

2013 Assembly Joint Resolution 27

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: commending the University of Wisconsin–Whitewater women's wheelchair basketball team for winning a second consecutive national championship.

Whereas, the University of Wisconsin–Whitewater Warhawks women's wheelchair basketball team achieved a perfect season in 2013, winning all 27 of its games, culminating in a 56–41 victory over the University of Alabama to earn the National Wheelchair Basketball Association Intercollegiate Women's Division National Championship title; and

Whereas, this is the second consecutive season that the women's wheelchair basketball team has won the national championship; and

Whereas, the team has been led by a dedicated coaching staff, including Head Coach Dan Price, Assistant Coach Jay Baker, Assistant Coach Kearstin Gehlhausen, and Assistant Coach Ashley Kosenesky; and

Whereas, the team has also benefited from many experienced student athletes, including senior and captain Becca Murray, who was named Player of the Year, Academic All–American, and first team All–American; senior and captain Desiree Miller, who was named Academic All–American and second team All–American; and senior and captain Mareike Adermann, who was named first team All–American; and

Whereas, the team has brought honor and positive attention to the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater campus and highlighted the athletic possibilities for individuals with a disability; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature commend the Warhawks, the coaching staff, and the student athletes on the 2013 National

Wheelchair Basketball Association Intercollegiate Women's Division National Championship and wish them great success in all future endeavors.	
Senator Michael G. Ellis President of the Senate	Representative Robin J. Vos Speaker of the Assembly
Date	Patrick E. Fuller Assembly Chief Clerk