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Motorcycle and Motor Vehicle 
Regulation 

 

Driver Education 

2005 Wisconsin Act 466 provides that driver education courses must include information on 

motorcycle awareness and pedestrian and bicycle awareness. 

Motorcycle Safety Instruction 

Act 466 provides that a person who successfully completes a basic rider course is not required to 

hold an instruction permit in order to receive a motorcycle endorsement.  Further, the Department of 

Transportation (DOT) may not require a person applying for an authorization to operate a motorcycle 

who holds an instruction permit to hold it for a minimum period of time before taking a driving skills 

test. 

Right-of-Way Violations 

Generally, Wisconsin statutes provide that a person who violates the general rules of right-of-

way may be required to forfeit not less than $20 nor more than $50 for the first offense and not less than 

$50 nor more than $100 for the second offense or subsequent conviction within a year.  The forfeitures 

will be doubled if the violations take place in a highway work area. 

Act 466 provides that a violation of right-of-way resulting in:  (1) bodily harm will be penalized 

by a $200 forfeiture; (2) great bodily harm will be penalized by a $500 forfeiture; or (3) death will be 

penalized by a $1,000 forfeiture.  In addition, the violator must attend traffic school. 

Facing a Red Signal 

Act 466 provides that the operator of a motorcycle, moped, motor bicycle, or bicycle facing a red 

signal at an intersection may, after stopping for not less than 45 seconds, proceed cautiously through the 
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intersection before the signal turns green if no other vehicles are present at the intersection to actuate the 

signal and the operator reasonably believes the signal is vehicle actuated.  The operator must yield the 

right-of-way to any vehicular traffic, pedestrian, bicyclist, or rider of an electric personal assisted 

mobility device proceeding through a green signal at the intersection or lawfully within a crosswalk or 

using the intersection. 

Effective Date:  The Act takes effect on October 1, 2006. 

Prepared by:  Ronald Sklansky, Senior Staff Attorney  July 17, 2006 
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