LRB-2589/1 RAC:wlj

## **2017 SENATE RESOLUTION 3**

March 29, 2017 - Introduced by Senators Hansen, Cowles, Bewley, Miller, RINGHAND and WIRCH. Referred to Committee on Senate Organization.

1	Relating to: honoring the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay women's basketball
2	team.
3	Whereas, the UW-Green Bay women's basketball team captured its 15th
4	tournament championship in the last 20 seasons by defeating University of Detroit
5	Mercy, 64-52, in the championship game of the Horizon League Championship; and
6	Whereas, the Phoenix clinched its 19th-consecutive conference championship
7	by defeating Northern Kentucky University, 74–37, to finish with a 15–3 record and
8	tied with Wright State University for a share of the regular-season championship;
9	and
10	Whereas, UW-Green Bay is one of only three Division I programs that has had
11	a winning record in every year since 1981; and
12	Whereas, UW-Green Bay secured its 40th-consecutive winning season this
13	year and trails only the University of Tennessee (43) for the longest active streak in
14	the nation; and

1	Whereas, redshirt graduate Mehryn Kraker was named the espnW Mid-Major
2	Player of the Year, received the Horizon League Player of the Year award, and was
3	named to the Horizon League All-Academic Team; and
4	Whereas, junior Jessica Lindstrom was named to the All-Horizon League
5	Second Team and All-Defensive Team, redshirt sophomore Jen Wellnitz was named
6	to the All-Defensive Team, and Caitlyn Hibner earned a spot on the All-Freshman
7	Team; and
8	Whereas, the Phoenix will enter the 2017 NCAA women's basketball
9	tournament as a no. 8 seed in the Lexington Region and will face the no. 9-seed
10	Purdue University in the first round in Notre Dame, Indiana; now, therefore, be it
11	Resolved by the senate, That the Wisconsin Senate hereby commends and
12	congratulates the UW-Green Bay women's basketball team on another very
13	successful regular season and wishes them the best of luck in the NCAA tournament;
14	and, be it further
15	Resolved, That the senate chief clerk shall provide copies of this resolution to
16	Head Coach Kevin Borseth and his staff, each member of the team, and Athletic
17	Director Mary Ellen Gillespie.
18	(END)