

2017 Senate Joint Resolution 41

## ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

**Relating to:** congratulating the University of Wisconsin–Madison Men's Basketball team on its 2016–2017 season and advancing to the NCAA Sweet 16.

Whereas, the Wisconsin's Men's Basketball team had a record of 27 wins and 10 losses, ranking the fifth highest total wins in school history; and

Whereas, Wisconsin holds the longest active streak in the Big Ten for reaching at least 20 wins for the 11th straight season; and

Whereas, the Badgers made 19 consecutive appearances to the NCAA tournament holding the fifth longest streak in NCAA history; and

Whereas, Wisconsin was the only school to advance to the Sweet 16 for four consecutive seasons and appeared six times in the last seven years; and

Whereas, since 2000, the Badgers have defeated the most No. 1 teams in the nation including this year's No. 1 seed, Villanova, in the NCAA tournament; and

Whereas, Ethan Happ was named a third-team All-American and a first-team All-Big Ten; Nigel Hayes finished his career third in scoring at Wisconsin and a selection in third-team All-Big Ten; Bronson Koenig was a second-team All-Big Ten selection and finished his career tenth on UW's all-time scoring list; therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the Wisconsin Legislature hereby commends and congratulates D'Mitrik Trice, Brevin Pritzl, Aleem Ford, Zak Showalter, Matt Ferris, Aaron Moesch, Nigel Hayes, Jordan Hill, Charles Thomas IV, T.J. Schlundt, Khalil Iverson, Ethan Happ, Bronson Koenig, Alex Illikainen, Vitto Brown, Michael Ballard, and Andy Van Vliet and Coaches Greg Gard, Lamont Paris, Howard Moore, and Joe Krabbenhoft along with other staff members whose contribution to the team helped make this a successful season; and, be it further

*Resolved, That* the senate chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint resolution to Head Coach Greg Gard, his staff, each member of the team, and Athletic Director Barry Alvarez.

Representative Robin J. Vos	Senator Roger Roth
Speaker of the Assembly	President of the Senate
	Jeffrey Renk
Date	Senate Chief Clerk