

1999 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 98

December 30, 1999 – Introduced by Representatives MUSSER, LA FAVE, RYBA, HASENOHRL, NASS, SPILLNER and HOVEN, cosponsored by Senators GROBSCHMIDT, WIRCH and RISSER. Referred to Committee on Rules.

1	Relating to: memorializing Congress to make daylight savings time permanent
2	throughout the United States.
3	Whereas, many persons enjoy daylight savings time during part of the year;
4	and
5	Whereas, daylight savings time accords better with the rhythms of human life
6	and allows people to spend more time in outdoor activities in the evening; and
7	Whereas, daylight savings time increases productivity, improves health,
8	increases recreational activities and reduces auto accidents, crime and energy
9	consumption; and
10	Whereas, during World Wars I and II and during the oil crises of 1974 and 1975,
11	our nation turned to year-round daylight savings time as an economy measure to
12	conserve energy and improve the quality of life; and
13	Whereas, arguments against daylight savings time, such as the claim that it is
14	dangerous in the morning, are not supported by statistics; and

1999 – 2000 Legislature – 2 –

1	Whereas, the department of transportation has found a significant decrease in
2	traffic accidents and fatalities during extended periods of evening daylight; and
3	Whereas, changing clocks and schedules twice a year is considered a burden by
4	many citizens and businesses; and
5	Whereas, under current federal law the states may not have permanent
6	daylight savings time throughout the year; now, therefore, be it
7	Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the legislature of
8	the state of Wisconsin hereby memorializes Congress to pass legislation that would
9	establish daylight savings time year–round in the United States; and, be it further
10	Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk shall provide a copy of this joint
11	resolution to the governor of Wisconsin, to each member of the Wisconsin
12	congressional delegation, to the President and Vice President of the United States,
13	to each member of the President's cabinet and to the chief clerks of the U.S. senate
14	and U.S. house of representatives.
15	(END)