

2017 Senate Joint Resolution 13

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: celebrating March 25, 2017, as the 196th anniversary of Greek independence.

Whereas, on March 25, 1821, the Greek nation began its fight for independence and waged a successful War of Independence (1821–1829) and reinstated a democratic form of government; and

Whereas, it was Greece that first ignited the flame of freedom and is still known as the "cradle of democracy" by, during the sixth and fifth centuries BC, in Athens, introducing to the world the idea of direct representative government, thus ushering in a golden age of art, architecture, philosophy, and drama under such giants of Western history as Pericles, Sophocles, Euripides, Socrates, and Plato; and

Whereas, a legacy of the Greek democratic ideal is the hope that it has always inspired in oppressed people throughout the history of the world, including the founding leaders of the United States of America who drew heavily on the democratic principles, political experience, and philosophy of ancient Greece in forming our representative form of government; and

Whereas, of all of the wonderful gifts bestowed upon humanity by Greece — art, ethics, beauty, literature, philosophy, and democracy — we now celebrate the greatest of these, democracy. A world without political liberty and freedom of expression would be a world enshrouded in darkness, terror, and intellectual sterility. Greece has shown us the light, and we are eternally grateful; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the Wisconsin Legislature celebrates March 25, 2017, as the 196th anniversary of Greek independence and reaffirms Wisconsin's abiding commitment to the magnificent principles of democracy; and, be it further

Resolved, That the senate chief clerk shall provide a copy of this joint resolution to the American Hellenic Educational Progressive Association (AHEPA), Chapter 369 of Madison and Chapter 40 of Milwaukee.

Representative Robin J. Vos Speaker of the Assembly Senator Roger Roth President of the Senate

Jeffrey Renk Senate Chief Clerk