

2017 Senate Joint Resolution 29

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: honoring the University of Wisconsin–Green Bay women's basketball team.

Whereas, the UW–Green Bay women's basketball team captured its 15th tournament championship in the last 20 seasons by defeating University of Detroit Mercy, 64–52, in the championship game of the Horizon League Championship; and

Whereas, the Phoenix clinched its 19th–consecutive conference championship by defeating Northern Kentucky University, 74–37, to finish with a 15–3 record and tied with Wright State University for a share of the regular–season championship; and

Whereas, UW–Green Bay is one of only three Division I programs that has had a winning record in every year since 1981; and

Whereas, UW–Green Bay secured its 40th–consecutive winning season this year and trails only the University of Tennessee (43) for the longest active streak in the nation; and

Whereas, redshirt graduate Mehryn Kraker was named the espnW Mid–Major Player of the Year, received the Horizon League Player of the Year award, and was named to the Horizon League All–Academic Team; and

Whereas, junior Jessica Lindstrom was named to the All–Horizon League Second Team and All–Defensive Team, redshirt sophomore Jen Wellnitz was named to the All–Defensive Team, and Caitlyn Hibner earned a spot on the All–Freshman Team; and

Whereas, the Phoenix will enter the 2017 NCAA women's basketball tournament as a no. 8 seed in the Lexington Region and will face the no. 9–seed Purdue University in the first round in Notre Dame, Indiana; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the Wisconsin Legislature hereby commends and congratulates the UW–Green Bay women's basketball team on another very successful regular season and wishes them the best of luck in the NCAA tournament; and, be it further

Resolved, That the senate chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint resolution to Head Coach Kevin Borseth and his staff, each member of the team, and Athletic Director Mary Ellen Gillespie.

Representative Robin J. Vos Speaker of the Assembly Senator Roger Roth President of the Senate

Jeffrey Renk Senate Chief Clerk