1997 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 60

June 10, 1997 – Introduced by Representatives Lorge, Ryba, Urban, Meyer, Gard, Schafer, Gronemus, Jeskewitz, Wood, J. Lehman, Springer, Hubler, Seratti, Riley, Hasenohrl, Olsen, Plale, Plouff, Hebl, F. Lasee, Wasserman, Green, Ladwig, Harsdorf, Musser, Robson, Hutchison, Ott, Hahn, Hoven, Kaufert, Klusman, Kreuser and L. Young, cosponsored by Senators Chvala, A. Lasee, Darling, Plache, Decker and Farrow. Referred to Committee on Rules.

Relating to: commending the Green Bay Packers on their 35–21 victory over the 1 2 New England Patriots in Super Bowl XXXI in New Orleans on January 26, 3 1997. Whereas, the World Champion Green Bay Packers brought the Lombardi 4 Trophy home with their victory over the AFC Champions, the New England Patriots, 5 6 on January 26, 1997; and 7 Whereas, the Green Bay Packers broke numerous Super Bowl records, 8 including those for most yards returning kicks, longest kickoff return and longest 9 touchdown pass and, with the Patriots, broke the Super Bowl record for most points 10 (24) scored during the first quarter (New England Patriots-14, Green Bay Packers-10); and 11 12 Whereas, the Green Bay Packers won the NFC Central Division Championship 13 for the 2nd consecutive year, having an outstanding regular season record of 13 14 victories and only 3 losses, had the best record in the NFC and tied for the best record $\mathbf{2}$

in the NFL with the AFC's Denver Broncos, and their 13th victory tied the club record (13–1) established in 1962; and

Whereas, the Packer defense allowed the fewest points (210) in the NFL this season and held their opponents to only 19 touchdowns, the fewest that any NFL team allowed, and the Packer offense scored the most points (456) of any team in the NFL this season: and

Whereas, Brett Favre threw 39 touchdown passes; a club record, the most in NFL history and an NFC record; during the regular season and was named the National Football League's Most Valuable Player for the 2nd consecutive year, becoming the only player to achieve consecutive awards and the 2nd player ever to have been given 2 MVP awards, Joe Montana being the other; and

Whereas, Desmond Howard led the NFL in punt returns with a 15.1 yard average and had a club record 58 returns, added punch to an already explosive offense, became the first special teams player to be named the Super Bowl's Most Valuable Player and became the first payer in NFL history to score touchdowns on both a punt return and a kickoff return in postseason play; Craig Hentrich broke his own club record for most punts inside the 20 yardline; Mike Holmgren improved his record at Lambeau Field to 27–4, including wins in the most recent 15 games; and Reggie White had 3 sacks in the Super Bowl; and

Whereas, during their championship season, the Packer players' conduct, both on and off the field, was exemplary, entitling them to become "America's Team"; and Whereas, each member of the team contributed to the Green Bay Packers' success this season; and

Whereas, Head Coach Mike Holmgren and his able staff expertly plotted strategy and motivated the team; and

1	Whereas, General Manger Ron Wolf, the Green Bay Packer Board, the
2	stockholders, fans and others assembled the players who were needed for a
3	championship; and
4	Whereas, the Green Bay Packers won the NFC Championship by convincingly
5	defeating the San Francisco Forty–Niners 35 – 14 and the Carolina Panthers 30 – 13
6	in playoff competition to reach the Super Bowl; and
7	Whereas, The Green Bay Packers had their most successful season since the
8	1960's; and
9	Whereas, Reggie White, LeRoy Butler, Keith Jackson, Frank Winters and Brett
10	Favre have been named to the Pro Bowl for their outstanding performance this
11	season; now, therefore, be it
12	Whereas, Representatives Lorge, Ryba, Urban, Meyer, Gard and others, as the
13	${\it Milwaukee\ Journal-Sentinel\ headline\ said: "(lawmakers",\ represented\ the\ Packer}$
14	fans in their districts and throughout the state and nation by attending the Super
15	Bowl; and
16	Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the
17	Wisconsin legislature congratulate the Green Bay Packers on their outstanding
18	season and their Super Bowl XXXI victory; and, be it further
19	Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk shall provide a copy of this joint
20	resolution to Green Bay Packers President Bob Harlan.
21	(END)