of the
funds in a federal candidate campaign committee’s account to
the candidate’s state campaign committee account and finds
that a rule is necessary for the immediate preservation of the
public peace, health, safety or welfare.  A statement of the
facts constituting the emergency is as follows:

Since the Bi−Partisan Campaign Reform Act of 2002
(BICRA), transfers of funds from a federal campaign
committee to a state campaign committee had not been
authorized under federal law.  In November, 2004, Congress
amended the Federal Election Campaign Act, (H.R. 4818,
s.532(3) and 532(4), to permit the transfer of a federal
candidate’s campaign committee’s funds to the candidate’s
state campaign committee, if state law permitted, and subject
to the state law’s requirements and restrictions.

Because of  Congress’ action in November, 2004, money
which had not been available to a state committee under
BICRA, and which might not have qualified for use for
political purposes in a state campaign because of its source or
because of other noncompliance with state law, could now be
transferred to a state committee, if state law permitted.
Wisconsin law, under the Board’s current rule, ElBd 1.39,
Wis. Adm. Code,  allows for conversion of federal campaign
committees, and their funds, to a state campaign committee
without regard to the source of those funds and without regard
to contribution limitations.

Restricting the use of such money to that money which has
been contributed to the candidate’s federal committee, under
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circumstances in which the contribution would have
complied with Wisconsin law if it had been given directly to
the Wisconsin campaign committee, is found to be in the
public interest.

Publication Date: February 3, 2005

Effective Date: February 3, 2005*

Expiration Date: July 3, 2005
*  On February 9, 2005, the Joint Committee for Review of

Administrative Rules suspended this emergency rule.

Insurance

Rules were adopted creating ch. Ins 14, Wis. Adm. Code,
relating to vehicle protection plans.

Finding of Emergency
The Commissioner of Insurance finds that an emergency

exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or welfare.
Facts constituting the emergency are as follows:

The statute requiring these changes is effective on
December 1, 2004. The length of the rulemaking process has
not permitted OCI to finish promulgating the rule. This
emergency implementation will allow vehicle protection
businesses to start getting registered and selling their
products. Many of these products are promoted as safety
related such as glass etching, the “club,” vehicle entry
warning sirens and others. Consumer would then be able
obtain the promoted safety benefits of these products as soon
as the legislature permitted them.

Publication Date: December 10, 2004

Effective Date: December 10, 2004

Expiration Date: May 9, 2005

Natural Resources
(Fish, Game, etc., Chs. NR 1−)

Rules were adopted revising s. NR 20.33 (5) (c), relating to
the closure of sturgeon spearing on the Lake Winnebago
system.
Finding of emergency

The Department of Natural Resources find that an
emergency exists and a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public health, safety or welfare.  The facts
constituting this emergency are:

During the 2004 sturgeon spearing on Lake Winnebago,
spearers harvested a record 1,303 sturgeon on opening day,
exceeding the season harvest cap for adult female sturgeon.
the spearing season lasted only two days and resulted in an
overall harvest of 1,854 sturgeon.  The total harvest included
822 males, 348 juvenile females, and 684 adult females, 509
of which came on opening day, exceeding the harvest cap of
425.  Population reduction due to overharvest of lake sturgeon
could take years to reverse given the life history of lake
sturgeon.

Publication Date: February 2, 2005

Effective Date: February 2, 2005

Expiration Date: July 2, 2005
Hearing Date: February 23, 2005

Natural Resources
(Environmental Protection − Water Regulation,

Chs. NR 300—)

Rules adopted revising ch. NR 326, relating to regulation
of piers, wharves, boat shelters, boat hoists, boat lifts and
swim rafts in navigable waterways.

Finding of emergency
The emergency rule procedure, pursuant to s. 227.24,

Stats., is necessary and justified in establishing rules to protect
the public health, safety and welfare. The Wisconsin
Legislature recently enacted 2003 Wisconsin Act 118, to
streamline the regulatory process for activities in public trust
waters.  The state has an affirmative duty to administer the
new law in a manner consistent with the public trust
responsibilities of the State of Wisconsin under Article IX,
Section I of the Wisconsin Constitution.

2003 Act 118 identifies certain activities that may be
undertaken in public trust waters exempt from a permit, or
under a general permit. Certain activities may not be
undertaken in waters that are defined as “areas of special
natural resource interest” or at other locations where the
activity would cause detrimental impacts on public rights and
interests in navigable waters.  Without emergency rules to aid
in administering the new law, the following severe problems
will occur:

Until general permits are created by rule, any activity
which is not exempt requires an individual permit with an
automatic 30−day public notice.  The required 30−day
comment period will unnecessarily delay hundreds of
construction projects that otherwise could go ahead with
specified conditions for protecting lakes and streams (for
example, all new riprap and culvert applications currently
require public notices).

Unclear wording of exemptions currently puts property
owners, contractors and consultants at risk of violation.
Without clear procedures and standards established by
emergency rule, many more people may request exemption
determinations, slowing the decisions on individual permit
applications.

Wording of exemptions and temporary grading jurisdiction
puts lakes and streams at risk.  Without standards as intended
and described in the new law, exempted activities and grading
along shorelines will cause inadvertent but permanent
destruction of fish and wildlife habitat, loss of natural scenic
beauty and reduced water quality.  Rights of neighboring
property owners may also be harmed.  Cumulatively over one
or two construction seasons, these impacts will have
immediate and permanent effects on Wisconsin’s
water−based recreation and tourism industry.

To carry out the intention of the Legislature that 2003 Act
118 to speed decision−making but not diminish the public
trust in state waters, these emergency rules are required to
establish definitions, procedures and substantive standards
for exemptions, general permits and jurisdiction under the
new law.

Publication Date: April 19, 2004

Effective Date: April 19, 2004*

Expiration Date: September 16, 2004
Hearing Date: May 19, 2004

*On June 24, 2004, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended this emergency rule.
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Public Instruction

Rules adopted repealing s. PI 24.02 (3) and repealing and
recreating subchapter II of chapter PI 24, relating to the
payment of state aid under the student achievement guarantee
in education (SAGE) program.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Public Instruction finds an emergency

exists and that a rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public welfare.  A statement of the facts
constituting the emergency is:

Section 118.43 (6m), Stats., requires the department to
promulgate rules to implement and administer the payment of
state aid under s. 118.43 (6), Stats.  Because the next deadline
for pupil reporting requirements occurs in January 2005, the
rule must take effect as soon as possible to give eligible
schools enough notice to meet such requirements.

Publication Date: December 20, 2004
Effective Date: December 20, 2004
Expiration Date: May 19, 2005

Regulation and Licensing

Rules adopted creating ch. RL 150 to 154, relating to the
licensure and regulation of athlete agents.

Exemption from finding of emergency
SECTION 4. Nonstatutory provisions of 2003 Wisconsin

Act 150 states in part:
(2)  The department of regulation and licensing may, using

the procedure under section 227.24 of the statutes,
promulgate the rules under section 440.9935 of the statutes,
as created by this act, for the period before permanent rules
become effective, but not to exceed the period authorized
under section 227.24 (1) (c) and (2) of the statutes.
Notwithstanding section 227.24 (1) (a), (2) (b), and (3) of the
statutes, the department is not required to provide evidence
that promulgating rules under this subsection as emergency
rules is necessary for the preservation of the public peace,
health, safety, or welfare and is not required to provide
findings of emergency for rules promulgated under this
subsection.
Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statutes authorizing promulgation:  s. 227.11 (2), Stats.,
and ss. 440.99, 440.991, 440.915, 440.992, 440.9925,
440.993, 440.9935, 440.994, 440.9945, 440.995, 440.9955,
440.996, 440.9975, 440.998 and 440.999, Stats., as created by
2003 Wisconsin Act 150.

Statutes interpreted:  Chapter 440, Subchapter XII.
This emergency rule is promulgated pursuant to 2003

Wisconsin Act 150.  This Act grants the Department of
Regulation and Licensing the authority to create rules relating
to the licensure and regulation of athlete agents.

In this order adopting emergency rules the Department of
Regulation and Licensing creates rules relating to the
licensure of athlete agents.  These rules are as a result of 2003
Wisconsin Act 150 which enacted the Uniform Athlete
Agents Act.  Chapters RL 150 to 154 establish requirements

and standards for registration and the practice of registered
athlete agents.  The rules specify the registration requirements
for temporary and permanent registration, renewal
requirements, and prohibited conduct for athlete agents.

SECTION 1 creates Chapter RL 150 which sets forth the
statutory authority and the definitions for the proposed rules.

SECTION 2 creates Chapter RL 151 which sets forth the
application process and requirements for an initial certificate
of registration, including the application process for a
temporary certificate of registration.

SECTION 3 creates Chapter RL 152 which sets forth the
application process and requirements for renewal of a
certificate of registration.

SECTION 4 creates Chapter RL 153 which outlines the
standards of practice which apply to a credential holder.

SECTION 5 creates Chapter RL 154 which defines
unprofessional conduct.

Publication Date: October 5, 2004
Effective Date: October 5, 2004
Expiration Date: March 4, 2005
Hearing Date: November 12, 2004
Extension Through: May 2, 2005

Revenue

Rules adopted revising s. Tax 18.07, relating to the
assessment of agricultural land.

Finding of emergency
The Wisconsin Department of Revenue finds that an

emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public welfare. The facts
constituting the emergency are as follows:

Pursuant to s. 70.32 (2r) (c), the assessment of agricultural
land is assessed according to the income that could be
generated from its rental for agricultural use. Wisconsin
Chapter Tax 18 specifies the formula that is used to estimate
the net rental income per acre. The formula estimates the net
income per acre of land in corn production based on a 5−year
average corn price per bushel, cost of corn production per
bushel and corn yield per acre. The net income is divided by
a capitalization rate that is based on a 50 year average interest
rate for a medium−sized, 1−year adjustable rate mortgage and
net tax rate for the property tax levy two years prior to the
assessment year.

