

2017 Assembly Joint Resolution 97

## **ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION**

**Relating to:** congratulating the 2017 Wisconsin Badgers football team on the impressive accomplishments for this season.

Whereas, the University of Wisconsin–Madison Badgers football team completed an undefeated regular season, finishing with 12 wins and no losses, and earned a bid to the Orange Bowl on December 30, 2017; and

Whereas, the University of Wisconsin–Madison Badgers became Orange Bowl champions against the Miami Hurricanes with a score of 34 to 24, winning their fourth consecutive bowl game; and

Whereas, the 2017 Badgers football team is the winningest in University of Wisconsin–Madison history, being the first to finish the regular football season 12–0, and the first ever to win 13 games in a single season; and

Whereas, the *Wall Street Journal*'s annual ranking of top football programs earlier this year singled out the University of Wisconsin–Madison as the number one most admirable football program in the country for overall performance, both on the field of play and as an academic institution; and

Whereas, the Badgers earned their second consecutive Big Ten West Division title and 21 players earned All–Big Ten honors including Jonathan Taylor, Beau Benzschawel, Michael Deiter, Troy Fumagalli, T.J. Edwards, D'Cota Dixon, and Nick Nelson receiving First Team Honors; David Edwards, Alec James, Conor Sheehy, Garret Dooley, and Rafael Gaglianone receiving Second Team Honors; Tyler Biadasz and Derrick Tindal receiving Third Team Honors; and Quintez Cephus, Alex Hornibrook, Ryan Connelly, Joe Ferguson, Leon Jacobs, Natrell Jamerson, and Olive Sagapolu receiving Honorable Mention Honors; and

Whereas, Joe Ferguson won the Big Ten Sportsmanship Honor for demonstrating a commitment to the community and D'Cota Dixon won the 2017 Orange Bowl FWAA Courage Award for overcoming adversity on and off the field; and

Whereas, Head Coach Paul Chryst earned Big Ten Coach of the Year and Defensive Coordinator Jim Leonhard was a finalist for the Broyles Award for the best assistant coach in the country; and

Whereas, David Edwards and Beau Benzschawel were named Third Team All-American by the Associated Press; and

Whereas, T.J. Edwards was named First Team All-American by the Associated Press and was named a finalist for the Butkus Award for the best linebacker in the country; and

Whereas, Troy Fumagalli was named the 2017 Big Ten Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year, Second Team All-American by the Associated Press, and a finalist for the John Mackey Award for best tight end in the country; and

Whereas, Jonathan Taylor was named the 2017 Big Ten Thompson–Randle El Freshman of the Year, Second Team All–American by the Associated Press, was a finalist for the Doak Walker Award for the best running back in the country, and set the NCAA freshman rushing record; and

Whereas, the senior class finished their collegiate career with 45 wins, making them the winningest class in school history; and

Whereas, the Badgers' 13-member senior class included Jack Cichy, Garret Dooley, Joe Ferguson, Lubern Figaro, Troy Fumagalli, Rachid Ibrahim, Leon Jacobs, Natrell Jamerson, Alec James, Chikwe Obasih, Austin Ramesh, Conor Sheehy and Derrick Tindal; and

Whereas, University of Wisconsin-Madison Chancellor Rebecca Blank, Athletic Director Barry Alvarez, and Head Coach Paul Chryst have displayed extraordinary leadership in their commitment to student-athletes in both academic and athletic excellence; and now, therefore, be it

**Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That** the Wisconsin Legislature hereby commends and congratulates the entire 2017 Wisconsin Badgers football team on the impressive accomplishments for this season; and, be it further

**Resolved, That** the assembly chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint resolution to University of Wisconsin–Madison Chancellor Rebecca Blank, Athletic Director Barry Alvarez, and Head Coach Paul Chryst.

Senator Roger Roth President of the Senate	Representative Robin J. Vos Speaker of the Assembly
Date	Patrick E. Fuller Assembly Chief Clerk