

2001 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 20

January 30, 2001 – Introduced by Representatives Black, Vrakas, Young, Gunderson, Sherman, Hebl, Rhoades, Ryba, Boyle, Ladwig, Starzyk, Richards, Hundertmark, Wood, Pocan, Skindrud, Hoven, Berceau, Townsend, J. Lehman, Miller, Olsen, Ward, Jeskewitz, Johnsrud, Albers, Owens, Coggs, Kreuser, Lippert, Seratti, Turner, Williams, Nass, Lassa, Travis and Petrowski, cosponsored by Senators Risser, Plache, Erpenbach, Grobschmidt, Roessler, Chvala, S. Fitzgerald, Burke, Moen, Wirch, Huelsman, Baumgart, Lazich, Darling, Schultz, Hansen, George and Farrow. Referred to Committee on Rules.

Relating to: commending the student athletes, coaches, and staff of the University 1 $\mathbf{2}$ of Wisconsin-Madison Volleyball Team for their achievements. 3 Whereas, the 2000 Wisconsin Volleyball Badgers have completed their most 4 successful season ever, with a record of 33 wins and 4 losses; and 5 Whereas, the Wisconsin Volleyball Badgers are the 2000 Big Ten Champions, with a conference record of 18 wins and 2 losses; and 6 7 Whereas, the Wisconsin Volleyball Badgers swept through the NCAA 8 Volleyball Championships to play for the national title versus a perennial volleyball 9 powerhouse; and 10 Whereas, the Wisconsin Volleyball Badgers' tremendous effort to end the 2000 11 season with a national runner-up finish made us all extremely proud; and 12 Whereas, out of all of the collegiate volleyball teams in America, only one team would not trade places with our Wisconsin Volleyball Badgers; and 13 14 Whereas, Head Coach Pete Waite and his coaching staff led this group of 15 exceptional young women to its unprecedented success; and

Whereas, the citizens of Wisconsin and Badger alumni everywhere proudly share in the national recognition that the volleyball team has brought our great university and our great state; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the Wisconsin legislature commends the student athletes, coaches, and staff of the University of Wisconsin-Madison Volleyball Team for their achievements; and, be it further

Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint resolution to the members of the Wisconsin Volleyball Badgers: Meggan Kohnen, Jamie Gardner, Jenny Maastricht, Claudia Rodriguez, Lizzy Fitzgerald, Lisa Zukowski, Marie Meyer, Korie Gardner, Lori Rittenhouse, Erin Byrd, Sara Urbanek, Morgan Shields, Angie Sanger, Anya Carlson-Van Dort, Sherisa Livingston, Jill Maier, Head Coach Pete Waite, Assistant Coach Christy Johnson, Assistant Coach Robert Pulliza, and University of Wisconsin Athletic Director Pat Richter.

(END)