1

15

nation"; and

State of Misconsin 2003 - 2004 LEGISLATURE

LRB-2464/1 PJD:cjs:pg

2003 ASSEMBLY RESOLUTION 13

April 18, 2003 - Introduced by Representatives Lassa, Hahn, Boyle, Jeskewitz, Plouff and Huber. Referred to Committee on Rules.

Relating to: commending the public service of the environmentalist Ingeborg Lothe

2 upon her induction into the Wisconsin Conservation Hall of Fame. 3 Whereas, Ingeborg Lothe was born in Columbia County on September 16, 1915; 4 and 5 Whereas, Ingeborg Lothe grew up on the Jens and Helga Viken homestead in rural Sun Prairie where she attended a one-room school for her early years of 6 7 education, later graduating from Madison East High School; and 8 Whereas, Ingeborg Lothe was the first woman elected chair of the Columbia 9 County Board, and served on the Governor's Council on Forest Productivity from 10 1983 to 1986 and the Wisconsin Waste Facility Siting Board from 1984 to 1990; and Whereas, Ingeborg Lothe was a pioneer in local and regional recycling efforts, 11 12 chairing the Columbia County Solid Waste Commission when it developed its 13 innovative recycling program that was recognized by the National Recycling Coalition in 1986 for being the "most outstanding regional recycling plan in the 14

 $\mathbf{2}$

Whereas, Ingeborg Lothe lead efforts to develop the MacKenzie Environmental Center, located outside of Poynette, into a first–rate environmental education learning center, organizing the "Friends of the MacKenzie Environmental Center" and serving as that group's first president for 7 years; and

Whereas, Ingeborg Lothe lead efforts to establish the Columbia County co-composting project, which served as an alternative to disposing solid waste in landfills; and

Whereas, Ingeborg Lothe dedicated her time to countless organizations to improve not only her community, but the entire the State of Wisconsin; and

Whereas, Ingeborg Lothe received recognition from Wisconsin Governors Warren Knowles and Anthony Earl, and has won the Who's Who in American Women Award, the Mrs. Lyndon Baines Johnson Award for Keep America Beautiful, the Wisconsin State Theodora Yeoman's Citizenship Award, the Shell Oil Company Award for Outstanding Leadership, the United States Forestry 75th Anniversary Award, and the President's Volunteer Action Award from President Reagan; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, That the members of the Wisconsin assembly commend the commitment and passion that Ingeborg continues to show for the environment and her community and congratulates her on her induction into the Wisconsin Conservation Hall of Fame; and, be it further

Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk shall provide copies of this resolution to Ingeborg and her daughter, Jean Doherty of DeForest, Wisconsin.