

1995 ASSEMBLY JOINT RESOLUTION 75

January 24, 1996 – Introduced by Representatives HUEBSCH, MEYER, GARD, SCHNEIDER, JOHNSRUD, UNDERHEIM and MUSSER, cosponsored by Senator RUDE. Referred to calendar.

1 Relating to: commending the 1995 University of Wisconsin-La Crosse football $\mathbf{2}$ team. Whereas, the 1995 University of Wisconsin-La Crosse football team had a 14-0 3 record and finished the season by winning the Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl 36-7 over 4 $\mathbf{5}$ Rowan, thereby becoming the NCAA Division III national champion; and 6 Whereas, the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse is the only institution of 7 higher education that has won both the NCAA Division III championship and the 8 NAIA Division II championship; and 9 Whereas, in recognition of his outstanding ability and dedication, the Eagles' 10 head coach, Roger Harring, was named coach of the year by the AFCA, the 11 Wilkes-Barre TD Club and the American Football Quarterly; and Whereas, the Eagles had many outstanding players, including quarterback 12Craig Kusick, the *College Sports* magazine Division III player of the year; wide 13 receiver Erik Halverson, who was an academic all-American; and linebacker Mike 14 15Maslowski, a Division III honorable mention all-American; now, therefore, be it

1	Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the
2	Wisconsin legislature commend the 1995 University of Wisconsin–La Crosse football
3	team for its remarkable season; and, be it further
4	Resolved, That the assembly chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint
5	resolution to Coach Roger Harring and Chancellor Judith Kuipers.
6	(END)