

2017 Assembly Joint Resolution 111

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: recognizing the Stop the Bleed campaign, establishing March 31, 2018, as Wisconsin Trauma Awareness Day, and encouraging all Wisconsin citizens to participate in the initiative and learn more about the importance of bleeding–control measures.

Whereas, trauma is the leading cause of death in the United States for individuals under age 44 and the fourth leading cause of death overall; and

Whereas, uncontrolled bleeding from traumatic injury is the most preventable cause of death; and

Whereas, death from uncontrolled bleeding can happen in mere minutes, which may be prior to the arrival of first responders; and

Whereas, bleeding control is best performed with use of pressure or tourniquets within the initial moments of trauma, and anyone can be trained to act as an immediate responder to stop a life-threatening hemorrhage; and

Whereas, military experience has proven that bleeding control techniques result in reduced rates of death from a hemorrhage; and

Whereas, the Stop the Bleed campaign was created in the wake of the 2012 mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School, and is a national awareness campaign call to action intended to cultivate grassroots efforts that encourage bystanders to become trained, equipped, and empowered to help in a bleeding emergency before professional help arrives; and

Whereas, providing Wisconsin citizens with the best chance of survival includes educating them with the knowledge and skills to perform immediate bleeding control and through equipping public places with bleeding control kits; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the Wisconsin State Legislature hereby recognizes the Stop the Bleed campaign, establishes March 31, 2018, as Wisconsin Trauma Awareness Day, and encourages all Wisconsin citizens to participate in the initiative and learn more about the importance of bleeding–control measures.

Senator Roger Roth President of the Senate Representative Robin J. Vos Speaker of the Assembly