2013 Assembly Joint Resolution 119

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: congratulating the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee Panthers men's basketball team on its 2014 Horizon League title and berth to the 2014 NCAA Men's Division I basketball tournament.

Whereas, the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee Panthers men's basketball team earned a berth to the 2014 NCAA Men's Division I basketball tournament; and

Whereas, the Panthers earned the automatic NCAA tournament berth after winning the 2014 Horizon League tournament; and

Whereas, the Panthers won the league title with an impressive run of four wins in eight days, capped by a 69–63 victory over Wright State in Dayton, Ohio; and

Whereas, many experts picked the Panthers to finish last in its conference this year after the team finished last season with only eight wins; and

Whereas, Panthers senior guard Jordan Aaron was named the Horizon League tournament most valuable player after finishing the tournament with 11 three-pointers, tying the tournament record; and

Whereas, Panthers senior forward Kyle Kelm, of Randolph, Wisconsin, and sophomore forward Matt Tiby were named to the Horizon League all-tournament team; and

Whereas, three of the Panthers' five starting players are from Wisconsin; and

Whereas, the Panthers enter the NCAA tournament with 21 wins—the fourth time head coach Rob Jeter has led the team to at least 20 wins; and

Whereas, the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee enrolls more Wisconsin residents than any other four–year university and they come from every county in the state; and

Whereas, more than 5,000 students graduate from the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee annually and more than 90 percent of those recent graduates stay right here in Wisconsin, although one who left the state did go on to be named the third CEO of Microsoft; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature congratulate the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee Panthers men's basketball team on its 2014 Horizon League title and wish the team the best of luck in the NCAA Men's Division I basketball tournament.

Senator Michael G. Ellis President of the Senate Representative Robin J. Vos Speaker of the Assembly

Patrick E. Fuller Assembly Chief Clerk

Date