

# WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL ACT MEMO

2017 Wisconsin Act 11 [2017 Assembly Bill 25]

**Child Labor Law Modifications** 

2017 Wisconsin Act 11 modifies Wisconsin's child labor laws with regard to: (1) permitting requirements for minors; (2) the use of the term "child labor" in the employment statutes; (3) standards for issuing certificates of age; and (4) licensure for children in shows.

## CHILD LABOR PERMITS AND STREET TRADE PERMITS

Prior law generally prohibited a minor of any age from being employed in any occupation unless a child labor permit authorizing the employment was issued by the Department of Workforce Development (DWD) or a permit officer, subject to certain exceptions. One of these exceptions is that a minor working in a "street trade" must hold a street trade permit rather than a child labor permit. Street trades generally include selling or distributing items, such as newspapers, on the street, in public places, or from house-to-house.

The Act eliminates the requirement that a minor 16 years of age or older obtain a child labor permit or street trade permit, but does not change the permitting requirements described above with regard to minors under 16 years of age.

#### TERMINOLOGY

The Act replaces the term "child labor" with the term "employment of minors" throughout the employment statutes.

#### **CERTIFICATES OF AGE**

DWD is authorized to issue "certificates of age," which can be used as conclusive evidence of the age of an individual in any labor law proceeding. Under prior law, DWD could only issue certificates of age to minors. The Act allows DWD to issue certificates of age to an individual regardless of age.

This memo provides a brief description of the Act. For more detailed information, consult the text of the law and related legislative documents at the Legislature's Web site at: <u>http://www.legis.wisconsin.gov</u>.

### **CHILDREN IN SHOWS**

The Act repeals an obsolete provision, which states that a license may not be granted for children under 15 years of age to perform in certain theatrical exhibitions or public shows, if disapproved by a board of officers authorized to grant the license. This board does not exist under state law.

*Effective date:* June 23, 2017

*Prepared by:* Andrea Brauer, Staff Attorney

July 6, 2017

AB:mcm;ksm