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Transferring a Bear Hunting 
License to a Minor 
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2003 Wisconsin Act 59 allows a person who is issued a Class A bear hunting license to transfer that 

license to a person who is at least 12 years old but under the age of 18. 

Background Information 

Bear hunting licenses are obtained through a cumulative preference system in which preference 

points are accrued each year.  Minors who commence accumulating preference points may take a number of 

years to acquire enough points to obtain a bear hunting license.  The concern is that by that time the minor 

may have moved on to work or college and may not be able to use the bear hunting license.  Estimates are 

that it may take from four to nine years in order to accumulate enough preference points to obtain a bear 

hunting license. 

2003 Wisconsin Act 59 

2003 Wisconsin Act 59 authorizes a person who is issued a Class A bear license to transfer the 

license to a person who is at least 12 years old but under the age of 18.  It is expected that this will typically 

be done by older relatives.  The minor then has all rights to the license, but does not give up any of the 

preference points that the minor may have accrued at that time.  The person who transfers the license to the 

minor gives up the preference points associated with that license.  Bear hunting licenses may be transferred 

by either a Wisconsin resident or a nonresident, and either resident or nonresident minors may be the 

transferee.  If a resident transfers a bear hunting license to a nonresident minor, the resident must pay a fee 

equal to the difference between the two licenses.  If a nonresident transfers a bear hunting license to a 

resident minor, the nonresident does not obtain a rebate of the fee.  The Act prohibits any payment for the 

transfer. 

Effective Date:  October 31, 2003 
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