For reasons of data availability, there is a three−year lag in
determining the 5−year average. Thus, the 2003 use value is
based on the 5−year average corn price, cost and yield for the
1996−2000 period, and the capitalization rate is based on the
5−year average interest rate for the 1998−2002 period. The
2005 use value is to be based on the 5−year average corn price,
cost and yield for the 1998−2002 period, and the
capitalization rate is to be based on the 2000−2004 period.

The data for the 1998−2002 period yields negative net
income per acre due to declining corn prices and increasing
costs of corn production. As a result, reliance on data for the
1998−2002 period will result in negative use values.

The department is issuing this emergency rule in order to
ensure positive and stable assessments of agricultural land for
2005.
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Publication Date: December 29, 2004
Effective Date: December 29, 2004
Expiration Date: May 28, 2005

Transportation (3)

1.  Rules adopted creating ch. Trans 135, relating to creation
of a school bus oxidation catalyst grant program in certain
counties.

Exemption from finding of emergency
The Legislature, by Section 2r of 2003 Wis. Act 220,

provides an exemption from a finding of emergency for the
adoption of the rule.
Analysis prepared by the Department of Transportation

Plain Language Analysis:  2003 Wis. Act 220 requires the
Wisconsin Department of Transportation, in consultation
with the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, to
develop and administer a program to provide grants for the
purchase and installation of oxidation catalysts on school
buses customarily kept in the counties identified in s.  110.20
(5), Stats.: Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine,
Sheboygan, Washington and Waukesha.  Act 220 amends s.
20.395 (5) (hq), Stats., to provide funds for the grant program
under WisDOT’s vehicle inspection/maintenance (I/M)
program appropriation.

Publication Date:September 1, 2004
Effective Date: September 1, 2004
Expiration Date: See Section 2r 2003 Wis. Act 220
Hearing Date: September 14, 2004

2.  Rules adopted revising ch. Trans 112, relating to medical
standards for driver licensing and general standards to
school bus endorsements.

Exemption from finding of emergency
The Legislature, by Section 30 of 2003 Wis. Act 280,

provides an exemption from a finding of emergency for the
adoption of the rule.
Analysis prepared by the Department of Transportation

Under current law, a person may not operate a school bus
without a school bus endorsement issued by the Department
of Transportation (DOT). DOT may issue a school bus
endorsement to a person’s valid motor vehicle operator’s
license if the person meets certain qualifications, including
being free of conviction for certain crimes.  A school bus
endorsement is valid for the eight–year duration of the
person’s operator’s license.  Under certain circumstances,
DOT must cancel the operator’s license of a person to whom
a school bus endorsement has been issued.

2003 Wisconsin Act 280 modified the existing criminal
history requirements, and imposed additional requirements
for the initial issuance or renewal of a school bus
endorsement.  That act prohibits DOT from issuing or
renewing a school bus endorsement to an applicant if the
applicant has been convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for
any specified disqualifying crime or offense within a prior
minimum specified time.  These disqualifying crimes and
offenses and minimum time periods for disqualification
include those specified under current statutes, including
various crimes against children.  The act also authorizes DOT
to specify by rule additional disqualifying crimes and offenses
and the time period during which the disqualification applies.

Prior to Act 280, persons were not eligible for a school bus
endorsement if he or she has been convicted of listed offenses
(including a felony or an “offense against public morals”)
within the past five years, if the circumstances of the offense
are “substantially related” to the circumstances of operating
a school bus, or was convicted of specified offenses
(including OWI and operating with a suspended or revoked
license) within the past two years, regardless of whether the
circumstances of the offense are “substantially related” to the
circumstances of operating a school bus.  Thus, Act 280
lengthened the periods of disqualification for some offenses,
and listed some offenses that arguably are not “substantially
related” to the circumstances of operating a school bus.

This rule establishes three periods of disqualification from
eligibility for a school bus driver endorsement for conviction
of listed felonies and misdemeanors. A lifetime
disqualification is imposed on any person convicted of violent
crimes resulting in death or serious physical injury to another,
of sex offenses involving children and other vulnerable
persons, or of other crimes involving predation or
victimization of children or other vulnerable persons.  A
five−year disqualification is imposed on any person convicted
of other crimes against life and bodily security, of other crimes
against children, of crimes involving use of a motor vehicle,
including operating while intoxicated (OWI), of possession
of illegal weapons or of similar offenses likely to result in
serious injury to others.  A two−year disqualification is
imposed on any person convicted of negligent operation of a
motor vehicle, of obstructing emergency and rescue
personnel or of other crimes.

Many of the listed offenses comprise felonies and
misdemeanors.  Under the rule, if a person provides evidence
to the Department that his or her conviction of a listed offense
is a misdemeanor conviction, the disqualification period is
shortened to the next shorter disqualification period.
However, there is no reduced disqualification period for
misdemeanor sexual assault convictions, and the minimum
period of disqualification for any listed offense (whether
felony or misdemeanor) is two years.

The rule requires the Department to conduct a criminal
history record search of every applicant for initial issuance or
renewal to determine whether the person is convicted of
disqualifying offenses.  Although a school bus endorsement
is renewed every eight years, DOT must conduct a criminal
history search four years after the person obtains a school bus
endorsement and, if appropriate, cancel the endorsement.

The rule also requires any person applying for initial
issuance or renewal of a school bus endorsement to certify
whether he or she has been convicted of any disqualifying
offense, and allows the department to disqualify the person for
the appropriate period based on that certification.

The rule requires any person who has resided in another
state within the previous two years to notify the department of
those other states, and requires the department to make a god
faith effort to obtain the criminal history records from those
other states, including submitting the persons fingerprints to
the Department of Justice for a nationwide criminal history
search.

The rule allows DOT to require every applicant for initial
issuance or renewal of a school bus endorsement to provide
two sets of fingerprints, and to pay fees for the two criminal
history records searches that will be completed at initial
issuance or renewal, and four years after the person obtains
the school bus endorsement.

This rule also makes minor changes to medical standards
for school bus drivers not required under 2003 Wis. Act 280,
including the following:
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1.  Allows physician to certify driver is following treatment
plan for cerebrovascular function, without such certification
of the patient.

2.  Shortens from 12 to 6 months the period during which
a school bus driver must be free of any cerebrovascular
incident.

3. Eliminates the 12 month period during which school bus
driver must be free of destructive behavior or suicidal
tendencies, instead making eligible a driver who is free of
such behaviors or tendencies at the time of application.

4. Provides that a license restriction imposed on a
physician’s recommendation may be lifted only by the
physician that recommended the restriction or by the
Department following its evaluation of the person’s ability to
drive.

5. Provides that a person who does not meet minimum
waiting periods following certain medical disqualifications
cannot request a medical review board assessment of those
disqualifications, because those waiting periods cannot be
waived.

Publication Date: November 4, 2004

Effective Date: November 4, 2004

Expiration Date: See 2003 Wis. Act 280
Hearing Date: November 15, 2004

3.  Rules adopted creating ss. Trans 254.12 (6) and 255.12
(17), relating to the issuance of single and multiple trip
oversize and overweight permits.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Transportation finds that an emergency

exists and that the rule is necessary for the immediate
preservation of the public safety and welfare.  Although the
Department will pursue promulgation of this rule through
normal procedure, the Department finds an emergency exists
for the following reasons: (1) current administrative rules
have size limitations that prevent the use of the Milwaukee
Expressway for vehicles or load or dimensions greater than 11
feet in width, 13� feet in height, or 100 feet in length on the
Milwaukee Freeway; (2) structural beams and girders that
exceed the above transport limits are currently being
manufactured for the initial stages of construction of the
Marquette Interchange Reconstruction project; and (3) these
steel and concrete bridge components must be delivered to the
construction site beginning in February 2005 to keep the
project on time and on−budget.  Routing these oversized loads
on the Milwaukee surface street system may not be possible
due to the load lengths and the turning radiuses required.  If
the street geometry does allow the movement, these street
systems may not be designed to carry the weight of such loads.
Doing so will result in unsafe and possible permanent damage
to the surface street system.  Without this rule amendment, the
other alternative is to reduce the size of these structural
members (beams and girders) to meet these existing size
limitations which will significantly increase the total projects
costs and the time required to complete the project because of
the necessary redesign.

Publication Date: February 1, 2005

Effective Date: February 1, 2005

Expiration Date: July 1, 2005
Hearing Date: March 1, 2005

Veterans Affairs
Rules adopted creating ss. VA 13.02 (2) (e), 13.04 (3), and

13.06, relating to the veterans assistance program.
Finding of emergency

The Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affairs finds that
an emergency exists and that a rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety or
welfare.  A statement of the finding of emergency is:

The department operates two community−based
residential care facilities and a residential care apartment
complex facility in Union Grove.  As a condition of admission
and continued residency at the facilities a veteran must be able
to pay the full cost of his or her care from income and other
resources.

Care rates at the facilities were raised across−the−board in
October 2004.  Several current residents do not now have
sufficient income or other resources to fully pay their cost of
care.  Furthermore, several recent applicants with limited
income and resources have been denied admission because
they fall just short of meeting their care costs.  Both groups of
veterans do not have adequate housing available for their
needs, other than residency at the Union Grove facilities.

In light of these circumstances, the department determines
that the health and safety of the current and prospective
residents is threatened unless adequate funding is made
available.  Enactment of the emergency will permit the
department to provide the subsidy necessary to address these
concerns.

