1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

Weyerhaeuser; and

LRB-4664/4 JS:kmg:ijs

1997 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 91

January 13, 1998 - Introduced by Committee on Rules. Referred to Calendar.

Relating to: significant Wisconsin persons.

Whereas, this being Wisconsin's sesquicentennial year, it is an appropriate time to recognize some of the significant persons who were born or lived in this state; and

Whereas, among Wisconsin's famous scientists, astronauts and inventors are

Whereas, among Wisconsin's famous scientists, astronauts and inventors are Roy Chapman Andrews, Stephen Babcock, John Bardeen, Aldo Leopold, Albert Ochsner, C. Latham Sholes, "Deke" Slayton, Harry Steenbock and Howard Temin; and

Whereas, Wisconsin's contributions to the world of business include Edward Allis, Friedrich Bernegger, Jerome Case, Patrick Cudahy, Ole Evinrude, Bernhard A. and Robert C. Greenheck, Samuel Johnson, Samuel Curtis Johnson, Walter Kohler, Carl Laemmle, Rudolph and Bernhard M. Mautz, George Mead, Oscar F. Mayer, George S. Parker, Fred Peterson, Rueben Trane and Frederick

 $\mathbf{2}$

Whereas, Wisconsin's war heroes include Richard Bong, William Leahy, Arthur MacArthur, Jr., Douglas MacArthur, Billy Mitchell and Mitchell Red Cloud; and Whereas, to the world of sports Wisconsin has contributed Curley Lambeau, Vince Lombardi, Red Smith, Brett Favre, Mike Holmgren and George C. Poage; and Whereas, noted Wisconsin artists, actors, entertainers and writers include Don Ameche, Aaron Bohrod, August Derleth, Edna Ferber, Lynn Fontane, Zona Gale, Hamlin Garland, Owen Gromme, Harry Houdini, Liberace, Alfred Lunt, Frederic March, John Muir, Lorine Niedecker, Georgia O'Keefe, Albert Ringling, Brooke Stevens, Spencer Tracy, Orson Wells, Laura Ingalls Wilder and Frank Lloyd Wright; and

Whereas, Wisconsin's famous scholars and educators include John Bascom, John R. Commons, J. Willard Hurst, Frederick Jackson Turner, Charles Van Hise and Thorstein Veblen; and

Whereas, Wisconsin has produced such notable politicians, humanitarians and social activists as Les Aspin, Olympia Brown, Carrie Chapman Catt, Bernard J. Cigrand, Ezekiel Gillespi, William T. Green, John Gronouski, Mildred Fish Harnack, Cordelia Harvey, Belle Case La Follette, Robert M. La Follette, Sr., Melvin Laird, Mary Lasker, Arthur MacArthur, Sr., Henry Maier, Charles McCarthy, Joseph McCarthy, Helen Farnsworth Mears, Golda Meir, Gaylord Nelson, William Proxmire, Jeremiah Rusk, Carl Schurz, Margaretha Meyer Schurz, William Vilas, Cadwallader Washburn, Francis Willard and Laura Ross Wolcott; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature, upon the occasion of Wisconsin's sesquicentennial year, salute the many notable residents of this state who have made significant contributions and

- 1 urge all Wisconsinites to learn more about those persons and to emulate them; and,
- 2 be it further
- 3 Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk shall provide a copy of this joint
- 4 resolution to the Wisconsin Sesquicentennial Commission.

5 (END)