

State of Misconsin 2013 - 2014 LEGISLATURE



2013 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 54

September 17, 2013 – Introduced by Representatives Richards, Barca, Berceau, Bernard Schaber, Bies, Brooks, Clark, Genrich, Goyke, Hebl, Hesselbein, Jorgensen, Kahl, Kaufert, Knodl, Kooyenga, Mason, Murphy, Nass, Ohnstad, A. Ott, Pasch, Pope, Ringhand, Sargent, Shankland, Sinicki, C. Taylor, Vos, Wright and Zepnick, cosponsored by Senators Risser, Cowles, T. Cullen, Darling, Hansen, Harris, Harsdorf, Jauch, Kedzie, C. Larson, Lazich, Lehman, Olsen, Shilling and L. Taylor. Referred to Committee on Rules.

1	Relating to: congratulating Steve Walters on being named Wisconsin Journalist of
2	the Year.
3	Whereas, Steve Walters has been named the Milwaukee Press Club's first-ever
4	Wisconsin Journalist of the Year; and
5	Whereas, established in 1885, the Milwaukee Press Club is the oldest
6	continuously operating press club in North America; and
7	Whereas, Steve Walters covered the Iowa legislature in the 1970s for the
8	Dubuque Telegraph Herald and the Des Moines Tribune, before becoming the
9	managing editor of the Waukesha Freeman; and
10	Whereas, Steve Walters covered Wisconsin's capitol for the ${\it Milwaukee}$ ${\it Sentinel}$
11	and the $\it Milwaukee Journal Sentinel from 1988$ to 2009, serving as the capitol bureau
12	chief of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel for 14 of those years; and
13	Whereas, Steve Walters has taught undergraduate reporting and writing
14	classes at the UW-Madison School of Journalism and Mass Communication since
15	1992; and

1

2

3

4

5

6

Whereas, Steve Walters has found new ways of informing the public about the goings-on of Wisconsin state government as senior producer for WisconsinEye since 2009; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature congratulate Steve Walters on being named Wisconsin Journalist of the Year by the Milwaukee Press Club.

7 (END)