1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

LRB-4671/3 JS:kmg&mfd:hmh

1997 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 89

January 13, 1998 - Introduced by Committee on Rules. Referred to Calendar.

Relating to: 1	nonoring	Wisconsin	veterans.
----------------	----------	-----------	-----------

Whereas, an appropriate way to celebrate Wisconsin's sesquicentennial is to honor persons and groups who have made significant contributions to this state and this country; and

Whereas, high on that list are Wisconsin veterans; and

Whereas, those contributions began shortly after Wisconsin became a state, during the Civil War; and

Whereas, Wisconsin sent many of its young men, including the members of the fabled Iron Brigade, to that war; they acquitted themselves valiantly; and many gave their lives; and

Whereas, in all of the succeeding wars and in times of peace, military personnel from this state, both men and women, served their country in the armed forces; and Whereas, 91,379 persons from Wisconsin served in the Civil War and 12,216 died as a result; 5,469 persons from Wisconsin served in the Spanish-American War and 134 died as a result; 4,168 persons from Wisconsin were active in the Mexican

 $\mathbf{2}$

border service; 122,215 persons from Wisconsin served in World War I and 3,932 died as a result; 332,200 persons from Wisconsin served in World War II and 8,390 died as a result; 132,000 persons from Wisconsin served in the Korean war and 729 died as a result; 165,400 persons from Wisconsin served in the Vietnam War and 1,239 died as a result; 400 persons from Wisconsin served in the conflicts in Lebanon and Grenada and one died as a result; 520 persons from Wisconsin served in the conflict in Panama and one died as a result; 10,400 persons from Wisconsin served in Operation Desert Shield and Operation Desert Storm and 11 died as a result; and 426 persons from Wisconsin served in Somalia and 2 died as a result; and

Whereas, Wisconsin's Medal of Honor winners include Peter Anderson, Jefferson Coates, Richard Cosgriff, James Croft, John Dutham, Horace Ellis, William Ellis, John Hayes, Benjamin Hilliker, John Johnson, Arthur MacArthur, Daniel Moore, Dennis Murphy, Albert O'Connor, John Patterson, George Pond, James Pond, William Sickles, Thomas Toohey, Edwin Truell, Francis Waller, George Albee, Joseph Cable, Theodore Goldin, Frank Hill, Richard Nolan, Marcus Robbins, Clarion Windus, Oscar Brookins, Hugh McGrath, Frank Young, Guy Castle, Abraham De Somer, John Siegel, Clayton Slack, Harold Agerholm, Beauford Anderson, Richard Bong, Elmer Burr, Gerald Endl, Kenneth Gruennert, John Jerstad, Douglas MacArthur, Andrew Miller, Charles Mower, Beryl Newman, Truman Olson, Oscar Peterson, Franklin Van Valkenburgh, Cassin Young, Stanley Christianson, Melvin Handrich, Einar Ingman, Mitchell Red Cloud, Jerome Sudut, Leslie Bellrichard, Harold Fritz, Robert Modrzejewski, Lance Sijan, Kenneth Sampf, Gary Wetzel and William Mitchell; and

 $\mathbf{2}$

Whereas, the sacrifices of all Wisconsin veterans, including the sacrifice of the lives of some of them, have brought honor to this state and incalculable benefits to its citizens; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature pause during this sesquicentennial year to honor all of Wisconsin's veterans, from the time of statehood until the present; express their gratitude and admiration for their contributions to their state and country; and hope that future military personnel from Wisconsin will be kept safe from harm; and, be it further

Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk shall provide a copy of this joint resolution to the Wisconsin Sesquicentennial Commission.

(END)