

2009 Assembly Joint Resolution 80

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: commemorating the achievements and contributions of the University of Wisconsin–La Crosse on the occasion of its centennial.

Whereas, the University of Wisconsin–La Crosse was founded in 1909 as the La Crosse State Normal School and established as a teacher preparatory institution with an original student body of 150 students; and

Whereas, the university's name was changed through the years before taking on its present name, the University of Wisconsin–La Crosse, when it merged with the University of Wisconsin System in 1971 as one of 13 four–year public universities in the University of Wisconsin System; and

Whereas, today, the University of Wisconsin–La Crosse enrolls nearly 10,000 students annually and offers 85 undergraduate programs in 30 disciplines and 21 graduate programs; and

Whereas, the University of Wisconsin–La Crosse has been consistently recognized and ranked nationally as one of the finest public comprehensive universities in the country; and

Whereas, the University of Wisconsin–La Crosse has a long tradition of success in NCAA Division III athletics including sports such as cross country, football, gymnastics, and track; and

Whereas, in its 100th year, the University of Wisconsin–La Crosse continues to serve as a premier institution for higher learning that encourages creativity, responsibility, personal development, and the discovery and dissemination of knowledge; and

Whereas, on October 23–25, 2009, friends, family, and alumni will join together with University of Wisconsin–La Crosse students, faculty, and staff to participate in centennial celebrations and honor the university's 100 years of rich history; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature hereby commend the University of Wisconsin–La Crosse for its 100 years of academic excellence, achievements, and contributions to the state of Wisconsin.

Senator Fred A. Risser President of the Senate	Representative Michael J. Sheridar Speaker of the Assembly
Date	Patrick E. Fuller Assembly Chief Clerk