

2009 Assembly Joint Resolution 108

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: commending the Wisconsin Army National Guard's 32nd Brigade, 1st Battalion, 128th Infantry, for receiving the Walter T. Kerwin Jr. Award.

Whereas, the Eau Claire-based 1st Battalion, 128th Infantry has received the Walter T. Kerwin Jr. Award for Readiness and Training as the outstanding National Guard unit for 2009; and

Whereas, the Kerwin Award is named for Gen. Walter T. "Dutch" Kerwin Jr., a former Army vice chief of staff who was the first commander of U.S. Army Forces Command (FORSCOM) when it was established in 1976 and charged with ensuring the readiness and training of all Army units—active, Guard and reserve—in the United States; and

Whereas, the award signifies that the battalion is the best in the nation in terms of combat readiness and training; and

Whereas; the award was presented in October 2009 at the annual meeting of the Association of the United States Army in Washington, D.C.; and

Whereas, 1st Battalion, 128th Infantry is headquartered in Eau Claire and includes Detachment 1 of the Headquarters Company in Abbotsford; Company A in Menomonie; Company B in New Richmond and Detachment 1 of Company B in Rice Lake; Company C in Arcadia and Detachment 1 of Company C in Onalaska; and Company D in River Falls; and

Whereas, 1st Battalion, 128th Infantry is currently serving in Iraq as part of a one-year mobilization that began in February of this year; and

Whereas, the battalion has about 600 soldiers assigned to units presently operating in Iraq at forward operating bases Future, Cropper, and Liberty near the Baghdad International Airport, and at Ashraf; and

Whereas, the battalion's missions are expected to be completed in January 2010; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the legislature commends the Wisconsin Army National Guard's 32nd Brigade, 1st Battalion, 128th Infantry, for receiving the Walter T. Kerwin Jr. Award.

Senator Fred A. Risser President of the Senate	Representative Michael J. Sheridan Speaker of the Assembly
Date	Patrick E. Fuller Assembly Chief Clerk