

State of Misconsin 2015 - 2016 LEGISLATURE

2015 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 10

February 9, 2015 – Introduced by Representatives JORGENSEN, A. OTT, BALLWEG, CONSIDINE, DANOU, HEBL, HINTZ, HORLACHER, HUTTON, JACQUE, KAHL, KERKMAN, KESSLER, KOLSTE, MILROY, MURPHY, OHNSTAD, RIPP, SHANKLAND, SPIROS, SPREITZER, THIESFELDT, TRANEL, VORPAGEL, VOS, WACHS, ZEPNICK, HEATON and SUBECK, cosponsored by Senators RINGHAND, ERPENBACH, HARSDORF, MARKLEIN, NASS, OLSEN, L. TAYLOR, VINEHOUT and WIRCH. Referred to Committee on Rules.

1	Relating to: commending the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater football team
2	for winning the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division III Football
3	National Championship title.
4	Whereas, the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater Warhawks football team
5	achieved its second consecutive perfect season in 2014, winning all 15 of its games,
6	extending its current winning streak to 32 games, and defeating Mount Union 43–34
7	in the Stagg Bowl to earn the NCAA Division III Football National Championship
8	title; and
9	Whereas, this is the sixth time in eight years that the football team has won the
10	NCAA Division III title and the ninth time in ten years that the team has won the
11	Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference title; and
12	Whereas, the team has been led by a dedicated and talented coaching staff, led
13	by American Football Coaches Association Division III National Coach of the Year
14	Lance Leipold and Defensive Coach Kevin Bullis, who has since taken over the
15	position of Head Coach after the recent departure of Coach Leipold; and

2015 – 2016 Legislature – 2 –

1	Whereas, the team has also benefited from many experienced student athletes,
2	including senior quarterback Matt Behrendt, who was named WIAC Offensive
3	Player of the Year and Stagg Bowl XLII Most Valuable Player, senior wide receiver
4	Jake Kumerow, who was selected as D3football.com National Offensive Player of the
5	Year, and senior defensive back Brady Grayvold, who earned first team All-America
6	accolades from three different organizations; and
7	Whereas, the team has brought honor and positive attention to the University
8	of Wisconsin-Whitewater and pride to its community and state as a whole; now,
9	therefore, be it
10	Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the
11	Wisconsin legislature commend the Warhawks, their coaching staff, and their
12	student athletes on winning the 2014 National Collegiate Athletic Association
13	Division III Football National Championship title and wish them great success in all

- 14 future endeavors
- 15

(END)