ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: recognizing the Order of the Arrow, which is the Boy Scouts of America's National Honor Society, on its 100th Anniversary and the significant leadership and service provided to youth and communities across Wisconsin.

Whereas, the Boy Scouts of America was founded February 8, 1910, upon the promises of the Scout Oath to do one's duty to God and country, to others, and to oneself and upon the principles of the Scout Law; and

Whereas, five years after the founding of the Boy Scouts, Scout leaders recognized the need for a special recognition of those Scouts who truly committed themselves to living by both the Scout Oath and the Scout Law; and

Whereas, in response, the Boy Scouts of America created the Order of the Arrow, "Scouting's National Honor Society;" and

Whereas, the Order of the Arrow recognizes those Scouts and Scouters who exemplify the character qualities of Scouting, practice responsible camping methods, encourage growth of Scouting ideals in their peers, and lead in service to others; and

Whereas, since 1915, Wisconsin has benefitted from a multitude of the Order of the Arrow's service projects and the leadership skills the Order of the Arrow produces in its members' personal and professional lives; and

Whereas, the Kanwa tho Lodge, the Kon Wapos Lodge, the Ni-Sanak-Tani Lodge, the Otyokwa Lodge, the Takoda Lodge, the Tom Kita Chara Lodge, and the Wag-o-Shag Lodge all continue their commitment to the Order's mission and principles in every corner of Wisconsin; and

Whereas, Wisconsin is home to thousands of current and former members of the Order of the Arrow, and the Order of the Arrow provides tens of thousands of service hours annually in our local communities; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the legislature recognizes the Order of the Arrow on its past century of service and calls upon them to continue their tradition of leadership in service as they embark on their second century of service.

Senator Mary Lazich President of the Senate	Representative Robin J. Vos Speaker of the Assembly
Date	Patrick E. Fuller Assembly Chief Clerk