Publication Date: January 3, 2005
Effective Date: January 3, 2005
Expiration Date: June 1, 2005
Hearing Date: February 16, 2005

Workforce Development
(Labor Standards, Chs. DWD 270−279)

Rules adopted revising ss. DWD 274.015 and 274.03 and
creating s. DWD 274.035, relating to overtime pay for
employees performing companionship services.
Finding of emergency

The Department of Workforce Development finds that an
emergency exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

On January 21, 2004, pursuant to s. 227.26(2)(b), Stats., the
Joint Committee for Review of Administrative Rules directed
the Department of Workforce Development to promulgate an
emergency rule regarding their overtime policy for
nonmedical home care companion employees of an agency as
part of ch. DWD 274.
Analysis Prepared by the Department of Workforce
Development

Statutory authority:  Sections 103.005, 103.02, and 227.11,
Stats.

Statutes interpreted: Sections 103.01 and 103.02, Stats.
Section 103.02, Stats., provides that “no person may be

employed or be permitted to work in any place of employment
or at any employment for such period of time during any day,
night or week, as is prejudicial to the person’s life, health,
safety or welfare.” Section 103.01 (3), Stats., defines “place
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of employment” as “any manufactory, mechanical or
mercantile establishment, beauty parlor, laundry, restaurant,
confectionary store, or telegraph or telecommunications
office or exchange, or any express or transportation
establishment or any hotel.”

Chapter DWD 274 governs hours of work and overtime.
Section DWD 274.015, the applicability section of the
chapter, incorporates the statutory definition of “place of
employment” and limits coverage of the chapter to the places
of employment delineated in s. 103.01 (3), Stats., and various
governmental bodies. Section DWD 274.015 also provides
that the chapter does not apply to employees employed in
domestic service in a household by a household.

Section 103.02, Stats., directs that the “department shall,
by rule, classify such periods of time into periods to be paid
for at the rate of at least one and one−half times the regular
rates.” Under s. DWD 274.03, “each employer subject to this
chapter shall pay to each employee time and one−half the
regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours
per week.” Section DWD 274.04 lists 15 types of employees
who are exempt from this general rule and s. DWD 274.08
provides that the section is inapplicable to public employees.

Nonmedical home care companion employees who are
employed by a third−party, commercial agency are covered
by the overtime provision in s. DWD 274.03. Section DWD
274.03 applies to all employees who are subject to the chapter
and not exempt under ss. DWD 274.04 or 274.08. The chapter
applies to companion employees of a commercial agency
because under s. DWD 274.015 a commercial agency is
considered a mercantile establishment. Section DWD 270.01
(5) defines a mercantile establishment as a commercial,
for−profit business. The chapter does not apply to companion
employees of a nonprofit agency or a private household. In
addition, none of the exemptions to the overtime section in ss.
DWD 274.04 or 274.08 apply to companion employees of a
commercial agency.

The Joint Committee for the Review of Administrative
Rules has directed DWD to promulgate an emergency rule
regarding the overtime policy for nonmedical home care
companion employees of an agency. This provision is created
at s. DWD 274.035 to say that employees who are employed
by a mercantile establishment to perform companionship
services shall be subject to the overtime pay requirement in s.
DWD 274.03. “Companionship services” is defined as those
services which provide fellowship, care, and protection for a
person who because of advanced age, physical infirmity, or
mental infirmity cannot care for his or her own needs. Such
services may include general household work and work
related to the care of the aged or infirm person such as meal
preparation, bed making, washing of clothes, and other
similar services. The term “companionship services” does not

include services relating to the care and protection of the aged
or infirm person that require and are performed by trained
personnel, such as registered or practical nurses.

This order also repeals and recreates the applicability of the
chapter section and the overtime section to write these rules
in a clearer format. There is no substantive change in these
sections.

Publication Date: March 1, 2004
Effective Date: March 1, 2004*
Expiration Date: July 29, 2004

*  On April 28, 2004, the Joint Committee for Review of
Administrative Rules suspended s. DWD 274.035 created as
an emergency rule.

Workforce Development
(Public Works Construction, Chs. DWD 290−294)

A rule was adopted amending s. DWD 290.155 (1),
relating to the adjustment of thresholds for application of
prevailing wage rates.

Finding of emergency
The Department of Workforce Development finds that an

emergency exists and that the attached rule is necessary for the
immediate preservation of the public peace, health, safety, or
welfare. A statement of facts constituting the emergency is:

Adjusting the thresholds for application of the prevailing
wage rate requirements by emergency rule ensures that the
adjustments are effective on a date certain that is prior to the
time of year that project requests are generally submitted to
the Department and applicability of the prevailing wage law
is determined. The adjustment avoids imposing an additional
administrative burden on local governments and state
agencies caused by an effective decrease of the thresholds due
solely to inflation in the construction industry. If these new
thresholds are not put into effect by emergency rule, the old
thresholds will remain effective for approximately six to
seven months, until the conclusion of the permanent
rule−making process. The thresholds are based on national
construction cost statistics and are unlikely to be changed by
the permanent rule−making process.

Publication Date: December 20, 2004
Effective Date: January 1, 2005
Expiration Date: May 30, 2005
Hearing Date: February 14, 2005
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Scope statements

Health and Family Services

Subject
The Department proposes to amend ch. HFS 132, rules

relating to nursing homes.
Policy analysis

The Department proposes to update ch. HFS 132 to reflect
current standards of care and practice; enhance the
Department’s authority relating to the initial licensing of
nursing homes; and remove provisions that duplicate
applicable federal requirements.  The proposed changes do
not compromise the care and safety to nursing home residents.

Section 50.02 (2) (a), Stats., gives the Department the
authority to establish and enforce regulations and standards
for the care, treatment, health, safety, rights, welfare and
comfort of residents in nursing homes.   It also authorizes the
Department to promulgate and enforce administrative rules
that provide the conditions of licensure for nursing homes.

Effective November 1, 2004, revisions were made to ch.
HFS 132 to reflect changes that have occurred in service
delivery (e.g. pain management and quality assurance) and
technology (e.g. electronic records and physical
environment), to remove overly prescriptive rules and to
make the rules more reflective of and compatible with the
comparable federal regulations.

Through this rulemaking initiative, the Department is
continuing the rule revision process by further updating the
rule to recognize changes in service delivery and technology
and by eliminating or modifying state regulations that are
already addressed in ch. 50, Stats.; chs. Comm 61 to 65, also
known as the Wisconsin Commercial Building Code; and 42
CFR 483, the federal regulatory requirements for nursing
homes.  The Department’s intent is to streamline ch. HFS 132,
while ensuring a nursing home’s responsibility to provide
quality care and meet the needs of its residents.  In addition,
eliminating rules that duplicate federal regulations would
reduce the number of citations issued for the same violation.

The Department is also proposing to enhance its authority
relating to approving licenses under s. HFS 132.14.   These
changes are intended to ensure that new operators applying
for a Wisconsin nursing home license are qualified
professionals and have demonstrated fiscal responsibility in
the operation of health care facilities.
Statutory authority

Sections 50.02 (2) (a), (bm), (bn), (d), (3) (c) and (d), and
227.11 (2), Stats.
Staff time required

The Department estimates that it will take approximately
640 hours of staff time to to promulgate the proposed changes
to ch. HFS 132.
Entities affected by rule

The entities affected by the proposed rules are all licensed
nursing homes in Wisconsin.
Comparison with federal requirements

Federal conditions of participation for nursing homes are
in the Code of Federal Regulations, 42 CFR 483.  The federal
regulations and existing ch. HFS 132 address largely similar

regulatory areas.  Generally, ch. HFS 132 provides more
specificity than the comparable federal regulations for
nursing homes.

Health and Family Services

Subject
The Department proposes to amend ch. HFS 149, rules

relating to the selection and monitoring of vendors for the
special supplemental food program for women, infants and
children (WIC).
Policy analysis

Under the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for
Women, Infants and Children (WIC), the federal government
provides supplemental foods and nutrition education through
payment of cash grants to states that administer the program
through local agencies at no cost to eligible persons.  The WIC
program serves as an adjunct to good health care during
critical times of growth and development, in order to prevent
the occurrence of health problems. In Wisconsin, the WIC
program has 112,000 certified participants, comprised of
low−income pregnant and breastfeeding women, infants and
children under 5 years of age. Seventy local WIC projects
(located in city and county public health departments, private
non−profit organizations, and one hospital) administer WIC
in designated project service areas.  These services include
health screening, nutrition assessment and counseling,
referrals to other health and social services, and vouchers to
purchase nutritious foods at authorized grocery stores and
pharmacies (vendors).

The Wisconsin WIC program is responsible for the
authorization of some 1,000 vendors to provide food to WIC
participants.  Applications are screened for basic store and
management information, business integrity, and the
selection of WIC authorized foods at competitive prices, as
determined by prices charged by all stores in a project service
area.

Currently applicants for WIC vendor authorization are
required under s. HFS 149.03 (2) (c) to charge a price that is
no more than 115% of the average price charged for a
standardized combination of foods by other applicants in the
project service area in which the grocery store or pharmacy is
located.  The average price is determined by the Department
and based on reported prices of large and small stores
statewide for the standardized combination of foods during
the previous 6−month period.  The Department believes that
this method of computing average price may impede the
ability of smaller stores to obtain or maintain WIC vendor
authorization, due to the smaller stores’ inability to offer
prices that are competitive with that of larger stores.

The Department proposes to amend s. HFS 149. 03 (2) (c)
to remove the requirement that store prices be competitive
with all other stores within a project service area to require
that prices be competitive with stores within its vendor peer
group of similar stores located throughout the state. This
change would result in the Department being able to compute
average price based on reported prices of the vendor peer
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group and, therefore, a more equitable process for small store
applicants.  Prices of these stores will no longer be compared
to the prices of larger stores, who can offer lower prices than
their smaller counterparts due to economies of scale.

