

State of Misconsin 2019 - 2020 LEGISLATURE

2019 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 21

April 2, 2019 - Introduced by Representatives SHANKLAND, BALLWEG, BOWEN, CONSIDINE, CROWLEY, EMERSON, GRUSZYNSKI, HEBL, HORLACHER, KRUG, MAGNAFICI, MILROY, MURPHY, MYERS, NEUBAUER, RIEMER, ROHRKASTE, SARGENT, SINICKI, SKOWRONSKI, SNYDER, SPIROS, SPREITZER, STUBBS, SUBECK, VANDERMEER, VRUWINK, ZAMARRIPA, OHNSTAD, HESSELBEIN and TUSLER, cosponsored by Senators TESTIN, BEWLEY, DARLING, JOHNSON, MARKLEIN, MILLER, RISSER, L. TAYLOR and WIRCH. Referred to Committee on Rules.

1	Relating to: congratulating the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point men's
2	hockey team for winning the 2019 NCAA Division III National Championship
3	title.
4	Whereas, the UW-Stevens Point men's hockey team defeated Norwich
5	University 3–2 in overtime in the NCAA Division III National Championship; and
6	Whereas, by winning the 2019 NCAA Division III Hockey National
7	Championship, the UW-Stevens Point men's hockey team won their sixth overall
8	title and second in the last four seasons; and
9	Whereas, the UW-Stevens Point men's hockey team demonstrated
10	outstanding athletic performances and displayed a high caliber of sportsmanship
11	throughout the 2019 season; and
12	Whereas, Danny Kiraly gave UW-Stevens Point a 1-0 lead, followed shortly by
13	Colin Raver's team-leading 14th goal of the season; and
14	Whereas, UW-Stevens Point men's hockey had a phenomenal season, having
15	been ranked number 1 and finishing with a record of 29-0-2 for the season; and

2019 – 2020 Legislature – 2 –

1	Whereas, the team was the first ever undefeated Division III men's hockey team
2	to win the national championship; and
3	Whereas, co-captain Tanner Karty was named Most Outstanding Player of the
4	Frozen Four, and Head Coach Tyler Krueger was named Division III Coach of the
5	Year; and
6	Whereas, Danny Kiraly, Tanner Karty, Colin Raver, and Connor Ryckman all
7	were named to the All-Tournament team for the NCAA Division III Men's Hockey
8	Frozen Four Tournament; and
9	Whereas, the team was led by outstanding co-captains Tanner Karty and
10	Stephan Beauvais, and joined by teammates Connor Ryckman, Wesley Ashley,
11	Tristan Conrad, Danny Kiraly, Steven Quagliata, Ryan Bittner, Brandon
12	McReynolds, Kelly O'Brien, Austin Kelly, Ethan Strong, Austin Anselmo, B.J.
13	Duffin, Chris Allemon, Zach Zech, Baxter Kanter, Wilson Northey, Ryan Mackellar,
14	Logan Fredericks, TJ Roo, Colin Raver, Brennen Miller, Luke McElhenie, Carter
15	Roo, Drew McLean, Jordan Fader, Ryan Wagner, and Eli Billing; and
16	Whereas, the team was managed by a talented coaching staff, led by Head
17	Coach Tyler Krueger, Interim Assistant Coach Evan Dixon, Assistant Coach Zach
18	Badalamenti, and Equipment Manager Todd Bialas; and
19	Whereas, the UW-Stevens Point community, Central Wisconsin, and the whole
20	state take pride in the integrity, leadership, and excellence the team has
21	demonstrated in their accomplishments; now, therefore, be it
22	Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the
23	Wisconsin State Legislature do hereby commend the UW-Stevens Point men's
24	hockey team, the coaching staff, the athletic department, and the chancellor on

- 1 winning the 2019 NCAA Division III Men's Hockey National Championship title and
- 2 wish the student athletes continued success in their bright futures.

3

(END)