

State of Misconsin 1999 - 2000 LEGISLATURE

## **1999 ASSEMBLY RESOLUTION 20**

November 3, 1999 – Introduced by Representatives PETTIS, JENSEN, HAHN, SPILLNER, SUDER, RYBA, HUTCHISON, SYKORA, KELSO, KEDZIE and GOETSCH. Referred to Committee on Rules.

1	Relating to: memorializing Congress to enact the Internet Access Charge
2	Prohibition Act of 1999.
3	Whereas, the Internet has become a global resource and continues to grow and
4	generate tremendous social and economic benefits to the people of this state; and
5	Whereas, the growth of the Internet has been due in large part to the absence
6	of intrusive governmental intervention such as by the Federal Communications
7	Commission; and
8	Whereas, the imposition of Internet access charges by the Federal
9	Communications Commission would thwart the growth of the Internet to the
10	detriment of the people of this state; and
11	Whereas, H.R. 1291, which is entitled, the Internet Access Charge Prohibition
12	Act of 1999, has been introduced in the United States House of Representatives; and
13	Whereas, the Internet Access Charge Prohibition Act of 1999 prohibits the
14	Federal Communications Commission from imposing Internet access charges on
15	interactive computer services or any other information service provider; and

1999 – 2000 Legislature – 2 –

1	Whereas, it is in the social and economic interests of the state of Wisconsin that
2	Internet information services continue to be deployed as rapidly and efficiently to as
3	many Americans as possible by preventing the Federal Communications
4	Commission from applying interstate access charges to providers of Internet
5	services; now, therefore, be it
6	<b>Resolved by the assembly, That</b> the assembly of the state of Wisconsin urges
7	the President and Congress to enact the Internet Access Charge Prohibition Act of
8	1999; and, be it further
9	<i>Resolved, That</i> the assembly chief clerk shall provide a copy of this resolution
10	to the President of the United States, to each member of the Wisconsin congressional
11	delegation and to each member of the U.S. Senate and House commerce committees.
12	(END)