

2017 Senate Joint Resolution 34

## **ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION**

**Relating to:** commemorating the 50th anniversary of Summerfest.

Whereas, Summerfest is a world–famous, annual music festival held at the 75–acre Henry Maier Festival Park along the lakefront in Milwaukee, Wisconsin; and

Whereas, Summerfest lasts for 11 days and is made up of 11 stages with performances from over 700 bands. Summerfest attracts between 800,000 and 900,000 people each year and promotes itself as "The World's Largest Music Festival," a title certified by the Guinness World Records since 1999; and

Whereas, Summerfest showcases eclectic genres of music, including alternative, Americana, bluegrass, blues, contemporary, country, electronic, folk, funk, gospel, hard rock, heavy metal, hip-hop, indie, jam band, jazz, pop, R & B, reggae, rock, and zydeco; and

Whereas, during Summerfest, from noon to midnight, performing and recording artists make personal appearances on 11 sponsor—themed stages throughout the grounds including the 23,000—capacity Marcus Amphitheater that is soon to be replaced by a new, state—of—the—art facility, to open in 2020, named the American Family Insurance Amphitheater; and

Whereas, Summerfest was conceived in the 1960s by then-mayor Henry W. Maier. Inspired by his visit to Oktoberfest in Munich, Germany, Maier envisioned a similar festival in Milwaukee, and in 1962 formed a panel of business and civic leaders to study the feasibility of a large-scale summer festival; and

Whereas, the first several festivals were held at locations throughout the city. In 1970, a permanent, central location was decided upon, and Summerfest moved to a former U.S. Army Nike anti–aircraft missile site on the Milwaukee lakefront, where it continues to be held to this day; and

Whereas, Summerfest will celebrate its 50th anniversary in 2017; now, therefore, be it

**Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That** the Wisconsin Legislature honors and congratulates Summerfest for its first 50 years and wishes its continued success.



Date

Senator Roger Roth President of the Senate

Jeffrey Renk Senate Chief Clerk