The Department also proposes to amend s. HFS 149.03 (7)
to change the duration of authorization from every two years
to every three years.  Instead of ending on October 31 of
even−numbered years regardless of when authorization was
granted, the authorization would end on October 31 of every
third year.  This is now allowed per federal regulation and
would lessen the burden of reauthorization for both the
vendors and the state WIC office.  In addition, the Department
proposes to eliminate the one−year initial certification period,
allowing new vendors’ authorization period to extend to
October 31 of every third year.  The one−year certification has
not proven to be effective in addressing fraud, and is

burdensome for both the vendor and the state WIC office.
Statutory authority

The Department’s authority to amend these rules is found
in ss. 46.016, 227.11 (2) (a), and 253.06 (5) (a), Stats.
Staff time required

The Department estimates it will take 40 hours of staff time
to develop the proposed amendments.
Entities affected by rule

The entities that will be directly affected by the proposed
amendments are Wisconsin grocery stores and pharmacies.
Comparison with federal requirements

The Wisconsin WIC program operates under a State Plan
pursuant to 7 CFR 246.  The Department does not know of any
proposed regulations that address the subject of the proposed
rules.
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Submittal of rules to legislative council clearinghouse

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules
for further information on a particular rule.

Commerce
Rule Submittal Date

On March 30, 2005, the Wisconsin Department of
Commerce submitted a proposed rule to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.
Subject Matter

The proposed rule affects chs. Comm 2, 5 and 41 and
relates to boilers and pressure vessels.
Agency Procedure for Promulgation

A public hearing is required and is scheduled for May 2,
2005.  The Department’s Division of Safety and Buildings,
is the organizational unit responsible for promulgation of
the proposed rule.
Contact Information

Joe Hertel
608−266−5649
jhertel@commerce.state.wi.us

Hearing and Speech Examining Board
Rule Submittal Date

On March 31, 2005, the Hearing and Speech Examining
Board submitted a proposed rule to the Legislative Council
Rules Clearinghouse.
Subject Matter

Statutory Authority:  ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2),
459.12, 459.24 (5m) and (6) (c), Stats.

The proposed rule−making order relates to definitions,
temporary trainees, continuing education, temporary
licenses and unprofessional conduct.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is required and will be held on May 2,

2005, at 2:00 p.m. in Room 180, 1400 East Washington
Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin, 53702.

Contact Information
Pamela Haack, Paralegal
Office of Legal Counsel
608−266−0495
pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us

Transportation

Rule Submittal Date
On March 15, 2005, the Wisconsin Department of

Transportation submitted a proposed rule to the Wisconsin
Legislative Council Rules Clearinghouse.

Subject Matter

The proposed rule affects ch. Trans 196 of the Wisconsin
Administrative Code and relates to convenience fee for
telephone vehicle registration renewal.

Agency Procedure for Promulgation
A public hearing is required and a hearing is scheduled

for April 13, 2005.  The Department’s Division of Motor
Vehicles, Bureau of Vehicle Services, is the organizational
unit responsible for promulgation of the proposed rule.

Contact Information
Julie A. Johnson, Paralegal
608−266−8810
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Rule−making notices

Notice of Hearing
Commerce

[CR 05−025]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to ss. 101.02

(15) (h) to (j), 101.12 (3) (c), 101.19 (1) (b) and 101.17, Stats.,
the Department of Commerce will hold a public hearing on
proposed rules under chapters Comm 41, 5 and 2, relating to
boilers and pressure vessels.

The public hearing will be held as follows:

Date and Time:  Monday, May 2, 2005 at 10:00 a.m.
Location:  Room 3B, Thompson Commerce Center
                 201 West Washington Avenue
                 Madison

Interested persons are invited to appear at the hearing and
present comments on the proposed rules.  Persons making oral
presentations are requested to submit their comments in
writing.  Persons submitting comments will not receive
individual responses.  The hearing record on this proposed
rulemaking will remain open until May 16, 2005, to permit
submittal of written comments from persons who are unable
to attend the hearing or who wish to supplement testimony
offered at the hearing.  Written comments should be submitted
to Ronald Acker, at the Department of Commerce, P.O. Box
2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email at
racker@commerce.state.wi.us.

This hearing is held in accessible facility.  If you have
special needs or circumstances that may make
communication or accessibility difficult at the hearing, please
call (608) 266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY) at least 10 days
prior to the hearing date.  Accommodations such as
interpreters, English translators, or materials in audio tape
format will, to the fullest extent possible, be made available
upon a request from a person with a disability.

Analysis
Statutes Interpreted.  Sections 101.02 (15) (h) to (j), 101.12

(3) (c), 101.19 (1) (b) and 101.17, Stats.
Statutory Authority.  Sections 101.02 (15) (h) to (j), 101.12

(3) (c), 101.19 (1) (b) and 101.17, Stats.
Related Statute or Rule.  There is no related statute or rule.
Explanation of Agency Authority.  Section 101.02 (15) (h)

to (j), Stats., grants the Department of Commerce general
authority for protecting the health, safety and welfare of the
public by establishing reasonable and effective safety
standards for the construction, repair and maintenance of
public buildings and places of employment.  Section 101.12
(3) (c), Stats., directs the department to certify the
competency of inspectors of boilers and pressure vessels.
Section 101.19 (1) (b), Stats., authorizes the department to fix
and collect fees for the inspection of boilers and pressure
vessels.  Section 101.17, Stats., indicates that machines and
boilers cannot be installed or used in Wisconsin unless they
comply with the rules of the department.

Summary of Proposed Rules.
Chapter Comm 41 currently contains minimum safety

standards for the design, construction, installation, operation,
inspection, testing, maintenance, repair and alteration of

boilers and pressure vessels installed in public buildings and
at places of employment.  Chapter Comm 5 contains
requirements for certifying the competency of boiler and
pressure vessel inspectors.  Chapter Comm 2 contains the fees
for providing inspections of boilers and pressure vessels.

The proposed rules consist of an update of chapter Comm
41 in order to bring the state boiler and pressure vessel code
up to date with current technology and nationally recognized
standards.  The proposal also includes changes in chapter
Comm 5 relating to the certification of boiler and pressure
vessel inspectors, and in chapter Comm 2 relating to the
inspection fee charged for multiple boilers or pressure vessels
in one building.  The following is a summary of the major
changes being proposed.  [The numbers in brackets indicate
where the change can be found in the proposed rules.]

1.  Revising the fee schedule for inspections of multiple
boilers in one building and multiple pressure vessels in one
building.  [Comm 2.11 Tables 2.11−1 and 2.11−2]

2.  Creating continuing education requirements for renewal
of the certification as a certified boiler−pressure vessel
inspector.  [Comm 5.60 (5) (c)]

3.  Updating currently adopted national standards to the
most recent edition of the standards.  [Comm 41.10 (2)]

4.  Adding a rule requiring reporting inactive or
non−existent boilers and pressure vessels to the department.
[Comm 41.15 (3)]

5.  Clarifying the exemption from inspection and
registration for power piping.  [Comm 41.16 (2) (b) and 41.41
(2) (b)]

6.  Revising the requirements for indicating when an
inspection of boilers and pressure vessels has been performed
and for providing copies of inspection reports.  [Comm 41.23
(1)]

7.  Starting one year after the effective date of the proposed
rules, requiring all inspection reports to be sent electronically
to the department.  [Comm 41.23 (2) (a) 2.]

8.  Exempting ASME form P−4B from completion for
boiler piping on certain ASME stamped boilers.  [Comm
41.41 (3)]

9.  Exempting cast iron sectional boilers stamped “H” and
pressure vessels stamped “UM” from National Board
registration.  [Comm 41.42 (2) (b)]

10.  Requiring registration with the National Board for
routine repairs and for seal welding of 6 or more boiler tubes.
[Comm 41.62 (2)]

11.  Creating new rules for the inspection and testing of
historical boilers operated at fairs, steam shows and other
locations frequented by the public.  [Subchapter IX]

6.  Summary of, and Comparison with, Existing or
Proposed Federal Regulations.

An Internet−based search of the Code of Federal
Regulations (CFR) found the following existing federal
regulations relating to the activities to be regulated by the rule.

Title 46 CFR Part 59 – Repairs to Boilers, Pressure Vessels
and Appurtenances.  This regulation in the Department of
Homeland Security applies to the repair of all boilers,
appurtenances and pressure vessels subject to inspections by
the Coast Guard.  The regulation adopts sections I, VII, VIII
and IX of the 1989 ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code.
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Title 30 CFR Part 56 – Safety and Health Standards –
Surface Metal and Nonmetal Mines.  Subpart L of this
regulation in the Department of Labor requires all boilers and
pressure vessels to be constructed, installed and maintained in
accordance with the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code.
This regulation adopts sections I, II, IV, V, VI and VII of the
1977 ASME Code and the 1979 edition of the National Board
Inspection Code.

Title 30 CFR Part 57 −− Safety and Health Standards –
Underground Metal and Nonmetal Mines.  Subpart L of this
regulation is the same as subpart L in part 56.

Title 29 CFR Part 1910 – Occupational Safety and Health
Standards.  Subpart R of this regulation in the Department of
Labor applies to establishments where pulp, paper and
paperboard are manufactured and converted.  This regulation
adopts the 1968 edition of section VIII of the ASME Boiler
and Pressure Vessel Code.

Title 10 CFR Part 50 – Domestic Licensing of Production
and Utilization Facilities.  This regulation in the Nuclear
Regulatory Commission applies to systems and components
of boiling and pressurized water−cooled nuclear power
reactors.  This regulation adopts section III, division 1 and
section XI, division 1 through the 2000 addenda of the ASME
Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code.

An Internet−based search of the 2004 and 2005 issues of
the Federal Register found the following proposed federal
regulations relating to the activities to be regulated by the rule.

