

2015 Assembly Joint Resolution 11

## **ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION**

**Relating to:** commending the University of Wisconsin–Whitewater men's basketball team for winning the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division III Basketball National Championship title.

Whereas, the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater Warhawks men's basketball team earned its second NCAA Division III championship in the last three years and fourth in program history; and

Whereas, the Warhawks finished the season with a 29–4 record, including a 13–3 mark in conference play and a perfect 15–0 tally at home; and

Whereas, the Warhawks won the final on Quardell Young's driving layup in the closing second of regulation, sealing a 75–73 victory over Williams College; and

Whereas, the team has been led by a dedicated and talented coaching staff, led by head coach Pat Miller, who earned three national coach of the year honors; and

Whereas, the team has also benefited from many experienced student athletes, including the tournament's Most Valuable Player KJ Evans and UW-Whitewater's Male Student-Athlete of the Year Alex Merg; and

Whereas, the team has brought honor and positive attention to the University of Wisconsin–Whitewater and pride to its community and state as a whole; now, therefore, be it

**Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That** the members of the Wisconsin legislature commend the Warhawks, their coaching staff, and their student athletes on winning the 2014 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division III Basketball National Championship title and wish them great success in all future endeavors

Senator Mary Lazich President of the Senate	Representative Robin J. Vos Speaker of the Assembly
Date	Patrick E. Fuller Assembly Chief Clerk