

2011 Senate Joint Resolution 3

## **ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION**

**Relating to:** commending the University of Wisconsin–Whitewater football team for winning a third national championship.

Whereas, the UW-Whitewater Warhawks became the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division III champions for the third time in four years with a 31–21 victory over Mount Union College on December 17, 2010; and

Whereas, Whitewater has been in a six-year tug-of-war over the national championship, with Whitewater winning three years and Mount Union winning three years; and

Whereas, junior running back Levell Coppage scored three touchdowns and ran 299 yards on 39 carries, setting a new Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl rushing record; and

Whereas, Coppage's 150 points for the season are the most scored by a player in all football divisions in the NCAA; and

Whereas, senior Matt McCulloch, a Janesville Parker graduate, contributed with eight tackles and two interceptions; and

Whereas, the 17 seniors on the team end their college careers with a 57–3 record over the course of four years; and

Whereas, Coach Lance Leipold has led the team to the national championships in each of his first four years as head coach, winning three national titles; now, therefore, be it

**Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That** the members of the Wisconsin legislature do hereby commend the Warhawks, the coaching staff, and the students on the Division III Championship and wish them continued success in the future.

Representative Jeff Fitzgerald Speaker of the Assembly	Senator Michael G. Ellis President of the Senate
Date	Robert J. Marchant Senate Chief Clerk