June 30, 2004 Register, Title 46 CFR Part 32 et al.  The
Coast Guard in the Department of Homeland Security
published a proposal to update the standards incorporated by
reference for marine equipment.  This proposal updates the
ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code to the 2001 edition.

October 1, 2004 Register, Title 10 CFR Part 50.  The
Nuclear Regulatory Commission published a final rule to
update its regulations by incorporating by reference the 2001
edition and the 2002 and 2003 addenda of division 1 of section
III and division 1 of section XI of the ASME Boiler and
Pressure Vessel Code.

7.  Comparison with Rules in Adjacent States.

The Illinois Office of the State Fire Marshal, Division of
Boiler and Pressure Vessel Safety regulates the construction,
installation, operation, inspection and repair of boilers and
pressure vessels throughout the state of Illinois.  The Illinois
Boiler and Pressure Vessel Safety Rules and Regulations are
very similar to the requirements in the Wisconsin Boiler and
Pressure Vessel Code, including the Illinois incorporation by
reference of the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code
(2001 with 2003 addenda), the National Board Inspection
Code (2001 with 2003 addenda), and the API 510 standard
(8th edition).

The Iowa Department of Workforce Development,
Division of Labor Services administers and enforces the
Boilers and Unfired Pressure Vessels Chapter of the Iowa
Code.  That chapter requires new installations of boilers and
pressure vessels to be designed, manufactured, installed,
inspected and stamped in accordance with the applicable
requirements of the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code
(1998 with 1999 and 2000 addenda).  The rules are similar to
the Wisconsin rules, except that the Iowa rules recognize
German, British, Japanese and Canadian construction and
installation standards.

The Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Growth
administers the Michigan Boiler Law and Rules.  The rules are
similar to the Wisconsin rules, and establish minimum
standards of safety for the use, construction, installation,
inspection, alteration and repair of boilers, with limited rules

for specified pressure vessels.  The rules adopt the National
Board Inspection Code (2001 with addenda), the ASME
Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (2001 with addenda), and the
ASME B31.1 Power Piping standard (2001 with addenda).

The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry,
Division of Boiler Inspection administers rules that address
the manufacture, installation, repair, operation, safety and
inspection of boilers, pressure vessels and appurtenances.
The rules contain provisions for licensing of boiler operators,
and include minimal requirements for hobby boilers (steam
traction engines).  The rules are very similar to the Wisconsin
rules, and incorporate the most recent editions and addenda of
the ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code and the National
Board Inspection Code.

8.  Summary of Factual Data and Analytical
Methodologies.

There were no factual data or analytical methodologies
used to develop the proposed rules.

9.  Analysis and Supporting Documents Used to Determine
Effect on Small Business or in Preparation of Economic
Impact Report.

The proposed rules should have a minimal effect on small
business.  There were no supporting documents used to
determine the effect on small business, and an economic
impact report was not prepared.

The proposed rules have been developed with the
assistance of the Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code Advisory
Council.  The members of that citizen advisory council are as
follows:

Name Representing

William H. Andrae Boiler & Pressure Vessel Repairers Assn.

Joe Bena WI Manufacturers & Commerce

Peter H. Burno WI Historical Steam Engine Assn.

Jay A. Ehrfurth WI Department of Administration

Daniel Hegyi American Insurance Association

Matt Keenan WI Boiler Inspectors Association

Paul E. Prill Wisconsin Pipe Trades Association

Randy S. Pucek City of Milwaukee

Doug Smithback Mechanical Contractors Assn. of WI

Environmental Analysis
Notice is hereby given that the Department has considered

the environmental impact of the proposed rules.  In
accordance with chapter Comm 1, the proposed rules are a
Type III action.  A Type III action normally does not have the
potential to cause significant environmental effects and
normally does not involve unresolved conflicts in the use of
available resources.  The Department has reviewed these rules
and finds no reason to believe that any unusual conditions
exist.  At this time, the Department has issued this notice to
serve as a finding of no significant impact.

Initial  Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
1. Types of small businesses that will be affected by the

rules.
Any business involved with the design, construction,

installation, operation, inspection, testing, maintenance,
repair or alteration of boilers or pressure vessels will be
affected by the rules.

2. Reporting, bookkeeping and other procedures required
for compliance with the rules.
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The rules include a new requirement for certified
inspectors to report to the department when a boiler or
pressure vessel becomes inactive or non−existent.  Starting
one year after the effective date of the proposed rules, all
inspection reports must be reported to the department
electronically.

3. Types of professional skills necessary for compliance
with the rules.

There are no types of professional skills necessary for
compliance with the rules.

4. Rules will not have a significant economic impact on
small businesses.

Yes, rules submitted to Small Business Regulatory Review
Board

Assumptions Used in Arriving at Fiscal Estimate
The Safety and Buildings Division is responsible for

administering and enforcing rules relating to boilers and
pressure vessels.  Although the proposed rules contain a
revised fee for the inspection of multiple boilers or pressure
vessels in one building and a fee for administration of a
competency examination, the Division anticipates the
revenue change will be insignificant.  Also, the proposed rules
will not create any additional workload costs.  Therefore, the
proposed rules will not have any fiscal effect on the Division.

The proposed rules will not have a fiscal effect on local
governments.

The proposed rules will not have a significant fiscal effect
on the private sector.  Anticipated new costs that will be
incurred by the private sector are for inspection and testing of
historical boilers and for obtaining continuing education
credits for inspector certification renewal.

The proposed rules and an analysis of the proposed rules
are available on the Internet at the Safety and Buildings
Division Web site at www.commerce.wi.gov/SB/.  Paper
copies may be obtained without cost from Roberta Ward, at
the Department of Commerce, Program Development
Bureau, P.O. Box 2689, Madison, WI 53701−2689, or Email
at rward@commerce.state.wi.us, or at telephone (608)
266−8741 or (608) 264−8777 (TTY).  Copies will also be
available at the public hearing.

The small business regulatory coordinator for the
Department of Commerce is Carol Dunn, who may be
contacted at telephone (608) 267−0297, or Email at
cdunn@commerce.state.wi.us.

Notice of Hearing
Hearing and Speech

[CR 05−026]
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that pursuant to authority

vested in the Hearing and Speech Examining Board in ss.
15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2), 459.12, 459.24 (5m) and (6) (c),
Stats., and interpreting ss. 459.07 (2), 459.24 (2) (f), 459.24
(5), 459.24 (6) and 459.34 (2), Stats., the Hearing and Speech
Examining Board will hold a public hearing at the time and
place indicated below to consider an order to repeal HAS 6.02
(4g), (4m), (5g) and (6b); to renumber HAS 6.09 (1) and 6.10
(3); to renumber and amend HAS 6.03 (7), 6.18 (2) and (3);
to amend HAS 2.01 (2), 5.02 (2) (g) (intro.) and 2., 6.02 (1m),
6.10 (title), (1) (intro.) and (2), 7.02, 7.03 (1) (d), (2) (c), 8.03
(1) and 8.04 (1); to repeal and recreate HAS 6.18 (1) (h); and
to create HAS 6.03 (7) (a) and (b), 6.09 (1), 6.10 (3), (4) and
(5), 6.175, 7.03 (1) (e) and (2) (d), and 8.03 (6), relating to
definitions, temporary trainees, continuing education,
temporary licenses, and unprofessional conduct.

Hearing Date, Time and Location
Date: May 2, 2005
Time: 2:00 P.M.
Location: 1400 East Washington Avenue

Room 180
Madison, Wisconsin

Appearances at the Hearing
Interested persons are invited to present information at the

hearing.  Persons appearing may make an oral presentation
but are urged to submit facts, opinions and argument in
writing as well.  Facts, opinions and argument may also be
submitted in writing without a personal appearance by mail
addressed to the Department of  Regulation and Licensing,
Office of Administrative Rules, P.O. Box 8935, Madison,
Wisconsin 53708.  Written comments must be received by
May 13, 2005 to be included in the record of rule−making
proceedings.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and
Licensing

Statute interpreted:  Sections 459.07 (2), 459.24 (2) (f),
459.24 (5), 459.24 (6), 459.34 (2), Stats.

Statutory authority:  Sections 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2),
459.12, 459.24 (5m) and (6) (c), Stats.

Explanation of agency authority:  The Hearing and
Speech Examining Board licenses and regulates the conduct
of hearing instrument specialists, audiologists and
speech−language pathologists.  The board is authorized under
ss. 459.12 and 459.24 (5m) and (6) (c), Stats., to promulgate
rules relating to the supervision of hearing instrument
specialist trainees by audiologists; the grant of temporary
licenses to individuals applying for licenses to practice
speech−language pathology and audiology; continuing
education requirements and unprofessional conduct.

Related statute or rule:  There are no related statutes or
rules other than those listed above.

Plain language analysis:  The Hearing and Speech
Examining Board herein sets forth revisions to its rules.
Audiologists are granted the authority to supervise hearing
instrument trainees, standards of unprofessional conduct for
hearing instrument specialists and audiologists are broadened
and restructured, the definition of audiologist is modified, an
equivalency provision is added to the speech−language
pathology application procedure, the periods of temporary
licensure for speech−language pathologists and audiologists
are amended, the renewal deadline for hearing instrument
specialists is changed from even to odd−numbered years, the
deadline for reporting continuing education course
completion is extended from the first to the second renewal
date following the initial granting of a license, and the time
allowed for sponsors to submit an application for continuing
education course approval is reduced.

SECTION 1 amends s. HAS 2.01 (2) to allow licensed
audiologists to directly supervise trainees granted a permit to
practice fitting hearing instruments, and making ear
impressions and taking hearing measurements for the purpose
of fitting hearing instruments.  Currently, s. HAS 2.01 (2) only
allows hearing instrument specialists to provide direct
supervision.  Audiologist supervisors would be liable for the
trainee’s negligent acts and omissions in the fitting of hearing
instruments, as hearing instrument specialists are under the
current rule.

