

1

1997 ASSEMBLY RESOLUTION 23

March 25, 1998 – Introduced by Representatives Brandemuehl, Ward, Freese, Powers, Albers, Baldwin, Boyle, Dobyns, Goetsch, Johnsrud, Musser, Ott, Owens, Ryba, Spillner, Staskunas, Steinbrink and Sykora. Referred to Committee on Rules.

Relating to: commending the University of Wisconsin-Platteville men's basketball

2	team.
3	Whereas, the University of Wisconsin-Platteville men's basketball team won
4	the NCAA Division III national championship, defeating Williams College in the
5	semifinal game and Hope College in the championship game; and
6	Whereas, those 2 victories brought the Pioneers' record for the season to 30 wins
7	and no losses; and
8	Whereas, this national championship was the Pioneers' 3rd in this decade, and
9	their record for the decade is 236 wins and only 25 losses, making them the most
10	successful team at any level of NCAA basketball in this decade; and
11	Whereas, Coach Bo Ryan is the winningest coach at the NCAA Division III
12	level, with an 81.4% winning percentage; and
13	Whereas, the Pioneers this year also became the first team to win 4 consecutive
14	Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference championships; and

Whereas, the University of Wisconsin-Platteville basketball players also starred in the classroom, 7 of them having been named to the National Basketball Coaches Honor Roll because they achieved a grade point average of at least 3.2; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, That the members of the Wisconsin assembly commend the University of Wisconsin-Platteville men's basketball team and Coach Bo Ryan for their remarkable success over the years and for their perfect championship season and wish them continued success; and, be it further

Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk shall provide a copy of this resolution to each of the Pioneers' coaches and players.

(END)