LRB-2204/2 RPN:jld:nwn

2007 ASSEMBLY BILL 393

June 7, 2007 – Introduced by Representative Bies, cosponsored by Senator Taylor, by request of Director of State Courts. Referred to Committee on Corrections and Courts.

AN ACT to amend 753.06 (5) (b), 753.06 (6) (c), 753.06 (6) (e), 753.06 (7) (h), 753.06 (10) (am), 753.06 (10) (d) and 753.06 (10) (k) of the statutes; relating to: adding a circuit court branch in Barron, Chippewa, Dodge, Green, Juneau, Monroe, and St. Croix counties.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

As of August 1, 2008, this bill adds one additional circuit court branch for Barron, Chippewa, Dodge, Green, Juneau, Monroe, and St. Croix counties.

For further information see the *state and local* fiscal estimate, which will be printed as an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

- **SECTION 1.** 753.06 (5) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
- 6 753.06 (5) (b) Green County. The circuit has one branch. Commencing August
- 7 <u>1, 2008, the circuit has 2 branches.</u>
- 8 **Section 2.** 753.06 (6) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:

ASSEMBLY BILL 393

1	753.06 (6) (c) Dodge County. The circuit has 3 branches. <u>Commencing August</u>
2	1, 2008, the circuit has 4 branches.
3	Section 3. 753.06 (6) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:
4	753.06 (6) (e) Juneau County. The circuit has one branch. Commencing August
5	1, 2008, the circuit has 2 branches.
6	Section 4. 753.06 (7) (h) of the statutes is amended to read:
7	753.06 (7) (h) Monroe County. The circuit has 2 branches. Commencing
8	August 1, 2010, the circuit has 3 branches.
9	Section 5. 753.06 (10) (am) of the statutes is amended to read:
10	753.06 (10) (am) Barron County. The circuit has 2 branches. Commencing
11	August 1, 2008, the circuit has 3 branches.
12	Section 6. 753.06 (10) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:
13	753.06 (10) (d) Chippewa County. The circuit has 2 branches. Commencing
14	August 1, 2008, the circuit has 3 branches.
15	SECTION 7. 753.06 (10) (k) of the statutes is amended to read:
16	753.06 (10) (k) St. Croix County. The circuit has 3 branches. Commencing
17	August 1, 2008, the circuit has 4 branches.
18	Section 8. Nonstatutory provisions.
19	(1) The initial election for circuit judge for branch 2 of the circuit court for Green
20	County shall be at the spring election of 2008 for terms commencing August 1, 2008,
21	and ending July 31, 2014.
22	(2) The initial election for circuit judge for branch 4 of the circuit court for Dodge
23	County shall be at the spring election of 2008 for terms commencing August 1, 2008,
24	and ending July 31, 2014.

ASSEMBLY BILL 393

St. Croix counties.

24

1	(3) The initial election for circuit judge for branch 2 of the circuit court for
2	Juneau County shall be at the spring election of 2008 for terms commencing August
3	1, 2008, and ending July 31, 2014.
4	(4) The initial election for circuit judge for branch 3 of the circuit court for
5	Monroe County shall be at the spring election of 2010 for terms commencing August
6	1, 2010, and ending July 31, 2016.
7	(5) The initial election for circuit judge for branch 3 of the circuit court for
8	Barron County shall be at the spring election of 2008 for terms commencing August
9	1, 2008, and ending July 31, 2014.
10	(6) The initial election for circuit judge for branch 3 of the circuit court for
11	Chippewa County shall be at the spring election of 2008 for terms commencing
12	August 1, 2008, and ending July 31, 2014.
13	(7) The initial election for circuit judge for branch 4 of the circuit court for St.
14	Croix County shall be at the spring election of 2008 for terms commencing August
15	1, 2008, and ending July 31, 2014.
16	(8) The authorized FTE positions for the circuit courts are increased by $6.0~\mathrm{GPR}$
17	circuit judge positions on August 1, 2008, to be funded from the appropriation under
18	section $20.625\ (1)\ (a)$ of the statutes, to provide 6 additional circuit court judges for
19	the circuit court branches created by this act.
20	(9) The authorized FTE positions for the circuit courts are increased by $6.0~\mathrm{GPR}$
21	court reporter positions on August 1, 2008, to be funded from the appropriation
22	under section 20.625 (1) (a) of the statutes, to provide 6 court reporters for the circuit
23	court branches created by this act in Green, Dodge, Juneau, Barron, Chippewa, and

ASSEMBLY BILL 393

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

(10) The authorized FTE positions for the circuit courts are increased by 1.0
GPR circuit judge position on August 1, 2010, to be funded from the appropriation
under section 20.625 (1) (a) of the statutes, to provide one circuit court judge for the
Monroe County circuit court branch created by this act.

(11) The authorized FTE positions for the circuit courts are increased by 1.0 GPR court reporter position on August 1, 2010, to be funded from the appropriation under section 20.625 (1) (a) of the statutes, to provide one court reporter for the Monroe County circuit court branch created by this act.

9 (END)