SECTION 2 amends s. HAS 5.02 (2) (g) (intro.) and 2. to
make failure to comply with the terms of sale on a receipt,
such as the product repair policy or guarantee, an act of
unprofessional conduct.  The current rule only requires those
terms to be clearly stated on the receipt, with no explicit
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authority for the board to act against the licensee for failure to
comply with the terms.

SECTION 3 amends the definition of “Au.D.” to clarify
that the board need not approve the college or university
granting the degree.

SECTION 4 makes deletions to the definitions section of
s. HAS 6.02, relating to the licensure of speech−language
pathologists, audiologists, and temporary licensees.

SECTION 5 renumbers and amends s. HAS 6.03 (7) and
SECTION 6 creates s. HAS 6.03 (7) (a) and (b), to allow the
board to decide if an applicant’s education or training is
equivalent to the completion of a postgraduate clinical
fellowship.  This is consistent with the licensure requirements
for audiologists under s. HAS 6.04 and builds flexibility into
the rule in the event that national certification requirements
for postgraduate clinical fellowships are increased beyond
what the board believes is necessary to protect public health
and safety.

SECTION 7 renumbers s. HAS 6.09 (1).

SECTION 8 creates a definition of “hardship.”

SECTIONS 9 to 11 relate to temporary licenses.  These
amendments implement the statutory change that allowed the
board to expand the period of validity for a temporary license
to practice speech−language pathology and audiology.  For
speech−language pathologists, the 9 month period of validity
and one−time renewal previously recognized by s. 459.24 (6)
(c), Wis. Stats., was changed by 2003 Wisconsin Act 270 to
make the length of the period of validity discretionary for the
board.  The rule allows 18 months with a one−time renewal
that may exceed 18 months as a matter of board discretion.
This change was spurred by a shortage of speech−language
pathologist Ph.D. students and faculty in Communicative
Disorders programs.  Since the clinical fellowship year is
completed after the master’s degree, the board’s purpose is to
accommodate students who may wish to complete the Ph.D.
under a temporary license.  For audiologists, the period is
increased from 9 to 12 months, with a one−time renewal that
may exceed 12 months at the board’s discretion, but only in
those instances where a permit holder who fails a licensure
examination applies to take the next available examination or
shows sufficient cause for renewal.  The additional three
months brings the time allowed under a temporary license for
audiologists closer to the standard for speech−language
pathologists.  A 100−day grace period from the date the
individual failed to take the examination is allowed unless
board inaction or hardship is shown.

SECTION 12 creates s. HAS 6.175, with definitions of
“full terms of sale,” “cerumen management,” “personal
guarantee,” and “sell” or “sale.”

SECTION 13 repeals and recreates s. HAS 6.18 (1) (h) to
include engaging in unprofessional conduct as an enumerated
ground for discipline.

SECTION 14 renumbers and amends s. HAS 6.18 (2).  In
setting forth additional bases for unprofessional conduct,
such as failure to comply with the terms of sale on a receipt,
explicit recognition of other states’ hearing instrument
specialist and audiologist hearing tests is allowed as a
sufficient basis for sale if proper procedures, instrumentation
and measurement are conducted.  Only one basis for
discipline is moved between the states.

SECTION 15 renumbers and amends s. HAS 6.18 (3).
Currently, s. HAS 6.18 (3) describes, by enumeration,
conduct defined in sub. (b) with exclusive reference to
conduct evidencing a lack of knowledge or ability to apply
professional principles or skills rather than as unprofessional
conduct generally.

SECTION 16 amends s. HAS 7.02 to change the renewal
date for hearing instrument specialists from even−numbered
years to odd−numbered years.

SECTIONS 17 to 22 relate to completing continuing
education hours for the renewal of a license.  It also extends
the first continuing education reporting deadline from the first
to the second renewal date following the initial granting of a
hearing instrument specialist, speech−language pathologist,
or audiologist license.  The purpose of this change is to avoid
a truncated timeline for compliance with continuing
education requirements after initial licensure.  This eliminates
the truncated compliance timeline on initial license
applications that are completed close before an application
deadline.

SECTION 23 reduces the time allowed for continuing
education sponsors to submit an application from 45 to 30
days prior to the first date the program or course of study is
offered.

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or
proposed federal regulation:  None.  Checked the U.S. Code
and Federal Register.

Comparison with rules in adjacent states:  The
following is a summary of the requirements to obtain and
maintain a license in Illinois, Iowa, Michigan and Minnesota.

The states of Illinois and Minnesota require an individual
to obtain a temporary license prior to completing a
postgraduate clinical fellowship in speech−language
pathology.  Minnesota also requires an individual to obtain a
temporary license prior to completing a postgraduate clinical
fellowship in audiology.

None of the states authorize audiologists to supervise
hearing instrument specialist trainees.

None of the states permit applicants to claim “hardship” for
failure to take the required examinations.

The state of Illinois exempts audiologists and
speech−language pathologists from the continuing education
requirements during the first renewal period following initial
licensure.  The state of Minnesota exempts certified
dispensers, who have been licensed less than one year, from
the continuing education requirements.

All of the states have adopted a provision that authorizes
disciplinary action based upon unprofessional conduct,
unethical conduct or similar language.

Summary of factual date and analytical methodologies:
 The Hearing and Speech Examining Board considered its
past experience as the credentialing and enforcement
authority overseeing hearing instrument specialists,
audiologists and speech−language pathologists in drafting the
rules.  The board also researched proposed national licensure
standard changes to ensure Wisconsin license application
requirements will remain current notwithstanding new
standards that may be imposed, and to ensure a continuing
role for the board in deciding on the adequacy of training to
protect public health and safety.  The board reviewed license
applications in cooperation with department staff to clarify
and amend where needs have been identified.  Enforcement
provisions were modified slightly to allow the board to act
where its authority was less than clear in the past and to
improve the overall structure of the enforcement rules.

Determination of significant fiscal effect on the private
sector:  The department finds that this rule has no significant
fiscal effect on the private sector.

Fiscal Effect
The proposed rules will have no impact on the

department’s funds.
Effect on Small Business
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These proposed rules will be reviewed by the Department’s
Small Business Review Advisory Committee to determine
whether there will be a significant economic impact on a
substantial number of small businesses, as defined in s.
227.114 (1) (a), Stats.  The Department’s Regulatory Review
Coordinator may be contacted by email at
christopher.klein@drl.state.wi.us, or by calling (608)
266−8608.

Agency Contact Person
Pamela Haack, Department of Regulation and Licensing,

Office of Legal Counsel, 1400 East Washington Avenue,
Room 171, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708−8935.
Telephone: (608) 266−0495.
Email:  pamela.haack@drl.state.wi.us.

Place where comments are to be submitted and
deadline for submission: Comments may be submitted to the
addresses listed above.  Comments must be received on or
before May 13, 2005 to be included in the record of
rule−making proceedings.

TEXT OF RULE
SECTION 1.  HAS 2.01 (2) is amended to read:
HAS 2.01 (2)  A trainee permit issued by the board entitles

the trainee to practice fitting hearing instruments, make ear
impressions and make measurements of human hearing, for
the purpose of fitting hearing instruments, for a period of one
year and only while under the direct supervision of a hearing
instrument specialist or an audiologist who holds a license
issued under ch. 459, Stats.  The licensee is liable for the
trainee’s negligent acts and omissions in the fitting of hearing
instruments.

SECTION 2.  HAS 5.02 (2) (g) (intro.) and 2. are amended
to read:

HAS 5.02 (2) (g) (intro.)  Failing to clearly state the full
terms of sale on a receipt, as required in s. 459.03, Stats., and
failing to comply with those terms.  The full terms of sale shall
include all of the following:

2.  The date, and place and method of delivery.
SECTION 3.  HAS 6.02 (1m) is amended to read:
HAS 6.02 (1m)  “Au.D.” means a doctor of audiology

degree granted by a college or university approved by the
board.

SECTION 4.  HAS 6.02 (4g), (4m), (5g) and (6b) are
repealed.

SECTION 5.  HAS 6.03 (7) is renumbered HAS 6.03 (7)
(intro.) and is amended to read:

HAS 6.03 (7) (intro.)  Evidence satisfactory to the board
that the applicant has completed a postgraduate clinical
fellowship in speech−language pathology approved by the
board. satisfied one of the following:

SECTION 6.  HAS 6.03 (7) (a) and (b) are created to read:
HAS 6.03 (7) (a)  Completed a postgraduate clinical

fellowship in speech−language pathology approved by the
board.

(b)  Completed education or training that the board
determines is substantially equivalent to the completion of a
postgraduate clinical fellowship in speech−language
pathology.

SECTION 7.  HAS 6.09 (1) is renumbered HAS 6.09 (1m).
SECTION 8.  HAS 6.09 (1) is created to read:
HAS 6.09 (1)  “Hardship” means serious illness or some

other personal adversity, as determined by the board.
SECTION 9.  HAS 6.10 (title), (1) (intro.) and (2) are

amended to read:

HAS 6.10 (title) Application for licensure temporary
license. (1) (intro.)  Before commencing a postgraduate
clinical fellowship in speech−language pathology or
audiology, an individual shall obtain a temporary license
under s. 459.24 (6), Stats.  The applicant shall submit all of the
following:

(2)  A temporary license granted by the board to practice
speech−language pathology is valid for a period designated by
the board, not to exceed 9 18 months.  A temporary license
granted by the board to practice speech−language pathology
and may be renewed once for 18 months or longer, at the
discretion of the board.  A temporary license granted to
practice audiology may be renewed once by the board if the
applicant fails an examination for audiologist licensure under
s. 459.26 (2) (a) or (b), Stats., and applies to take the next
available examination or if the applicant shows, to the
satisfaction of the board, sufficient cause for the renewal.

