

State of Misconsin 2013 - 2014 LEGISLATURE



## 2013 SENATE BILL 5

January 31, 2013 – Introduced by Senator CARPENTER. Referred to Energy, Consumer Protection, and Government Reform.

1 AN ACT to repeal 4.01 to 4.99; to amend 4.001 and 13.01; and to repeal and

 $\mathbf{2}$ 

*recreate* 4.009 of the statutes; **relating to:** the number of legislative districts.

#### Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

Currently, the senate consists of 33 members representing 33 senate districts and the assembly consists of 99 members representing 99 assembly districts. Each senate district is composed of three underlying assembly districts.

This bill changes the number of senators to 25 and the number of representatives to the assembly to 75. Under the bill, each senate district is composed of three underlying assembly districts. The bill specifies the assembly district numbers that constitute each senate district but does not specify the boundaries of assembly districts. The boundaries of assembly districts under current statutes are based on the 2011 redistricting.

The bill first applies with respect to the next decennial legislative redistricting that occurs after its enactment.

# The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

- **SECTION 1.** 4.001 of the statutes is amended to read:
- 4 **4.001 Legislative districts established.** This state is divided into 33 25
- 5 senate districts, each composed of 3 assembly districts. Each senate district shall be

2013 – 2014 Legislature

### **SENATE BILL 5**

1	entitled to elect one member of the senate. Each assembly district shall be entitled
2	to elect one representative to the assembly.
3	<b>SECTION 2.</b> 4.009 of the statutes is repealed and recreated to read:
4	<b>4.009 Senate districts. (1)</b> FIRST SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 1st,
5	2nd, and 3rd assembly districts constitutes the 1st senate district.
6	(2) SECOND SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 4th, 5th, and 6th assembly
7	districts constitutes the 2nd senate district.
8	(3) THIRD SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 7th, 8th, and 9th assembly
9	districts constitutes the 3rd senate district.
10	(4) FOURTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 10th, 11th, and 12th
11	assembly districts constitutes the 4th senate district.
12	(5) FIFTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 13th, 14th, and 15th
13	assembly districts constitutes the 5th senate district.
14	(6) SIXTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 16th, 17th, and 18th
15	assembly districts constitutes the 6th senate district.
16	(7) SEVENTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 19th, 20th, and 21st
17	assembly districts constitutes the 7th senate district.
18	(8) EIGHTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 22nd, 23rd, and 24th
19	assembly districts constitutes the 8th senate district.
20	(9) NINTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 25th, 26th, and 27th
21	assembly districts constitutes the 9th senate district.
22	(10) TENTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 28th, 29th, and 30th
23	assembly districts constitutes the 10th senate district.
24	(11) ELEVENTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 31st, 32nd, and 33rd
25	assembly districts constitutes the 11th senate district.

- 2 -

2013 – 2014 Legislature – 3 –

**SENATE BILL 5** 

1	(12) TWELFTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 34th, 35th, and 36th
2	assembly districts constitutes the 12th senate district.
3	(13) THIRTEENTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 37th, 38th, and 39th
4	assembly districts constitutes the 13th senate district.
5	(14) FOURTEENTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 40th, 41st, and 42nd
6	assembly districts constitutes the 14th senate district.
7	(15) FIFTEENTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 43rd, 44th, and 45th
8	assembly districts constitutes the 15th senate district.
9	(16) SIXTEENTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 46th, 47th, and 48th
10	assembly districts constitutes the 16th senate district.
11	(17) SEVENTEENTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 49th, 50th, and 51st
12	assembly districts constitutes the 17th senate district.
13	(18) EIGHTEENTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 52nd, 53rd, and 54th
14	assembly districts constitutes the 18th senate district.
15	(19) NINETEENTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 55th, 56th, and 57th
16	assembly districts constitutes the 19th senate district.
17	(20) TWENTIETH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 58th, 59th, and 60th
18	assembly districts constitutes the 20th senate district.
19	(21) TWENTY-FIRST SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 61st, 62nd, and
20	63rd assembly districts constitutes the 21st senate district.
21	(22) TWENTY-SECOND SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 64th, 65th, and
22	66th assembly districts constitutes the 22nd senate district.
23	(23) TWENTY-THIRD SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 67th, 68th, and
24	69th assembly districts constitutes the 23rd senate district.

2013 – 2014 Legislature – 4 –

### **SENATE BILL 5**

1	(24) TWENTY-FOURTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 70th, 71st, and
2	72nd assembly districts constitutes the 24th senate district.
3	(25) TWENTY-FIFTH SENATE DISTRICT. The combination of the 73rd, 74th, and
4	75th assembly districts constitutes the 25th senate district.
5	<b>SECTION 3.</b> 4.01 to 4.99 of the statutes are repealed.
6	<b>SECTION 4.</b> 13.01 of the statutes is amended to read:
7	<b>13.01</b> Number of legislators. The senate consists of $33 \underline{25}$ and the assembly
8	of <del>99</del> <u>75</u> members.
9	SECTION 5. Initial applicability.
10	(1) This act first applies with respect to the next decennial legislative
11	redistricting that occurs after the effective date of this subsection.
12	(END)