

State of Misconsin 2017 - 2018 LEGISLATURE

LRB-5714/1 RAC:amn

## **2017 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 117**

March 22, 2018 – Introduced by Representatives HINTZ, HESSELBEIN, HEBL, SINICKI, SPIROS, SPREITZER, VRUWINK, CROWLEY, SARGENT, FIELDS, SCHRAA and ROHRKASTE, cosponsored by Senators FEYEN and L. TAYLOR. Referred to Committee on Rules.

1	Relating to: honoring the Oshkosh North Spartans, 2018 WIAA Division I State
2	Basketball Champions.
3	Whereas, on Saturday, March 17, 2018, the number 1 ranked Oshkosh North
4	High School Boys Basketball team beat Brookfield East 61-44 in a battle of the
5	Spartans to win the WIAA Division I State Championship; and
6	Whereas, Oshkosh North celebrated its first ever Division 1 State Basketball
7	Championship, capping off a remarkable 27-1 season; and
8	Whereas, Coach Brad Weber, in his first season as head coach, leaned into his
9	mentorship from longtime North coach Frank Schade to emphasize the importance
10	of defense, which led Oshkosh North to hold Brookfield East to 38 percent shooting
11	and its lowest point total of the season during the championship game; and
12	Whereas, senior standout, the Gatorade State Player of the Year and player of
13	the game, Tyrese Haliburton helped lead the team to victory, with 23 of 30 points
14	coming in the second half, and will continue his career next year at Iowa State
15	University; and

2017 – 2018 Legislature – 2 –

1	Whereas, leading scorer for the Spartans, senior Quincy Anderson, with 26
2	points, 7 rebounds, and 2 assists, was named player of the game in the semifinal
3	against Milwaukee Hamilton; and
4	Whereas, graduating seniors Wesley Schiek, Quincy Anderson, Tyrese
5	Haliburton, Will Schmidt, Lovell Washington, Gout Deng, and Josh Schuttenhelm
6	brought experience and knowledge to provide a strong core for the team, and will
7	continue to be successful in their future academic, professional, and
8	basketball-related endeavors; and
9	Whereas, Abraham Schiek, Joey Hickey, Brennon Colburn, Ethan Hinderman,
10	Dylan Krumrei, Matt Berger, Matt Hickey, Josh Dilling, and Luke Salzsieder will
11	return next year to bring championship experience to the team; and
12	Whereas, the State Championship brings pride not only to Oshkosh North and
13	all alumni, but to the city of Oshkosh as a whole; now, therefore, be it
14	<b>Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That</b> the legislature, in
15	recognition of the Oshkosh North Boys Basketball Team, does celebrate and
16	commend the 2018 WIAA State Champions.
17	(END)