## ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

**Relating to:** commending the Legislative Audit Bureau on the occasion of its 50th year of service to the legislature.

Whereas, the Legislative Audit Bureau was created on September 1, 1966, by Chapter 659, Laws of Wisconsin 1965, as a nonpartisan legislative service agency under the jurisdiction of the Joint Committee on Legislative Organization; and

Whereas, the Legislative Audit Bureau is responsible for conducting financial audits and performance evaluations to assist the legislature in its oversight function; and

Whereas, the Legislative Audit Bureau's authority extends to executive, legislative, and judicial agencies; authorities created by the legislature; special districts; and certain service providers that receive state funds; and

Whereas, the Legislative Audit Bureau's purpose is to provide assurance to the legislature that financial transactions and management decisions are made effectively, efficiently, and in compliance with state law and that state agencies carry out the policies of the legislature and the governor; and

Whereas, the Legislative Audit Bureau has reviewed financial transactions, performed analyses of agency performance and public policy issues, formulated conclusions regarding the causes of problems found, and developed recommendations for improvement; and

Whereas, the Joint Legislative Audit Committee was created on May 5, 1976, by Chapter 224, Laws of Wisconsin 1975, with advisory responsibilities for the Legislative Audit Bureau; directs the Legislative Audit Bureau to conduct audits and evaluations; receives and reviews reports issued by the Legislative Audit Bureau; holds public hearings on Legislative Audit Bureau reports; and introduces legislation pertaining to Legislative Audit Bureau recommendations; and

Whereas, the Legislative Audit Bureau operates the Fraud, Waste, and Mismanagement Hotline, as established by 2007 Wisconsin Act 126, to allow the public and individuals within state government to report suspected fraud and other improper acts by state agencies, employees, and contractors; and

Whereas, the Joint Committee on Legislative Organization has appointed four State Auditors to lead the Legislative Audit Bureau's capable staff of nonpartisan accountability professionals since its creation, including Robert Ringwood (1968–1978); Dale Cattanach (1979–1998); Janice Mueller (1998–2011); and Joe Chrisman (2011 to present); and

Whereas, the Legislative Audit Bureau has consistently received unqualified opinions on its system of quality control for financial audits from the National State Auditors Association, which is the highest level of assurance that can be given for a system of audit quality control; and

Whereas, the Legislative Audit Bureau has consistently received national recognition for the impact, scope, and quality of its performance evaluations from the National Legislative Program Evaluation Society of the National Conference of State Legislatures; and

Whereas, the Legislative Audit Bureau will observe its 50th anniversary on September 1, 2016; now, therefore, be it

**Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That** the members of the legislature congratulate the Legislative Audit Bureau on 50 years of service to the legislature; recognize its long tradition of objectivity, independence, and nonpartisanship; and thank its leadership and staff for the professional service it has rendered to the legislature and to the citizens of the state; and, be it further

**Resolved, That** the senate chief clerk shall provide a copy of this joint resolution to State Auditor Joe Chrisman and the staff of the Legislative Audit Bureau.

Representative Robin J. Vos Speaker of the Assembly	Senator Mary Lazich President of the Senate
Date	Jeffrey Renk Senate Chief Clerk