

2011 Assembly Joint Resolution 125

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: commending Milwaukee Area Technical College on the occasion of its 100th year of service.

Whereas, Milwaukee Area Technical College was founded in 1912 as the Milwaukee Continuation School to provide Milwaukee residents with job skills training; and

Whereas, the Milwaukee Continuation School quickly grew out of its small classrooms in the Manufacturers' Home Building and by 1923 became a permanent school renamed the Milwaukee Vocational School; and

Whereas, the Milwaukee Vocational School and the Milwaukee Institute of Technology came together in 1969 to become Milwaukee Area Technical College, the 16th member of the Wisconsin Technical College System; and

Whereas, Milwaukee Area Technical College, led by founding director Robert L. Cooley, has from its earliest days instituted "practical learning" classes taught by industry professionals using modern equipment, and has provided forward looking education in the region for the last century; and

Whereas, Milwaukee Area Technical College is the largest technical college in Wisconsin and the most diverse two–year institution in the Midwest, with approximately 50,000 students per year attending the college's four campuses and community–based sites or learning online; and

Whereas, Milwaukee Area Technical College offers 200 degree, diploma, certificate, and apprentice programs and provides students with access to nearly 400 transfer options leading to bachelor's degrees; and

Whereas, Milwaukee Area Technical College has been a key driver of Southeastern Wisconsin's economy and has an essential role in creating a skilled workforce; and

Whereas, in its 100th year, Milwaukee Area Technical College continues to be dedicated to student success, responsive to the rapidly changing job market, and committed to efficiency and continuous growth and improvement; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the legislature commends Milwaukee Area Technical College for providing 100 years of innovative education to Wisconsin's students.

Senator Michael G. Ellis President of the Senate Representative Jeff Fitzgerald Speaker of the Assembly

Date

Patrick E. Fuller Assembly Chief Clerk