LRB-3249/1 TAY&RPN:wlj:kjf

1999 ASSEMBLY BILL 536

October 14, 1999 – Introduced by Representatives Sykora, Balow, Albers, Kedzie, Powers, Nass, Owens, Underheim, Olsen, Hebl, Schooff, Wood, Kreuser, Steinbrink and Huebsch, cosponsored by Senators Wirch, Robson, Erpenbach, Huelsman, Roessler, A. Lasee, Schultz and Zien. Referred to Committee on Judiciary and Personal Privacy.

- AN ACT to amend 753.06 (2) (a), 753.06 (4) (e), 753.06 (5) (b), 753.06 (5) (c), 753.06
- 2 (6) (e) and 753.06 (10) (d) of the statutes; **relating to:** increasing the number
- 3 of circuit court branches.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

This bill adds one circuit court branch in each of the following counties:

Chippewa Juneau Winnebago

Green Kenosha Rock

The circuit court judges for those branches are elected for six-year terms. The terms of the new branches for the circuit courts commence on August 1, 2001.

The bill also provides a court reporter for each judge.

For further information see the *state and local* fiscal estimate, which will be printed as an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:

- **SECTION 1.** 753.06 (2) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
- 5 753.06 (2) (a) Kenosha County. The circuit has 7 branches. Commencing
- 6 August 1, 2001, the circuit has 8 branches.

ASSEMBLY BILL 536

24

1	Section 2. 753.06 (4) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:
2	753.06 (4) (e) Winnebago County. The circuit has 6 branches. Commencing
3	August 1, 2001, the circuit has 7 branches.
4	Section 3. 753.06 (5) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
5	753.06 (5) (b) Green County. The circuit has one branch. Commencing August
6	1, 2001, the circuit has 2 branches.
7	Section 4. 753.06 (5) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:
8	753.06 (5) (c) Rock County. The circuit has 7 branches. Commencing August
9	1, 2001, the circuit has 8 branches.
10	Section 5. 753.06 (6) (e) of the statutes is amended to read:
11	753.06 (6) (e) Juneau County. The circuit has one branch. Commencing August
12	1, 2001, the circuit has 2 branches.
13	Section 6. 753.06 (10) (d) of the statutes is amended to read:
14	753.06 (10) (d) Chippewa County. The circuit has 2 branches. Commencing
15	August 1, 2001, the circuit has 3 branches.
16	Section 7. Nonstatutory provisions; circuit courts.
17	(1) CIRCUIT COURT BRANCHES, 2001. The initial election for circuit judge for branch
18	3 of the circuit court for Chippewa County, for branch 2 of the circuit court for Green
19	County, for branch 2 of the circuit court for Juneau County, for branch 8 of the circuit
20	court for Kenosha County, for branch 8 of the circuit court for Rock County and for
21	branch 7 of the circuit court for Winnebago County shall be at the spring election of
22	2001 for terms commencing August 1, 2001, and ending July 31, 2007.
23	(2) CIRCUIT JUDGE POSITIONS. The authorized FTE positions for the circuit courts

are increased by 6.0 GPR circuit judge positions on August 1, 2001, to be funded from

ASSEMBLY BILL 536

1

2

3

4

5

6

the appropriation under section 20.625 (1) (a) of the statutes, to provide additional
circuit court judges for the circuit court branches created by this act.

(3) COURT REPORTER POSITIONS. The authorized FTE positions for the circuit courts are increased by 6.0 GPR court reporter positions on August 1, 2001, to be funded from the appropriation under section 20.625 (1) (a) of the statutes, to provide one court reporter for each of the circuit court branches created in this act.

7 (END)