2015 Senate Joint Resolution 14

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: commending Pope Francis.

Whereas, Pope Francis was born Jorge Mario Bergoglio on December 17, 1936, in Buenos Aires; and

Whereas, Pope Francis, after being elected by the papal conclave on March 13, 2013, as both the first Jesuit and the first Latin American pope, chose for himself the papal name of Francis, after St. Francis of Assisi, in order to always be reminded of the poor; and

Whereas, since being elected pope, Francis has set an example by choosing to forego the official papal residence at the Apostolic Palace and instead choosing to live at the Vatican guesthouse, as well as forgoing gold for silver in both his piscatory ring and his pectoral cross; and

Whereas, since being elected pope, Francis has continually brought to the forefront issues that are affecting the poor and disenfranchised of the world; and

Whereas, Pope Francis has set a charitable tone and inclusive example that peoples of all faiths can embrace; and

Whereas, Pope Francis has been recognized for his positive impact on the world and world issues; and

Whereas, Pope Francis has announced that in September 2015 he will be personally visiting the United States of America to participate in the World Meeting of Families and to deliver a landmark speech to the U.S. Congress; and

Whereas, Pope Francis has stated: "No one must say that they cannot be close to the poor because their own lifestyle demands more attention to other areas. This is an excuse commonly heard in academic, business or professional, and even ecclesial circles. While it is quite true that the essential vocation and mission of the lay faithful is to strive that earthly realities and all human activity may be transformed by the Gospel, none of us can think we are exempt from concern for the poor and for social justice"; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature welcome Pope Francis on his visit to the United States of America, and commend his achievements and advocacy.

Representative Robin J. Vos Speaker of the Assembly Senator Mary Lazich President of the Senate

Jeffrey Renk Senate Chief Clerk

Date