SECTION 10.  HAS 6.10 (3) is renumbered HAS 6.10 (6).
SECTION 11.  HAS 6.10 (3), (4) and (5) are created to read:
HAS 6.10 (3)  Except as provided in sub. (5), a temporary

license granted to practice audiology is valid for a period
designated by the board, not to exceed 12 months.

(4)  A temporary license granted under sub. (3) may be
renewed once for 12 months or longer, at the discretion of the
board, if the applicant fails an examination for licensure under
s. 459.26 (2) (a) or (b), Stats., and applies to take the next
available examination or if the applicant shows, to the
satisfaction of the board, sufficient cause for the renewal.

(5)  If an individual who is granted a temporary license
under sub. (3) to practice audiology fails to take the next
available examination under s. 459.26 (2) (a) or (b), Stats., for
reasons other than inaction by the board or hardship, the
temporary license granted under sub. (3) automatically
expires on the one−hundredth calendar day following the date
the individual failed to take the examination.

SECTION 12.  HAS 6.175 is created to read:
HAS 6.175 Definitions.  In this subchapter and in

subchapter II of ch. 459, Stats.:
(1)  “Cerumen management” means the removal of

cerumen from the external auditory canal by the utilization of
methods and techniques performed in accordance with
minimum standards and procedures established in the
audiological profession.

(2)  “Full terms of sale” means the conditions of a sale
agreed to by an audiologist and the purchaser of a hearing
instrument.

(3)  “Personal guarantee” means a promise made by an
audiologist to a hearing instrument purchaser to provide the
minimum product warranty offered by a manufacturer.

(4)  “Sell” or “sale” has the meaning given in s. 459.20 (3t),
Stats.

(5)  “Unprofessional conduct” means the violation of any
standard of professional behavior, which through experience,
state statute or administrative rule has become established in
the practice of speech−language pathology or audiology.

SECTION 13.  HAS 6.18 (1) (h) is repealed and recreated
to read:

HAS 6.18 (1) (h)  Engaged in unprofessional conduct.
SECTION 14.  HAS 6.18 (2) is renumbered HAS 6.18 (3)

and is amended to read:
HAS 6.18 (3) (intro.)  In addition to the grounds bases for

discipline unprofessional conduct set forth in under sub. (1)
(2), the board may reprimand an audiologist, or deny, limit,
suspend or revoke a license or permit, if it finds that the
applicant, licensee or permittee has done any of engaged in the
following unprofessional conduct:
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(a)  Violated any federal or state statute, rule or regulation
that relates to the practice of fitting and dealing in hearing
aids.

(b)  Failed to conduct a direct observation of the ear canal
of a purchaser of person for whom a hearing aid is purchased.

(c)  Sold a hearing aid to for use by a person who was not
given tests by a hearing instrument specialist or an audiologist
licensed under ch. 459, Stats., or in another state using
appropriate procedures and instrumentation and without
proper measurement of the functional intensity and range of
the person’s hearing.

(d)  Failed to calibrate audiometric equipment at least once
every 12 months.

(e)  Failed to maintain adequate records of certification of
calibrations of audiometric equipment for a period of 5 years
or failed to provide access to those records when requested by
the board or its representative.

(f) (intro.)  Failed to clearly state the full terms of sale on
a receipt, as required in s. 459.24 (3m), Stats., or failed to
comply with those terms.  The full terms of sale shall include
all of the following:

1.  The amount and method of payment.
2.  The date, and place and method of delivery.
3.  The terms of any personal guarantee.
4.  The nature and duration of the trial period and extension,

if any.
5.  The refund policy and amount, if any.
6.  The product return and exchange policy, if any.
7.  The product repair policy, if any.
(g) Failed to perform cerumen management in a competent

manner.
SECTION 15.  HAS 6.18 (3) is renumbered HAS 6.18 (2)

and is amended to read:
HAS 6.18 (2) (intro.)  In this section, “conduct in the

practice of speech−language pathology or audiology which
evidences a lack of knowledge or ability to apply professional
principles or skills” includes subchapter and in s. 459.34 (2)
(h), Stats., the following, without limitation because of
enumeration, are violations of standards of professional
behavior that constitute unprofessional conduct:

(a)  Subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322 and 111.34, Stats.,
practicing or attempting to practice speech−language
pathology or audiology while the person’s ability to practice
is impaired by a mental or emotional disorder.

(b)  Using the title “speech−language pathologist,”
“audiologist” or any similar title unless the individual holds
a current speech−language pathologist or audiologist license
granted under s. 459.24 (2) or (3), Stats.

(c)  Violating the conditions or limitations placed upon a
license or permit by the board.

(d)  Engaging in conduct likely to deceive, defraud, or harm
an individual or the public in the course of the practice of
speech−language pathology or audiology.

(e)  Having a license, certificate, permit or registration
issued by another jurisdiction to practice as a
speech−language pathologist or audiologist limited,
suspended or revoked.

(f)  Aiding or abetting an unlicensed person, knowingly
conspiring with an unlicensed person, or allowing one’s
license to be used by an unlicensed person to evade the use of
a title prohibited under s. 459.24 (1) or (1m), Stats.

(g)  Engaging in sexual intimacies in connection with the
practice of speech−language pathology or audiology.

(h)  Failing to fully inform persons served of the nature and
possible adverse effects of services rendered and products
dispensed.

(i)  Failing to evaluate the effectiveness of services
rendered or products dispensed.

(j)  Providing services or dispensing products when
benefits cannot reasonably be expected.

(k)  Guaranteeing the results of any treatment or procedure,
directly or by implication, except that a reasonable statement
of prognosis may be made.

(L)  Evaluating or treating speech, language, or hearing
disorders except in a professional relationship.

(m)  Treating solely by correspondence.
(n)  Failing to maintain adequate records of professional

services rendered and products dispensed for a period of 5
years.

Note:  Speech−language pathologists and audiologists are
also required to maintain patient health care records in
accordance with ss. 146.81 to 146.84, Stats.

(o)  Failing to provide access to records of professional
services rendered and products dispensed when requested by
the board or its representative in connection with an
investigation of a complaint filed against the applicant,
licensee or permittee.

(p)  Failing to record all of the following information in
each client record:

1.  The name of the licensee.
2.  The date of entry of pertinent information.
3.  Information sufficiently legible to allow interpretation

by other individuals for the benefit of the client.
(q)  Misrepresenting diagnostic information, services

rendered, or products dispensed or engaging in any scheme to
defraud in connection with obtaining reimbursement.

(r)  Using persons in research or as the subject of a teaching
demonstration without obtaining their informed consent.

(s)  Failing to practice speech−language pathology or
audiology within the scope of the licensee’s competence,
education, training and experience.

(t)  Delegating the provision of clinical services to an
unlicensed individual for whom the licensee does not provide
direct supervision.

(u)  Delegating the provision of clinical services to a
temporary licensee for whom the licensee does not provide
supervision.

(v)  Knowingly permitting any professional staff or
unlicensed individual to provide clinical services that exceed
that person’s competence, education, training and experience.

(w)  Failing to assign credit to persons who have
contributed to clinical services, a publication, presentation or
product in proportion to their contribution.

(x)  Failed to perform cerumen management in a competent
manner Violating any federal or state statute, rule or
regulation that relates to the practice of speech−language
pathology or audiology, as appropriate.

SECTION 16.  HAS 7.02 is amended to read:
HAS 7.02 Licenses.  Hearing instrument specialist

licenses granted under ss. 459.05 and 459.06, Stats., expire on
February 1 of each even−numbered odd−numbered year.
Except as provided in s. 459.24 (6), Stats., speech−language
pathologist and audiologist licenses granted under ss. 459.24
and 459.28, Stats., expire on February 1 of each
odd−numbered year.

SECTION 17.  HAS 7.03 (1) (d) is amended to read:
HAS 7.03 (1) (d)  Certification Except as provided in par.

(e), certification that the applicant has completed, within the
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2 years immediately preceding the date of his or her
application, 20 hours of continuing education programs or
courses of study approved by the board.

SECTION 18.  HAS 7.03 (1) (e) is created to read:
HAS 7.03 (1) (e)  A new licensee is not required to report

continuing education hours until the second renewal date
following the initial grant of his or her license.

SECTION 19.  HAS 7.03 (2) (c) is amended to read:
HAS 7.03 (2) (c)  Certification Except as provided in par.

(d), certification that the applicant has completed, within the
2 years immediately preceding the date of his or her
application, 20 hours of continuing education programs or
courses of study approved by the board, as provided under s.
HAS 8.03.

SECTION 20.  HAS 7.03 (2) (d) is created to read:
HAS 7.03 (2) (d)  A new licensee is not required to report

continuing education hours until the second renewal date
following the initial grant of his or her license.

SECTION 21.  HAS 8.03 (1) is amended to read:
HAS 8.03 Continuing education. (1)  A licensee Except

as provided in sub. (6), hearing instrument specialists,
audiologists and speech−language pathologists shall
complete at least 20 hours of board approved continuing
education programs or courses of study which pertain to the
practice of fitting and dealing in hearing instruments,
audiology or speech−language pathology, as appropriate, in
each biennial renewal period.

SECTION 22.  HAS 8.03 (6) is created to read:
HAS 8.03 (6)  A new licensee is not required to report

continuing education hours until the second renewal date
following the initial grant of his or her license.

SECTION 23.  HAS 8.04 (1) is amended to read:
HAS 8.04 Approval of continuing education programs

and courses of study. (1)  Except as provided in subs. (6) and
(7), to apply for approval of a continuing education program
or course of study, a sponsor shall submit to the board office,
at least 45 30 calendar days prior to the first date the program
or course of study is offered, an application on forms provided
by the board and shall include the name of the sponsor, the
program or course title, general description and an outline of
the program or course, the dates, the location, the name and
qualifications of each instructor.

