

2011 Assembly Joint Resolution 4

## **ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION**

**Relating to:** commending Brent Nicastro on his years of service to the Wisconsin legislature.

Whereas, Brent Nicastro has expertly served the Wisconsin legislature for 15 years as chief photographer, documenting legislative history as it happened with images of legislators at inaugurations, in committee, and on the assembly and senate floors through 8 biennial sessions, as well as legislative events and occasions from the mundane to the momentous, not least of which were visits to the state Capitol by hundreds upon hundreds of school groups from across our state; and

Whereas, Brent photographed each governor since Dreyfus, every president since Carter, and is proud to list among the subjects of his portraiture Tenzin Gyatso, the 14th Dalai Lama; and

Whereas, upon graduation from the University of Wisconsin's School of Journalism, Brent first worked with Madison's Press Connection before beginning a prolific freelance career, moving easily from film to digital photography, capturing images from the natural world and the performing arts to affairs of state; and

Whereas, Brent's publications in freelance photography include the beloved book, *Madison*: Photography by Brent Nicastro, as well as single photographs in numerous other volumes, newspapers, and magazines such as Time, People, USA Today and USA Weekend, Money, Elle, Runner's World, Outside, Parade, The Philadelphia Enquirer, The Los Angeles Times, The Village Voice, and The New York Times; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature extend their deep gratitude to Brent Nicastro, on the occasion of his retirement as legislative photographer, for his diligent and consummately professional service to scores of state representatives and senators and their constituents, having recorded for the generations to come a decade and a half's visual history of legislative life beneath Wisconsin's Capitol dome.

Senator Michael G. Ellis President of the Senate	Representative Jeff Fitzgerald Speaker of the Assembly
Date	Patrick E. Fuller Assembly Chief Clerk