

State of Misconsin 2017 - 2018 LEGISLATURE

LRB-4819/1 MLJ:jld

2017 SENATE BILL 573

November 20, 2017 – Introduced by Senators WANGGAARD, BEWLEY, HANSEN, VINEHOUT, LASEE, TESTIN and FEYEN, cosponsored by Representatives JACQUE, QUINN, HORLACHER, PETRYK, R. BROOKS, BROSTOFF, GENRICH, KREMER, MILROY, MURPHY, MURSAU, THIESFELDT, TUSLER and SUMMERFIELD. Referred to Joint Committee on Finance.

1 AN ACT relating to: additional assistant district attorney positions.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

This bill creates 20 assistant district attorney positions to be funded and filled in the 2017–19 biennium, with the positions being apportioned across 24 counties to the 23 districts with the lowest current number of FTE positions as a percentage of the estimated total FTE positions needed.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

 $\mathbf{2}$

SECTION 1. Nonstatutory provisions.

3

(1) ADDITIONAL ASSISTANT DISTRICT ATTORNEY POSITIONS. The authorized FTE

- 4 positions for the department of administration are increased by 20.0 GPR positions
- 5 on January 1, 2019, to be funded from the appropriation under section 20.475 (1) (d)

6 of the statutes, for the purpose of creating and filling 20 additional assistant district

- 7 attorney positions which shall be apportioned as follows to the prosecutorial units
- 8 for the following counties:

2017 - 2018 Legislature

SENATE BILL 573

1	(a) Adams County shall receive 0.5 assistant district attorney position.
2	(b) Barron County shall receive 1.0 assistant district attorney position.
3	(c) Bayfield County shall receive 0.5 assistant district attorney position.
4	(d) Brown County shall receive 2.0 assistant district attorney positions.
5	(e) Burnett County shall receive 1.0 assistant district attorney position.
6	(f) Columbia County shall receive 0.5 assistant district attorney position.
7	(g) Douglas County shall receive 0.5 assistant district attorney position.
8	(h) Dunn County shall receive 1.0 assistant district attorney position.
9	(i) Fond du Lac County shall receive 1.0 assistant district attorney position.
10	(j) Forest County shall receive 1.0 assistant district attorney position.
11	(k) Grant County shall receive 0.5 assistant district attorney position.
12	(L) Jackson County shall receive 0.5 assistant district attorney position.
13	(m) Langlade County shall receive 1.0 assistant district attorney position.
14	(n) Lincoln County shall receive 0.5 assistant district attorney position.
15	(o) Monroe County shall receive 1.0 assistant district attorney position.
16	(p) Outagamie County shall receive 2.0 assistant district attorney positions.
17	(q) Polk County shall receive 0.5 assistant district attorney position.
18	(r) Portage County shall receive 1.0 assistant district attorney position.
19	(s) Racine County shall receive 1.0 assistant district attorney position.
20	(t) Shawano and Menominee counties shall receive 0.5 assistant district
21	attorney position.
22	(u) Washburn County shall receive 0.5 assistant district attorney position.
23	(v) Washington County shall receive 0.5 assistant district attorney position.
24	(w) Wood County shall receive 1.5 assistant district attorney position.
25	(END)

- 2 -