Notice of Hearing
Insurance

[CR 05−023]

(Corrected and Reprinted from March 31, 2005
Register)

Notice is hereby given that pursuant to the authority
granted under s. 601.41(3), Stats., and the procedures set forth
in under s. 227.18, Stats., OCI will hold a public hearing to
consider the adoption of the attached proposed rulemaking
order affecting Section Ins 3.09 (19), Wis. Adm. Code,
relating to mortgage guaranty insurance.

Hearing Information
Date: Monday, April 18, 2005
Time: 10:00 a.m., or as soon thereafter as the

matter may be reached.
Place: OCI, Room 223

125 South Webster St 2nd Floor
Madison, WI

Written comments or comments submitted through the
Wisconsin Administrative Rule website at:
https://adminrules.wisconsin.gov on the proposed rule will be
considered. The deadline for submitting comments is 4:00
p.m. on the 7th day after the date for the hearing stated in this
Notice of Hearing.

Written comments should be sent to:
Fred Nepple
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 3.09 (19)
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
PO Box 7873
Madison WI 53707−7873

Analysis Prepared by the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance (OCI)

Statutes interpreted
Sections 600.01, 601.42, 611.19 (1), 611.24, 618.21,

623.02, 623.03, 623.04, 623.11, 627.05, 628.34 (12), and ch.
617 Stats.

Statutory authority
Sections 601.41 (3), 601.42, 611.19 (1), 618.21, 623.02,

623.04, 623.11, 627.05, 628.34 (12), and ch. 617, Stats.

Explanation of the OCI’s authority to promulgate the
proposed rule under these statutes:

The proposed rule modifies the current restriction on
issuance of mortgage guaranty insurance to or for the benefit
of affiliates, and is authorized as governing an unfair trade
practice under s. 628.34 (12), Wis. Stats., and as addressing
financial risk to the insurer governed by statutes allowing the
commissioner to establish standards and reporting
requirements, including ss. under 601.42, 611.19 (1), 618.21,
623.02, 623.04, 623.11, 627.05, and for affiliate transactions
under ch. 617, Stats.

Related Statutes or rules
None

The plain language analysis and summary of the
proposed rule

Under current rules a mortgage guaranty insurer may not
directly or indirectly issue coverage for mortgages originated
by an affiliate, unless the insurer is no more than 50% owned
or controlled by the affiliate.  The proposed rule would permit
the insurer to issue coverage for mortgages originated by the
affiliate but only subject to the same underwriting standards
as are applied to non−affiliates.  The proposed rule requires
the insurer to annually file an officer’s certification of
compliance.

Summary of and preliminary comparison with any
existing or proposed federal regulation that is intended
to address the activities to be regulated by the proposed
rule

None

Comparison of similar rules in adjacent states as found
by OCI

Iowa: None
Illinois: Section 50 ILAC 202.60 (e) of Illinois insurance

regulations prohibits a  mortgage insurer from covering loans
originated by a lender if the lender or its affiliate owns an
equity interest in the mortgage insurer.

Minnesota:  None
Michigan:  None

A summary of the factual data and analytical
methodologies that OCI used in support of the proposed
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rule and how any related findings support the
regulatory approach chosen for the proposed rule

The proposed rule is based on the experience of the Office
regulating and examining mortgage guaranty insurers, and
the expertise of the financial analysts and examiners
responsible for their regulation, including the application of
the existing exception in s. Ins 3.09 (19) (c), Wis. Adm. Code.

Any analysis and supporting documentation that OCI
used in support of OCI’s determination of the rule’s
effect on small businesses under s. 227.114:

The Office reviewed the annual financial reports of
licensed mortgage guaranty insurers.  There are no such
insurers that are small businesses.

If these changes may have a significant fiscal effect on
the private sector, the anticipated costs that will be
incurred by private sector in complying with the rule:

There is no significant fiscal effect on the private sector.
The proposed rule will establish an exception from an existing
prohibition.  The limited reporting requirement included will
not impose any significant cost beyond the existing reporting
requirements.

A description of the Effect on Small Business:
This rule will have no effect on small businesses.

Agency contact person:
A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,

analysis and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the WEB
sites at: http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm

or by contacting Inger Williams, OCI Services Section, at:
Phone: (608) 264−8110
Email: Inger.Williams@OCI.State.WI.US
Address: 125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor

Madison WI 53702
Mail: PO Box 7873, Madison WI 53707−7873

Place where comments are to be submitted and deadline
for submission

The deadline for submitting comments is 4:00 p.m. on the
7th day after the date for the hearing stated in the Notice of
Hearing.

Mailing address:
Fred Nepple
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 3.09 (19)
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
PO Box 7873
Madison WI 53707−7873

Street address:
Fred Nepple
Legal Unit − OCI Rule Comment for Rule Ins 3.09 (19)
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance
125 South Webster St – 2nd Floor
Madison WI 53702
WEB Site: http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm

Summary of Proposed Rule and Fiscal Estimate

For a summary of the rule see the analysis contained in the
attached proposed rulemaking order.  There will be no state or
local government fiscal effect. The full text of the proposed
changes, a summary of the changes and the fiscal estimate are
attached to this Notice of Hearing.

Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

This rule does not impose any additional requirements on
small businesses.

OCI Small Business Regulatory Coordinator

The OCI small business coordinator is Eileen Mallow and
may be reached at phone number (608) 266− 7843 or at email
address Eileen.Mallow@oci.state.wi.us

Contact Person

A copy of the full text of the proposed rule changes,
analysis and fiscal estimate may be obtained from the OCI
internet WEB site at http://oci.wi.gov/ocirules.htm or by
contacting Inger Williams, Services Section, OCI, at:
Inger.Williams@OCI.State.WI.US, (608) 264−8110, 125
South Webster Street – 2nd Floor, Madison WI or PO Box
7873, Madison WI 53707−7873.
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Submittal of proposed rules to the legislature

Please check the Bulletin of Proceedings − Administrative Rules for further information on a particular rule.

Health and Family Services
(CR 04−067)

Chapter HFS 57, relating to group foster homes.

Health and Family Services
(CR 04−142)

Chapter HFS 148, relating to the cancer repository
program.

Insurance
(CR 04−121)

Chapters Ins 3, Apps. 1 to 6 and 8 and Ins 18, relating to
Midicare supplement, replacement, cost and select,
Medicare Advantage and Medicare D prescription
drug plans.

Natural Resources
(CR 04−102)

Chapters NR 406 and 410, relating to asbestos permit
exemption fees and inspection fees and a program for
recovering the exact costs of laboratory fees for sample
analysis for the asbestos program.

Natural Resources
(CR 04−122)

Chapter NR 20, relating to live well standards for
participants in the bass fishing tournament pilot
program established in 2003 Wisconsin Act 249.

Natural Resources
(CR 04−113)

Chapters NR 500, 502, 544 and 545, relating to
recycling.

Regulation and Licensing
(CR 04−124)

Chapter RL 17, relating to supervision by real estate
brokers.

Transportation
(CR 05−009)

Chapters Trans 254 and 255, relating to the standards
and procedures for the issuance of single and multiple
trip oversize and overweight permits.
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Rule orders filed with the revisor of statutes bureau

The following administrative rule orders have been filed with the Revisor of Statutes Bureau and are in the process of being
published.   The date assigned to each rule is the projected effective date.   It is possible that the publication date of these rules could be
changed.   Contact the Revisor of Statutes Bureau at gary.poulson@legis.state.wi.us or (608) 266−7275 for updated information on
the effective dates for the listed rule orders.

Natural Resources
(CR 02−099)

An order affecting ch. NR 328, relating to shore erosion
control of inland lakes and impoundments.

Effective 5−1−05.

Natural Resources
(CR 03−066)

An order affecting chs. NR 404 and 484, relating to
ambient air quality standards.

Effective 6−1−05.

Natural Resources
(CR 04−062)

An order affecting ch. NR 329, relating to miscellaneous
structures in navigable waterways.

Effective 5−1−05.

Natural Resources
(CR 04−063)

An order affecting ch. NR 325, relating to boathouses and
fixed houseboats in navigable waterways.

Effective 5−1−05.

Natural Resources
(CR 04−064)

An order affecting ch. NR 323, relating to fish and
wildlife habitat structures in navigable waterways.

Effective 5−1−05.

Natural Resources
(CR 04−065)

An order affecting chs. NR 300, 310 and 322, relating to
timelines and procedures for exemptions, general
permits and individual permits for activities in navigable
waterways.

Effective 5−1−05.

Natural Resources
(CR 04−066)

An order affecting ch. NR 1, relating to Natural

Resources Board policies on protection and management
of public waters.

Effective 5−1−05.

Natural Resources
(CR 04−078)

An order affecting chs. NR 10 and 19, relating to the
regulation of baiting and feeding to control and manage
chronic wasting disease and bovine tuberculosis.

Effective 5−1−05.

Natural Resources
(CR 04−084)

An order affecting ch. NR 320, relating to the regulation
of bridges and culverts in or over navigable waterways.

Effective 5−1−05.

Natural Resources
(CR 04−085)

An order affecting chs. NR 340 and 341, relating to
regulation of grading on the bank of a navigable
waterway.

Effective 5−1−05.

Natural Resources
(CR 04−086)

An order affecting chs. NR 340 and 343, relating to
regulation of construction, dredging and enlargement of
an artificial water body.

Effective 5−1−05.

Natural Resources
(CR 04−087)

An order affecting ch. NR 345, relating to dredging in
navigable waterways.

Effective 5−1−05.

Regulation and Licensing
(CR 04−120)

An order affecting ch. RL 87, Appendix I, relating to the
2005 edition of the Uniform Standards of Professional
Appraisal Practice (USPAP).

Effective 5−1−05.
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